Bitwala Review: Does This Crypto Card Earn Its Place?

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Bitwala runs a euro account with a German IBAN and issues a Visa debit card that can be funded from crypto or from euros. On paper that is exactly what many people in the EEA say they want: one balance, spendable anywhere Visa is accepted, with Google Pay and Apple Pay support. And for daily spending from euros, the fees are genuinely free.

Bitwala works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

But I cannot give this card more than a 6.1 out of 10, and the reason has very little to do with the fees. It has to do with history. The company that issued this card before — Nuri, previously Bitwala — went insolvent in August 2022 and wound down in October 2022, telling customers to withdraw their money by 18 December 2022. Today Bitwala is a different company, Bitwala GmbH in Germany, working with Solarisbank. That matters, and I will come back to it. But a reader deciding whether to trust an app with their savings needs to know that the brand they are downloading was attached to a collapse within the last few years, and that the people who lived through it left reviews about locked accounts and unreachable support.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Requires a verified Bitwala account and residency in the EEA
Cost 7 / 10 Account and subscription are free; virtual card €0.99 once, physical €9.99 once plus delivery; euro payments free, crypto payments €0.20 + 1%, ATM €2 + 1%
Top-up options 6 / 10 Bitcoin, Ether, USDC and euros; crypto is swapped to euros in the app; networks not stated
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Bitwala GmbH (Germany), euro account and IBAN through Solarisbank; card issuer not named; the former company Nuri filed for bankruptcy in 2022, with complaints that year about blocks
Everyday use 8 / 10 Visa debit, virtual and physical; Google Pay works, Apple Pay through Curve; ATMs available, limits and freezing in the app

Total: 6.1 / 10

Who this suits: you live in the EEA, you hold crypto occasionally rather than constantly, and what you actually want is a euro account with a Visa debit card attached to it. If that is you, the daily-use score of 8 out of 10 reflects a card that does its job without drama for euro spending.

Who this does not suit: if your main reason for wanting a card is to move crypto around, or you want to hold a large balance for any length of time, or you are outside the EEA. This is not a self-custody card and not a trading platform with a card bolted on. And if what you really want is a card that works everywhere with no rules at all, the fact that the card issuer is not even named on the public page is the kind of gap I would want filled before depositing anything meaningful.

Will They Give You the Card

Yes, if you meet one condition: a verified Bitwala account and residency in the EEA. That is what the card states, and it is the whole of the eligibility rule as published.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitwala starts with a transfer to the right network

The rule is framed around residence, not citizenship. That distinction matters more than it first appears, because screening in this industry is often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as country of address — which is why nationality is usually recorded separately from where you live. If your citizenship differs from your address, expect to be asked about both. I am not going to pretend I can tell you how this particular issuer handles a specific combination; the card does not publish it.

What the card does not state is worth noticing too. The documents, proof of address and age requirements are not stated. Neither are any verification tiers. In the EU, customer due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are politically exposed. A card that simply says “verified account” without saying what that involves leaves you guessing about the paperwork you will be asked for.

If you are outside the EEA, this is a simple answer: no. You will waste time otherwise.

How to Get It

The sequence is short. Register, complete verification, open your euro account, then order either a virtual Visa card or a physical one.

The card itself is a Visa debit, available in virtual and physical form. The card currency is not stated, though the underlying account is a euro account — which I would treat as a strong hint rather than a confirmation that everything is priced in euros.

Registration is described as “instant”. That is a marketing word, and I would read it as describing the speed of the sign-up form rather than the speed of your verification. In the EU, if due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to refrain from proceeding and, where necessary, to end the relationship. So “instant” and “instant” are not the same thing, and the moment your documents do not match, the clock stops.

On the physical card: €9.99 plus shipping. Which countries it ships to, and how long it takes, is not stated — so if you are outside Germany and hoping for next-week delivery, you have no basis for that expectation.

Losing the card is handled in the app: you freeze it, and you can order a replacement. What a replacement costs is not stated. My advice is to find out before you need it, not after.

Apple Pay setup has one condition attached: it works if you sign up with Curve. I will come back to that, because it is the kind of small dependency that should inform a bigger decision.

Fees: What It Really Costs

Here is the thing I like about this card: if you spend euros, you pay nothing. That is rarer than it should be in this category. The costs are all on the crypto side and at the cash machine.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitwala payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Fee or limit
Account Free, no monthly subscription
Virtual card issuance €0.99 one-time
Physical card issuance €9.99 one-time, plus shipping
Euro payments Free
Crypto payments €0.20 + 1% per transaction
FX fee Not stated separately
ATM withdrawal €2 + 1%; free allowance not stated
Published spending limits None published; limits can be set in the app
Tiers Not stated

Let me walk three ordinary payments through that table, because a percentage fee looks very different depending on what you are buying.

