A crypto-funded Visa that markets itself on acceptance, with a price tag you only see in the app

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Stella sells a Visa card funded by cryptocurrency, aimed squarely at people who want a familiar piece of plastic tied to a digital-asset balance. The pitch is straightforward: deposit crypto, spend fiat, withdraw from ATMs. The reality, once you start digging, is less tidy. Fees are not published anywhere on the public site, the company behind the card is registered in the British Virgin Islands, and a user complaint about frozen funds sits next to a Trustpilot score of 3.2 from a single review. None of that makes Stella unusable, but it does make it a card you should understand before you load it.

Stella works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This review walks through who can get a Stella card, what it actually costs, how the top-up works in practice, and where the risks sit. I have not used the card myself; everything here comes from Stella’s own public pages and from third-party reporting, clearly labelled where the source is unofficial.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Stella earns 6.5 out of 10. The card is real, it is a Visa, and the top-up options are wide by crypto-card standards. It loses points because the public fee schedule is missing, the issuing bank is unnamed, the company is in a jurisdiction with light disclosure rules, and there is at least one credible user report of funds being frozen and not returned. If you are comfortable with a custodial setup, want Apple Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay support, and you mainly need to spend stablecoins, the card does the job. If you need a published fee sheet, a named regulator, or the comfort of a MiCA-registered issuer, it is not the one.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Stella payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Official site does not name countries, but third-party reporting lists 57 supported and 49 restricted; sanctions rules apply
Cost 5 / 10 Fees are not disclosed publicly; unofficial sources mention a virtual card fee, a physical card free only after a large top-up, and no annual charge
Top-up options 9 / 10 BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC across six networks; crypto deposit automatically funds the card
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 BVI-registered company, unnamed partner issuer, no published licences, frozen-funds complaint, and a near-empty Trustpilot page
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, ATM withdrawals, Google Pay, Alipay, WeChat Pay and, per third parties, Apple Pay

The card suits crypto holders who want a Visa they can tap at a terminal or top up via mobile wallet, and who are willing to accept a custodial wallet and unclear fee structure. It does not suit readers who need full regulatory transparency, a published fee table, or strong evidence of recourse when something goes wrong.

Who Will Give You the Card

The official Stella site does not publish a country list. The terms bar anyone subject to economic sanctions programmes and route US and European users through affiliates, which is a common way for crypto cards to handle jurisdiction-specific licensing without naming the underlying issuer in public materials.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Stella starts with a transfer to the right network

Unofficial reporting from a third-party crypto-card directory, last updated against Stella documents dated 6 September 2024, says the card is available in 57 countries, including the United States, the United Kingdom, Singapore and India. The same source lists 49 restricted countries, including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, Iraq, Syria, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and South Africa. That list is old enough to have shifted and is not a guarantee, so you should not rely on it as a definitive answer for your country. Treat the question “is Stella available where I live?” as one you need to verify by starting an application.

The terms also require you to be at least 18, and the User Agreement asks for your name, address, date of birth, tax identification number, a government-issued ID and bank details, with biometric data possible on request. This is standard KYC; it is the same shape of information any regulated payment institution will ask for, and it is the reason the card can sit on the Visa network at all. The terms do not publish tiered KYC levels, so there is no public threshold for moving from a basic to an enhanced verification tier.

How to Get It

The sign-up flow is described on the public site as a “quick and easy verification process, with immediate card usage after approval.” Unofficial reports describe full e-KYC that typically takes one to two business days, with many applications auto-approved in minutes. Your experience will depend on how clean your documents are and whether the automated checks can match your ID to your address.

You get two card products. The virtual card is generated in the app and can be used immediately after approval. The physical card is a Visa, and the site claims it works at “over 40 million VISA merchants globally.” Unofficial sources describe the card as a USD-denominated credit product with a starting credit limit of zero that rises as you post crypto collateral, which is closer to a secured credit model than a prepaid debit model. The official pages do not confirm that framing, so treat the credit-limit language as a third-party interpretation rather than a fact.

Delivery time for the physical card is not stated on the public site. Third-party reporting says the physical card is free after a USD 20,000 top-up; otherwise, a delivery fee applies. A user complaint cited in the same third-party reporting mentions a USD 30 charge for a virtual card, which is a one-off application fee shown only in the app, not on the website. The lack of a published delivery schedule or fee is a small thing on its own and a meaningful one once you add it to the rest of the missing fee table.

What It Really Costs

This is the section that will make or break your decision. Stella does not publish a fee schedule. The terms point to the User Agreement and the app, where fees are “described.” If you are the kind of person who needs a fee sheet before you load funds, the absence of one is itself an answer.

