Uphold Card review — a solid US-only spending card that stops at your border

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Uphold’s card is one of the more polished ways to spend crypto balances through an ordinary Visa, and on the everyday-use side it does a genuinely good job. It is also, at the time of writing, a card you can only get if you live in the United States — in the states and Washington D.C., but not in Louisiana, New York or any US territory. That single fact does more to shape this review than any fee does. If you are reading this hoping to find out whether it works where you live, the answer is no, and no fee schedule will change it. If you are a US resident who wants a physical Visa tied to a wallet holding 300+ digital assets, with an option that removes foreign transaction fees and ATM charges, the offer is better than most of its category.

Uphold works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.8 out of 10

The score is not a verdict on the product’s quality. It is a verdict on fit. The Uphold card does several things very well — spending convenience scores highest of anything I looked at — but it is boxed into a single market, it charges a foreign transaction fee on the cheaper tier, and its spread-based pricing is invisible until you look for it. Those facts pull an otherwise capable card down to the middle of the field.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Only US residents in the states and Washington D.C.; not in Louisiana, New York or US territories
Cost 6 / 10 Essential: $0 a year, virtual $0, plastic $4.99, FX 1.50%, ATM $2.95; Elite: $99.99 a year, FX 0%; crypto spread 2.05% to 2.2% on BTC/ETH
Top-up options 8 / 10 The card spends a wallet balance of 300+ digital assets plus USD, stablecoins highlighted; funded by bank transfer, PayPal or crypto
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Issuer is Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC; Trustpilot 4.6 out of 5 across 27,602 reviews, but account freezes lasting weeks and up to three months
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay “when available”, ATM $2.95 on Essential and $0 on Elite

Total: 5.8 / 10

Who this suits: a US resident who already holds crypto, wants to spend it at normal shops without thinking about exchanges, and travels enough that the Elite tier’s zero foreign fee pays for its $99.99. Also worth a look if you value being able to choose which asset each purchase draws from — that is the feature that separates this card from a prepaid gift card, and there is no monthly fee to fight on Essential.

Who it does not suit: anyone outside the United States, anyone in Louisiana, New York or a US territory, and anyone who needs to spend fiat without touching crypto at all. It is also a poor fit if you want to be certain your account will never be restricted, because the single most common complaint theme is a freeze lasting weeks or months with no clear explanation.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, if you live in the United States — with three carve-outs. The card page is for US residents in the states and Washington D.C., and it is not available in Louisiana, New York or any US territory. Eligibility is based on residence, not citizenship, but the residence test is the one that matters, because a US mailing address is required and the address is what the issuer uses.

That distinction is worth sitting with for a moment. Plenty of people hold US citizenship and live elsewhere. Reading “US residents” as a promise would be a mistake. The address is the gate.

If you live outside the US, the honest answer is that there is nothing to apply for. You are not being declined for anything you can fix; the product is simply not offered in your country. Anyone promising otherwise is either describing a different Uphold product, describing a different company, or describing a service that does not exist.

For US residents the picture is straightforward, and there is no credit check — the card is built on your wallet balance rather than on a credit file. Note that the Uphold wallet itself is a separate prerequisite. So is personal use only: the card terms require that the card be used for personal use, an accurate real name, a valid US mailing address and a date of birth. The card’s public pages do not state which specific documents, proof of address or minimum age you will be asked for, and they do not set out KYC tiers or a processing time — so I cannot tell you exactly what the identity check looks like, only that one exists.

How to get it

The route is short. There is no credit check, and an Uphold wallet is required; the card itself does not exist separately from that wallet. The account setup is described as taking “under five minutes,” which is the time to create the account, not the time to be fully verified and holding a working card. Treat those as different numbers.

The card itself is a Visa, in both a virtual and a physical form. The physical card differs by tier: Elite’s physical card is metal, Essential’s is plastic. The card is denominated in USD.

