A no-fee virtual Visa that stops at $2,000 a day
Airtm’s card is a virtual Visa prepaid debit card that spends US dollars drawn from your Airtm balance, which you top up in stablecoins or by bank transfer and hundreds of other payment methods. There is no physical card, no ATM access, and no spending beyond $2,000 a day or per transaction. In exchange you get a genuinely cheap card: issuance is free, the monthly fee is free, the foreign exchange fee is 0%, and there is no fee per purchase. The trade-off is that most of the friction in reviews is not about fees — it is about accounts being limited or suspended without a clear explanation, and money sitting still for weeks.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for the Airtm card is 6.3 out of 10. That is a card with excellent economics and thin everyday usability, aimed at people in the US and Latin America who want to spend dollars from a crypto balance and who have no ordinary bank card to fall back on. It is a poor fit if you need cash, a plastic card in your wallet, or a bank you can call.
My verdict on the Airtm card
The score breaks into six things, and the gap between them is the whole story: the cost side is excellent, the access side is fine, and everything about actually living with the card day to day is a compromise.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Residents of 15+ countries by residence, launched in the US and Argentina; closed to Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, Crimea, Donetsk and Luhansk |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Issuance 0 USD, monthly fee 0 USD, top-up 1% on the first 200 USD per month (max 2 USDC), 0% beyond that, FX 0%; inactivity 1 USD after 30 days without a top-up |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Top-up from the Airtm balance in USDC; the Airtm wallet itself takes crypto deposits, 500+ payment methods, networks not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issuer Lead Bank, operator Bridge Ventures, Airtm Inc. registered with FinCEN as an MSB since 2015; Trustpilot 3 out of 5 from roughly 7,000 reviews, with complaints about account blocks and held funds |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only; Apple Pay and Google Pay available; no physical card and no ATM |
| Total | 6.3 / 10 | Cheap and safe on paper, limited in practice |
Who this suits: US and Latin American residents who want to turn crypto or dollar inflows into everyday spending without a traditional bank account, and who are comfortable with a virtual card in Apple Pay or Google Pay. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs physical plastic, cash withdrawal, a card that works in every shop, or a support team that reliably explains a freeze.
The 9 for cost is deserved on the numbers alone. But a card you cannot withdraw cash from, that declines above $2,000, and whose provider can freeze your balance without a published explanation is not a full replacement for a bank account. Treat it as a spending rail, not as your only card.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, if you have verified residence in one of the 15+ countries Airtm serves and you pass its verification for premium features — but the list is by residence, not citizenship, and it is explicitly closed in a number of places.
Airtm states the platform, and therefore the card, is not available in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, and Ukraine’s Donetsk, Luhansk and Crimea regions, as well as certain US states including New York. If you live in one of those places the answer is simply no, and there is no version of the product that changes that.
The positive side of the list matters too. It was initially launched in the United States and Argentina. Coming soon: Bolivia, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic. Planned: Guatemala, Chile, Angola, Brazil and Peru. If you are in one of those five “coming soon” countries, the honest read is that the card is not available to you yet — “coming soon” on a public page is not an invitation to apply.
One thing to check before you spend an afternoon on the form: eligibility runs on where you reside, not where your passport is from. A citizen of a restricted country living legally in an eligible one is a different case from a resident of a restricted country, and the card only speaks to the second question.
How to get it
The card requires a verification step the card calls “Special Features KYC” — a single verification tier specific to premium features, separate from the basic KYC that a standard Airtm account needs. If you have already completed Special Features KYC for a US Virtual Account, you do not need to repeat it.
What that verification asks for is an official ID, and it checks your name, address, date of birth and government ID number. You must be 18 or over. The company publishes no list of rejection reasons, which is worth knowing before you start — you cannot pre-screen yourself against a stated checklist.
The application itself is short. Complete Special Features KYC, open the card page in the app, follow the instructions, and wait for approval. Activation takes anywhere from a few minutes to two business days.
