A brand-new crypto card that keeps its numbers private — and its trust unproven

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you are looking at Ultimo because ordinary bank cards are awkward for you — because of where you live, how you are paid, or a banking history that closed doors — then you are exactly the reader I wrote this for. Because Ultimo is built for people in that position, and also happens to be a card that makes it unusually hard to know what it costs before you start spending.

Ultimo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Let me be blunt about the shape of this review. Ultimo is a young brand, founded in 2026 according to its own site, with almost none of its commercial terms published. Its fees, its supported countries, its card currency, its limits, its cashback — none of these are stated on the pages I could read. What is published is a set of promises (“Visa Platinum”, “linked straight to your Ultimo balance”) wrapped around a transfer-and-spend model that, at heart, is not unusual. The unusual part is the silence, and the fact that at least one user reports having their money locked after the brand moved domains.

My overall score is 3.7 out of 10. That is not a zero — the product works, the top-up options are genuinely good, and the daily-use picture is respectable. But a card you cannot price before you use it, from a brand with no named bank and no listed licences, with a live report of locked funds, cannot score higher. More on what that means for you below.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, and who this card is really for

Ultimo scores 3.7 / 10. The number is not an insult; it is a summary of a card that is easy to open, pleasant to hold, and almost impossible to evaluate in advance. Let me break it into the parts I scored.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 No countries are named on the official pages; Russia and Belarus are not mentioned. Unofficial reports say the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card is blocked in the EU and UK, with no country list published.
Cost 1 / 10 Official pages disclose no card fees; the exchange rate is “1.5% all-in”. Unofficial reports cite $450 issuance, $600 total setup ($450 card + $150 deposit), another report $550–$600. Monthly fee free.
Top-up options 9 / 10 BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT “and more” across 9 networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Avalanche.
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Brand “founded in 2026”; registration country and issuing bank not named. A Trustpilot review from August 2026: “cards and funds are locked” after the move to ultimox.io.
Everyday use 6 / 10 Visa Platinum, plastic (delivery 10–15 banking days) plus a virtual card in minutes, cash withdrawal “wherever Visa is accepted”. Unofficial: Apple Pay and Google Pay not supported.
Total 3.7 / 10

Read that table row by row and you can see the tension. Top-up is genuinely excellent — nine networks is more than most competitors. But cost scores 1 and reliability scores 1, and in a payment card those two matter more than top-up flexibility, because a cheap card you cannot rely on is worse than a mediocre card you can.

Who does this suit? In my reading, Ultimo fits one specific person: someone already comfortable with offshore crypto platforms, comfortable sending crypto to an address, comfortable holding a balance on a platform whose registration country is not disclosed, and comfortable that the card’s fee structure is not public. If that is you — and the reasoning is that you already accept these things about crypto platforms generally — then the product delivers a real Visa Platinum card without much fuss.

Who does it not suit? Almost everyone else. If your priority is knowing exactly what a purchase costs, Ultimo is wrong for you: the FX fee is not stated, the card currency is not stated, and the card’s own fees are not disclosed at all. If you need Apple Pay or Google Pay, it does not work (unofficial). If you are in the EU or UK and care about consumer recourse, the older sibling card reportedly does not function there. If you plan to load meaningful money and hold it, the report of locked funds after a domain change is not a small thing — it is the single most important sentence in this review.

Who will they give you the card

Short answer: the official pages do not tell you. I looked, and the answer is not stated. Ultimo does not publish a list of countries it will issue to, and it does not mention Russia or Belarus either way. That silence is itself a data point, because for a card whose whole appeal is being reachable from places other cards are not, the absence of any country list is a strange omission.

There is one unofficial thread worth knowing. Reviewers report that the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card is blocked in the EU and UK, and they attribute this to sanctions rather than to a technical fault. No country list has been published to explain which countries are affected. I want to be clear about the status of this: it comes from a third-party card-review site (cryptocards.so, 2026), not from Ultimo, and Ultimo has not confirmed it.

