A prepaid virtual card whose fees, networks and limits nobody has published
BitFree is not a bank and does not present itself as one. It is an app that holds a virtual prepaid payment card issued through a partner the company does not name, and that card draws on money you load first. On paper that is a familiar shape — thousands of crypto cards work this way. What makes BitFree unusual is not the shape but the emptiness inside it: the public pages do not state the price of issuance, the monthly fee, the conversion charge, the ATM terms, the spending limits, the card network, the card currency, or even which coins and which blockchain networks you can use to top up. The scores below reflect exactly that.
If you are choosing a card, an unnamed section of missing numbers is not a small gap. It is the part of the product you would be spending money on. My score for BitFree is 5.2 out of 10, and I will walk through every criterion below so you can see exactly where the marks come from and decide whether the blanks matter for your situation.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Who is this card for, and who should walk away
BitFree suits one narrow case: someone who wants a prepaid card number in a supported App Store region, who is comfortable confirming an identity check, and who mainly wants to spend crypto through an app without holding a long bank relationship. If that is you and you treat the card as a convenience rather than a trusted store of value, the product can be perfectly serviceable.
It does not suit anyone who needs a bank account, a debit card tied to a salary, a credit line, a card that works reliably in a specific country, or a provider that publishes its fee schedule. It also does not suit anyone who cannot clear an identity check — see the section on who will give you the card. There is no third-party review record here to lean on either: I found no Trustpilot page and no independent reviews of BitFree, which means every judgement below rests on the company’s own App Store text and public pages rather than on years of user experience.
The score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Available in supported App Store regions (excluding mainland China); not available in Hong Kong, Macau and the US |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Fees not disclosed; conversion is done by the partner, and the rate is shown before you confirm a top-up |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Supported digital assets are only for card top-up; the coins and networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Bitfree Limited / BITFREE INC.; issuer is an unnamed licensed partner; no third-party reviews found; KYC with AML monitoring |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual prepaid card in the app only; wallets and ATM not disclosed |
Total: 5.2 / 10
The highest mark belongs to eligibility, and it earns it for a mundane reason: the company does say where the card is not available, which is more than most cards in this category manage. The lowest marks belong to the two things you touch every single week — topping up and spending — because both are described only in terms of what the partner does.
Will they give you the card
Yes, in principle, if you are in the right region and you pass the checks. BitFree states that the card is “available in supported App Store regions (excluding mainland China)”, and separately that it is not available in Hong Kong, Macau and the US. Access therefore depends on which region your App Store account is set to, on the issuing partner’s own terms, and on local regulation.
That distinction matters more than it sounds. Where you *reside* and where your *store account* points are two different facts, and the card is tied to the second one while your bank, your tax residence and your everyday spending are all tied to the first. If you travel, or if you have recently changed country, check which region your account reports before you assume you are eligible.
The card itself is virtual and prepaid, managed inside the BitFree app, and issued by a partner the company describes only as licensed. The card network and the card currency are not stated on the public pages. There is no physical version and no delivery process — the card lives in your phone.
What they will ask of you before you can use it:
- A government-issued ID document
- A liveness check, meaning a camera-based check that you are the person on the document
Beyond that, the public pages are silent on whether proof of address is required and what age threshold applies. The number of verification tiers or levels is also not stated, though one version note mentions improvements to the KYC document upload flow, which suggests the process has been reworked at least once.
If you are refused or frozen
Nobody explains a freeze, because there is no dispute process, no complaints page and no chargeback policy published for this card. That is worth holding in mind before you load money, and I come back to it under what can go wrong.
How to get it
The path is the short one: find the app, create an account, complete the identity checks, and the card appears inside the BitFree app. The App Store entries I looked at are the iOS app from Bitfree Limited and an Android listing under the Google Play id com.yykj.bitfree.en.
There is no branch to visit, no application form on a website, no waiting period described, and no statement about how long verification takes. On the evidence available, activation is not a separate ritual you perform — it follows from completing KYC.
Two things about the app itself are worth weighing:
- The iOS app on the Japan App Store shows 3.3 from 99 ratings. That is a low score on a small sample, and it is the only user-rating signal I found anywhere for this product. I did not re-read it, so treat it as an indication rather than a verdict.
- The Google Play rating was not read at all, so if you are on Android you have no public rating to go on.