Third-party reporting fills in some of the picture, and it is the only picture available if you are not willing to install the app and start an application. Here is what is known, and what is not.

Fee or limit Amount (official) Amount (unofficial)
Annual or monthly fee Not stated No annual fee
Virtual card application fee Not stated USD 30 (per user complaint)
Physical card issuance Not stated Free after USD 20,000 top-up, otherwise a delivery fee
Crypto deposit fee Not stated 0% (network gas only)
FX or conversion fee Not stated Not itemised; conversion at interbank rates shown in-app
ATM withdrawal fee Not stated Shown in-app only
ATM daily limit Not stated USD 2,000
ATM monthly limit Not stated USD 10,000
ATM withdrawals per day Not stated Up to 3
ATM withdrawals per month Not stated Up to 30
Spending limit Not stated Up to USD 100,000 per day for regular accounts
Top-up limits Set by risk preference; amounts not stated Not stated

A few everyday scenarios will show you what the gaps look like in practice.

When you make a small purchase, the card’s app converts your crypto balance at the interbank rate plus whatever spread the app shows. The spread is not itemised; it appears inside the app at the moment of conversion. This is the same model several crypto cards use, and it is fair in the sense that you see the rate before you confirm. It is opaque in the sense that you cannot compare it to a published number before you sign up.

You withdraw USD 200 from an ATM abroad. The card is a Visa, so any ATM that accepts Visa will let you draw cash. The ATM operator may charge its own fee, and Stella’s fee is shown in-app. If the ATM does not offer a fee-free option, you will pay a foreign-issuer surcharge on top. Daily and monthly ATM caps are set out in the unofficial table above, so a long trip with many withdrawals is not the use case the card is shaped for.

You spend USD 1,000 in a currency other than your card’s base currency. The unofficial reporting says the card’s base currency is USD only, which means every non-USD transaction is a conversion. The rate is the interbank rate plus whatever spread the app shows. A 1% spread on USD 1,000 is USD 10; a 2% spread is USD 20. Without a published FX fee line, the spread is the only handle you have, and you only see it at the moment of payment.

The pattern that emerges is real: the card is competitive on top-up fees (crypto deposit is free, you only pay the network gas) and quiet about everything else. If your use case is “I hold stablecoins, I want to spend them at Visa merchants, I do not need to predict the cost down to the basis point,” that is workable. If your use case is “I need to budget monthly spend in advance and want a published fee table,” this is not the card.

How to Top It Up

The funding model is simple and that is its strength. You deposit crypto into the in-app wallet, and the card is topped up automatically. There is no separate “load card” step; once crypto lands, the card balance reflects it.

Third-party reporting lists the supported assets as BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC, across ERC-20, TRON, BNB Smart Chain, Polygon, Arbitrum One and Optimism. That is a wide spread by crypto-card standards, and it covers the two stablecoins that account for the bulk of stablecoin market capitalisation. The official site does not itemise the assets or networks on the public pages, so the only place to confirm support for a specific coin and network is inside the app, on the deposit screen, before you send.

The deposit fee is 0% per unofficial sources; you pay the blockchain’s own network fee, which is gas on Ethereum-style chains and bandwidth or energy on TRON. The network fee is set by the blockchain at the time of your transaction, not by Stella, and it varies with congestion. A USDT transfer on TRON during a quiet moment can cost fractions of a cent; an ERC-20 USDT transfer during peak Ethereum demand can cost several dollars. The choice of network is therefore not a minor detail. It is the difference between a free top-up and a USD 5 top-up, on a USD 50 deposit.

Crypto withdrawals from the app wallet start at USD 1 per unofficial reporting, with the exact amount shown in-app. After account closure you can transfer digital assets out within a reasonable period, unless legally prohibited, after paying amounts owed. The “reasonable period” is not defined, which is one of those clauses that sounds fine until you are the one waiting.

Two practical warnings are worth keeping in mind. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent to the wrong network, or to an address on a chain Stella does not support for that token, can be lost. Stablecoin issuers can also freeze funds tied to sanctioned addresses, so the “I sent it, why is it not credited” problem can have causes outside the card provider’s control.

Paying With It Every Day

Once the card is loaded, daily use is the part Stella is strongest on. Both card types link to Google Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay; third-party reporting also lists Apple Pay. That combination is unusual for a crypto card and is the single most useful feature for users in Asia and for travellers who want a card that works with the three biggest mobile wallets.

