A cheap virtual crypto card with a $6 monthly fee, or not?
WantToPay is a virtual crypto card that lives almost entirely inside Telegram. You verify your identity once, get a card number, and spend from a balance you top up with crypto or rubles. There is no plastic in the post, no bank account behind it in the usual sense, and no cash withdrawal. For people who want to pay for foreign services from a crypto balance without opening a bank account, that narrow job is done competently. For everyone else, the numbers add up quickly: a $6 monthly fee on three of the four tiers, a 9% or 7% crypto top-up fee, and a per-transaction charge on top. My score is 4.5 out of 10 — not a bad product, but one that only pays off in a specific situation.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.5 out of 10, and here is why
WantToPay sits somewhere between a prepaid payment card and a crypto exchange wallet. It converts crypto into a spendable balance and hands you a card number that behaves like a normal Visa or Mastercard product at the checkout — except the card network is never named on the public pages, so you cannot be sure what you are actually holding. The product is polished where it counts for its core audience, Telegram users paying for foreign services by virtual card, and thin everywhere else. There is no physical card, no ATM, no cash, no rewards, and the fees that remain are charged on almost every movement of money.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Countries and residency are not stated on the site; the promotion for new users is 18+, and the number of countries served is not disclosed |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Easy 990 RUB, Smart 1,590 RUB, Pro 3,490 RUB; a $6 monthly service fee on Easy, Smart and Pro; crypto top-up 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Rubles by phone number or bank card; crypto BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | WTP Technology Limited (Hong Kong), issuer unnamed; Trustpilot score hidden for a guidelines breach with 274 reviews; complaints about cards that stopped working and inaccessible funds |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual only; Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay only on Smart and Pro; no physical card and no ATM |
Total: 4.5 / 10.
So who is this for? It suits someone who already lives in the Telegram ecosystem, already holds stablecoins, and wants a card number to pay for a subscription or a digital service that would otherwise decline them. It does not suit someone who wants a bank card replacement: if you need cash, a physical card, a card that works at a grocery shop without a fuss, or an Apple Pay wallet on a cheap tier, this will disappoint. The overall score lands where it does because the cost criterion drags hard — the product is cheap to open and expensive to run.
Will they give you the card?
The honest answer is that the public pages do not tell you. The home page lists no countries and no residency conditions, and the terms index gave no country list either. What you do get is a promotion for new users aged 18 or over. That age line tells you the floor, not the map; the number of countries is not disclosed anywhere I could read.
This matters more than it might appear. Nationality and residence are handled differently in card issuing: sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. So “no country list” does not mean “everyone”. It means the gatekeeper’s rules are not public, and you will only learn your fate after you apply.
The operator behind the card is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong, incorporation number 76394774. The card issuer itself is not named. That is a detail worth pausing on, because the entity that actually carries your money and handles a disputed payment is not the brand you signed up with.
How to get it
The application runs inside a Telegram Mini App rather than an app store download — there is no App Store or Google Play app, and the product is a Telegram Mini App plus a website. Versions and ratings for it are not stated.
The identity check runs through Sumsub and is described as “verification with one document”. The service says it does not store document copies. What the official steps actually ask for is a single, tidy sequence:
- email address and phone confirmation;
- a photo of an identity document — passport, foreign passport or driver’s licence, both sides if it is an ID card or licence;
- a selfie, sometimes with a blink or a head turn;
- processing “usually a few minutes”.
There is one level of verification, not a tiered system. No proof of address appears in the official KYC steps — only the ID document and the selfie. The service says it does not keep copies of your document, and that the whole thing usually takes a few minutes.
Two practical notes. First, if you are a new user who completes verification within seven days of registration, you get a 30% promotion on the Easy tier. Second, failures are most often caused by photo quality, and the advice is to contact support after several failed attempts — there is no list of rejection reason codes published, so you cannot decode a refusal yourself.
One more thing that is unofficial. A sponsored article from tproger.ru (September 2026) says Smart cards are issued in the USA per its tariff terms, and that some Prepaid and Easy cards carry Singapore BINs, while the card network is not named. Treat that as a third-party reading, not as a confirmed statement by the card.
