The card that spends straight from a crypto balance — and where the fine print runs out

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have tried to open an ordinary bank card and been turned down — because of your nationality, your country of residence, the documents you can produce, or simply the friction of a branch and a credit check — then the pitch here is immediately interesting. Confidopay is a card that spends from a crypto balance, it is priced at zero for issuance, and it converts at 0.1% plus €1. That combination is genuinely rare in this category. My job over the rest of this page is to walk you through what the card actually does, what it costs, where the good bits stop and the fine print simply runs out, and whether it is worth opening an account around.

Confidopay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Here is the short version: the card is real, it is issued by an established European issuer, and on everyday use it scores as well as anything in this category. What holds it back is not quality of service. It is silence. The public pages do not state the monthly fee, the foreign-exchange fee, the ATM fee, the card currency, the physical delivery cost, or even the card network. Several of those gaps are ordinary; a few are the kind you only discover at the moment you need them.

Conditions and figures below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 7.6 out of 10

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Citizenship or residence in the EEA or Switzerland; cards only for EEA residents; onboarding in Hungary suspended
Cost 8 / 10 Physical and virtual card creation €0; crypto exchange 0.1% + €1; monthly fee and FX fee not listed
Top-up options 7 / 10 BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC (ERC20), USDC on Polygon, BNB on BNB Smart Chain; USDT not listed
Reliability and complaints 9 / 10 Issuer Wallester AS (Estonia); crypto services through Lightspark Payments Europe AS, VASP licence FVT000546; no incidents or complaint pages found
Everyday use 10 / 10 Virtual card immediately after verification plus a physical one, Apple Pay and Google Pay for both, ATM €3,000/month and €350/day

Total: 7.6 / 10.

The audience this card serves is narrow and specific: residents of the EEA who want to fund a payment card from a crypto balance. If that is you, the everyday mechanics are excellent — a virtual card you can hold seconds after verification, mobile wallets on both cards, and cash withdrawals with a real monthly allowance. If you are anywhere else, or you want a card with a published monthly fee and a published exchange-rate markup, this is not the card to build your money life around.

The reason the overall number sits at 7.6 rather than higher is almost entirely in the who-can-get-it column. An EEA residency requirement is a real wall for a great many people who read about these cards precisely because they hit walls elsewhere. Add suspended onboarding in Hungary and blocked card payments in a list of jurisdictions including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine (partially), the UAE and Türkiye, and the addressable audience shrinks measurably.

Who will they give you the card

You need citizenship or legal residency in an EEA state or in Switzerland. That much is stated. The catch is the next sentence: the physical and virtual payment cards themselves go only to EEA residents. So a Swiss citizen living in Switzerland satisfies the nationality requirement and still does not necessarily get a card — the address has to be inside the EEA. That distinction catches people out, and it is worth checking before you upload anything.

Onboarding for applicants in Hungary is suspended. The card’s own pages state this; no date is given for the suspension lifting, and none is offered. If you are in Hungary, treat that as a closed door for now rather than a temporary delay you can plan around.

Russian citizens are excluded unless they also hold EU/EEA or Swiss citizenship. That is a citizenship rule, not a residence rule, and it is worth reading as written: it is the citizenship that is screened here, separately from where you live. Card payments are blocked in listed jurisdictions including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine (partially), the UAE and Türkiye. A block on payments is different from a block on the account. You may be able to hold the card and still not be able to spend in the country you are standing in.

None of this is unusual in this category. Providers everywhere screen on citizenship, residence and country of birth as well as address, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy run on all three. But it does mean the eligibility question is not really one question. It is three: what is my citizenship, where do I live, and where am I trying to spend. Check all three.

How to get it

Identity verification runs in two tiers, and knowing which tier you land in changes your limits more than anything else on this page.

Tier 1 is the entry point. You upload an ID card or passport if you are an EEA or Swiss citizen, a passport for everyone else, plus a selfie. Third-country citizens living in the EEA or Switzerland also need a residence permit. Proof of address may be requested at this stage rather than only later, which is the detail to plan for — have a recent bill to hand before you start rather than after.