The practical consequence for you is this. You cannot look up “is Ultimo available in my country” and get a reliable answer, because the card does not publish one. If your country is one where crypto platforms commonly restrict service, or one under sanctions pressure, the honest answer is that you should assume nothing is guaranteed and that your access could depend on policy decisions made off-platform, without public notice. I am not suggesting any way around identity checks or country rules — I am telling you that the rules here are unpublished, and unpublished rules can change.

How to get it

Getting an Ultimo card is straightforward in the way most crypto platforms are: you verify your identity, open an account, and the card follows. The identity check is required to open the account and again before withdrawals. The virtual card is described as “ready in minutes” once your account is open.

What that leaves unspecified is almost everything around it. The official pages do not state which documents or proof of address are required. They do not state what verification tiers exist. So the onboarding is fast on paper but undefined in detail.

There is an unofficial account of the specifics, and I want to give it to you with the right caveat: per cryptocards.so (2026), an email address, a phone number and an identity document are required, and proof of address and a selfie are not required. That is one third party’s reading, not a Ultimo statement. Your own experience may differ, and it can differ by country or change over time.

The card itself is a “Visa Platinum debit card linked straight to your Ultimo balance”. You get both a physical card and a virtual one. The physical card “will be delivered 10-15 banking days”. Where it is delivered, what delivery costs, and what a replacement card costs are all not stated. The currency the card holds and spends in is also not stated — which, as the cost section will make clear, is a bigger deal than it sounds.

So: getting the card is the easy part. The friction is not in the application; it is in not knowing what you have signed up for.

What it really costs: Fees and limits

This is the weakest part of the card, and the part you should read most carefully. The honest headline is that Ultimo does not publish its card fees. The Fees section on its site lists exchange fees only. Issuance cost, monthly cost, FX markup, ATM fees, daily limits, monthly limits — all not stated.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Ultimo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What is published is trading-related: Buy & sell at “1.5% all-in, shown up front”, and spot trading at 0.05% maker / 0.10% taker. So if you swap between crypto and the balance the card spends, you know that part.

The rest comes from unofficial sources, and I am reproducing those figures exactly as reported, with the caveat that Ultimo has not confirmed any of them and they may not apply to you:

Item Official Unofficial report (cryptocards.so, 2026)
Card issuance Not stated $450
Total setup cost Not stated $600 ($450 card + $150 deposit)
Another reported issuance figure Not stated $550–$600
Monthly fee Not stated Free
Buy & sell (conversion) 1.5% all-in, shown up front —
Spot trading 0.05% maker / 0.10% taker —
Card FX fee Not stated Free
Per-card transaction (crypto-to-fiat) Not stated 3% conversion + 0.75% per transaction (one Trustpilot user)
ATM fee Not stated 0.1%, unlimited
Daily / monthly spend and ATM limits Not stated “Unlimited”

Two things jump out. The first is the setup cost. If the unofficial figure is right, you are looking at several hundred dollars to open a card and load it — that is not a casual first card, and it is not a “free” card despite the free monthly fee. The second is the conflict between sources: one report says issuance is $450 with a $150 deposit, another in the same review puts issuance at $550–$600. And a Trustpilot user describes 3% for crypto-to-fiat conversion plus 0.75% per card transaction, which does not obviously match the official “1.5% all-in”. I cannot reconcile these, and neither, I suspect, can you.

To make this concrete, here is what three ordinary payments would look like under the reported numbers — and I want to be clear these are illustrations built from unofficial figures, not quotes from Ultimo.

A $30 coffee paid with crypto. If the card converts crypto to fiat at the 1.5% all-in buy & sell rate, $30 incurs that conversion fee. If the figures from a Trustpilot user (unofficial) are correct—3% for conversion plus 0.75% per transaction—the same coffee costs more, and the per-transaction fee is the part that quietly punishes small, frequent purchases.