Fees: what it really costs
This is where the card earns its 2 out of 10. Almost every movement of money has a charge attached, and the tiers differ so much that choosing the wrong one is expensive.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Prepaid issuance | Fixed denomination, $10–$200 |
| Easy issuance | 990 RUB ($10) |
| Smart issuance | 1,590 RUB |
| Pro issuance | 3,490 RUB ($35) |
| Monthly service fee | $6 on Easy, Smart and Pro; $0 on Prepaid |
| Successful transaction fee | Prepaid/Easy $0.25–$0.50; Smart $0.50–$1.00 plus 0.2% for contactless; Pro $0.5 plus 1% of the payment amount |
| Failed transaction fee | Prepaid/Easy $0.25–$0.50; Smart $0.40–$1.00; Pro $1 |
| Crypto top-up fee | Easy 9%; Smart 7%; Prepaid fixed denomination only |
| RUB top-up | At the app rate, fee not stated |
| Minimum deposit | $10 on all tiers |
| Validity | Prepaid and Easy 24 months; Smart 36–60 months |
| Purchase limit per day | Prepaid up to $20,000; Easy up to $50,000 |
| Single transaction limit | Prepaid $10,000; Easy $20,000; Smart $25,000; Pro “—” |
| Monthly limit | Pro $50,000; not stated for the others |
The card’s base currency is USD. Ruble top-ups are converted at the rate shown in the app, and a separate currency-conversion commission does not appear in the comparison table — what happens when you pay in a currency other than the dollar is not stated.
Let me run three ordinary payments through that table and see who survives.
A $12 subscription on Easy: $0.25–$0.50 for the transaction, plus 9% on the crypto top-up that funded it. If you topped up $12 with USDT, the 9% alone is $1.08 — more than double the transaction fee. Then add the $6 monthly service fee the moment your card falls due for one.
A $40 contactless tap on Smart: $0.50–$1.00 plus 0.2% of the amount, and a 7% top-up fee. The 0.2% is the smallest line here, but the fixed dollar component is not, and this is the tier people expect to be the “good” one.
A $300 purchase on Pro: $0.5 plus 1% of $300, so $3.50 in transaction fees on a single payment. Pro’s monthly ceiling is $50,000, which is generous, but at 1% per transaction the card is expensive by design. Pro is the tier for high-value use, and it says so with VIP support, Apple Pay, Google Pay and offline payments abroad — capabilities, not savings.
There is no metal card, no cashback, and no rewards of any kind stated. And a third-party note worth checking before you commit: a “Plus” subscription is reported as required for Easy and Smart, at 690 RUB or 6 USDT per 30 days, with 3/6/12-month options at 1,860 / 3,310 / 4,100 RUB, and one subscription covering all cards. If that holds, it is very likely the same $6 monthly fee listed officially — a second name for one charge, not two. Either way, on Easy and Smart you are paying to hold the card, every month, before you spend anything.
Top up: how the money gets in
You have two routes, and the fees between them are stark.

Rubles first, because it is the simpler one. Easy and Smart cards are funded by instant transfer to a phone number or by bank card. The card provider does not accept bank-card payments into the card itself — that is a distinction the site is careful about. The minimum deposit is $10 on all tiers, which is the same as the Easy card’s face value, in other words Easy is a one-deposit product unless you pay the monthly fee.
Crypto second. The home page lists BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC and TON; a more detailed list elsewhere narrows it to BTC, USDT, USDC and TON. Networks are not named anywhere I could read, which is the single most dangerous gap on this page. Credits usually arrive at once but can take up to 180 minutes. Here is the rule that catches people out: new crypto payment details must be used for every top-up, and a crypto transfer sent to details you have already used cannot be returned. Who pays the network fee for the transfer is not stated.
Bank cards cannot be used to receive payments.
On the currency side, RUB top-ups convert at the app rate with no fee disclosed, so the crypto route is where the explicit percentages live: 9% on Easy, 7% on Smart. Prepaid takes a fixed denomination only, no crypto top-up at all.
Paying with it every day
The card is virtual, delivered digitally inside the Telegram Mini App, with no physical card and no delivery. The network is not specified on the public pages. The primary currency is USD, and 3D Secure is used for online payments.
Mobile wallets are the part that surprises people. Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay work on Smart and Pro only — not on Prepaid and not on Easy. Since Easy is the cheapest paid tier at 990 RUB and the one new users are steered toward, the phone-wallet experience many buyers actually want is a tier upgrade away. A third-party reading also reports Apple Pay only on Smart, and a refusal code #D005 blocking certain merchant categories — crypto exchanges, casinos, adult content, mining, e-wallets, government bodies — with gambling and donations prohibited outright. The tariff terms reportedly bar sellers from listed countries including Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey “among others”, and list Brawl Stars, Genshin Impact, the Epic Games Store and the PlayStation Store as not payable on any tariff. That is unofficial reporting from a sponsored article, not a published rule set.
Some of that is structurally predictable rather than a quirk of this card. A payment card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number — the BIN — that tells the merchant which institution and country issued it, and a shop can apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. That is why a card issued in one country looks “foreign” elsewhere. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs precisely because the lookup reveals the type and the country. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address against issuer records, is mainly a US, Canada and UK mechanism and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — a common source of declines. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for days, typically up to seven.