Tier Physical card Virtual card Annual fee
Essential Plastic Yes $0
Elite Metal Yes $99.99

You will need a US mailing address to have a card delivered. The card’s pages do not state a delivery time or a shipping cost, so I cannot give you either. One thing you should know before you need it: expedited replacement is not available. A lost card is replaced at $4.99 on Essential and $29.99 on Elite, with one free replacement per year on Elite.

Since the wallet comes first, it is worth thinking about that wallet before you think about the card — because every fee you pay on this card is a fee of the wallet as much as of the card.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline that attracts people is that Essential has no annual fee. That is true, and the table below is where the real cost lives. Two numbers matter more than the rest: the 1.50% foreign transaction fee on Essential, and the crypto conversion spread, which is not a flat fee but a margin built into the exchange rate you get.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Uphold payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Essential Elite
Card issuance (physical) $4.99 $0
Annual fee $0 $99.99
Virtual card $0 $0
Foreign transaction fee 1.50% 0%
POS purchase $0 $0
ATM withdrawal fee $2.95 $0
Foreign ATM transaction fee $1.50 $0
Card replacement $4.99 $29.99 (one free per year)
Closing the card $0 $0
Customer service $0 $0
Crypto conversion spread BTC/ETH 2.05% to 2.2% same
Maximum card balance $25,000 $25,000
Purchases and total withdrawals $2,500/day, $10,000/month $25,000/day, $100,000/month
ATM $500/day, $2,000/month, 3 per day, 10 per month $2,000/day, $10,000/month, 3 per day, 30 per month
XRP rewards 2%, cap $120 up to 4%, cap $300
Upgrade Essential to Elite $0 fee —

Let me run three ordinary payments through it, because that is where abstractions stop helping.

A coffee in your own country, paid from a stablecoin balance. This is the best case and it is genuinely good. Stablecoins are highlighted on the card, and the conversion spread for other stablecoins is under 0.25% — US dollar and US dollar stablecoins are listed at 0% for a 1:1 conversion, with a $20,000 monthly cap per customer. POS purchase is $0. So a $5 coffee costs you about $5, or at the very outside a fraction of a percent if your stablecoin is not a dollar one.

A $200 online purchase paid from XRP. Here the spread matters. Altcoin conversion is listed at 2.85% to 3.8%, which on $200 is roughly $5.70 to $7.60 before you have spent anything at the shop. If you hold BTC or ETH instead, that range narrows to 2.05% to 2.2% — around $4 to $4.40 on the same purchase. This is the number most people do not think about and then notice.

A week of dinner and taxis abroad, paid from USD. Essential charges 1.50% on every one of those transactions, plus $2.95 per ATM withdrawal and a further $1.50 for a foreign ATM transaction. On Elite both percentages go to zero and ATM withdrawals are free, which is how the $99.99 can pay for itself. The catch: your card balance cannot exceed $25,000 on either tier, and Visa converts to USD at the rate in effect on the processing day — so the bank’s terms state plainly that it does not reimburse exchange-rate losses or foreign fees. If the dollar moves against you between the day you buy and the day it settles, that difference is yours.

One thing the card’s pages do not state is a flat crypto conversion fee; what they describe is the spread, which works differently — you are not charged a fee, you are charged a worse rate.

How to Top up the card

There is no separate top-up step for the card, because the card does not hold its own balance. It spends your wallet balance directly. The wallet holds 300+ digital assets and USD, with stablecoins highlighted, and you fund that wallet by bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal or crypto deposit. The card’s pages do not name which networks the crypto deposits are sent on, which matters more than it sounds — see below.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Uphold starts with a transfer to the right network
Funding route What it draws on What it costs
Bank transfer Your fiat balance Per-method fees and minimums not stated
Direct deposit Your fiat balance Not stated
PayPal Your fiat balance Not stated
Crypto deposit 300+ assets Network fee charged by the blockchain, not Uphold
Crypto to USD conversion The spread USD and USD stablecoins 0%, other stablecoins under 0.25%, major FX 0.3%, BTC/ETH 2.05% to 2.2%, altcoins 2.85% to 3.8%, precious metals 2.35% to 3.40%

The last row is the real answer to “what does it cost to top up.” Converting is where money disappears on cards like this, not at the till. One genuinely helpful detail: a “Preview Trade” feature shows the all-in price before you commit, so you can see what a conversion will actually cost rather than finding out afterwards.