Tier 2 is triggered by volume, not by choice: €15,000 of virtual-asset inflow, or €25,000 in total. When it triggers, you are asked for proof of address — a utility bill or bank statement from within the last three months, and mobile bills are not accepted — plus the source of your funds. You have 30 days to complete it, and full access continues meanwhile. That is a reasonable arrangement: the higher limits are not held hostage while you dig out paperwork.

What the pages do not tell you: how long processing takes, and on what grounds an application can be refused. Neither is stated. Budget for the possibility that verification is not instant, and keep your original documents to hand for as long as the account is open.

On the card itself, you get two: a virtual one and a physical one. The virtual card is available immediately after verification. Which network it runs on — Visa or Mastercard — is not stated, and neither is the currency the card is denominated in. That omission matters more than it sounds: the network affects which merchants accept it and whether 3-D Secure authentication behaves as you expect, and the currency determines whether a foreign transaction triggers a conversion. Both are things you would want to know before you rely on the card at a till that does not accept your own money.

Physical delivery is not detailed either: which countries it ships to, how long it takes, whether it costs anything, and what happens if it is lost or stolen are all not stated. Treat the virtual card as the working card and the physical one as a convenience you will be able to check on later.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the honest cost picture, and the honesty mostly comes from what is missing.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Confidopay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Value
Physical card creation €0
Virtual card creation €0
Monthly or annual fee Not listed
Crypto exchange on card spend 0.1% + €1
Foreign exchange fee Not listed
ATM withdrawal Available with the physical card, fee not listed
ATM limits €3,000/month and €350/day (both tiers)
Tier 1 card payments €10,000/month and €10,000/day
Tier 1 overall outbound €10,000/month
Tier 2 card payments €15,000/month and €10,000/day
Tier 2 overall outbound No overall outbound limit
Card currency Not stated
Fees quoted in EUR

Two lines in that table are the whole cost story, and both are good. Creating either card costs nothing, and converting crypto when you spend is 0.1% plus €1. For comparison with the alternatives further down this page, that is a very light touch: one of them charges a 2% foreign-exchange fee on top of the Visa exchange rate, another advertises no foreign transaction fee at all, and a third lists no fee figures at all.

The gaps are the problem. No monthly or annual fee is listed — which may mean there is none, but may also mean the page does not say. No foreign-exchange fee is listed. No ATM fee is listed. In each of those three cases you are being asked to trust silence.

There are only two verification tiers, and no paid tiers at all. No premium tier exists to buy your way into higher limits or lower fees. I find that more reassuring than it might sound: the common pattern in this category is a free tier designed to be unusable and a paid tier that is merely tolerable, and there is no such ladder here.

All fees are quoted in euros. Since the card currency is not stated, assume for now that spending outside the euro zone may involve a conversion whose cost is not published, and that the fee for it is not published either.

Three everyday payments, with the fees applied

A €30 lunch, crypto balance already converted. If you hold a fiat balance and pay, no crypto conversion happens at the moment of payment — nothing is published to suggest one. If you pay directly from crypto, the card’s stated spend conversion applies: 0.1% of €30 is €0.03, plus €1, so about €1.03 in conversion cost on a €30 purchase. Note the shape of that: the fixed €1 is a third of your cost on a small transaction, and almost nothing on a large one. Small purchases are where this model is weakest.

A €40 purchase in a currency that is not euro. Here I cannot tell you the cost, because the FX fee is not listed and the card currency is not stated. This is the single most important gap on the page. What I can tell you is that the same silence appears in how the card handles declines: an authorised payment can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven, which is a category-wide behaviour rather than anything specific to this card. A hold you cannot see on a card whose fees are unpublished is a genuinely uncomfortable combination.

A €200 cash withdrawal. The limits are stated clearly: €3,000 per month and €350 per day, at both tiers. So a €200 withdrawal sits comfortably inside both. The fee is not listed. If you take cash regularly, this is the number to get in writing from support before you rely on the card — a fee you discover at the machine is a fee you have already paid.