What you get at the end is a virtual Visa prepaid debit card in USD. There is no physical card and nothing is delivered to you — the card lives in your phone’s wallet or in your browser.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline on this card is that the ordinary costs are close to zero. Here is the full set as the card states it; there is one tier, no monthly charge if you use the card regularly, and no fee per purchase.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Free ($0) |
| Monthly fee | $0 (no monthly fee if you regularly load or use the card) |
| Annual fee | $0 |
| Top-up fee | 1% on the first $200 loaded per calendar month, max $2 USDC/month; 0% beyond $200 |
| Foreign exchange (international transactions) | 0% |
| Inactivity fee | $1 after 30 days with no loads |
| Card deletion fee | 1% of balance |
| ATM | Not available (n/a per the cardholder agreement) |
| Daily spending limit | $2,000 USD |
| Per-transaction limit | $2,000 USD |
| Monthly limit | Not stated; loading limits follow your Airtm account’s withdrawal limits |
| Cashback at point of sale | None |
| Card currency | USD only |
Two lines in that table deserve a second look. First, the top-up fee: the Bridge cardholder agreement says “up to 2%” for funding from the Airtm wallet, while the main figure is 1% on the first $200 a month up to $2 USDC and 0% after that. That is a gap between two official statements about the same thing, and if you load heavily you should raise it with support before you rely on the cheaper number.
Second, the card holds only fiat USD. There are no multi-currency balances on the card itself, so if you are used to holding several currencies on one card, you are not getting that here.
Three everyday payments, and which fees apply:
- A $40 grocery shop in the US, paid in Apple Pay. No top-up fee is involved. No per-purchase fee. FX 0% because the transaction is domestic. The $2,000 daily limit is nowhere near. This is the case the card is built for.
- A €25 subscription billed in euros. The transaction converts to USD at the network rate, and the international transaction fee is 0%. But if the merchant runs an address verification check, foreign-issued cards are generally unavailable to that check, and declines can happen for reasons that have nothing to do with your balance.
- A top-up of $150 in a month. That is within the first $200, so 1% applies, capped at $2 USDC — $1.50 here. Push the same pattern to $400 in a month: the first $200 costs 1% and the remaining $200 costs nothing.
Top up: how the money gets in
The card is not topped up by handing it money. It is topped up from your Airtm balance, and your Airtm balance is where the crypto lives — the card is the last inch of a longer path.

The mechanics at purchase time: when you start a payment, stablecoins are sold from the Platform Provider account and fiat USD is loaded onto the card in real time. The card does not hold crypto; it holds dollars that arrived seconds earlier.
So there are two steps, and the fees and risks live mostly in the first one:
- Loading your Airtm wallet. Airtm says 500+ payment methods: bank transfers, crypto deposits, mobile wallets, the P2P network, and debit or credit cards via MoonPay.
- Loading the card from your balance. 1% on the first $200 per calendar month, capped at $2 USDC, free beyond that. The Bridge agreement’s “up to 2%” applies here too.
Two practical notes. First, no minimum top-up amount is stated, so there is no published floor to plan around. Second, the networks you can deposit on are not disclosed on the public pages — that is a “not stated” you should treat as a real unknown, because a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
For US users there is a specific restriction: the card can only be loaded via payouts, by setting the card as your default payout method. That is a different flow from the one everyone else uses.
Network fees for the crypto conversion are included in Airtm’s spread or P2P rates, so they are not a separate line item — but they are also not zero, they are baked into the rate you get.
Getting money back out is the part that surprised me most. To move funds from the card back to your Airtm balance, you delete the card, and the remaining balance minus the 1% deletion fee is transferred to your Airtm account. On closure, the remaining balance goes back to the Platform Provider wallet as stablecoins. Lead Bank charges no fee for the closure itself. And refunds from merchants are credited to the Platform Provider wallet as stablecoins, not back to the card — which means a refund does not return your card balance to what it was before the purchase.
Paying with it every day
This is where the 5 out of 10 lives. The card is virtual, it lives in Apple Pay or Google Pay, and that is the entire list of ways you can hold it.
Merchant categories are blocked: gambling, firearms, drugs, adult content and services, and financial services businesses. There is no cashback at point of sale. There is no ATM, no ATM balance inquiry, and no way to get physical cash out at all.
The app itself rates well. The iOS App Store listing shows 4.8 out of 5 from around 5K ratings, and Google Play shows 4.5 out of 5 from around 82.4K reviews, across iOS, Android and a web dashboard. But app ratings measure the app, not the card programme.