The site is available in Russian, and support reaches the company at [email protected], with [email protected] handling media and regulatory inquiries. The languages those addresses actually answer in, and their hours, are not stated.
Fees and what a payment really costs
Here is the honest summary: I cannot tell you what BitFree costs. The card’s public pages do not state the issuance fee, the monthly fee, the conversion charge, foreign-exchange treatment, ATM fees, or the daily and monthly limits. The line the company does give you is that conversion is performed by the partner, and that the reference rate can be reviewed in the app before you confirm a top-up.

That single feature is the one worth using. Because the rate is shown before you commit, you can at least see what you are being offered at the moment you load — and walk away from a bad one. What you cannot see is the margin built into it, because the conversion fee itself is not disclosed. The limits line goes the same way: “limits and functionality are determined by the issuing partner and applicable network rules”. There are no tiers, and no card currency is named.
| Fee or limit | What BitFree’s public pages say |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Conversion | Not stated; conversion is done by the partner, and the reference rate is shown before you confirm a top-up |
| FX | Not stated |
| ATM | Not stated |
| Daily limits | Not stated; limits and functionality are determined by the issuing partner and applicable network rules |
| Monthly limits | Not stated; limits and functionality are determined by the issuing partner and applicable network rules |
Three everyday payments, and what you would have to find out
Take three ordinary moments. I cannot tell you the final amount of any of them, because the inputs are missing. What I can do is show you which missing figure each one depends on, so you know what to ask before you start spending.
The weekly grocery shop. You tap the virtual card, the balance covers it, and nothing converts. The cost here is not a fee but a limit — you have no idea what your daily or monthly ceiling is, because it is set by the partner. If the shop takes more than your ceiling, the payment simply declines.
A purchase in a currency other than your balance. Two unknowns stack: what the card currency is, and whether an FX charge applies on top of the conversion. The card currency is not stated, and FX treatment is not stated. If the balance is not in the currency the terminal asks for, you are relying entirely on the partner’s conversion, with no published margin.
A coffee bought through a mobile wallet or a tokenised terminal. Whether this works at all is not stated, and neither is whether the card can be added to Apple Pay. The issuer can restrict a tokenised card number for magnetic-stripe, phone or website use, so “virtual card” does not guarantee “works in your wallet”.
One thing you should not forget: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. When you load funds, you may spend money on gas or bandwidth to get them there, and that cost comes out of your own pocket.
Top up
The funding story is one sentence long: “Supported digital assets may be used only for prepaid card top-up requests”. That is the entire stated mechanism. Which digital assets are supported is not named. Which networks to send them on is not named. Minimums, fees and arrival times are not stated. Nothing is said about withdrawing money back out.

This is the single most dangerous gap on the card, and the reason is technical rather than bureaucratic. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send funds on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be gone, or recoverable only through a manual support request with no guarantee attached. A support address existing is not a recovery process.
So the practical rule, which is not advice about circumventing anything but simply about not losing money: before your first transfer, ask support which assets and which networks are accepted, and get the answer in writing. Do not infer from the fact that a token exists that you can send it.
There is also a category-wide trap worth knowing before you send anything. On Ethereum, sending an ERC-20 token requires ETH in the wallet for gas, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot move it. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy and often burn TRX. And USDT lives on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — which means the same token has several addresses, and picking the wrong one is a common and irreversible error. Tether also states that it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof even when the transaction is entirely legitimate.
Paying with it every day
You would spend from the BitFree app, on a virtual prepaid card, from a balance you loaded beforehand. That is the whole model. A prepaid card draws on stored money, while a standard debit card asks your bank to withdraw from a linked account at the moment of purchase — the difference is why a pre-loaded card cannot overdraw and why you may simply be declined when it runs out.
What is not stated about everyday use is almost everything else:
- Wallets — whether the card can be added to Apple Pay or any other mobile wallet is not stated
- ATM — cash withdrawal is not addressed
- Rewards — no cashback, points or incentive programme is mentioned
- Online acceptance — no list of where the card works, online or in shops, is published
On acceptance, understand that this is where prepaid cards get judged by systems that do not care what the issuer is called. A merchant can look up the six- or eight-digit issuer identification number at the front of the card number and see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for exactly this reason. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer types against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines.
Two smaller things that can explain a refused payment. Online payments usually run through 3-D Secure, where the issuer assesses risk and either approves silently or challenges you with a one-time code or a biometric prompt — Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven, even though you never spent anything.
