A prepaid Visa for US crypto users that asks little of you, but gives little back
The Coinbase card is one of the older crypto-backed payment cards still in active use, and it is also one of the simplest. It is a Visa prepaid debit card issued by Pathward, N.A. in the United States, it spends dollars, and it draws on a balance you hold inside Coinbase. The pitch is plain: no annual fee, no per-purchase fee, an optional crypto reward on every swipe. The trade-off, and the reason this review is a measured one, is that almost everything else is closed: who can get it, where it works, what it costs to fund, and how much friction there is when something goes wrong.
Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
I went through the card’s own pages, the cardholder agreement, Coinbase’s help center, third-party reports and the public score that sits behind this verdict. The number that came out is 6.4 out of 10, and the way it is built up is more useful than the figure itself.
| Criterion | Mark | What the mark reflects |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | US residents only, all states except Hawaii, and strict identity checks |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No annual fee, no spending fee, no ATM fee from Coinbase, but a spread on every conversion |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Bank link or salary deposit, crypto balance converted at payment, no detail on coins or networks |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | A real bank as issuer, but a long trail of account-freeze and support complaints on Trustpilot |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Works wherever Visa is taken, virtual or physical, and the app has wallet support (unofficial) |
The total of 6.4 out of 10 is the sum of those five marks. It puts the card in the middle of the field. It is not a hard sell and it is not a write-off; it is a competent US-only prepaid card that does what it says, and the limits on who and where are the reason the headline mark is not higher.
In plain terms, this card suits a US resident who already keeps crypto on Coinbase and wants to spend it without first wiring dollars to a bank, and who is comfortable with the way Coinbase handles accounts. It does not suit anyone outside the US, anyone who needs a multi-currency card, or anyone who is unwilling to be deeply identified by a single platform.
Who will they give you the card
The card is only available to people Coinbase can onboard as US customers. The card page and the help center state that the card is offered in all US states except Hawaii. There is no second country on the list, and no European, UK, Canadian, Australian or Latin American route was found in the official material. If you live outside the US, this card is not an option through Coinbase’s own programme.
Eligibility follows the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules. Coinbase asks for your name, address, date of birth and identifying information, and the help center says it “may also ask to see your driver’s license or other identifying documents” as part of opening the card account. There is no credit check and no staking requirement, so the gate is identity, not credit history. A US citizen or permanent resident who is 18 or older, as the older cardholder agreement puts it, is the natural fit. The card can be used before identity is fully verified only to the extent Coinbase allows, and the older agreement spells out that limits may apply until that step is done.
The practical point: the card is a US-resident product, full stop. The Hawaii exclusion is the only state-level carve-out, and it is the kind of detail you would otherwise miss until you tried to sign up.
How to get it
Sign-up is a short, well-trodden path inside the Coinbase app. You open an account, complete identity verification, then either create a virtual card or order a physical card. The card is a Visa prepaid debit card, so it draws on a stored balance rather than a line of credit. You can hold it in either form; both work for in-store and online spending, and the physical card also works at ATMs.
Delivery time for a physical card is not stated in the current card pages. The older cardholder agreement says there is no fee for replacement cards sent because the card has expired, which is a small but useful tell about how the issuer thinks about its own product.
Activation is handled in-app and does not require a manual “received” step. The process is designed to be streamlined for users of modern prepaid cards.
What it really costs: Fees
This is the part of the card that is genuinely easy to recommend, with one careful caveat. The card page says “Zero spending fees and no annual fees”, and the older fee schedule lists no monthly fee, no funding fee from the Coinbase USD Wallet, no ATM fee from Coinbase, and no balance-inquiry fee. The issuer’s fee for international transactions is 0%, although the network will still convert foreign-currency purchases, and Coinbase itself notes that a separate fee from Coinbase may apply.

The one cost that does sit in front of every payment is a spread. When you pay in crypto, Coinbase converts the coin into US dollars at the moment of payment, and the same spread that applies when you buy, sell or trade crypto on the exchange also applies here. The card’s own pages put it simply: there are no Coinbase transaction fees, but a spread applies on conversion. So the headline “no fees” is true in the sense of named line items, and the cost that exists is the gap between the price you see and the mid-market price at the moment of conversion.
| Fee or limit | What it is |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | No fee stated for the standard card |
| Monthly fee | None |
| Conversion | No named fee, but a spread applies when crypto is converted to USD at payment |
| Foreign exchange | 0% from the issuer; network converts foreign-currency purchases; Coinbase may add a fee |
| ATM withdrawal | $0 from Coinbase; ATM operator may charge |
| Daily and monthly limits | Vary by customer; risk checks may lower them; see in app Card > Support > “View spending and ATM limits” |
Three everyday examples make this concrete. A $40 supermarket swipe in dollars: nothing on top of the $40. The same $40 paid from a crypto balance: the $40 plus whatever spread Coinbase is showing on the conversion at that moment, which you can see in the app before you confirm. A $50 ATM withdrawal: $0 from Coinbase, plus whatever the ATM operator charges.
