A wide-reaching virtual card platform, priced like a premium service

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Kemy is a crypto card platform that converts your digital assets into a spendable balance and hands you a card number you can use at shops and online. The people it serves are pretty specific: anyone who cannot comfortably open an ordinary bank account, or who wants a very large number of separate virtual cards from a single account. On that narrow promise it does well. What makes the decision awkward is everything around the edges — the fees are among the higher ones you will meet in this category, and the company’s own pricing page contradicts itself on one of them.

Kemy works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

My score for Kemy is 6.0 out of 10. That is not a bad score so much as a mixed one: a genuinely capable product wrapped in a pricing structure and a level of public disclosure that will make a careful person hesitate.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 The card states “190+ countries” and “a few restrictions apply”; the list of restrictions is not named
Cost 2 / 10 Virtual: $15 issuance and $2 a month; 3.5% + $1 per transaction; top-up $1.5 under $100 or 1.25% from $100. Physical: $250 issuance and $10 a month; the main-account deposit fee shows as 8% in one place and 5% in another
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDT and USDC “on the main networks” (the networks themselves are not named), plus BTC, ETH and SOL through an on/off ramp, and fiat through mobile money and virtual bank accounts
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Not a bank; registered with FinCEN as an MSB; the partner banks are not named. Unofficial sources: Trustpilot 2.5 from 4 reviews; CryptoSlate rates it 3.9, “Poor”
Everyday use 9 / 10 Unlimited virtual cards plus one physical Mastercard; Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay; $500 a day at the ATM

A note on who I built this for: if you are choosing a crypto card because a normal bank turned you down, or because you live somewhere a bank account is awkward, Kemy’s reach is the reason to stay interested. If you are choosing because you want to save money on everyday spending, the numbers below will talk you out of it.

Will they give you the card

Yes — this is the strongest part of the offer. Kemy states eligibility in “190+ countries”, adds only that “a few restrictions apply”, and tells you to check your eligibility at sign-up rather than publishing the list. No country list is named anywhere I could read, so if your situation is unusual, the honest answer is that you will find out at application time rather than by reading a page.

That combination — very wide stated reach, unpublished exclusions — is typical of this category, and it is worth holding in mind when you compare it with a card that does publish its exclusions. It is not a red flag on its own. It is simply an unknown you resolve by trying.

How to get it

The application is a phone-based identity check handled by Sumsub, with Veriff also named, and the card describes the process as taking two minutes. The business-facing pricing list includes a proof-of-address check priced at $1.80; the specific documents you will be asked for are not stated.

What you end up with depends on which card you order:

The physical card ships “within 5 to 15 business days, depending on country”. DHL Express is included in the $250 order. The list of countries it ships to and the cost of a replacement card are not stated.

There are no KYC tiers described, and no reason for rejection is published; the card does note elsewhere that your limits may change with your KYC level, which is a detail worth reading twice. I found no App Store or Google Play app on the site — the dashboard is a web dashboard, plus a Telegram bot. Ratings are not stated.

What it really costs: Fees and limits

This is where the score drops hardest, and the reason is that the fees are not small and not always clear. Take the two products separately.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Kemy payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Virtual card

Physical card

Account creation is free. The pricing page does not separate consumer and business pricing, so the business figures sit next to the consumer ones.

Fee or limit Virtual Physical
Issuance $15 (3 years) $250 (3 years, 1 per user)
Monthly fee $2 $10
Card top-up fee $1.5 under $100 / 1.25% from $100 (min $5) Same (min $10)
Transaction fee 3.5% + $1 Not listed
Failed transaction $0.8 $0.80
FX fee Not listed Not listed
ATM withdrawal Not applicable $500 per day, $15,000 per month; fee not stated
Balance Up to $100,000 Up to $400,000
Per transaction $10,000 $25,000
Daily spend — $50,000
Fee or limit Both cards
Main-account deposit fee (crypto or mobile money) 8% in the summary and Pricing FAQ, 5% in the deposits section — the page conflicts
Card currency Not stated; amounts shown in US dollars
Multi-currency balance None stated
Limits and KYC Limits may change with your KYC level

Now, three everyday payments, so the percentages land somewhere real.