A payment in euros. Free. Nothing to calculate, nothing to worry about. This is the card working as intended.

A €60 flight, paid from euros. Also free. Bitwala is a euro account with a Visa debit, so as long as the merchant takes euros — which in the EEA most do — the euro line in the table applies. Note that a foreign-issued card can still decline in countries where address verification is used, and if you are buying in dollars, you are no longer on the free line.

A €40 purchase paid from crypto. €0.20 plus 1% of €40, so the conversion costs you 20 cents plus the spread embedded in converting at the moment of purchase. The fixed 20 cents sounds trivial; the 1% does not, and on larger crypto-funded purchases it becomes the number that matters. If you buy a €600 laptop from crypto, you are paying €6 in fee on top of whatever the conversion itself costs you.

Two things the card does not tell me, and both should make you pause before you rely on this:

There are no tiers. Whatever tier benefits exist, they are not something I can evaluate, because the card does not publish them.

How to Top It Up

The accepted assets are Bitcoin, Ether, USDC and euros. Crypto is swapped into euros inside the app, and then you are spending a plain euro balance.

That conversion step is the whole design, and it has one big consequence you should understand before you use it. You are not paying with crypto. You are paying with euros that you bought by selling crypto. Which means:

The networks are not stated, and that is the single most practical gap in this section for anyone sending crypto rather than euros. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. So the question “which chain do I send USDC on?” has no published answer here. Find it in the app before you transfer, not after. If you are planning to send USDT on Tron, be aware that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.

SEPA funding is mentioned on the home page without fees being stated. Withdrawal terms are not stated either — I cannot tell you what it costs to take euros back out, or how long it takes. As for the old company: when it wound down, customers had to withdraw by 18 December 2022. That is a reminder of what happens to your balance when things go wrong, and it is a reason to keep the amount you leave sitting here small until you have seen how this company behaves in ordinary conditions.

One more cost people forget: on-chain network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Bitwala. Sending USDC on a busy network can cost more than the euro you intended to top up.

Paying With It Every Day

This is where the card scores best, and I think 8 out of 10 is fair.

It is a Visa debit, virtual and physical, so it works online and in shops anywhere Visa is accepted. Google Pay works. Apple Pay works “if you sign up with Curve” — which is a real dependency on a third party for a function most people assume is native, and it is worth understanding before you count on it.

You can freeze and unfreeze the card in the app, which is the single most useful feature here. A lost card is a two-tap problem rather than a phone-call problem, and you can order a replacement without leaving the app.

The app also lets you set limits. Again, good design for the reason I mentioned in the fees section: you control the ceiling rather than inheriting one.

The honest gaps:

Two practical notes about how card payments behave generally. A merchant category code classifies a business — gambling falls under MCC 7995 — and many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. Bitwala does not state which categories are blocked, so you will find out by trying. And merchants can look up the card’s issuing institution and country from the first six or eight digits of the number, applying extra scrutiny if that differs from your billing address; some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for exactly this reason. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which can cause declines. A failed authorisation may also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. None of this is Bitwala’s doing specifically, but all of it is what “everyday use” means for a card like this.

What Can Go Wrong

This is the section I would not skip if I were you, and the section that holds the score at 5 out of 10 for reliability.

The history. In August 2022 the previous company, Nuri — the exchange previously known as Bitwala — filed for insolvency, with outlets reporting the filing on either 9 or 10 August. In October 2022 it announced it was winding down, stopped digital-asset trading on 30 November 2022, and told customers to withdraw their funds by 18 December 2022. Users were left with a deadline. That is the brand in your app store, and you should know it before you deposit.

What users reported at the time. A Trustpilot review from July 2022 described SMS and card functions failing, an account suspended without explanation, and support unreachable. A Google Play report from October 2022 described a locked account with access later restored. I did not read the Trustpilot score or the number of reviews, so I am giving you the themes rather than a rating. The themes are consistent and they are the ones that matter: logins and SMS failing, accounts suspended without a clear reason, and support not answering. I want to be careful here — these are individual reports from a period of acute stress during a collapse, not a current measurement. But the questions they raise are the ones you should ask about support today, and the card does not answer them: the support centre exists, but its languages and opening hours are not stated.

Who is actually behind it. Bitwala GmbH is a company in Germany. It works with Solarisbank, a licensed German bank, for the euro account and the IBAN. The card issuer is not named on the page. This is worth pausing on. In this category, the card network routes the messages, a licensed issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end. If you cannot tell who your card issuer is, you cannot easily tell who is responsible when something goes wrong with a payment.

