A self-custody card that spends your crypto like a prepaid balance — and will not hand it back
The Spritz card is a Visa payment card that draws on crypto you already hold in your own wallet. You move funds from your wallet onto the card, the card converts them into a stored US-dollar balance, and you spend that balance like a prepaid card in shops, online, or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. What makes it attractive is the top-up side: 50,000+ tokens across five chains, with the cheapest networks for the big stablecoins and no fee on spending or on keeping the account. What makes it a hard yes-or-no for a lot of people is a single line in Spritz’s own help centre: once money is on the Spritz Card, it cannot be returned or transferred. It has to be spent. For someone who holds crypto in self-custody and wants a payment card without giving up control of the coins, that trade is reasonable. For anyone who treats a card balance as money they might change their mind about, it is not the same card.
Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.4 out of 10
The card does one thing well — turning self-held crypto into a spendable dollar balance cheaply and across many networks — and does almost nothing else. There is no tier ladder, no monthly fee, no ATM article, and no cashback stated by the company itself. The score breaks down as follows.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Eligibility runs on residence rather than citizenship, across “many international countries and territories”, but the list lives in a help-centre table and unofficial counts say 42 countries including the US in 30 states |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No fees for spending or account upkeep; loading is 1% by default with a $2 minimum, and the big stablecoins on the cheap networks add nothing; the issuance fee and the FX fee are not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | 50,000+ tokens in 5 chains, with USDC and USDT on Tron, USDC on Arbitrum, Avalanche, Base, Optimism, Polygon and Solana, plus Bitcoin, DASH, XRP and Sui |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Spritz Finance is the name; the issuing institution is not named officially, and money loaded onto the card cannot be pulled back out; unofficial ratings sit at 4.0/5 on Trustpilot from 319 reviews and 3.2/5 in the App Store from 11 ratings |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Apple Pay and Google Pay both work, virtual and physical cards exist, though the physical one is unofficially described as a limited release for US customers with ATM use on the physical card |
The audience that fits is specific: you already hold crypto in self-custody, most of it USDC sitting on chains that Spritz supports cheaply, and you want a Visa number that behaves like an ordinary prepaid card. If you are that person, the 9/10 on top-up options is the whole argument.
The people I would not point this card at are the ones who read “Visa” and think “bank account”. It is not one. Spritz names no issuing institution on its own pages, and the card balance is stored in USD inside a program balance rather than in a bank account you can claim against. It is also not the card for anyone who needs to move money back out: no withdrawal to crypto, no transfer off the card, no stated route from the balance back to a bank account except the separate Off-Ramp path, which applies to crypto you sent through that flow rather than to card balance.
And it is a poor fit if the promise you want is a physical piece of plastic with a wide ATM network. The company’s public pages do not state physical delivery terms at all — no shipping cost, no replacement fee, no delivery schedule. Unofficially, the physical card is described as a limited release with a 3,000-card Alpha allocation for US customers and no published price. Unofficially, it works at supported Visa ATMs and the virtual card is not practical for that. If cash withdrawal is part of your plan, you are planning around gaps.
Will they give you the card?
Eligibility runs on where you live, not what you hold. Spritz puts it plainly: the card works off of your residence versus your citizenship. That distinction matters for a lot of applicants, because a citizenship from a restricted country does not by itself close the door if you reside in a supported one — though the reverse also has limits you should read carefully below.
The blog describes availability as “many international countries and territories” and points to a table in the help centre for the actual list. Two exceptions are called out in the same breath: Nigeria needs conditional approval, and countries that are not listed are unsupported. That is the honest shape of the answer — there is a list, it is in a help article rather than on the front page, and the exceptions are not cosmetic.
Unofficially, and not confirmed by the card, a third-party site counted the availability at 42 countries including the United States in 30 states, and named Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria and Venezuela as restricted as of August 2026. Treat that as a pointer to the help-centre table rather than as the rule. The company’s own table is the one that counts, and that official list is the place to verify whether your specific country is supported.
The minimum age is 18. Nothing beyond that is stated about tiered eligibility or country-specific limits; there is no tier structure, so the limits are simply the card’s limits, which I cover under costs.
How to get it
The route is verification, then activation in the app. Minimum age 18, and a verified account is required — that means uploading ID, with manual verification available through support if the automated route does not settle. Once the account is verified, you activate the card in the app at app.spritz.finance/card, and Spritz describes this as taking “in minutes”.