How to top it up: Top up
The funding model is one of the two simple things about the card. You have two real options, and they are both free.

First, you can link a US bank account and fund the card from it. The card page and the older fee schedule both put this at zero fees. You can also arrange a part-of-paycheck deposit into Coinbase and use that as your source. The minimum top-up amount and any network fees that might apply on a deposit are not stated in the public material, and that is one of the gaps I would want closed before recommending a heavy funding flow.
Second, you can hold crypto on Coinbase and let the card spend it. The card converts your crypto balance into dollars at the moment of payment, so you do not top up in the usual sense; you just hold a balance on Coinbase and the card spends from it after conversion. Which coins and which networks you can use for this are not named in the card pages, and again that is a gap. Older terms say there is no fee to fund the card from your Coinbase USD Wallet, which covers the dollar side of the picture.
The card itself does not have a separate top-up step that the user runs in the same way as some other prepaid cards; the “top up” is really a bank link, a paycheck deposit, or a coin balance sitting in Coinbase. There is no native multi-network stablecoin flow documented, and no instruction to send USDC on Polygon, USDT on Tron or any other specific network the way some crypto cards lay out.
Paying with it every day
This is the second genuinely easy part of the card. Once you have it, it behaves like any other Visa prepaid card, which means it works wherever Visa is taken, online and in store, and at ATMs.
A few practical details. The app is mature: it is available on iPhone (iOS 16.4 and up), Mac and Apple Vision, with 18 interface languages including Russian and Turkish. The App Store rating sits at 4.7 from 1.8 million ratings as of the date I checked, which is a useful proxy for how the wider Coinbase experience is received. Google Play data did not return a value at the time of reading.
Mobile wallet support is not stated on Coinbase’s own card pages, and the help center does not confirm Apple Pay or Google Pay in a way I could verify against an official source. The TechRadar headline “Coinbase lets customers use its Coinbase Card with Apple Pay and Google Pay” and CryptoSlate listings do report it, so I treat that as unofficial rather than confirmed. If you rely on paying by phone, check the current state of wallet support inside your own app before you assume it is there.
Rewards are the optional sweetener. US card users can switch on a rotating crypto reward on every purchase, and the rate is shown in the app, so you see what you are getting before you spend. It is a single tier, not a paid membership ladder; the only variation is which coin you pick from the rotating set at any given time.
If something goes wrong with a transaction, the older cardholder agreement says to report unauthorized transactions promptly. The issuer then has up to 10 business days to make a decision, with a possible extension to 45 days; if the decision is in your favour, the issuer will credit the account within 10 business days, and losses reported more than 60 days after the statement may not be recoverable. Merchant refunds come from the merchant and may post with delay. Chargeback rights under Visa’s own rules are not spelled out in the public material I read.
What can go wrong
Two kinds of risk sit on top of the card. The first is the platform. Coinbase has a Trustpilot score of 4.0 out of 5 from 23,282 reviews as of the date I checked, and the split is striking: 45% five-star, 43% one-star. The themes on the negative side are slow or absent support in fraud cases, account lockouts and heavy verification, multi-day holds on larger deposits, and complaints about conversion and debit-card transfer fees. A US PIRG study cited in third-party reporting also ranked Coinbase third among digital wallets by number of complaints to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, with the difficulty of retrieving money as a recurring theme. A 2026 third-party report from Interesting Engineering says Coinbase confirmed an incident in which users’ bank accounts were mistakenly overcharged. None of this is a finding against the card itself, but it is what you are signing up for as a customer.
The second is the issuer change. The card page on Coinbase’s site currently names Pathward, N.A. as the issuer, with the programme running on Marqeta’s issuing platform. The agreement file that sits in Coinbase’s own static-assets folder, however, still names MetaBank, N.A. as issuer, with Marqeta as programme manager. The card has therefore changed issuer at least once, and the older agreement document is not a guarantee that what is in it still applies. If you are sensitive to that, read the current cardholder agreement in your own app before you load the card heavily.
There is also the general question of custody, and here the answer is simple. The card is custodial. Your funds sit with Coinbase and the issuing bank; you do not hold the keys. The older cardholder agreement says that funds transferred from the Coinbase USD Wallet are eligible for FDIC insurance up to $250,000 if the deposit-insurance requirements are met, and Visa’s standard Zero Liability policy applies. The card freeze and detailed spending controls in the app are not described in the public material I read, so I would not assume a full set of card-management features exists until you see it in your own app.
Support is reachable by phone on 1-888-908-7930, by email at [email protected], by post at 100 Pine Street, San Francisco, CA 94111, and through the help center and the in-app Card > Support section. What the support is actually like is the part users most often complain about, so the channels exist; the experience is uneven.
What to take instead
If the card does not fit, three other names come up in the same space. None is a direct substitute, because each one makes a different trade-off, but they are the ones to look at.