The custodial question. Your crypto here is held by the provider, not by you. Control belongs to whoever holds the private key, so with a custodial wallet you must trust the provider completely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is the private key in plain form, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery built in: the network cannot freeze or return anything. This is not a criticism unique to Bitwala — custodial platforms have a documented record of it, including Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022) — but it is a real counterparty risk you are taking on by choosing this kind of card over a self-custody one. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and the risk becomes your own: key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address.

Regulation is settling underneath this. The EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, MiCA (Regulation (EU) 2023/1114), took legal effect in June 2023. Its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules applied from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and you can check Bitwala’s status there — that is a concrete step, not a vague worry. Separately, a card is a payment service regulated under e-money and payment-services law, so a crypto card often depends on two licences at once. And note what an EMI must do versus what a bank does: EMIs must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. With Solarisbank involved for the euro account and IBAN, the money side has a bank behind it. I would want to be clear in my own head about which part of my balance that covers.

Programmes do close. This is not hypothetical. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. The pattern when a programme closes is consistent: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances.

Stablecoins are not what the name suggests. A stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against an asset such as a fiat currency, but they are not necessarily stable. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are dollar-pegged, and the BIS (July 2025) put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in those two. USDC is described by Circle as redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026. But stablecoins can and have depegged: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — so stablecoins are not censorship-proof either. If your plan is to sit on a large USDC balance inside this app, that is a decision about your counterparty, not just your crypto.

Practical safeguards that do exist: cards can be frozen and unfrozen in the app, you can set spending limits, and online payments may use 3-D Secure, where the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric. Visa’s 3-D Secure brand is Visa Secure. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from merchant to bank — or, per critics, to you. Mobile wallet tokenisation helps: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number held in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, with a one-time dynamic security code per payment, and issuers can restrict a tokenised number to specific channels.

What to Take Instead

If the deal-breaker for you is the custodial balance and the 2022 history, the honest comparison is not with other crypto cards — it is with what else does the same job. Here are three, each with its own trade-offs. Scores are on the same ten-point scale.

Card Score Card type Cost Key restrictions
Bitwala 6.1 / 10 Visa debit, virtual and physical Virtual €0.99 once; physical €9.99 once plus delivery; crypto payments €0.20 + 1% EEA residents only
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; pays in USD; physical “coming soon” Virtual issuance $5 one-time; no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month Not available to residents of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case; purchases blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spends from the UNi.Global account balance No annual fee; issuance fee not stated Not stated who can get it
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores Page says “no extra fees”; no amounts listed Consumers limited to 31 US states; businesses to 41 states; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam

Reading across the row for the International Visa Card: its best feature is that card use in USD is free on all plans, and deposits are free — you can deposit USDC or USDT into the USD account free at 1:1, or use USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow. What it costs you is a 2% FX fee on foreign currency on top of the Visa exchange rate, and a physical card that does not yet exist. Its eligibility rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship, and it is a longer exclusion list than Bitwala’s EEA rule. No cashback is stated.

The UNi Card scores the same 6.1 as Bitwala, and in some ways describes itself better: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live over-the-counter rates, “no hidden exchange fees”, and spend-to-earn rewards up to 3%. What I cannot tell you is who is eligible, what the top-up routes are, or what issuance costs — those are not stated. If spending euros without a fee is your priority, this one is worth a look precisely because it says so explicitly. I would want to know its eligibility rules and top-up options before drawing any conclusion.

Whop Cards scores lowest at 5.2, and the reason is eligibility: 31 US states for consumers (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Carolina’s neighbour Tennessee is not listed, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming) and 41 states for businesses. What it offers: 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned, and spending from a Whop balance, where a pending balance becomes usable as soon as a payment arrives while standard withdrawals use settled funds. The balance is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, though which coins and networks is not stated. Fees beyond “no extra fees” are not published.

Bitwala International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
Everyday euro spending Free Free in USD only No FX fee stated Not stated
Crypto funding BTC, ETH, USDC, EUR USDC, USDT free at 1:1 Not stated Stablecoin collateral from linked wallet
Physical card €9.99 plus delivery Not yet Not stated Not stated
Who can get it EEA residents Long exclusion list by residence Not stated 31 US states (consumers)

None of these is a clean win. The International Visa Card is the closest on score and the most restricted on geography. The UNi Card is the most transparent about fees and the least transparent about eligibility. Whop Cards is essentially a US-only product with attractive cashback.

Who I Would Recommend It To

Three groups, and one warning.

I would recommend Bitwala to an EEA resident who wants a euro account and a Visa card, spends mostly in euros, and treats the crypto side as an occasional convenience rather than the point. You get a German IBAN, a card you can freeze yourself, free euro payments, Google Pay, ATM access, and app-set limits. For that person this is a competent, unexciting, reasonably priced product, and 8 out of 10 on everyday use is not a throwaway line.