What the card itself is, officially: “the premium Spritz Card”, on Visa, with Visa Signature benefits attached. The API documentation lists both a virtual and a physical type. Funds added to the card are denominated and stored in USD — which is the first thing to understand about the product, because it means the card is not a crypto wallet with a card attached. It is a dollar balance that you load.
What the public pages do not say is the single most practical question an applicant has, which is when the physical card arrives. Delivery terms are not stated officially at all. Unofficially, the physical card is described as a limited release with a 3,000-card Alpha allocation for US customers, with no published price, no replacement fee and no delivery schedule. If a plastic card is not a nice-to-have for you, that gap is worth resolving with support before you commit.
Also not stated: any KYC tier structure, a processing time beyond “in minutes” for activation, and the reasons an application might be rejected. Unofficially, the ID upload is described as a government photo ID plus phone, legal name, date of birth, ID number and address, with a live face check, and a partner may add citizenship, passport or address checks on top. None of that is confirmed by the card.
One thing worth saying plainly: if the verification route through the app stalls, the documented fallback is support, not a second automated path. So set aside an hour for the first attempt rather than assuming you will be done in ten minutes.
Fees: what it really costs
This is where the card is genuinely good, with two holes in the public information. Spending on the card and maintaining the account carry no fees. The load fee is 1% as a base, with a $2 minimum, and that 1% is made up of 0.5% base plus 0.5% for loading the virtual card. On top of that base sit network-specific adjustments — and here is the detail that decides whether the card is cheap for you or not.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Spending on the card | No fee |
| Account maintenance | No fee |
| Issuance fee | Not stated on the card’s public pages |
| Base load fee | 1% (0.5% base + 0.5% virtual card load), $2 minimum |
| USDC on Arbitrum, Avalanche, Base, Optimism, Polygon, Solana | +0% |
| Other tokens on those networks | +0.5% |
| Ethereum, any token | +0.5% |
| Sui: USDC / SUI | +1% / +2% |
| BSC, any token | +1% |
| XRP | +1.5% |
| Tron: USDC / USDT | +0.5% / +1.5% |
| Bitcoin | +1.5%, $5 minimum |
| DASH | +1.25% |
| FX fee | Not stated on the card’s public pages |
| ATM fee | Not stated on the card’s public pages |
| Network (gas) fees on top-up | Paid by you, the blockchain’s charge, not Spritz’s |
| Daily limit | $10,000 |
| Maximum card balance | $10,000 |
| Balance limit increase | “The SpritzCard limit cannot be increased at this time” |
| Load maximum per top-up | $5,000 per an unofficial source, which conflicts with the official table above |
Two of those rows are blank because the card does not publish them: the issuance fee and the FX fee. Unofficially, a third-party site reports no Spritz fee on card purchases with exchange rates simply applying abroad. That is a plausible reading of a card that charges nothing to spend, but it is not the card’s statement.
Note also that the $10,000 daily limit and the $10,000 balance cap are the same number, so in practice you cannot hold more than a day’s spending on the card at a time, and the company says plainly that the limit cannot be raised. Unofficially, and in direct conflict with that official table, one source describes a $5,000 maximum per load with no stated spending limit or balance cap. Where the two disagree, the official table is the one I would plan around.
One more cost that is temporary: the blog announces that loading fees are waived for the first 30 days after launch. If you are reading this during that window, your effective load cost is zero — but the fee comes back afterwards, and it would be poor planning to size your whole habit around a launch promotion.
Three everyday payments
A €40 lunch in Berlin, paid on the virtual card. The load fee does not apply to a spend, only to a top-up, so the only question is what happens to the currency. Your balance is stored in USD, so a euro-denominated purchase is converted, and the FX fee is not stated. Budget for the conversion and ask support what rate and fee apply before you rely on it.
A $25 subscription on a site that asks for 3-D Secure. The help article notes that declines can come from merchant restrictions or 3-D Secure verification, and that address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which is a common cause of a decline at a foreign site. If it fails, this is not necessarily a Spritz fault — but it is a friction you should expect occasionally.
A $15 taxi paid by tapping a phone. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, online, in-store and mobile, and mobile wallet payments use a tokenised card number with a one-time security code per payment rather than your card digits. No Spritz fee on the transaction. A declined authorisation can still leave a hold on your balance for several days, sometimes up to seven, which matters more than usual when your total balance is capped at $10,000.