On refunds and mistakes, the card publishes nothing. The dispute process is not stated.
What can go wrong
Let me be direct about the risks, in the order I would weigh them for you.
The unnamed issuer is the centre of everything. Bitfree Limited is the iOS publisher and BITFREE INC. the Android one; the card is issued by a partner described only as a licensed card issuing partner operating under its own financial licenses, and the registration is not stated. The company you install is the front end. The institution that holds your balance, applies the fees and decides the limits is a different organisation you cannot name from the public pages. When something goes wrong, that is who you are dealing with.
Custody is unstated, and that is a real risk class. Nobody publishes whether your funds sit in a custodial wallet held by the provider or in your own self-custody. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, and you must trust them completely. The seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and unencrypted, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return anything. Custodial platforms have a genuine history of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022).
No complaint record, in either direction. I found no official incidents, and no third-party reviews of BitFree at all — which is not a clean bill of health, it is an absence of evidence. There is no Trustpilot page. When a provider has no public track record, you have no way to see how it behaves when something breaks.
Programme closure is a normal ending, not an exceptional one. Card programmes do close. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. The pattern in a closure is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances; one 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026, though that is a single unconfirmed source. The structural reason this keeps happening is worth understanding: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves. They license issuers, and they can pull the licence. The crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end.
No chargeback route is published. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E, credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. This card is prepaid, and the card’s pages describe no dispute mechanism at all.
Identity checks and sanctions are the real gate, and they are not negotiable. KYC requirements come from anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorism-financing law and include ongoing transaction monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, the rules require the institution to decline the transaction or, where necessary, end the relationship — which is why accounts close or freeze while documents are pending. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems also validate proof-of-address documents. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening is often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as address. Prepaid and debit cards are generally for adults aged 18+, and some issuers set higher limits. I am describing the framework, not the enforcement on your file — only the issuer’s own decision matters there.
Two licences, not one. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules applied from 30 December 2024. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they are authorised or refused under MiCA, whichever comes first. A card itself is a payment service regulated separately under e-money and payments law, so a crypto card often depends on two licences. Electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts or by insurance, and such funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while ordinary users buying goods are not. None of this tells you where BitFree sits, and that is precisely the point.
Stablecoins can move. A stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but stablecoins are not necessarily stable. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in those two as of July 2025. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents, with monthly reserve attestations, and lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026. But depegs happen: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Also relevant to funding a card: gas is paid in ETH only, so an ERC-20 balance with no ETH behind it is stuck, and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.
Where you live affects what you are owed. If your card money sits with an electronic money institution in the EU, an EMI can offer services across the EU/EEA from a licence granted in one member state, but it cannot lend. A provider authorised in one member state can serve the EU broadly. If you are outside that, the protection you might have assumed simply may not exist.
I am not going to tell you this card is unsafe, because there is not enough evidence either way. I am telling you that the questions which determine safety — who holds the money, who is liable, what happens on closure, how a dispute is settled — are the ones this card leaves unanswered in public.
What to take instead
If the missing numbers decide against BitFree for you, the honest comparison is with cards that publish more or charge less, and with your own alternatives. I want to be careful here: I have looked at each of these briefly and none of them is a clean answer either.
| Card | Score | Who it targets | The card itself | What it costs | How you fund it |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no country list or exclusions; App Store listing is Naira-focused | Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; card currency Naira per listing | Not stated; conversion at the moment of payment via an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks one, with no fee percentage published | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Aimed at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and “Nigerians and global users”; no country list or exclusions | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | “Creating a virtual card is completely free”; monthly fee not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Official pages state no country list; the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, which is acceptance, not eligibility | Prepaid “HyperCard”; network not stated on the App Store page; balance in USD or EUR | Not stated; the App Store page lists no fees | Deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated |
Read that table carefully, because the honest conclusion is that BitFree’s 5.2 sits in the same band as the field. Cardex scores slightly higher and is more transparent about what it is: a real debit card on four networks, virtual and physical. What it hides is the conversion fee percentage — the number that decides whether using it is cheap or expensive. CardFlow is the cheapest to start, with free card creation, but is clearly built for Nigeria and tells you nothing about fees or networks. HyperCard publishes no fees at all, and its “176 countries” line is about where the card is accepted, not who can hold one — a distinction worth internalising before any of these.