A $4 coffee. On a virtual card: 3.5% of $4 is $0.14, plus $1, so $1.14 on top of the coffee — totaling $1.14. On a physical card, no transaction fee is listed for the card itself, but a $4 ATM withdrawal against a $500 daily limit is the same shape of cost.

A $120 grocery shop. Virtual: 3.5% is $4.20, plus $1, so $5.20 on top of the shop. Physical: the card lists no transaction fee, but the main-account deposit fee — 8% or 5% depending on which part of the page you believe — applies earlier, when the money goes in, not when you spend it.

A $900 flight. Virtual: 3.5% is $31.50, plus $1, so $32.50. Add $2 for the month. That single payment costs more than the card costs to issue for the whole year.

The pattern to hold on to: on a virtual card, the flat $1 hits small purchases hardest, and the 3.5% is charged on every single transaction no matter how large. On a physical card, the monthly fee is small next to the $250 issuance, and the real cost is the deposit fee and whatever the FX arrangement turns out to be — and the FX fee is not listed anywhere, which is its own answer.

How to Top up the card

The funding options are the second thing this card does well. USDT and USDC are supported “on the main networks” — the specific chains are not listed, which is a detail you will want before your first transfer. BTC, ETH and SOL go through an on/off ramp. For fiat, the card lists mobile money and virtual bank accounts.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Kemy starts with a transfer to the right network
Option What you send Notes
USDT Crypto “on the main networks”; chains not named
USDC Crypto “on the main networks”; chains not named
BTC, ETH, SOL Crypto via on/off ramp
Fiat Money mobile money, virtual bank accounts

Card top-up costs $1.5 under $100 and 1.25% from $100, with a $5 minimum on the virtual card and $10 on the physical one. The main-account deposit fee is the disputed one: 8% in the summary and the Pricing FAQ, 5% in the deposits section. I will not guess which is live — that is a question for their support before you commit money, and I would treat the higher figure as the one to plan for.

On the way back out: crypto withdrawals go to a wallet on any chain, and bank payouts run $25 to $2,499 per transfer to US or European accounts. Withdrawal fees are not specified — the FAQ admits to variable network and admin fees. Crypto-to-fiat pricing is “published at launch”. The terms allow termination with one month’s notice and say nothing about returning your balance, note that exporting stored data is not possible, and allow termination after 18 months of non-use. Read those together, not separately.

Paying with it every day

For everyday use this is a strong card. The mobile wallets are the ones you actually want: Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are all supported, which is how most people will use a virtual card. Add unlimited virtual cards and one contactless physical Mastercard, and the daily mechanics are good.

The ATM story is specific: the physical Mastercard supports ATM withdrawals at $500 per day and $15,000 per month, with the fee not stated.

Two things are worth knowing rather than discovering later. Cashback is not mentioned anywhere. And the blocked-merchant list is not stated — in this category, some issuers block gambling (MCC 7995) by policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer, so you cannot assume a category is open or closed.

The card is also accepted “Visa & Mastercard accepted globally”, but acceptance and usability are not the same thing. Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of your billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which can cause declines. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. This is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, and it is a general feature of the category rather than a Kemy-specific fault.

If something goes wrong, claims must be reported in writing within two months of discovery. The terms state that payments are non-refundable because the service activates immediately. Chargebacks are not addressed. US law and US courts apply.

What can go wrong

The reliability section of my score is the one I would ask a friend to think about longest before applying.

First, what Kemy is. “KemyCard is a fintech company, not a bank.” It is registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN in the US. Cards are “issued by our authorized banking partners” — and the partners are not named. An unofficial source lists the operator as a Delaware entity with no issuing bank disclosed. You are therefore not being banked by a bank you can name, and that is a structural fact, not a complaint.