I would recommend it more cautiously to someone who holds Bitcoin, Ether or USDC and wants to spend from that balance without touching an exchange interface each time. The conversion happens in the app, euro spending is free, and the assets named are the three most obvious ones. Just understand you are selling crypto at the moment of purchase, and that each such payment may be a separate taxable event where the IRS-style treatment applies.

I would not recommend it to anyone planning to hold a significant balance for a long period, or to anyone who needs to know who the card issuer is before trusting it with money. Nor to anyone outside the EEA, for whom it is simply unavailable.

The warning is the one I keep coming back to. The brand attached to this app filed for insolvency in August 2022 and wound down in October 2022, with users reporting locked accounts and unreachable support on the way out. Today’s Bitwala GmbH is a different company with a bank partner for the euro side. That is a genuine improvement and I do not want to pretend otherwise. But the card issuer is still not named, the support centre’s languages and hours are still not published, no spending limits are stated, no dispute process is described, and the networks for crypto transfers are not specified. If you take one practical thing from this review: check Bitwala’s status on ESMA’s interim register of authorised providers and non-compliant entities, find out which chain to send crypto on before your first transfer, and put a small balance in rather than a large one until the card has proven itself to you in ordinary use.

Frequently asked questions

What is Bitwala card?

Bitwala is a German crypto platform offering a euro account with an IBAN and a Visa debit card in virtual and physical form. You hold euros and supported crypto — Bitcoin, Ether, USDC — in one app, crypto is swapped into euros, and the card spends that euro balance anywhere Visa is accepted. It is a custodial product: the provider holds the crypto, so you trust them with it rather than holding keys yourself.

How does the Bitwala card work?

You top up the account with euros or crypto, and the app converts any crypto into euros. The Visa debit card then draws on that euro balance like an ordinary debit card, with euro payments free and crypto-funded payments charged at €0.20 plus 1%. You can freeze the card and set spending limits in the app. Any crypto purchase involves selling your crypto at the moment of payment.

Is Bitwala a bank?

Not itself. Bitwala GmbH is a German company, and the euro account and IBAN come through Solarisbank, a licensed German bank. The card issuer is not named on the public page. Where a provider is an electronic money institution rather than a bank, customer funds must be safeguarded through segregated accounts or insurance, but those are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns Bitwala?

The current company is Bitwala GmbH, based in Germany. Be aware of the naming history: the earlier company known as Bitwala rebranded to Nuri, filed for insolvency in August 2022, and announced its wind-down in October 2022, telling customers to withdraw by 18 December 2022. The present Bitwala GmbH is a separate, later company — which is worth knowing before you trust it with money.

Can I get the Bitwala card in my country?

Only if you reside in the EEA. The stated condition is a verified Bitwala account plus EEA residency, framed around residence rather than citizenship. If you are in the UK, Switzerland, the US or anywhere outside the EEA, this card is not available to you and there is no application route worth pursuing.

How do I get the Bitwala card?

Register an account, complete verification, open your euro account, then order a virtual card for €0.99 one-time or a physical card for €9.99 plus shipping. Registration is described as instant, though what documents, proof of address or age checks are required is not stated. If you lose the card, freeze it in the app and order a replacement, though the replacement price is not published.

Does Bitwala require KYC?

Yes — a verified account is required, though the specific documents, proof of address and age requirements are not stated, and no verification tiers are described. Under EU anti-money-laundering rules, due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check. If it cannot be completed, the account may be refused or closed.

Is the Bitwala card free?

The account is free with no monthly subscription. The virtual card costs €0.99 once and the physical card €9.99 once plus delivery. Spending is free when you pay in euros, costs €0.20 plus 1% when you pay from crypto, and €2 plus 1% at an ATM with no free allowance stated. No foreign-exchange fee is published, which is the number to ask about before spending abroad.

Can I add Bitwala to Apple Wallet?

Yes, with a condition: Apple Pay works if you sign up with Curve. Google Pay works without any such dependency. If Apple Pay is important to you, treat the Curve step as a real dependency and complete it during signup rather than discovering it later when you reach a till without a working wallet.

Is the Bitwala card safe and worth it?

Safe enough as a euro card — it is a Visa debit, you can freeze it instantly and set limits — but it is custodial, so your crypto is held by the provider with no recovery if keys are lost, and blockchain transfers are irreversible. Weigh that against the 2022 insolvency of the earlier company using this brand, the unnamed card issuer, and the absence of published limits, dispute procedures and support hours. For euro spending in the EEA, useful; for storing meaningful crypto, not something I would rely on.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team