What you give up in protection is worth stating plainly. There is no right to stop payment on card transactions, so once a payment is authorised you cannot call it back — disputes must be handled directly with the merchant first. Unauthorised transaction liability is capped at $50 if you report within two business days, and can be up to $500 if you report later. Error resolution means reporting within 60 days, with investigation within 10 business days — up to 45 days standard, and 90 days for new cards or foreign-initiated ones. Pre-authorisation holds can take up to seven business days to release, so a hotel or a car hire deposit will tie up your balance for a week.
The currency is USD only, the international transaction fee is 0%, and there is no multi-currency balance on the card.
What can go wrong
The cost table is the least of it. The recurring complaint themes across Trustpilot, the App Store and Google Play through 2025–2026 are: accounts suspended or limited without a clear explanation; funds held or stuck for weeks or months; slow, unresponsive or generic customer support; P2P cashier fraud with no reimbursement; and verification delays. No major publicised hacks or shutdowns came up in what I checked.
Trustpilot puts Airtm at a TrustScore of 3 out of 5 across roughly 7,000 reviews as of October 2026. The three recurring themes there are accounts suspended or limited without explanation and funds held, slow or unresponsive support with generic replies, and P2P marketplace fraud — cashiers scamming users — with Airtm not reimbursing. I want to be precise about what that is: these are user reports in public reviews, not audited findings. But three independent themes repeating across a large volume of reviews is a pattern, and it is the pattern a prospective user should weigh most heavily.
The reason a freeze hurts more here than on an ordinary card is custody. Airtm’s funds are held by Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered bank and FDIC member. That is a real bank, and it is the issuer. But card funds are not FDIC insured, so a problem with the Airtm platform is a problem with your balance no matter how solid the issuing bank is. Two-factor authentication is available on the Airtm account, and the card can be deleted or frozen from the dashboard.
The corporate structure is worth having in your head, because it determines who you actually deal with when something goes wrong. Airtm Inc. is a Delaware corporation registered with FinCEN as a money services business (#31000329787639), operating since 2015. Lead Bank is the issuing bank. Bridge Ventures LLC, Delaware, is the programme manager. Visa is the network. The licence named on the site is the FinCEN MSB registration — that is a registration, not a consumer protection licence.
On uptime: IsDown has tracked around 36 Airtm incidents since July 2021, with the last tracked outage on 2025-10-02 (“Transactions error”, 9 hours). A scheduled maintenance window was announced for 2026-06-04, 6:00–9:00 AM UTC. Short outages are the norm for this category, but nine hours of transactions failing is the kind of thing that matters if you depend on the card for wages or rent.
Support is email at [email protected] and phone at 833-237-8104, plus website chat; the site is in English, Spanish and Portuguese, and hours are not explicitly stated. Generic replies are exactly what the reviews complain about.
What to take instead
The alternatives here are all young, mostly Africa-facing products, and none of them publish fees the way Airtm does. That is itself informative: Airtm’s cost transparency is a genuine advantage, whatever else you think of it.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Cost stated | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airtm | 6.3 / 10 | Virtual Visa prepaid, USD | Issuance 0, monthly 0, top-up 1% to $200/month then 0%, FX 0% | Airtm balance in USDC; 500+ payment methods into the wallet |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical | Not stated; site describes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” picking the best rate at spend | USDT, USDC, BTC; networks not stated |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Card creation free (site FAQ); monthly fee not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid “HyperCard”, network not stated on the App Store page; balance in USD or EUR | Not stated; no fees listed | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH; converted to USD or EUR |
Cardex claims “one crypto card, 200+ countries” with no country list or exclusions published, and its App Store listing is Naira-focused. CardFlow calls itself “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and is aimed at Nigerians and global users, with no country list. HyperCard’s official pages state no country list at all; its App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — that is a statement about acceptance, not about who can sign up.
The honest read on these three: if you are in Nigeria or hold naira, Cardex and CardFlow may be worth a look, and Cardex at least offers a physical card, which Airtm does not. If you are anywhere else, all three are thinner on published detail than Airtm, and none of them states its fees in a way you can plan around. Also worth remembering about this whole category: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves — they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down. Programme closures are a real category risk, and the pattern is usually a notice period, then loading stops, then you are asked to withdraw.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Airtm card to someone in the US or Latin America who needs to spend dollars from a crypto balance and cannot get an ordinary bank card — someone who is happy to live in Apple Pay, never needs cash, and will keep their spending under $2,000 a day. For that person, the fee structure is close to unbeatable: no issuance, no monthly fee, no per-purchase fee, 0% FX, and a top-up fee that disappears after $200 a month. The app rates well, and the issuing bank is a real, FDIC-member Missouri bank.