Withdrawals have their own shape. Funds in the card account do not expire, you can close the card through customer service at a $0 fee, and the bank may cancel the card at any time. The bank will also cancel cards it is obliged to. Withdrawal-to-bank fees are not stated on the card’s pages.

Paying with it every day

This is the card’s strongest suit, and 9 out of 10 reflects that. It is a Visa, virtual and physical, and it works in Apple Pay and Google Pay where those are available. That last caveat is the card’s own wording — “when available” — and it is the sort of phrase that usually means availability differs by region, so if tap-to-pay on your phone is the reason you want this card, check it before you rely on it.

The rewards structure is unusual enough to explain. Elite pays up to 4% back in XRP on spend funded by crypto or metals, or 3% in XRP on fiat and stablecoin-funded spend, with a cap up to $300. Essential pays 2% in XRP, capped at $120. The rewards currency is currently XRP, and the programme applies for three months after activation on cards activated on or after 1 January 2026. So the “up to” is doing real work: whether you collect the full rate depends on what funds the purchase, and the cap applies.

The app is well rated where I could read it — 4.7 out of 5 on the iOS App Store across 91K ratings, read on 20 October 2026, version 6.111.0. I did not read the Google Play rating, so treat the Android picture as unconfirmed here.

If a payment goes wrong, the dispute route is the Uphold platform, and the timelines are specific enough to plan around. Report errors within 60 days; a report made by phone needs written confirmation within 10 business days; the bank decides within 10 business days. It may take up to 45 days, with provisional credit within 10 business days, and up to 90 days for new cards, point-of-sale or foreign-initiated transactions. Unauthorised Visa transactions are investigated in five business days, plus five more. For a lost or stolen card, liability is capped at $50 if you report it within two business days, and up to $500 if you report later. The terms do not use the word “chargeback”, which is a technicality rather than a protection: the mechanism exists, the label does not.

What can go wrong

The most-reported problem is not a failed payment. It is an account you cannot use.

Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, shows 4.6 out of 5 across 27,602 reviews, about 6,386 of them in the last twelve months, with 67% five-star and 17% one-star. That is a good-looking score. Two things sit next to it. First, 0% of negative reviews received a reply. Second, the user-report themes from September and October 2026 are dominated by account freezes and restrictions without explanation, lasting weeks and occasionally three months — often triggered by a first deposit, linking the card, a withdrawal, or a location mismatch — followed by slow, bot-driven support, identity-verification problems such as expired links and lockouts after a phone change, and unexpected charges. Third-party aggregators show wildly different Trustpilot scores for the same brand, which is itself worth noting: unofficial figures I’ve seen range from 2.4 to 4.5 out of 5, and ComplaintsBoard shows 1.9 out of 5 across 13 reviews. I would weight the directly-read Trustpilot page highest and treat the rest as directional.

Some of this is not new and not invented. Uphold’s own status page reported a Mastercard-related issue freezing some UK cards, resolved on 19 May 2026. That is a real, dated, official incident, and it involved cards being frozen without the holder doing anything wrong.

The structural reason this happens is worth understanding. Uphold is not a bank. USD balances are held at Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC, and the card is issued by that bank on the Visa network, with Uphold HQ Inc. as programme manager. Uphold states plainly that it is not itself an FDIC-insured bank. Only the USD fiat account is FDIC-insured; crypto and metals are not. The card’s pages do not state which legal entity issues the card or which licences Uphold holds.