Second, complaints. What I found is thin and unverified, and I would rather say that plainly than dress it up. A secondary aggregator with a small sample, unverified, reports Trustpilot at 2.5 out of 5 from 4 reviews, with delayed applications, failed withdrawals, unanswered support and scam warnings; one user flagged no 3D Secure. The same source records praise for fast sign-up. When I looked for a Trustpilot page and Reddit threads on 20 October 2026, I found none. The card’s own FAQ admits to variable network and admin fees on external withdrawals. A CryptoSlate review rates it 3.9, “Poor”, and flags the 8% deposit deduction, no named issuing bank, undisclosed owners, and inconsistent KYC claims — “No KYC” versus full eKYC. Official incidents: not stated.

So: a small number of unverified complaints, a review site calling it poor, and one self-acknowledged source of fee unpredictability. That is not a case for alarm. It is a reason to keep your balance small, which I will come back to.

Third, security. The custody model is not stated — the funds are described as being “in segregated accounts with regulated institutions”, with regular audits claimed, but I could not find how your keys or balances are actually held. What is documented: 2FA and device biometric login; instant card freeze, unfreeze and delete from the dashboard; real-time AML transaction monitoring; and card data encrypted with AES-256. Insurance is not stated. If you are used to non-custodial cards — where the crypto stays in your own wallet until the moment of payment — this is a custodial setup, and that trade is yours to accept knowingly.

Fourth, the reversible-versus-irreversible problem, which is the one that bites hardest and is easy to forget. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible. If you send a deposit on a network the card does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, the funds can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. This is why “the main networks” without a published list is a sharper problem than it sounds. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

Finally, the one event nobody plans for: programmes close. A card programme can be wound down by its issuer, at which point loading stops, spending stops, and users are asked to withdraw what is left. In November 2022 Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically give a notice period first. One 2026 closure, reported by a secondary source and unconfirmed, ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026. Kemy’s own terms allow termination on one month’s notice with nothing said about returning your balance. That combination is the single strongest argument for not parking large sums here.

What to take instead

I want to be careful here. The alternatives below score lower on my scale than Kemy does, and none of them solves the “I cannot open a bank account” problem better. I include them because you should see the field before you decide that 6.0 is the ceiling.

Kemy Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
My score 6.0 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Stated reach “190+ countries” “One crypto card, 200+ countries” Aimed at Nigeria; “Nigerians and global users” App Store says “more than 176 countries” (acceptance)
Card Unlimited virtual (Visa), one physical Mastercard Debit card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid “HyperCard”; network not stated
Card currency Not stated Naira, per listing USD USD or EUR
Issuance $15 virtual, $250 physical Not stated “Creating a virtual card is completely free” Not stated
Fees 3.5% + $1 per transaction (virtual); deposit fee 8% or 5% “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” picks the best rate at spend; no percentage stated Not stated Not stated
Funding USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL; mobile money, virtual bank accounts USDT, USDC, BTC Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer USDT, BTC, ETH in the app
Rewards Not mentioned Not stated Not stated Not stated

What stands out in that comparison is how little the others tell you. Cardex, CardFlow and HyperCard all leave fees unstated on the pages I could read — that is worse than Kemy’s high-but-published numbers, in my view, because you cannot budget against a blank. CardFlow’s free virtual card is appealing until you notice no transaction fee is stated either. HyperCard’s country figure is about acceptance, not eligibility, which is a distinction worth holding on to when a provider quotes a big number.

If your problem is access, the honest ranking is: apply to Kemy first, because its reach is the reason it scored 9 on who-can-get-it, and keep a second application open elsewhere in case it declines you. If your problem is cost, none of these four is a bargain and you should look at how much you are actually spending from crypto at all.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Kemy to someone in a specific situation, and I would steer everyone else away.

Yes, if you have no reliable path to an ordinary bank card and you need a card number that works widely, today. The reach and the two-hour application are the product. I would also say yes to someone who genuinely needs many separate virtual cards from one account, because unlimited virtual cards is a real and unusual capability — that audience is exactly what this card was built for, and it is the one place where the fee level makes sense.

Yes, with rules, if you are comfortable with a custodial fintech rather than a bank, you will keep the balance small, and you will test a withdrawal before you rely on it.