How to Top up the card

You fund the account with crypto, then convert to fiat or spend directly. The supported assets and networks are:

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Confidopay starts with a transfer to the right network

Deposit BTC, convert to fiat, then the card spends from the fiat balance. Or deposit, skip the conversion step, and let the card convert on spend at 0.1% plus €1. The distinction matters: converting yourself means paying the exchange fee once, at a moment you choose, rather than once per transaction.

USDT is not listed. Given how much of the crypto world runs on USDT, that is a real limitation and it is the kind that produces support tickets. USDC is well covered — two networks, and USDC is the dollar-pegged stablecoin Circle says is redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in a SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations. Just be aware that stablecoins can and do lose their peg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Neither of those would happen quietly.

Bank transfers in also work, at 0.1% plus €1, the same as crypto deposits. A minimum deposit is not stated.

Two practical warnings before you send anything. First: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or require manual recovery with no guarantee. Check the network twice — the asset list above is the list, and USDT’s absence from it is not a small thing. Second, on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so they are outside everything on this page.

On the way out, crypto withdrawal is 0.1% plus €1 plus a third-party network fee, and bank transfer out is 0.1% plus €1. What happens to any balance left in the account if you close it is not described. The company may close accounts with 30 days’ notice, or immediately in the case of suspected fraud. If you are thinking of leaving, ask what the balance becomes and when — a closing notice period without a stated balance-return process is not something to discover at the end.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card earns its highest mark, 10 out of 10, and it is not a courtesy score.

Apple Pay and Google Pay both work, for both the virtual and the physical card. That is the single most useful line in this review. A virtual card that sits in a mobile wallet is, for most practical purposes, a normal payment card: you tap, you pay, you do not handle a piece of plastic. It also means your card number never touches a merchant’s website.

The virtual card arrives immediately after verification, so the gap between “I have an account” and “I can pay for something” is essentially zero. For someone who cannot open a bank account quickly, that matters more than it would for anyone else.

ATM withdrawals work with the physical card at €3,000 per month and €350 per day, at both verification tiers. Category-wise, that is a real allowance rather than a token one.

Spending limits are the part to plan around. Tier 1 gives you €10,000 per month and €10,000 per day on card payments, with an overall outbound limit of €10,000 per month. Tier 2 raises the monthly card-payment ceiling to €15,000 and removes the overall outbound cap, while the daily card-payment figure stays at €10,000. So if you are moving serious money, the ceiling you will notice is the daily €10,000 on card payments — that figure does not change with tier. If you routinely need to place a payment above it, the higher tier will not help you, and you should know that before you upgrade anything.

One thing the pages do not mention at all: cashback. It is not advertised as present and it is not advertised as absent, so assume there is none and be pleasantly surprised if a reward appears. Blocking of specific merchant categories is also not stated — and that is more consequential here than it sounds. Some issuers block categories such as gambling (MCC 7995) by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. You will not find out until a payment is declined.

There are apps on Google Play and the App Store. The badge links on the page did not resolve when I checked, and I did not read the ratings, so I can tell you the apps exist and nothing about how they are reviewed.

On problems: the card states that complaints are acknowledged in two business days and resolved in seven to ten business days. That is a stated commitment rather than a performance record. Chargebacks are not addressed — whether you can dispute a payment through this card’s terms is not something the public pages say. That is a real limitation of the documentation, not proof of a problem.

What can go wrong

Let me separate three different kinds of risk, because they behave differently and only one of them is about this card.

Money held by a custodian. The card’s public pages list encryption, multi-factor authentication, PCI DSS processing, real-time monitoring and instant notifications. They do not state the custody model or how customer funds are safeguarded. That matters more than the security features list does. In the EU, electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. A converted fiat balance sitting on this card may be exactly that: safeguarded but not deposit-guaranteed. Ask.

The category’s own track record. Custodial platforms have a documented history: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Programs get switched off. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. So the sensible standing habit — true of any of these cards — is to keep the balance you actually need on the card and nothing more.

Practical friction specific to this card. These are smaller but more likely to affect your week:

On the reputational side, I found no official incidents involving this card, and no Trustpilot or Reddit page for Confidopay in a single search, which also means no complaint themes to report. No news is stated either, apart from the suspended Hungarian onboarding, for which no date is given. Absence of a complaint page is mild positive evidence at best — it is more likely to mean the card is young or small than that it is spotless.