That two-layer structure cuts both ways. It means your fiat balance sits with a chartered bank. It also means the crypto side is a different set of risks entirely: custody, network choice, and irreversible transfers. Blockchain transfers cannot be reversed, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Uphold.

There is also a UK-specific data point I would not skip: a UK Financial Ombudsman decision, DRN-5127266, concerned a closed wallet and card, where the card was issued by Optimis Cards UK. That is a UK matter rather than a US one, so it does not describe your US card — but it does describe what happens when a crypto card programme and a wallet relationship go wrong at once, and it is worth reading if you hold accounts in both markets.

On security, Uphold recommends enabling two-factor authentication and uses email verification for unusual activity, and describes a ReserveLedger / Reservechain solvency proof. Its security page does not state an in-app card freeze, spending controls or insurance. One protection is explicitly limited: Visa Zero Liability does not cover ATM transactions outside Visa and PLUS networks. For a card whose Elite tier advertises free ATM withdrawals, that gap is worth weighing.

Support, when it works, is reachable: phone +1 888-977-7217 or the number on the card back, mail at Uphold Card, 228 Park Ave. S., #50458, New York, NY 10003-1502, in-app, or via support.uphold.com. US consumers can also complain to the CFPB on 1-855-411-2372. Languages and hours are not stated.

What to take instead

If you are not a US resident, the honest comparison is against cards built for other markets. I want to be careful here: for these three alternatives the eligibility, card specification and fee pages were not readable, so the rows marked not stated are genuinely not stated rather than zero.

Alternative Score What is confirmed What I could not confirm
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Regions include Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific; not for European Economic Area customers; cashback tiers from 2% to 10% —
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Cashback paid in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% Eligibility, card type, costs, fees, funding
MSX 6.4 / 10 Nothing on the pages I could read Almost everything

Bybit Card is the one worth a real comparison, because it is the only alternative of the three with a documented regional footprint. It scores 6.0, above Uphold. Its structure differs in one important way: the card has no balance of its own, drawing instead on the Funding Account and the Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first, with crypto sold at the One-Click Sell rate plus a card conversion fee. That is the same economic idea as Uphold’s, arranged differently. The card currency depends on your country, and the application asks for country of residence — if your country is unsupported, Bybit says it will register your interest. Its conversion fee is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, and its FX fee is 2% on top of the network rate in several. Its cashback runs from 2% at Base up to 10% at Infinite, but from 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, with fiat-funded spending excluded.

Young Card and MSX I would not push you toward on this evidence. Young Card’s YNG-token cashback at 0.1% to 3.6% is a real structure, but nothing else about it is confirmed on the pages I could read, and paying rewards in a platform token rather than a stable one is a choice you should be comfortable with. MSX scores highest of the three at 6.4, and that is exactly the problem: I could confirm almost nothing about it, and a score without readable terms is not something I can hand you as a recommendation.

If you are in the European Economic Area, note that Bybit states its product is not meant for EEA customers and that all EEA participation is strictly prohibited. Its fiat-service restricted list also includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States — though that list covers deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy rather than the card itself, and Russian users are limited to RUB transactions in fiat.

Who I would recommend it to

To a US resident, outside Louisiana, New York and the territories, who already holds crypto and wants to spend it without visiting an exchange first. The virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, a 300+ asset balance and no monthly fee on Essential make that a genuinely pleasant daily experience — and the stablecoin path, at 0% for dollar stablecoins with a $20,000 monthly cap per customer, is about as cheap as spending crypto gets.

I would steer you toward Elite, rather than away from Uphold, if you travel even occasionally: $99.99 a year against 1.50% on every foreign purchase, $2.95 per ATM withdrawal and $1.50 per foreign ATM transaction is an easy sum to justify, and Elite also carries the higher limits and the free replacement. The upgrade itself costs $0.

