The card that is easy to find in an app store and hard to find any detail about
The UniFi card is a prepaid Visa you hold in dollars, aimed at people who earn in US dollars and send money to Latin America and Asia — the Philippines, Mexico, Colombia, Brazil, the United Kingdom and the eurozone. On paper that is a sensible job for a card. In practice, when I went through what the company publishes about it, I found the most important facts are the ones it does not state: no published fee list, no confirmed eligibility rules, no stated KYC level, no stated limits, no ATM information, and no stated dispute process. It is not that the card looks bad. It is that you would be signing up on trust.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score: 4.7 out of 10
I scored UniFi 4.7 out of 10. The reason is simple. A prepaid card that holds dollars, takes dollars in through several bank rails and pays out to local accounts and wallets is a useful tool for the person it is built for. But the published information about it is so thin that the majority of my marks below are penalties for silence, not for anything I found going wrong.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Not confirmed from official pages; the app store lists send-money routes to the Philippines, Mexico and the eurozone, and release notes mention Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | No fee list published; the listing says only that fees may apply and to see the UniFi website |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Money in via ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE), and payouts to a USDC wallet; other coins and networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | A prepaid Visa debit issued by Lead Bank and managed by Bridge Ventures; “UniFi is not a bank”; Trustpilot reads 2.7 out of 7 reviews, with complaints about silent support, “scam” claims and a broken iPhone app |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Apple Pay is supported; Google Pay is not disclosed; whether you get plastic or a virtual card, and whether there is an ATM, is not disclosed |
Who this suits: someone already inside the corridors the card serves, with dollars coming in, who wants to move money to a family account in Manila or Mexico City and is comfortable with a product whose fee schedule they will only learn after signing up.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs to know the cost of a transaction before they make it, anyone who plans to use it as their only everyday card, anyone who wants to file a chargeback, and anyone in a country not on the list above who would be relying on the app store listing rather than on a published eligibility page.
Who they will give you the card
I could not confirm this from official pages. What the app store listing does show are send-money routes: the Philippines in PHP, Mexico in MXN and the eurozone in EUR. The recent release notes add Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK in GBP. Those are corridors, not eligibility rules. Nowhere do I find a published statement about which countries you must live in, whether citizenship matters, or how old you have to be.
That is a real gap, and it is the first thing to check yourself. If you are in a country not named anywhere, the app may still open, but you will find out whether you are eligible only at the point where you try to use the money.
There is one data-protection point that sits oddly with all this. The official help pages returned a 403, so the guidance that would tell you what documents to send is not publicly readable. If you need to know what identity documents are required before you start, you will not get that from the public site.
One more thing to understand before you sign up: identity verification requirements are not stated anywhere. I have no official answer to whether you face full KYC, a lighter tier, or none until you cross a threshold. In this sector that question has a shape you can predict. Regulated businesses must verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, including ongoing monitoring and reporting of suspicious activity. In the EU that means name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems also check proof of address. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions and issuer risk policy often follow citizenship and country of birth rather than the address you type. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to hold back from the transaction and, where needed, close the relationship.
None of that tells you what UniFi will ask of you. It tells you the request, when it comes, is unlikely to be a formality — so go in with your documents to hand. On Trustpilot, the company replied in March 2026 that unverified deposits are returned automatically via ACH, which is a small reassurance about money that arrives before verification is complete, but it is a single reply on a review site.
How to get it
What is confirmed: it is a Prepaid Debit Visa Card, issued by Lead Bank. The app also supports Apple Pay. The card currency is USD — it spends from your USD balance.
What is not stated: how long delivery takes, whether you receive plastic or a virtual card, whether both exist, and how to activate the card. That last one matters more than it sounds. If you search for how to activate a UniFi card, the honest answer from me is that I found no public instruction. You will need to work it out from the app itself.
None of this is disqualifying on its own. It is just that a card you activate by guessing is a different product from one with a setup page.
What it really costs: Fees
The cost section is the weakest part of this review, and it is not close. The fee schedule is not stated. The listing says only: “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.” There is no table of what those fees are.

Here is what exists, which is not much:
| Item | What is stated |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Conversion fee | not stated |
| FX fee | not stated |
| ATM fee | not stated |
| Daily limits | not stated |
| Monthly limits | not stated |
| Tier structure | not stated |
Now the three everyday payments, and which fees apply to each. I want to be careful here, because the temptation is to fill the gaps with typical numbers. I am not going to, and neither should you.