A $200 supermarket shop. Same arithmetic, larger numbers: the percentage costs scale, but the official rate is still only knowable if you trust that exchange fees are the only fees. If an FX fee exists and is undisclosed (the official pages say the card FX fee is not stated), spending in a currency other than the card’s also triggers something you cannot price. And the card’s own currency is not stated either.

A $50 ATM withdrawal. The site says cash withdrawal is possible “wherever Visa is accepted”, but the fee and allowance are not stated. The unofficial figure is 0.1% with unlimited withdrawals. If your reading of “unlimited” is wrong, or if your bank charges its own fee on top, that is again a number you cannot see in advance.

My advice, given how thin the published information is: before you commit real money, work out from the app what a single small test transaction actually costs you end to end, and compare that to what the same purchase would cost on a card whose fees are printed. That comparison, not the headline exchange rate, is what should decide it.

How to Top up

Top-up is where Ultimo is at its best, and this is the one section I can recommend without reservation.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Ultimo starts with a transfer to the right network

The platform supports BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT “and more” across 9 networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Avalanche. The card is linked directly to your Ultimo balance, so what you load is what the card spends. For someone who holds crypto across several chains, this is a wide door — you are not forced into one network to fund a purchase.

Two honest notes. First, top-up mechanics for the card specifically are not stated; the site describes the platform’s asset support and the balance link, not a step-by-step card funding flow. Second, an unofficial source (cryptocards.so, 2026) says the top-up fee is free, but the same review relays a Trustpilot user citing 1% for an immediate USD transfer versus free for a 72-hour transfer. So if you need your balance available now, an unofficial source suggests that immediacy may cost you 1%.

One category fact worth holding onto, because it protects your money and it is not the card’s fault: network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain itself, not by Ultimo. And blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network Ultimo does not actually support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. So when you pick from that list of nine networks, pick the one you have actually verified, not just the first that looks familiar.

Paying with it every day

In day-to-day use, Ultimo behaves like a normal, slightly old-fashioned payment card. It is a Visa Platinum debit card, so it works wherever Visa is accepted. You can hold a virtual card within minutes for online use and order plastic that arrives in 10–15 banking days for the physical world. Cash withdrawal is available “wherever Visa is accepted”. The daily experience, once funded, is unremarkable in the way you want a payment card to be.

What is missing is the modern layer. Unofficial reports say Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported (cryptocards.so, 2026). That is a real daily friction: if you are used to tapping your phone, you will be typing card numbers into websites instead. There is also no cashback listed (unofficial), no card-related rewards described, and the app is a web app at app.ultimox.io with no store listing or rating I could check. How you dispute a charge is not stated either.

None of that is disqualifying. It just means Ultimo is a card you insert and tap, not one you wave. For a reader who values everyday reliability over mobile polish, that trade can be fine — but know that you are making it.

What can go wrong

Ultimo is young, and young platforms have a specific set of failure modes. I want to walk through the ones that actually apply here, in rough order of how much they should worry you.

Locked funds. This is the report I would put in front of any reader considering loading real money. A Trustpilot review from August 2026 says that after the brand moved to ultimox.io, “cards and funds are locked”. I found no official announcement of an incident, and Ultimo has not confirmed this publicly as far as I can tell — it is a user report, not an established fact. But it is a user report from a named platform with a date, and “funds are locked” is the failure users fear most. When funds sit with a provider rather than in your own wallet, you depend on that provider continuing to operate and continuing to answer.

A brand that moved. The move to ultimox.io is itself the fact underneath the complaint. The brand describes itself as “Ultimo”, “founded in 2026” per its site, with no registration country stated and no licences listed. The physical card is “issued through an offshore bank” that is not named. Infrastructure partners are listed as BitMEX, Bitget, Deribit, Cobo, Simplex. An unofficial source says the starting data names Silver Capital Financial s.r.o., and reviews cite a Laos bank (JDB) that was later “removed from the partnership”. When you cannot name the bank behind your card, you cannot know which regulator’s rules, which deposit protections, or which complaint route apply to you.