What the card does not do is withdraw money. The cards are not meant for taking funds out of services, and no withdrawal to a bank or a crypto address is described. Cash at an ATM is not mentioned at all, and third-party reporting says funds cannot be withdrawn from the card.
The one mechanism that does exist is an “internal balance”. Money lands there when the card provider has a technical failure or support asks for it, and you can move it back to any of your Prepaid, Easy, Smart or Pro cards at any time, free, with a $2 minimum and up to $500 per day. You cannot add money to it from a card.
What can go wrong
Four risks, in order of how much they should bother you.
The card stops working and the money does not come back. The dominant complaint theme is cards ceasing to work or funds becoming inaccessible, with a few users saying support went silent. Other reported themes in September 2026 are declined payments and top-ups taking ten minutes to nearly an hour, a refusal to refund a 693 RUB issue fee, and a refund that took “several months” before it was returned. Many positive reviews are short and some come from single-review accounts, which cuts both ways: it means the praise may be as shallow as the criticism.
The Trustpilot score is hidden. As of the reading date, the TrustScore itself was not displayed, marked unavailable due to a breach of Trustpilot’s guidelines with fake reviews removed. Underneath that sit 274 reviews, 152 of them in the last 12 months, split 85% five-star and 13% one-star. The company’s own homepage claims 4.6. With the aggregate hidden, you are being asked to weigh a claimed score against a visible pile of reviews that is nearly one-seventh negative.
Nobody will tell you who the issuer is. WTP Technology Limited is the company; the issuer is not named, and third-party reporting suggests BIN regions in the USA and Singapore without naming the sponsor. When a payment goes wrong, the party that can actually reverse it is the one you cannot identify. On chargebacks — the refund a card issuer orders to settle a dispute, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — coverage for prepaid cards varies by scheme and should never be assumed. US debit reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid coverage is the shakier of the three.
The security model is half-described. What you get: 3D Secure on online payments, where the issuer assesses risk and either approves silently or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric, and a company statement that it does not store document copies. What you do not get: the custody model, an in-app freeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls, or insurance. None of that is stated. So you cannot tell from the public pages whether you are holding a custodial balance behind a login or something with more of a wallet structure attached.
And on the crypto side, one rule of the road that is not about this card but decides whether your top-up arrives: transfers are irreversible. Send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, and the money can be gone or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. On Ethereum, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send. If your USDT sits on Tron, note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. None of this is about wanting to get around a rule — it is about knowing which network you are on before you press send, because there is no second attempt.
Support, when it works, runs through the Telegram bot @WantToPaySupportBot between 07:00 and 00:00 GMT+3, plus the email [email protected]. Pro gets VIP support, and there is an AI assistant called “Ask” in the knowledge base. Official incident reporting is not stated; there are no dated news items on the official pages I read, though the company says it has operated since 2022.
What to take instead
If WantToPay’s shape does not suit you, here is where three other crypto cards sit. The comparison is deliberately blunt about what is and is not disclosed.
| WantToPay | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.5 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Card type | Virtual only, USD, 3D Secure | Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Prepaid, USD or EUR balance |
| Issuing cost | 990–3,490 RUB | Not stated | Free virtual card | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | $6 on Easy, Smart, Pro | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Payment fee | $0.25–$1.00 plus up to 1% | Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment; no percentage stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Top-up | RUB by phone or bank card; BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC, TON | USDT, USDC, BTC | BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira bank transfer | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted to USD or EUR |
| Networks named | No | No | No | No |
| Rewards | None stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Eligibility | Not stated | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, no exclusions listed | Aimed at Nigeria and “global users” | No country list; “176+ countries” is acceptance, not eligibility |
Three things jump out. CardFlow’s virtual card is free to create, which undercuts WantToPay’s 990 RUB entry point entirely. Cardex offers a physical card, which WantToPay does not at any tier. And every one of these cards shares WantToPay’s worst documentation habit: the networks you will send crypto on are not named on any of them.
The pattern across the whole category is worth naming. A crypto card is not one thing but three parties: the network routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer is the licensed institution that holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often just the programme manager and front end. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. When programmes close, the usual sequence is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. So the question to ask of any card in this category is not really “how good is the app” — it is “who is the issuer, and would I be told early if this programme ended.”
Who I would recommend it to
- Someone already holding USDT or USDC who lives in Telegram and wants a card number for one or two foreign digital services, and who can afford to think of the $6 monthly fee and the 7–9% top-up fee as the price of convenience.
- Someone who has tried the ordinary route — a bank card, a conventional fintech app — and been declined, and who wants a second option that does not depend on a bank’s underwriting decision.