A coffee in Manila, paid with the physical card. The purchase is in PHP on a US-issued Visa, so a conversion happens: your dollars become pesos at a Visa exchange rate, plus whatever foreign-exchange fee UniFi charges. That FX fee is not stated. The Visa exchange rate you would at least expect to find somewhere; the fee on top of it is the number I cannot give you.
A subscription bought online, paid through Apple Pay. The tokenised card number replaces your card number on the device, and each payment carries a one-time code, which is a good security property and not a cost. What it costs you is still the same unknown: if the merchant charges in a currency other than dollars, the same unstated FX fee applies. Some merchants simply decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, because a BIN lookup reveals the card type and the country of the issuer, and a shop may read a mismatch with your billing address as a reason to look closer. If a payment is declined, a hold on funds can remain for several days, typically up to seven.
A cash withdrawal. Whether there is an ATM function at all is not stated, and no ATM fee is stated. If you are planning to use this card for cash, you are planning on something the published material does not describe.
Two more cost facts that are confirmed, from the release notes rather than a fee page. Multi-currency improvements appear in the December 2025 notes, and payouts go to PHP, MXN and EUR. The card holds US dollars; multi-currency is a direction of travel, not a fee schedule.
How to Top up
This is the part of the card I understand best, and the clearest reason to consider it.

Money comes in through bank rails: ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) and SPEI (CLABE, the Mexican reference number you put on a transfer). Money goes out to local accounts in PHP, MXN and EUR, and to a USDC wallet. If your income arrives as dollars and your family receives pesos or Mexican pesos, that is exactly the shape of the problem the card is built to solve.
Where the detail runs out:
- Fees and minimums on the way in — not stated. A wire in particular can carry a cost at the sending bank, and that is separate from anything UniFi charges.
- Coins and networks beyond USDC — not stated on the listing. If you hold USDT, or any coin other than USDC, you have no published answer about how to get it in.
- Which network to send USDC on — not stated. This is the one I would not gamble on. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and the transfer can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are irreversible, so the network cannot reverse them. Find out the supported network before you move anything, and test with a small amount first.
- Withdrawal fees — not stated. Sending money internationally to local accounts and wallets is the headline feature, and what it costs is exactly what you would want to know.
A stablecoin is not a guarantee, either. USDC is US-dollar-pegged and Circle says it is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm. But stablecoins can and do move: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. “Stable” is the aim, not the property.
Paying with it every day
Apple Pay works. Google Pay is not disclosed. If you are on Android, you are outside what the published material covers.
The listing claims “3% rewards on balances”. Read that phrase carefully. Rewards on balances is not the same as cashback on your card spending, and card cashback is not stated. So the one number that sounds generous may apply to a holding, not to your coffee.
The app is “UniFi – Spend, Send, and Save” on iOS. Its App Store rating is 4.1 out of 5 from 9 ratings, read on 21 October 2026; the latest version listed was 1.31. Google Play was not checked. Nine ratings is a very thin number, and I would read 4.1 as “no strong signal”, not as reassurance.
The disputes process is not stated. That is the gap I would weigh most heavily in daily use. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. A chargeback is a refund the issuer orders to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. If a card’s dispute route is not published, you are relying on goodwill, and the people who write the reviews below are not feeling a lot of goodwill.
One more everyday fact worth knowing, about cards in general rather than this one. Online payments often run through 3-D Secure, where the issuer checks risk and either approves without friction or asks you for a one-time code or a biometric. The issuer can also restrict the tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic stripe, phone or website use — so a card that works in a shop may not work everywhere online.
What can go wrong
The complaint pattern is the clearest signal here, and it comes from Trustpilot: 2.7 out of 5 across 7 reviews, read on 21 October 2026 — two five-star reviews and five one-star ones. Seven is a tiny sample. Read it as a signal about what goes wrong, not as a score.
The reported themes:
- Support that does not answer. Reviewers report unanswered support emails and chats, in August and September 2026. Official support details are not stated, so there is no published channel to hold against this.
- “Scam” accusations and lost deposits. Claims from February and March 2026. The company replied on 12 March 2026 to three reviews, and in that reply said unverified deposits are returned automatically via ACH.
- A broken app. Bugs, an inability to view card details, and an app described as largely nonfunctional on iPhone, reported in February and September 2026.
- No official incidents found. I looked for regulatory action or confirmed outages and found none. That is worth saying plainly, because it means the pattern here is operational and reputational, not a documented enforcement history.