For support, there is an email address, live chat Monday to Friday 09:00–17:00 CET, and email replies promised in 24–48 business hours. Live chat inside European business hours is workable; outside them, you are waiting a day and a half.

The companies behind it are named, which is more than many products in this category manage. Confidopay UAB is in Lithuania, company number 306414477, Mėsinių g. 5, Vilnius. The card issuer is Wallester AS in Tallinn, Estonia, registration 11812881. Virtual asset services and the Virtual IBAN come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, which holds an Estonian VASP licence, FVT000546. Two separately licensed European institutions sitting behind a Lithuanian brand is a reasonable structure, and it means the crypto side is not being handled by a marketing company.

What to take instead

Three alternatives came up in the same research. None of them is a clear win, and each fails in a different direction — which is itself useful, because it shows what your priorities have to be.

Confidopay International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
Score 7.6 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Eligibility EEA citizens or residents; cards to EEA residents; Hungary suspended Not for residents or registrants of a long blocked list Not stated 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses
Card Virtual and physical; network and currency not stated US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon”; pays in USD Multicurrency Mastercard Visa; physical or virtual not stated
Issuance €0 physical, €0 virtual $5 one-time virtual Not stated; no annual fee “No extra fees” listed
Monthly Not listed Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month No annual fee Not listed
FX Not listed Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee No foreign transaction fee Not stated
Conversion 0.1% + €1 Not stated Live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” Not stated
Funding BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC (ERC20 and Polygon), BNB USDC, USDT, USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow Not stated Whop balance, stablecoin-backed
Cashback Not mentioned None stated Spend-to-Earn up to 3% 5% at select merchants

International Visa Card publishes the most complete fee schedule in this comparison and is still the weaker product. It charges 2% on foreign currency on top of the Visa exchange rate, its plans cost up to $19.00/month, and its physical card is listed as coming soon. Its exclusion list is longer and harsher than Confidopay’s, and it applies by residence or registration rather than citizenship. What it does offer is clarity: you can read every number before you sign up, which is exactly what you cannot do with Confidopay.

UNi Card is the only one with a rewards angle worth mentioning — Spend-to-Earn up to 3% — and it advertises no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, conversion at live OTC rates, and “no hidden exchange fees”. It is a multicurrency Mastercard spending from a UNi.Global account balance. And that is where it stops: eligibility is not stated, the funding route is not stated, and whether you get a physical card, a virtual one, or both is not stated. I cannot tell you who can open one. That is disqualifying for someone whose main problem is being turned down.

Whop Cards are a different product aimed at a different country. Visa, spending from a Whop balance, for consumers in 31 US states and businesses in 41. It offers 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned — though the payout currency and conditions are not stated. Unsupported consumer countries include a long list that overlaps heavily with Confidopay’s blocked-payment jurisdictions. The coins and networks behind the balance are not stated, and neither are the fees. If you are in the United States and want crypto-adjacent spending with real cashback, it is worth a look; if you are in the EEA trying to escape a bank that will not open for you, it is irrelevant.

The pattern across all four: nobody publishes a complete cost sheet. Whoever picks, the practical step is the same — get the fee table in writing from support before you commit money.

Who I would recommend it to

Open it if you live in the EEA, you hold crypto you actually want to spend, and your priority is a working card in your phone within minutes of finishing verification. The 0% issuance, the 0.1% plus €1 conversion, both mobile wallets on both cards, and a €3,000 monthly ATM allowance make this one of the better-specified everyday cards in this category. If you have been declined a bank card and you have EUR-divided spending in mind, this solves a real problem cleanly.

Give it a hard look, then ask, if you spend heavily outside the euro zone, take cash out often, or plan to run balances above €10,000 in a day. Those are precisely the three things the pages do not answer. Email support and get the FX fee, the ATM fee, the monthly fee, the card currency and the network in writing. If the answers are reasonable — and there is room for them to be, given the headline numbers — this is still a good card.