- A user in a market where the card’s acceptance footprint is genuinely useful, and who understands that the country list is not published, so eligibility is discovered by applying rather than by reading.
And who I would not:
- Anyone budgeting tightly. On Easy, a single small payment carries a fixed transaction fee, a percentage top-up fee and a monthly charge. That arithmetic is unkind.
- Anyone who needs cash, a physical card, or an ATM. None exist here, and funds cannot be withdrawn.
- Anyone who wants Apple Pay or Google Pay on a budget. Those wallets are Smart and Pro only.
- Anyone who needs predictability about who holds the funds and who handles a dispute. The issuer is not named on the public pages, and the chargeback path is not described.
- Anyone who intends to move large sums. Limits reach $50,000 a month on Pro, but at $0.5 plus 1% per transaction, volume scales the cost with it.
My verdict in one line: it is a competent tool for a narrow job, priced as if the narrow job were the whole market. If your situation is exactly that job, take it knowing the fees. If it is anything wider, look at a free-entry card first and come back.
Frequently asked questions
What is the WantToPay card?
It is a virtual payment card issued inside a Telegram Mini App, with no app-store download. You verify your identity through Sumsub, get a card number, and spend from a balance you load with rubles or crypto. The card is USD-based, supports 3D Secure for online payments, and comes in four tiers: Prepaid, Easy, Smart and Pro. There is no physical card, no delivery, and no ATM access.
How does the WantToPay card work?
It works much like a prepaid card. You top up a stored balance — by instant ruble transfer to a phone number, by bank card, or with BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC and TON — and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Online payments run through 3D Secure. Because it draws on a stored balance rather than a linked bank account, money cannot be taken back out: there is no withdrawal to a bank or a crypto address described.
Is WantToPay a bank?
No. The operator is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong, incorporation number 76394774, and the card issuer itself is not named on the public pages. The product is a payment programme run under a card network’s licence rather than a bank account. That distinction matters for dispute handling, since chargeback rights for prepaid cards vary by scheme and should not be assumed.
Is the WantToPay card available in my country?
The public pages do not say. Countries and residency conditions are not stated on the home page, and the terms index gave no country list either. The only stated eligibility rule is that the new-user promotion is for people aged 18 and over, and the number of countries served is not disclosed. You will find out by applying, and nationality is often screened separately from residence.
How much does the WantToPay card cost?
Issuance runs from a $10–$200 fixed denomination on Prepaid to 990 RUB on Easy, 1,590 RUB on Smart and 3,490 RUB on Pro. Easy, Smart and Pro each add $6 per month. Payment fees are $0.25–$0.50 on Prepaid and Easy, $0.50–$1.00 plus 0.2% for contactless on Smart, and $0.5 plus 1% of the amount on Pro. Crypto top-up costs 9% on Easy and 7% on Smart. There is no cashback and no rewards.
Can I use Apple Pay or Google Pay with WantToPay?
Yes, but only on the higher tiers. Smart supports Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, as does Pro, and Pro lists them alongside offline payments abroad. They are not available on Prepaid or Easy. Since Easy is the cheapest paid tier at 990 RUB and the tier new users are steered toward, adding a phone wallet means moving up a tier.
How do I top up the WantToPay card?
Rubles go in by instant transfer to a phone number or from a bank card, and the app shows the rate used for conversion. Crypto goes in as BTC, ETH, BNB, USDT, USDC or TON, with a $10 minimum on every tier and credit usually arriving at once but taking up to 180 minutes. Crucially, you must use fresh payment details for every top-up, and a transfer sent to details you have already used cannot be returned. The networks are not named on the public pages.
Can I withdraw money from WantToPay?
Not in the normal sense. The cards are not meant for withdrawing funds from services, and no withdrawal to a bank account or crypto address is described. Cash at an ATM is not mentioned, and third-party reporting says funds cannot be withdrawn from the card at all. There is an internal balance you can move funds back from, but only money that arrived there through a provider failure or at support’s request.
Is the WantToPay card safe?
Partly answered, partly silent. The company says it does not store document copies, and 3D Secure adds an identity check to online payments. But the custody model, in-app freeze, two-factor authentication, spending controls and insurance are all not stated. Practically, crypto transfers are irreversible: sending on an unsupported network or to an address of another network can lose the funds with no guarantee of recovery.
Is the WantToPay card worth it?
For one narrow case, yes: you already hold stablecoins, you live in Telegram, and you want a card number for foreign digital services you are otherwise declined by. For everyday spending, the numbers argue against it — a $6 monthly fee, a 7–9% crypto top-up fee and a per-transaction charge stack up fast on small payments. Before you commit, check the current fee table, since these terms can change, and weigh a free-entry alternative such as a virtual Mastercard that costs nothing to create.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