I would not recommend this card if you are outside the US, if your account depends on the highest limits, if you need to be sure your funds are bank-insured (only the USD fiat account is), or if a possible multi-week freeze would be a serious problem for you. That last point is the one I keep coming back to. The card works well when it works. The failure mode when it does not is slow, unexplained and outside your control, and it is the most common complaint theme in reviews I read.

And if you are in Louisiana, New York or a US territory, none of this applies — there is no version of this card for you.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Uphold card?

The Uphold card is a Visa, available virtual and physical, that spends directly from your Uphold wallet balance. That balance holds 300+ digital assets plus USD, with stablecoins highlighted. The card is issued by Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC, on the Visa network, with Uphold HQ Inc. as programme manager. It is USD-denominated, and it is a spending card, not a credit card — there is no credit check.

Is the Uphold card available outside the United States?

No. The card page is for US residents in the US states and Washington D.C., and it is not available in Louisiana, New York or US territories. Eligibility is based on residence, and a US mailing address is required. If you read “US residents” as covering US citizens living abroad, that is not what the page says.

How much does the Uphold card cost?

Essential has a $0 annual fee, a $0 virtual card and a $4.99 plastic card. Elite costs $99.99 a year with a free metal card and a free replacement each year. Essential adds 1.50% on foreign transactions, $2.95 per ATM withdrawal and $1.50 per foreign ATM transaction; on Elite all three are zero. Crypto conversion is charged as a spread, not a flat fee.

What are the conversion fees when I spend crypto?

Converting is where the cost sits. US dollars and US dollar stablecoins convert 1:1 at 0% with a $20,000 monthly cap per customer; other stablecoins are under 0.25%; major FX is 0.3%; BTC and ETH are 2.05% to 2.2%; altcoins 2.85% to 3.8%; precious metals 2.35% to 3.40%. A “Preview Trade” feature shows the all-in price before you commit.

Is Uphold a bank?

Not itself. USD balances are held at Cross River Bank, a Member FDIC, and Uphold states it is not an FDIC-insured bank. Only the USD fiat account is FDIC-insured — crypto and metals are not. Uphold HQ Inc. manages the card programme while Cross River Bank issues it.

Does the Uphold card require KYC?

An Uphold wallet is required, so identity checks apply, and there is no credit check. What documents, proof of address or minimum age are required is not stated on the card’s public pages, and no KYC tiers or processing times are given there. In the US, customer identification rules require name, date of birth, address and an identification number.

How do I top up the Uphold card?

You do not top up the card itself — it spends your wallet balance. You fund the wallet by bank transfer, direct deposit, PayPal or crypto deposit. Which networks crypto deposits run on is not stated on the card’s pages, and transfers on a network the provider does not support can be lost, since blockchain transfers are irreversible.

What are the Uphold card’s limits?

The maximum card balance is $25,000 on both tiers. Essential allows $2,500 a day and $10,000 a month in purchases and total withdrawals, with ATM withdrawals capped at $500 a day, $2,000 a month, three a day and ten a month. Elite allows $25,000 a day and $100,000 a month, with ATM limits of $2,000 a day, $10,000 a month, three a day and thirty a month.

Is the Uphold card safe and reliable?

The issuer is a Member FDIC bank and the app rates 4.7 out of 5 on the iOS App Store across 91K ratings, while Trustpilot showed 4.6 out of 5 across 27,602 reviews on 20 October 2026. Against that, the most common complaint theme is account freezes lasting weeks or up to three months without explanation, and 0% of negative Trustpilot reviews were replied to. Uphold recommends enabling two-factor authentication.

Can I earn XRP rewards with the Uphold card?

Yes. Essential pays 2% in XRP with a cap up to $120; Elite pays up to 4% in XRP on crypto or metals-funded spend, or 3% on fiat and stablecoin-funded spend, with a cap up to $300. The rewards currency is currently XRP, the programme runs for three months after activation, and it applies to cards activated on or after 1 January 2026.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team