What all three share with BitFree is the same hole: networks for funding are not stated. And the alternative that is missing from this table is the one many readers never consider: doing nothing. If you have no way to obtain an ordinary bank card, a crypto prepaid card is a workaround, not a foundation, and it should not become the place your salary sits. Where a regulated electronic money institution or a bank offers an account in your jurisdiction, the protections attached to it are stronger than what any of these cards can offer from the outside.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend BitFree to a person who has checked the eligibility line against their own region, who has asked support in writing which assets and networks are accepted, who is loading small amounts rather than a balance, and who treats the card as a spending convenience with no expectation of recourse if something goes wrong.
I would not recommend it to anyone building a financial routine on it. That includes anyone who wants to know what a payment costs before they make it, anyone who needs a card that reliably works in a specific country, anyone who needs cash from an ATM, anyone who needs a card in a specific currency, and anyone who needs a dispute process when a merchant takes the money and does not deliver.
The card has one genuine advantage over its rivals: the conversion rate is shown before you confirm a top-up. Use that feature carefully and it will tell you more than any fee schedule would have. Everything else you would want to know — the issuer’s name, the conversion margin, the network, the limit, the currency — has to be asked for. If the answers come back clearly, BitFree is a workable prepaid virtual card. If they do not, you have your answer too.
Frequently asked questions
What is BitFree card?
BitFree is an app offering a virtual prepaid payment card that draws on money you load in advance, rather than on a bank account. The card is issued through a licensed partner the company does not name, and the crypto assets you hold are converted into a spendable balance. It is not a bank account, and it does not behave like one.
Is BitFree a bank?
No. Bitfree Limited is the iOS publisher and BITFREE INC. the Android one; the card itself is issued by an unnamed licensed card issuing partner operating under its own financial licenses. The card functions as a prepaid payment instrument. Treat it as such, and do not expect deposit protection, lending, or the redress you would get from a regulated bank.
Who owns BitFree?
The published entity names are Bitfree Limited on the iOS App Store and BITFREE INC. on Android, taken from the starting data. Registration details are not stated on the public pages, and the issuing partner is unnamed. So the short answer is: the app operator’s names are known, but the institution that actually holds your money is not identified.
How do I get the BitFree card?
Download the app, create an account, and complete the required identity checks: a government-issued ID document and a liveness check. The virtual card then appears inside the BitFree app. There is no physical card, no delivery step, and no stated waiting period — proof of address and the age threshold are not stated either.
Does BitFree card require KYC?
Yes. The card requires government-issued ID and liveness checks before use, plus ongoing anti-money-laundering monitoring and device checks. The number of verification levels is not stated, though a version note mentions improvements to the document upload flow. If your checks cannot be completed, the account may be restricted or closed.
Is BitFree card available in the United States?
No. The card is not available in the United States, and also not in Hong Kong or Macau. It is available in supported App Store regions excluding mainland China, subject to the issuing partner’s terms and local regulation — so check which region your store account reports, not merely where you live.
How do I top up the BitFree card?
The stated mechanism is that supported digital assets may be used only for prepaid card top-up requests. Which assets and which networks are not named, nor are fees or minimums. Ask support in writing before your first transfer — sending on an unsupported network is usually irreversible and may only be recoverable through a manual request with no guarantee.
Can I use BitFree card at ATMs and in Apple Pay?
Both are unaddressed on the public pages. ATM withdrawals are not mentioned, and whether the card can be added to a mobile wallet is not stated — an issuer can restrict a tokenised card number for phone use. Where you can spend, online or in person, is also not published, so assume you will need to test acceptance before relying on it.
Is BitFree card free?
I cannot tell you, and neither can the public pages. The issuance fee, the monthly fee and the conversion charge are all not stated, as are ATM fees and spending limits. What you can inspect is the conversion reference rate, which the app shows before you confirm a top-up. Treat that as your only published price signal.
Is BitFree card safe?
There is no evidence of official incidents and no third-party reviews at all, which means there is no track record either way. The company publishes KYC with AML monitoring, but the custody model is unstated, so you cannot tell who holds your funds. I would not call it unsafe, and I would not call it proven either.
Is BitFree card worth it?
For a small, occasional spending convenience in a supported region, possibly yes. For a primary card, no: undisclosed fees, unnamed issuer, unstated networks, no published limits and no dispute route add up to too much uncertainty. Before deciding, get the network list, the fee schedule, the card currency and the daily limit in writing from support.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