Behind the complaints sits the structure. UniFi is Bridge Ventures Inc. dba UniFi. The app store lists the developer as UniFi Payments and the seller as Alio Financial, Inc. The card is issued by Lead Bank and managed by Bridge Ventures, LLC. And UniFi states plainly: “UniFi is not a bank.”
That sentence is the single most useful thing on this page, and it is not a warning so much as a map. It tells you the arrangement: you hold an account with a licensed issuer, Lead Bank, but the company you deal with is a programme manager, not a depository. In this category that is the normal shape — the card network routes messages and sets rules, the licensed issuer holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often just the front end and the marketing. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme.
Which means two things follow. First, the platform’s survival is not yours to control: programmes do close, typically with a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. Second, do not assume your balance is a bank deposit. Where an electronic money institution holds funds it must safeguard them by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them — and such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes.
On top of all that, one more loss channel that is not the card company’s fault but is entirely yours: transfers are irreversible. Blockchain has no undo button and no customer service. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof in the other direction either.
What to take instead
I compare three other cards here, all drawn from the same material, so the comparison is fair rather than a list of favourites.
International Visa Card — 6.7 out of 10. A US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD, with a physical card listed as “Coming soon”. Issuance is $5 one-time with no maintenance fee; plans are Classic free, Pro $9.00/month and Max $19.00/month. Spending in USD is free on all plans, and for foreign currency the rule is stated plainly: “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”. Deposits of any kind carry no fee, and you can fund with USDC or USDT at 1:1 into the USD account, or with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. No cashback is stated. The catch is eligibility, and it is the strictest of the three: the account and card are not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case with compliance approval; and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned. If you fall inside any of those countries, this one is out and the decision is made for you.
UNi Card — 6.1 out of 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance. Eligibility is not stated. The fee position is the strongest of the three: “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”, assets converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates”, and “No hidden exchange fees”. An issuance fee is not stated, funding methods are not stated, and the reward line is “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3% with UNi Card. Physical or virtual is not stated. The absence of a stated foreign transaction fee is a genuine advantage over the alternatives on this list — but it is also the kind of claim worth reading the terms behind, because “live OTC rate” is doing work in that sentence.
Whop Cards — 5.2 out of 10. A Visa that works anywhere Visa is accepted, online and in stores, spending from a Whop balance; a pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, while standard withdrawals use settled funds. The page says “No extra fees”, but lists no issuance or monthly amounts and no conversion or FX figures, so the reassurance is thinner than it sounds. Rewards are 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, more planned; the payout currency and conditions are not stated. Eligibility is by US state: 31 states for consumers (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming) and 41 states for businesses. Unsupported consumer countries are Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam; unsupported corporate countries include Russia and Belarus. Whether the test is citizenship or residence is not stated. Starting data says it is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; the coins and networks are not stated.
And where all of them sit: for scale, a card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number that tells any merchant which institution and country issued it, and merchants may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign in a shop in another, and why some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright.
| International Visa | UNi Card | Whop Cards | UniFi | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Network | Visa, US-issued Platinum | Mastercard | Visa | Visa, prepaid debit |
| Fees stated | 2% FX fee; $5 issuance; plans from free | No annual fee, no FX fee, live OTC rate | “No extra fees”, no amounts listed | “Fees may apply” |
| Funding stated | USDC, USDT, USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | not stated | Whop balance, stablecoin-backed | ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI; payout to USDC |
| Rewards stated | none | up to 3% | 5% at select merchants | “3% on balances” |
| Main catch | Restricted countries by residence or registration | eligibility not stated | US states only | almost nothing published |
My honest comparison: UniFi is the only one of the four whose fee schedule is unpublished. That is the whole difference in one sentence. If you want to know what a payment will cost, the UNi Card and the International Visa Card can tell you; UniFi cannot.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend UniFi to one person, and describe them precisely: you already earn in US dollars, you regularly send money to a local account or wallet in the Philippines or Mexico, you are comfortable choosing a network yourself when you transfer USDC, and you are the kind of user who will keep the app open on a phone that works. For that person, a card that takes dollars in through ACH, wire, SEPA or SPEI and pays out in PHP, MXN or EUR is a real convenience, and the corridors the release notes keep adding — Colombia, Brazil via PIX, the UK in GBP — point the same way.
I would not recommend it if any of these apply to you:
- You need to know what a payment costs before you make it. The fee schedule is not published.
- It would be your only card. Seven Trustpilot reviews, five of them one-star, with reports of unanswered support and a broken iPhone app, is not enough comfort to depend on for daily spending.
- You might need to dispute a transaction. The dispute process is not stated, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed.