Top up: how the money gets in
This is the card’s strongest suit and the reason it scores 9 out of 10 here. You load from your own wallet: 50,000+ tokens across 5 chains, according to the blog, with a help article naming Bitcoin, DASH, USDT and USDC on TRON, and a fee table covering Arbitrum, Avalanche, Base, Optimism, Polygon, Solana, Ethereum, Sui, BSC, Ripple, Tron, Bitcoin and DASH. The crypto is converted to USD through a quote — the card_deposit rail — into a program balance.

Which chain you use matters more than which token, and that is the single most useful thing to take from the fee table. USDC on Arbitrum, Avalanche, Base, Optimism, Polygon or Solana carries no adjustment on top of the 1% base. USDC on Tron costs an extra 0.5%; USDT on Tron costs an extra 1.5%. Ethereum costs 0.5% whatever you send. So a person with USDC in two places should hold it on one of the six zero-adjustment networks, not on Tron or Ethereum, and the difference between a sensible choice and a careless one is a full percentage point before you count the 1% base.
Three more practical points. The $2 minimum on a load means small top-ups are expensive as a percentage, and the Bitcoin minimum is $5. The network’s own gas fee is yours, and Spritz’s help centre keeps it separate from Spritz’s fees so that you can see both. The minimum top-up amount is not stated, and neither is a fiat top-up route; the on-ramp is described as a separate product with its own 1% flat fee.
Then the line that decides the whole product. Spritz’s own words: “Once funds are on your Spritz Card we cannot return or transfer them.” They must be spent. The bank off-ramp that does exist applies to crypto sent through the Off-Ramp flow, not to a card balance. What happens to a balance if you close the account is not stated. Plan your loads as money you are about to spend, not money you are parking.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, the card behaves like a prepaid Visa. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported for online, in-store and mobile payments, which is where most of the friction disappears — you tap, you do not handle the card. There is a web app at app.spritz.finance and an iOS app; the official store pages were not readable when this was checked.
The card is Visa with Visa Signature benefits attached, which in practice means lounge access, travel insurance and purchase protection. Whether those apply to you depends on where you are and what you buy, and it is worth reading the benefit terms rather than assuming.
Rewards are the thinnest part of the everyday picture. Cashback is not stated officially. Unofficially, and not confirmed by the card, there is a “Shopping Sprees” promotion offering 5% on airlines, hotels, restaurants and travel agencies within a three-day window, capped at $20 per merchant and $40 per spree, up to $80 a month, paid as withdrawable Spritz Credits. Another unofficial report notes that Spritz Points were not yet redeemable.
Blocked merchant categories are not stated, and the help article is explicit that a decline can come from the merchant’s own policies rather than from Spritz. That is worth internalising before you read a decline as a fault in the card: a prepaid or foreign BIN can be declined by a shop that does not recognise it, and address verification is often unavailable for foreign-issued cards.
If a merchant refunds you, the official position is that refunds should process back to the card within 7 business days, after which you contact support chat. There is no separate chargeback process described. Unofficially, one source says merchant refunds can take up to 30 business days. In the EU and the UK the legal position on refunds for goods not received is generally stronger than “contact support”, but that is your consumer law rather than anything Spritz has promised, and I am not going to dress it up as advice.
The card can be in one of four states — active, frozen, not activated, or cancelled, with cancellation being permanent. PIN and card details are described as end-to-end encrypted. Whether funds are safeguarded, and how, is not stated.
What can go wrong
Nothing has gone publicly wrong that I can point to. The card publishes no incident reports, and I found no official record of a failure. What follows is the shape of the risk from the structure of the product plus unofficial user reports.
The first risk is structural rather than dramatic: money loaded onto the card is gone from your control in the sense that matters. It cannot be withdrawn to crypto, and CryptoCardHub’s user reporting lists that as the single most common complaint on Trustpilot, where the rating reads 4.0/5 from 319 reviews in the review text and 3.8/5 from 253 in the rating box. Other recurring themes in that same unofficial reporting: Spritz Points not yet redeemable, limited cashback, and the physical card’s limited release.
The second is who you are actually trusting. Spritz Finance is the company. The issuing institution is not named officially; unofficially it is described as a Visa Signature card powered by Rain, issued through licensed partners by jurisdiction with the institution itself unnamed. If that description is right, you are dealing with a programme manager and an unnamed issuing partner. That is not a red flag on its own — most crypto cards work exactly this way — but it is a fact you should want spelled out by support before you put money in.
The third is that the guarantees you might assume are absent. Custody and safeguarding of funds is not stated. Whether any of this is covered by a deposit guarantee scheme is not stated. A Visa network logo says the payment rails work; it does not say who holds your balance or what happens to it if they stop.