The card is a Visa, which means it works anywhere Visa is taken, including online and at physical terminals. There is no public list of blocked merchant categories, so you do not know in advance whether gambling, cryptocurrency purchases, or other categories are blocked until you try. The site does not state a cashback or reward programme on the main card, and unofficial reporting confirms there is no cashback on the payment product; a separate “Earn” product exists for yield, which is a different thing. Third-party reporting mentions a referral programme that pays up to 40% of card fees, but that is an unofficial number and the conditions are not published.

The app is available on iOS and Android, and unofficial reporting mentions a Telegram Mini App. The App Store rating cited by third-party sources is 5.0 out of 5 from five ratings, which is too small a sample to mean much. The download page on the public site has a Google Play button; the App Store link is reached through normal search.

If you have a problem with a transaction, the official route is email at [email protected]. For partner disputes you go directly to the partner. The terms put any dispute in the courts of the Republic of Seychelles under Seychelles law, which is the legal venue for the agreement. There is no published time frame for a chargeback or for resolving an unauthorised transaction, and there is no live chat reported by third-party sources; the help channels are the help centre, the contact page, and a Telegram group. The language selector on the public site shows English only, with no Russian option.

What Can Go Wrong

The risks sit in three places: the company structure, the missing licences, and the gap between official and unofficial information.

Stella Global Services Limited is incorporated in the British Virgin Islands, a jurisdiction that does not require the same public disclosure as a UK or EU company. The card is issued by an unnamed licensed “Partner Issuer,” which is a common arrangement for crypto card programmes but means the regulated entity behind the card is not on the public page. Licences are not listed. The Apple App Store developer of record is shown as Flashwire Inc, which appears to be the starting-data entity for the app, not the card issuer.

The user complaint worth reading carefully is the App Store report of an account freeze with funds not returned after the user provided transfer proof. A single complaint is not a pattern, but it is the kind of report that, combined with a BVI company, an unnamed issuer, and no published licences, makes the risk profile real. A separate user complaint about the cost of the virtual card lines up with the unofficial USD 30 figure. Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 5 from one rating, which is too small to judge but is the only public review-aggregator signal.

There is no statement of whether the platform uses two-factor authentication, whether you can freeze the card from the app, or what happens to your funds if the company becomes insolvent. The terms describe the assets in the app wallet as “custodial assets held by us for your benefit,” pooled in omnibus accounts, with title staying with the user. That language is the standard custodial disclaimer; it does not, on its own, tell you what would happen in a failure scenario, because the user is relying on the custodian’s segregation, insurance, and solvency.

A few category-level risks are worth flagging because they apply regardless of the specific card. Crypto transfers are irreversible, so a wrong network or wrong address is unrecoverable in most cases. Stablecoin issuers have frozen funds tied to sanctioned addresses. Card programmes can be wound down by the network: Visa terminated its global agreement with FTX in November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Visa also suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes at once. A programme closure typically gives a notice period, then stops spending and loading, then asks users to withdraw remaining balances. None of these is specific to Stella, and the card is operating today, but the precedent is the reason “who is the issuer” is a more important question than it might seem.

What to Take Instead

Three alternatives are worth comparing if Stella’s gaps are dealbreakers for you. Each is a different trade-off.

Card Score Best for Weakness
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 Users who want published fees and a defined country list Physical card not yet available; case-by-case review for FATF grey-list countries
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Users who want multicurrency spend and a cashback rate Country list, issuance fee and funding details not stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 US-based users who want 5% cashback at select merchants Limited to 31 US states for consumers; country basis not stated

The International Visa Card is a US-issued Platinum Visa that costs USD 5 for the virtual card, has no maintenance fee, and offers three plans (Classic free, Pro USD 9 per month, Max USD 19 per month). Card use in USD is free; foreign currency is charged at the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee. Deposits of any kind are free, including USDC and USDT into a USD account at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits. The catch is the country list: the card is not available to residents of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, and FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. The physical card is described as “coming soon,” so for now it is virtual only.

UNi Card is a multicurrency Mastercard that spends from a UNi.Global account balance. It charges no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, converts at live OTC rates, and offers spend-to-earn rewards of up to 3%. The card’s website does not state the issuance fee, the country list, or the funding details, so the comparison is partial. If multicurrency spend and a published “no FX fee” line matter to you, this is the more transparent option on those two points.

Whop Cards is a Visa that works anywhere Visa is taken and is available to consumers in 31 US states and to businesses in 41. The page says “no extra fees,” but does not list issuance amounts, conversion fees, or FX fees. Spending is from a Whop balance, and the cashback is 5% at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned. The card is interesting if you are a US-based user who spends at the listed merchants, and weaker if you are outside the US or need a published fee schedule.