Sanctions and blocked geography. As noted, the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card is reported blocked in the EU and UK, attributed by reviewers to sanctions, with no published country list. If you are in a country under financial pressure, an offshore card with an unpublished policy can be switched off from your side of the world without warning.

Identity checks and freezes. The identity check is required at account opening and before withdrawals, and the platform does a risk check on withdrawals (with a one-time code and email confirmation). This is normal and lawful — KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and screen them, including against sanctions lists, and where due diligence cannot be completed, institutions are required to stop or end the relationship. That is exactly why accounts get frozen pending documents. It is not a trick; it is also not something you can opt out of.

The unrecoverable transfer. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a mis-sent deposit on the wrong network can be gone. Stablecoins, while designed to hold a stable value, are not censorship-proof either — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

Support. Support is chat and email at [email protected], described as 24/7 (“any time — day or night”). That sounds reassuring. The counterweight is an older undated user report (2025–2026) on the previous Ultimo Pay card: support was unreachable and there was no way to delete the account. I cannot verify how support is today. I can tell you that “24/7” is a claim, not a measurement, and that when money is involved, the thing to watch is not the promise but whether a real person answers.

No chargeback clarity. How disputes work is not stated. For prepaid-style cards, coverage varies by jurisdiction and should not be assumed — so do not assume that a payment you dispute will be refunded to you by the card network.

What to take instead

Ultimo is not the only crypto card, and if any of the above gives you pause, the alternatives are worth a look. Here is how the main ones compare, on the same questions I asked Ultimo. Note that several facts about these cards are also not stated officially — that is normal for this category and part of the comparison.

Card Score Notable strengths Notable gaps
Ultimo 3.7 / 10 9-network, 5-asset top-up; Visa Platinum plastic + virtual Fees, country list, card currency, limits all unpublished; reports of locked funds
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Cashback paid in YNG tokens by club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated) Who can get it, card type and cost not stated
MSX 6.4 / 10 Higher score than Ultimo Who can get it, card type, cost, fees, funding and rewards all not stated
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 Broad regional rollout, clear fee schedule, tiered cashback up to 10% Region-restricted; not for European Economic Area customers

Bybit Card is the most transparent of the group and the most useful reference point, because it shows what a crypto card looks like when its terms are printed. It publishes its regions (Argentina, AIFC in Kazakhstan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific), states plainly that “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers”, and lists card currency by region. It also lists its costs: virtual issuance is free in all regions “until further notice”; physical issuance ranges from none in Brazil and Mexico to 29.99 USD in Australia and 29,99 USDT in Georgia, Kazakhstan and Asia Pacific; there is “Auto interest, no annual fees”. Its fees are itemised too — crypto conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate, FX 2% on top of the network rate in several regions, with a “FX padding” of 0–5% that is refunded. Its rewards are tiered (Base 2.00% up to Infinite 10%, with monthly caps). The catch, and it is a real one, is regional restriction and a ban on EEA customers.

The lesson from Bybit is not “pick Bybit” — it may not serve you either. It is that a well-run crypto card tells you its regions, its fees, and its limits before you commit. Ultimo tells you almost none of that.

Young Card and MSX both outscore Ultimo, largely because what is unknown about them is less alarming and their published highlights are better. Young Card’s differentiator is token-based cashback scaling with club tier. MSX scores highest of the three at 6.4/10, though almost all the specifics I would want are not stated. Choose between these and Ultimo on which one publishes the terms that matter to you — fees, eligibility, limits — because Ultimo’s central weakness is that it does not.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Ultimo to a narrow but real group: someone who already lives in the world of offshore crypto platforms, who is comfortable sending funds to an address rather than to a bank account, who can afford the reported several-hundred-dollar setup cost, and who will personally verify the fee and limit terms in the app before committing meaningful money. To that person, Ultimo is a reasonable Visa Platinum card with unusually good multi-network funding and both plastic and virtual options.