The fourth is the mundane one: getting in. The physical card’s availability is unconfirmed and, unofficially, limited to a 3,000-card allocation in the US. Support reaches you by email at [email protected], by support chat, or through a “Book a call” form; hours are not stated. There is no published SLA, no published resolution time for a dispute, and no published reason code list for declines.
Worth keeping in perspective, because it is the industry context rather than a Spritz failing: card programmes do get closed. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically run as notice, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances — and with Spritz you cannot withdraw the card balance. That asymmetry is the part to think about.
One last practical trap, which is about crypto rather than about cards: blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network Spritz does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Before your first top-up, get the network right. Also note that stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — and that stablecoins can and do depeg.
What to take instead
Spritz is not alone, and the alternatives differ in ways that matter. All four scores are on the same 10-point scale, and none of them solves the withdrawal problem — but they differ on fees, on who can sign up, and on what you give up.
| Card | Score | Who it is for | What it costs | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spritz | 7.4 / 10 | Self-custody holders loading USDC from many chains | No spend or maintenance fee; 1% base load, $2 minimum, network adjustments on top | 50,000+ tokens in 5 chains; USDC and USDT on Tron, USDC on six major networks, plus Bitcoin, DASH, XRP, Sui |
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | Users who want a card that spends straight from the wallet, with cashback | Virtual free; metal card $199/year; “minimal fee” per transaction, amount not stated; no foreign transaction fee | Directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana; tokens include mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | People who want the clearest published fee schedule, including FX | Standard $0, Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year; 0.5%–1.75% FX; $0.50 for a decline | Stablecoins USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD on Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, TRON |
| TokenPocket | 5.8 / 10 | European and Asia-Pacific users who want a plain debit card | 1% fee on crypto deposit, refunded later via rewards; no other stated fees | Crypto deposits from the TokenPocket wallet; specific coins and networks not listed |
MetaMask is the closest comparison on score, and it differs in one structural way that could matter to you either way: it spends directly from the connected wallet rather than loading a balance first, which avoids the one-way problem entirely. Its costs sit elsewhere — the metal card is $199 a year — and its cashback is published: 1% on the virtual card paid in mUSD, and 3% on metal capped at the first $10,000 spent then 1%, plus a dining-app bonus. Its sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories with proof of residency, other regions on a waitlist, and US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed.
KAST is the one to study if you want to see every number in advance. It publishes its full fee schedule — stablecoin top-up 0%, USD card spend 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0% — and an FX fee of 0.5% to 1.75% depending on where you live, where you spend and which card programme you are on. Its cashback is the richest of the four: 1.5%, 2% or 3% depending on tier, each capped by monthly spend volume. Against that, its entry tiers are expensive and its eligibility logic is the strictest of the four: residence on a published list, and — unusually clearly stated — holding an ID from a restricted region can make you ineligible even if you live somewhere supported.
TokenPocket charges 1% on deposit too, and promises to refund it later through rewards and lower transaction fees, which is a promise to discount rather than a fee that is not charged. Its card availability is split: Visa debit across a list of European countries including Germany, France, Spain and Switzerland, Mastercard debit across Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the UK. Fiat24 cards are virtual only.
My read: if your problem is “I want my crypto to be spendable without moving it first”, MetaMask is the more natural fit. If your problem is “I want to know every fee before I commit”, KAST is the more honest product. If you want a debit card in Europe or Asia-Pacific and do not care much about the deposit fee, TokenPocket is there. Spritz wins on the breadth of what you can load and where, and on having no subscription.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Spritz to someone who already keeps their own keys, already holds USDC on Arbitrum, Base, Solana or one of the other zero-adjustment networks, and wants a Visa for daily spending that draws on that balance without touching the original position. The no-spend-fee, no-monthly-fee structure means the only real cost is the one-time top-up, and at 1% with a $2 floor, that is cheap for anyone topping up in useful amounts. Apple Pay and Google Pay make it feel like an ordinary card from the first week.
I would not recommend it as a first crypto card, as a card for someone who needs cash from ATMs, or as a place to hold money you might need back. The one-way balance is not a detail you can plan your way around — it is the design. Nor would I recommend it to anyone whose decision depends on knowing which institution holds the funds and how they are safeguarded, because the card does not say, and that question deserves an answer from support before money moves.
Two smaller checks before you start. Get the network right on your first deposit, because blockchain transfers do not reverse. And keep each load sized to what you actually expect to spend, both because the balance cannot come back and because the card caps what you can hold at $10,000 anyway.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Spritz card?