Skip it if you are outside the EEA or Switzerland, if you are a Hungarian resident waiting for onboarding to reopen, if your holdings are mainly in USDT, or if you need a published, complete fee schedule before committing. This is not available if you do not hold EU/EEA or Swiss citizenship.

One thing to hold onto while you decide: keep only what you need on the card. Programmes in this category close, and when they do the sequence is always the same — notice, then no more spending or loading, then a request to withdraw. A balance that is small enough to move quickly is a balance that does not hurt you on a bad day.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Confidopay card?

It is a payment card that spends from a crypto balance rather than from a bank account. You deposit supported crypto, convert it to fiat or spend directly, and the card behaves like an ordinary Visa or Mastercard at the till. Confidopay UAB is the Lithuanian company behind it; the card itself is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia, and the crypto side runs through Lightspark Payments Europe AS.

How does the Confidopay card work?

You deposit crypto — BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC on ERC20 or Polygon, or BNB on BNB Smart Chain — then either convert it to a fiat balance and spend that, or let the card convert at the moment of payment at 0.1% plus €1. It behaves like a prepaid card: it spends a loaded balance and cannot overdraw it. A virtual card is available immediately after identity verification, and a physical one follows.

Who can get the Confidopay card?

You need citizenship or residency in an EEA state or Switzerland, and the cards themselves go only to EEA residents. Russian citizens are excluded unless they also hold EU/EEA or Swiss citizenship. Onboarding in Hungary is suspended with no date given. So check three separate things: your citizenship, where you live, and where you want to spend.

Is Confidopay a bank?

No — it is not a bank, and you should not treat the balance as a bank deposit. It is an electronic money and payment service backed by licensed European firms: Wallester AS issues the card, and Lightspark Payments Europe AS holds Estonian VASP licence FVT000546 for the virtual asset side. Funds safeguarded by an e-money institution are segregated or insured, not deposit-guaranteed.

What does the Confidopay card cost?

Creating either card costs €0 — physical and virtual alike — and crypto conversion is 0.1% plus €1, the same figure for card spend, crypto deposits and bank transfers in. What is not listed is the monthly or annual fee, the foreign-exchange fee and the ATM fee. The card currency is not stated either. Ask support for those three numbers before you rely on the card.

How do I top up the Confidopay card?

Deposit BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC on ERC20, USDC on Polygon, or BNB on BNB Smart Chain, then convert to fiat or spend straight from crypto. A bank transfer in also works, at 0.1% plus €1. Note that USDT is not listed among supported assets — a real limitation given how much of the market runs on it — and that blockchain network fees are charged by the network, not by the card provider.

How much can I spend or withdraw?

At the first verification tier, card payments are capped at €10,000 per month and €10,000 per day, with an overall outbound limit of €10,000 per month. Tier 2 raises the monthly card-payment ceiling to €15,000 and removes the overall outbound cap, but the daily card-payment figure stays at €10,000. ATM withdrawals are €3,000 per month and €350 per day at both tiers, and require the physical card.

Is the Confidopay card safe?

The pages list encryption, multi-factor authentication, PCI DSS processing, real-time monitoring and instant notifications, plus Apple Pay and Google Pay on both cards, which keep your card number off merchant sites. What they do not state is the custody model or how funds are safeguarded — that is the question worth asking. And the category has form: Visa terminated its FTX agreements in November 2022 and WaveCrest’s Visa programmes were closed in 2018.

What should I do if a Confidopay payment is declined?

First, check whether it was a hold rather than a real decline — an authorised payment can leave a hold on funds for up to seven days. If the payment is genuinely refused, a foreign-issued or prepaid card is a common reason, as is Address Verification Service, which is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. If a merchant repeatedly declines it, that is a property of the BIN, not a fault you can fix, and Apple Pay or Google Pay may work where the raw card does not.

Can I close my Confidopay account and get my money back?

The pages say the company may close accounts with 30 days’ notice, or immediately where fraud is suspected, but they do not describe what happens to a remaining balance when an account is closed. That is a gap, not a warning. Before you ever need it, ask support in writing what your balance becomes on closure and how long it takes — and in the meantime, keep only what you need on the card.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team