I would recommend it to nobody who is choosing a card for the first time; to anyone who needs to know a purchase’s cost to the cent before they make it; to anyone depending on Apple Pay or Google Pay; to anyone in a country whose access might quietly change; and to anyone planning to leave a substantial balance parked on the platform. The gap between “works today” and “I can trust it with my savings” is wide here, and the reports of locked funds after the domain change are the reason I would not cross that gap lightly.

The honest summary is this: Ultimo’s best feature is how easily you can fund it, and its worst feature is that it will not tell you what it costs, who it serves, or what protects your money. If those silences bother you — and for a payment card they should — pick a card that prints its terms, even if that card is less flexible on top-ups.

Frequently asked questions

What is Ultimo card?

Ultimo is a Visa Platinum debit card linked to a crypto platform balance rather than to a bank account. You load the balance, and the card spends it. The brand describes itself as founded in 2026, issues plastic and virtual cards, and publishes no country list, card currency, or card-level fee schedule on its public pages. In short, it is a young, offshore, crypto-funded payment card.

How does Ultimo card work?

You open an account and pass an identity check, receive a virtual card within minutes, and can order a physical card delivered in 10–15 banking days. The card draws on your Ultimo balance, which you fund by transferring supported crypto such as BTC, ETH, SOL or USDT across nine networks. When you pay, the balance is converted and spent wherever Visa is accepted.

Is Ultimo a bank?

No. Ultimo is a card programme and platform, not a bank. It states that the physical card is “issued through an offshore bank” but does not name it, does not state its own registration country, and lists no licences. That means your deposit is not a bank deposit and you cannot rely on national deposit-guarantee protection the way you could with an ordinary current account.

Who owns Ultimo?

The brand is Ultimo, self-described as founded in 2026, with infrastructure partners including BitMEX, Bitget, Deribit, Cobo and Simplex. An unofficial source says the underlying data names Silver Capital Financial s.r.o., and reviews mention a Laos bank later removed from the partnership. None of this is confirmed by Ultimo, and no parent entity is clearly disclosed.

Does Ultimo card require KYC?

Yes. An identity check is required to open an account and again before withdrawals, which is standard under anti-money-laundering rules. The official pages do not say which documents or proof of address are needed. One third-party review says email, phone and an identity document are required and that proof of address and a selfie are not — but treat that as unofficial.

Is Ultimo card free?

The monthly fee is reported as free, but setup is not. Unofficial figures put card issuance at $450 and total setup at $600 ($450 card plus a $150 deposit), with another report in the same range at $550–$600. The card’s own fees are not published by Ultimo, so treat “free” as referring to the monthly fee only, not to opening the card.

How to top up Ultimo card?

You transfer supported crypto to the platform, which credits your Ultimo balance, and the card spends that balance. The platform supports BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT “and more” over Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base and Avalanche. Network fees are charged by the blockchain, and transfers are irreversible, so double-check the network before you send.

Can I use Ultimo card in my country?

Nobody can tell you with confidence, because Ultimo publishes no country list. Unofficial reports say the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card is blocked in the EU and UK, attributed to sanctions. Check the current terms yourself, and assume access can change. Note also that the card’s currency is not stated, and some merchants decline foreign or prepaid cards.

Is Ultimo card safe?

The brand uses an identity check and two-step withdrawal confirmation, and reports 24/7 chat and email support. Against that: the custody model is not stated, a Security page is linked but its contents are not published in what I could read, and a Trustpilot review from August 2026 reports cards and funds locked after the move to ultimox.io. Safety here depends on a provider you cannot fully see, so do not park large balances there.

Is Ultimo card worth it?

Worth it if you fund across several crypto networks, want both a virtual and a physical Visa card, and are comfortable with an offshore platform whose terms are largely unpublished. Not worth it if you need printed fees, a known issuing bank, Apple Pay or Google Pay, or confidence about country access. On balance, for most people the answer is no — pick a card that publishes its terms, even at the cost of less flexible top-ups.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team