The Spritz card is a Visa payment card that spends crypto you already hold. You move assets from your own wallet onto the card, Spritz converts them into a US-dollar balance, and that balance pays for things — in shops, online, or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. It behaves like a prepaid card rather than a bank debit card, because it draws on a stored balance you load first. The official description calls it “the premium Spritz Card”, on Visa, with Visa Signature benefits attached, and both virtual and physical types appear in the API documentation.
How does the Spritz card work?
You load crypto from your own wallet, the card converts it to USD through a quote into a program balance, and you spend that balance. Everything you added to the card is denominated and stored in USD, so the card is not holding crypto for you while you spend — it is holding dollars you converted. The card can be active, frozen, not activated or cancelled, with cancellation permanent, and PIN and card details are described as end-to-end encrypted. Critically, funds loaded cannot be returned or transferred off the card; they have to be spent.
Is Spritz a bank?
No — and the card does not name a bank. The company behind it is Spritz Finance, and the issuing institution is not named on its public pages. Unofficially, and not confirmed by the card, it is described as a Visa Signature card powered by Rain, issued through licensed partners depending on jurisdiction with the institution unnamed. That structure is common for crypto cards, where a programme manager sits in front of a licensed issuer, but it means you should ask support directly who holds the balance and how it is safeguarded.
Is the Spritz card free?
Spending on the card and maintaining the account carry no fees, and the issuance fee is not stated on the card’s public pages. The cost is on the top-up: a 1% base load fee with a $2 minimum, made up of 0.5% base plus 0.5% for loading the virtual card, with network-specific additions on top. Loading fees were also waived for the first 30 days after launch. Unofficially, one source reports an annual or monthly cost of $0; treat that as unconfirmed. There is a single card, with no paid tiers described.
How do I top up the Spritz card?
You top up from your own wallet. Spritz says 50,000+ tokens across 5 chains, with a fee table naming Arbitrum, Avalanche, Base, Optimism, Polygon, Solana, Ethereum, Sui, BSC, Ripple, Tron, Bitcoin and DASH. Choose your network carefully: USDC on the six major networks adds nothing to the 1% base, USDC on Tron adds 0.5%, USDT on Tron 1.5%, Ethereum 0.5%. The blockchain’s own gas fee is yours and is separate from Spritz’s. Minimum load amount is not stated, and there is no stated fiat top-up route.
Can I withdraw money from a Spritz card?
No, not from the card balance. Spritz states it directly: “Once funds are on your Spritz Card we cannot return or transfer them.” The money must be spent. A bank off-ramp exists for crypto sent through the separate Off-Ramp flow, but that is a different route from your card balance. This is the single most important thing to understand before loading, and it is the most common complaint in unofficial user reporting. What happens to a leftover balance if you close the account is not stated.
Does the Spritz card require KYC?
Yes. The minimum age is 18 and a verified account is required, which means uploading ID, with manual verification available through support if the automatic route does not settle. Activation then happens in the app. Unofficially, the checks are described as a government photo ID plus phone, legal name, date of birth, ID number and address with a live face check, and a partner may add citizenship, passport or address checks. Spritz’s own pages do not set out the full list, nor any tiered verification levels, application processing time or rejection reasons.
Can I use the Spritz card in my country?
Eligibility runs on where you live rather than your citizenship, and Spritz describes availability as “many international countries and territories” with the list held in a help-centre table. Nigeria requires conditional approval, and unlisted countries are unsupported. Unofficially, and not confirmed by the card, the count is 42 countries including the US in 30 states, with Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria and Venezuela restricted. Check the help-centre table for your country before applying — it is the authoritative version.
How do I add the Spritz card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay is supported, along with Google Pay, for online, in-store and mobile payments. Mobile wallet payments use a tokenised version of your card number rather than the digits themselves, with a one-time security code per payment, so linking the card to your phone is the practical way to avoid handling it. One thing to expect: declines can come from merchant restrictions or 3-D Secure rather than from Spritz, and address verification is often unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which is a common cause of a failed online payment.
Is the Spritz card safe and worth it?
Worth it if you hold crypto in self-custody, mostly stablecoins on a low-fee network, and want a no-fee Visa for daily spending — that is exactly the case it is good at. Think twice if you need ATM cash, want a physical card with clear delivery terms, or need to move money back out. On safety: no official incidents are published, but the issuing institution is not named, custody and safeguarding are not stated, and unofficial ratings are 4.0/5 on Trustpilot from 319 reviews and 3.2/5 in the App Store from 11 ratings.
Wallet card fees and costs – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