Young Card scores 5.7 out of 10 in our coverage, and its hook is cashback paid in YNG tokens, with rates that depend on a Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%. The Bronze and Silver tiers are not stated. Official card details regarding country availability and the exact fee structure are not publicly stated, so it is safer to look further before signing up than to treat it as a clean alternative.
MSX scores 6.4 out of 10, the same number as the Coinbase card, and sits in a similar mid-field position. As with Young, official product details including where it is available and what it costs are not publicly stated, so the comparison is limited to the headline score.
Bybit Card scores 6.0 out of 10 and is a different shape of product. It is available in a long list of countries, including Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and an Asia Pacific group, and it explicitly excludes European Economic Area customers, with US customers on a separate restricted list for fiat services. The card has no balance of its own: it draws on a Funding Account and a Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first, with crypto sold at the One-Click Sell rate plus a 0.9% conversion fee (0.5% in Argentina) if the fiat runs out. The supported coins are BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM, with USDT the default priority. The rewards structure is tiered (Base 2.00% up to Infinite 10%), but from 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, so fiat-funded spending does not. It is more featureful and more complex than the Coinbase card, and it is the alternative to look at if the Coinbase card’s US-only footprint is the problem.
The honest summary is that none of these cards is a clean drop-in for the Coinbase card. Young and MSX are still under-documented in the public material, and Bybit is a different kind of product that asks more of you in exchange for being available in more countries.
Who I would recommend it to
If you are a US resident, you already have a Coinbase account, you keep some of your balance in crypto, and you want to spend it through a familiar Visa card without first wiring dollars to a bank, the Coinbase card does the job cleanly. The no-fee structure is real, the conversion spread is the only cost that you actually have to think about, and the app is mature enough to trust for daily use.
If you are outside the US, this card is not for you. If you need a multi-currency card, this card is not for you. If you want a rewards card with a serious earn rate, the optional rotating crypto reward is fine but it is not a reason to pick this card over a dedicated cashback product. If you have had a bad experience with account freezes or slow support on Coinbase in the past, the third-party complaint pattern is real, and the card does not insulate you from it.
I would recommend this card to a US-resident Coinbase user who values simplicity over flexibility. I would not recommend it to anyone for whom Coinbase itself is a source of doubt.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Coinbase card?
The Coinbase card is a Visa prepaid debit card, available as a virtual or physical card, that spends dollars and is funded from a balance you hold inside Coinbase. It can draw on a linked US bank account, on a part-of-paycheck deposit, or on a crypto balance that Coinbase converts to US dollars at the moment of payment.
How does the Coinbase card work?
Each payment is authorized by the card network and settled by the issuer, Pathward, N.A. When you pay in dollars, the card draws on your card balance. When you pay from crypto, Coinbase converts the coin to US dollars first, then the card spends those dollars. The card is a prepaid card, so it cannot overdraw.
Is Coinbase a bank?
No, Coinbase is not a bank. The card is issued by Pathward, N.A., which is a Member FDIC bank, but Coinbase itself is the programme manager and the brand you deal with. Funds held in your Coinbase USD Wallet may be eligible for FDIC pass-through insurance up to $250,000 if the relevant requirements are met, but the card is not a bank account.
Who owns Coinbase?
Coinbase is a publicly listed US company (ticker COIN). The card sits on top of its exchange and brokerage, with the issuing bank and the card programme as separate entities. Coinbase does not lend or take deposits in its own right.
Is the Coinbase card available in my country?
The card is offered in all US states except Hawaii, and not in any other country that the card pages list. If you are not a US resident, this card is not available through Coinbase’s own programme, regardless of which country you live in.
Does the Coinbase card require KYC?
Yes. Opening a card account follows the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules, so Coinbase asks for your name, address, date of birth and identifying information, and may ask to see a driver’s license or other documents. The card cannot be used normally until identity verification is complete.
How do I top up the Coinbase card?
You link a US bank account and fund the card from it at no cost, you arrange a part-of-paycheck deposit into Coinbase, or you hold a crypto balance on Coinbase and let the card convert and spend it. There is no minimum top-up stated in the public material, and the specific coins and networks supported for crypto spending are not named on the card pages.
Can I add the Coinbase card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Mobile wallet support is not stated in Coinbase’s own card pages. Third-party reports from TechRadar and CryptoSlate describe Apple Pay and Google Pay support, so I treat it as unofficial. Check your own app to see whether the option is currently available to you.
Is the Coinbase card safe?
It is as safe as a custodial product on a regulated platform can be. The issuer is a US bank, the network is Visa with its Zero Liability policy, and funds in the Coinbase USD Wallet may be eligible for FDIC pass-through insurance if the conditions are met. The platform-level risk is the kind that comes with any large custodial crypto business: account freezes, support delays and the possibility of an issuer change, all of which have been reported on Coinbase.
Is the Coinbase card worth it?
It is worth it for a US-resident Coinbase user who wants a simple, low-fee way to spend a crypto balance through Visa. It is not worth chasing if you are outside the US, if you want meaningful rewards, or if you have reasons to be cautious about Coinbase as a counterparty.
Exchange card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