- You are outside the corridors listed, or in a country whose rules you would have to take on trust.
- You are on Android, or you want cash from an ATM. Google Pay is not disclosed and ATM support is not stated.
Before you put money in, I would do three things. Find the supported network for USDC and send a small test amount first, because transfers cannot be reversed. Ask support directly, in writing, what the FX and withdrawal fees are — and keep the answer, because “fees may apply” is not a contract. And keep your balance small enough that an unresolved dispute or a closed programme would hurt rather than sink you.
And one piece of housekeeping that has nothing to do with the card: the tax treatment of spending from crypto is not something this page can advise you on. In the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction — which can make each card payment funded from crypto a separate disposal. Treat that as a reason to talk to a professional about your own situation, not as advice.
Frequently asked questions
What is the UniFi card?
The UniFi card is a prepaid Visa debit card issued by Lead Bank and managed by Bridge Ventures, LLC, which states plainly that “UniFi is not a bank”. It holds US dollars, you spend from the USD balance, and it supports Apple Pay. The company behind it is Bridge Ventures Inc. dba UniFi, with the app store listing UniFi Payments as developer and Alio Financial, Inc. as seller. It is built for dollar earners sending money to Latin America and Asia.
How does the UniFi card work?
You load dollars into the card, and it spends only that stored balance — so it cannot overdraw, unlike a debit card that pulls from a linked account. Card payments involve three parties: Visa routes the messages and sets the rules, Lead Bank is the licensed issuer, and Bridge Ventures runs the programme as the front end. Around the world, most crypto cards work this way: crypto is converted and loaded as a fiat balance that the card then spends.
Is UniFi a bank, and who owns it?
No. UniFi states that it is not a bank. It is a programme manager operating with a licensed issuer — the account sits with Lead Bank, a licensed issuer. That distinction matters for your balance: safeguarded e-money funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes, so treat the balance as money held with a provider, not money in a savings account.
Who can get the UniFi card?
I could not confirm this from official pages — the help pages returned a 403. What the app store listing shows is send-money routes to the Philippines in PHP, Mexico in MXN and the eurozone in EUR, with recent release notes adding Colombia, Brazil (PIX) and the UK in GBP. Those are corridors, not eligibility rules. No published statement covers which countries you must live in or whether citizenship counts.
Does the UniFi card require KYC?
The KYC level is not stated anywhere I could find. What is stated is this: in a Trustpilot reply in March 2026, the company said unverified deposits are returned automatically via ACH. Expect identity checks before you can move money, since regulated businesses must verify customers under anti-money-laundering law, including sanctions and politically-exposed-person screening. Have your documents ready when the request comes.
What does the UniFi card cost?
The fee schedule is not published. The listing says only “Fees may apply. See UniFi website for more details.” Issuance fee, monthly fee, conversion fee, FX fee, ATM fee, daily limits, monthly limits and any tier structure are all not stated. Multi-currency improvements do appear in the December 2025 release notes, so the feature is developing, but no numbers accompany them. Ask support in writing before you rely on it.
How do I top up the UniFi card?
Fiat goes in via ACH, wire, SEPA (IBAN) or SPEI (CLABE). Payouts go to local accounts and wallets in PHP, MXN and EUR, and you can be paid to a USDC wallet. Coins and networks beyond USDC are not stated on the listing, and neither are fees or minimums. Whichever network you use for USDC, confirm it is supported first and test with a small amount — transfers are irreversible.
Is the UniFi card safe?
It is structured normally, and that is fair to say: the account sits with a licensed issuer, Lead Bank, and Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number in the Secure Element, using a one-time code per payment. But safeguards are not disclosed — 2FA and instant card freeze are not stated — and the complaint record is thin and poor on Trustpilot: 2.7 out of 5 from 7 reviews, with reports of silent support and a broken iPhone app. I found no official incidents.
How do I add the UniFi card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay is supported and is listed in the app store description, so the wallet provision is the supported path rather than an exception. Google Pay is not stated, which means Android users are outside what the published material covers. Beyond this, no setup instructions are published: how to activate the card, and whether you receive plastic or a virtual card, are not stated either.
Is the UniFi card worth it?
For the narrow job it is built for — holding dollars and paying them out to the Philippines, Mexico, the eurozone and the newer Colombia, Brazil and UK routes — the plumbing is right, and the corridors keep expanding. Against that, the fee schedule is unpublished, KYC and limits are unstated, support is reported as unresponsive, and the app store rating rests on 9 ratings. I would call it worth trying with a small balance, and not worth making your main card.
App and neobank card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