No, if you are optimising for low cost. 3.5% plus $1 on a virtual card is a high price to pay for ordinary spending, and it falls hardest on the small purchases people make most often. No if you need to know precisely what a foreign-currency purchase costs — no FX fee is listed anywhere, and amounts are shown in US dollars. No if you plan to hold a large balance: the unpublished custody model, the unnamed banking partners, the terms that say nothing about returning your balance on termination, and the category’s own record of programme closures all point the same way.

My own rule would be: treat the money you leave on Kemy as money you might have to withdraw quickly, and check the deposit fee with support before your first transfer, because the card’s own page gives you two different answers.

Frequently asked questions

What is Kemy card?

Kemy is a crypto card platform, not a bank. It converts your digital assets into a spendable balance and issues virtual and physical cards against it. The card itself states “KemyCard is a fintech company, not a bank” and that it is registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN in the US. Cards are issued by unnamed “authorized banking partners”. If you are choosing between this and a bank account, you are choosing between a fintech platform and a regulated bank.

How does the Kemy card work?

You verify your identity, load money or crypto into your account, and then spend from that balance. Most crypto cards in this category behave like prepaid cards: your crypto is converted and loaded as a balance, and the card can only spend what is already there, so it cannot overdraw. Kemy offers USDT and USDC “on the main networks”, plus BTC, ETH and SOL through an on/off ramp, and fiat through mobile money and virtual bank accounts.

Is Kemy a bank, and who owns it?

No — Kemy describes itself as a fintech company, not a bank. It is registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business. On ownership: unofficial sources list the operator as a Delaware entity, but no owning company is confirmed by the card itself. The banking partners that issue the cards are never named, which is the part that matters most to a careful reader.

Which countries can use the Kemy card?

The card states “190+ countries” and adds only that “a few restrictions apply”, with an instruction to check eligibility at sign-up. No country list or exclusion list is published. So I cannot tell you from the card whether your country is included — the honest answer is that you find out by applying. Acceptance “globally” is stated, but acceptance and eligibility are two different things.

How do I apply, and does it need KYC?

Identity checks run through Sumsub, with Veriff also named, and the card describes the process as two minutes on a phone. The business pricing list includes a proof-of-address check at $1.80, though the specific documents you will be asked for are not stated. There are no KYC tiers described, and your limits may change with your KYC level — so a smaller limit at first is not necessarily a rejection.

How much does the Kemy card cost?

Virtual: $15 issuance (valid 3 years) and $2 a month, plus a transaction fee of 3.5% + $1 and $0.8 for a failed transaction. Physical: $250 issuance with DHL Express included (valid 3 years, one card per user) and $10 a month. Card top-up is $1.5 under $100 or 1.25% from $100. The main-account deposit fee is given as both 8% and 5% on the same page.

How do I top up the Kemy card?

Send USDT or USDC “on the main networks” — the chains are not listed, which you should confirm before your first transfer. BTC, ETH and SOL go through an on/off ramp. For fiat, the card lists mobile money and virtual bank accounts. Card top-up costs $1.5 under $100 or 1.25% from $100, with a $5 minimum on the virtual card and $10 on the physical one.

Can I use the Kemy card with Apple Pay?

Yes — the card states Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. This is the practical route for a virtual card, since you add the number to your phone’s wallet and pay by token rather than typing numbers. Remember that the issuer can still restrict a tokenised number, for example blocking it on websites or on the physical stripe, and that declined payments may leave a hold on funds for several days.

Is the Kemy card safe?

It is a custodial setup: your funds are described as being in segregated accounts with regulated institutions, with regular audits claimed, but the custody model itself is not stated and no insurance is mentioned. Documented safeguards include 2FA, device biometric login, instant card freeze, real-time AML monitoring and AES-256 card-data encryption. The category has a poor record — Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network between them saw roughly US$350 million, US$400 million and US$625 million reported stolen, and card programmes have been closed. Keep balances small.

Is Kemy card free?

No. The virtual card is $15 to issue plus $2 a month, and the physical card is $250 to issue plus $10 a month. Only account creation is free. There is also a 3.5% + $1 transaction fee on virtual cards and a deposit fee that the pricing page states as both 8% and 5%. Cashback is not mentioned anywhere, so there is nothing coming back to offset it.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team