If you are choosing between these and Stella, the deciding questions are simple. Do you need a published fee sheet? Then Stella, UNi and Whop are all weaker than International Visa Card, with International Visa Card being the strongest of the three. Do you need to spend in Asia with Alipay and WeChat Pay? Stella is the only one of the four that confirms both. Do you need multicurrency without an FX fee? UNi Card is the cleanest answer. Do you live in a sanctioned or restricted country? None of the four is going to help, and the country list is the first thing to check on any of them.

Who I Would Recommend It To

Stella is a reasonable choice for a specific reader. If you hold stablecoins, want a Visa you can use at point-of-sale terminals and ATMs, and you need Alipay, WeChat Pay and Google Pay support, the card does what it says. The funding model is genuinely simple: deposit crypto, the card is topped up, you spend. The wide network support across six chains is a real strength, and the 0% crypto deposit fee is competitive.

Stella is a poor choice if you need to know your fees in advance, if you want the comfort of a named regulated issuer in a major jurisdiction, or if your use case is large ATM withdrawals. The BVI company structure, the unnamed partner issuer, the missing licence information, and the user report of frozen funds are all real signals that the risk profile is higher than the marketing suggests. The card is not unsafe in the sense of being a scam, but it is opaque in the sense of not telling you what it costs or who regulates it, and that opacity is the trade you make for the features it does offer.

If you are a first-time crypto card user, this is not the card to start with. If you are an experienced user who can read an app’s fee screen at the moment of payment, accept a custodial setup, and do not need to load more than the unofficial daily ATM limit of USD 2,000 (not confirmed by the card), it is workable. If you are anywhere in the gap between those two readers, look at the International Visa Card for transparency, or at UNi Card for multicurrency spend without an FX fee.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Stella card?

Stella is a Visa card, available as a virtual and a physical version, that is funded by cryptocurrency held in a custodial in-app wallet. The company behind it is Stella Global Services Limited, registered in the British Virgin Islands, and the card is issued by an unnamed licensed partner.

How does the Stella card work?

You deposit supported crypto (BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC per unofficial sources) into the in-app wallet across one of six networks, and the card is topped up automatically. At payment, the card converts your crypto balance at the interbank rate and settles in fiat with the merchant through the Visa network.

Is Stella a bank?

No. Stella is a payment card programme run by a BVI-incorporated company. The card is issued by a licensed partner issuer whose name is not on the public pages. Stella does not take deposits in the bank-deposit sense, and any funds you load are not covered by a bank deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns Stella?

Stella Global Services Limited, incorporated in the British Virgin Islands. The card-issuing entity is a separate licensed partner whose name is not disclosed on the public site. The App Store developer of record for the app is shown as Flashwire Inc.

Is Stella card available in my country?

The official site does not publish a country list. Unofficial reporting lists 57 supported countries, including the US, UK, Singapore and India, and 49 restricted countries, including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, Iraq, Syria, North Korea, Cuba, Venezuela and South Africa. The list is from September 2024 and may have changed, so confirm by starting an application.

How do I apply for the Stella card?

You download the app, complete e-KYC with a government ID, address, date of birth, tax ID and bank details, and wait for approval. Unofficial reports describe one to two business days, with many applications auto-approved in minutes. The virtual card is available immediately on approval.

Does the Stella card require KYC?

Yes. The User Agreement requires name, address, date of birth, tax identification number, a government-issued ID and bank details, with biometric data possible on request. You must be at least 18. The official site does not publish tiered KYC levels, so the exact documents requested may depend on your profile.

Is the Stella card free?

There is no published annual or monthly fee per unofficial sources. The virtual card has been reported to cost USD 30 in a user complaint, shown in-app only. The physical card is reported to be free after a USD 20,000 top-up, with a delivery fee otherwise. FX, conversion, ATM and top-up fees are not itemised on the public site.

How do I add Stella to Apple Wallet?

Unofficial reporting lists Apple Pay support, but the official site confirms Google Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay and does not explicitly name Apple Pay. The most reliable way to confirm is to add the card inside the Stella app; if Apple Pay is supported for your card, the option will appear there.

Is the Stella card safe?

The card is a Visa, so transactions are protected by the network’s rules, including 3-D Secure for online payments. The risks sit at the company level: Stella is a BVI company, the issuing bank is unnamed, licences are not published, and there is at least one user report of an account freeze with funds not returned. Treat the card as a custodial product, and do not load more than you can afford to wait out if the programme is wound down.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team