I would be more cautious, and probably steer you elsewhere, if any of these are true of you:
- You need cash. There is no ATM and no way to get physical money. That is not a limitation to work around; it is a wall.
- You need a physical card. None exists.
- You are in an excluded country, or in New York State.
- You cannot tolerate an unexplained account freeze with your money held for weeks. This is the single most repeated complaint theme, and there is no published list of rejection reasons to argue against.
- You plan to spend or receive more than $2,000 in a day, or you need your funds back from the card without paying a 1% deletion fee and losing the card.
- You plan to rely on refunds. They come back as stablecoins to the Platform Provider wallet, not to the card.
One thing this category makes worth internalising, since it applies whatever card you pick: Visa does not lend to anyone. On this card, when you pay, stablecoins are sold and dollars loaded in real time — and blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on a network the provider does not support can simply be gone. And if the crypto side is funded from your own holdings, in most countries exchanging digital assets for goods generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured at fair market value on the date of the transaction — which means each card payment can be a separate disposal. That is not advice; it is a reason to keep a record of what you spend.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Airtm card?
It is a virtual Visa prepaid debit card in USD that spends from your Airtm balance rather than from a bank account. When you pay, stablecoins are sold from the platform and fiat dollars are loaded onto the card in real time. There is no physical card — it lives in Apple Pay or Google Pay. It is aimed at US and Latin American residents, and it does not replace a bank account.
Is Airtm a bank?
No. Airtm Inc. is a Delaware corporation registered with FinCEN as a money services business (#31000329787639), operating since 2015. Lead Bank, a Missouri state-chartered FDIC-member bank, issues the card, and Bridge Ventures LLC is the programme manager. Card funds are held by the issuer but are not FDIC insured, so the protection you would expect from a bank deposit does not apply.
Who can get the Airtm card?
Anyone with verified residence in 15+ countries — eligibility runs on residence, not citizenship. It launched in the United States and Argentina, with Bolivia, Venezuela, Colombia, Ecuador and the Dominican Republic listed as coming soon. It is not available in Belarus, Cuba, Iran, Myanmar, North Korea, Sudan, Syria, Russia, Ukraine’s Donetsk, Luhansk and Crimea regions, or certain US states including New York.
Does the Airtm card require KYC?
Yes. It requires what the company calls “Special Features KYC” — a verification tier specific to premium features, separate from the basic KYC for a standard Airtm account. It checks your name, address, date of birth and government ID number against an official ID, you must be 18 or over, and processing takes a few minutes to two business days. If you have already done it for a US Virtual Account, it is not repeated.
How much does the Airtm card cost?
Issuance is free and there is no monthly fee if you regularly use the card. The top-up fee is 1% on the first $200 loaded per calendar month, capped at $2 USDC, and 0% beyond $200 — though the cardholder agreement also says “up to 2%”. The international transaction fee is 0%, there is no per-purchase fee, and a $1 inactivity fee applies after 30 days without a load.
Can I get cash out with the Airtm card?
No. ATM withdrawals are not available, as the cardholder agreement states, and there is no ATM balance inquiry either. To move money back from the card to your Airtm balance you have to delete the card, and the remaining balance minus a 1% deletion fee is transferred to your Airtm account. If refunds matter to you, note they arrive as stablecoins in the platform wallet, not on the card.
Is the Airtm card safe?
It is custodial: the funds are held by the issuer rather than by you, and two-factor authentication is available on the account with instant freeze from the dashboard. But card funds are not FDIC insured, and Trustpilot shows a TrustScore of 3 out of 5 from around 7,000 reviews, with recurring user reports of accounts suspended without explanation and funds held for weeks. Treat it as a spending rail, not as your only card.
How do I add the Airtm card to Apple Wallet?
The card is virtual only, so there is nothing to post and no delivery. You add it in the app and it becomes available through Apple Pay or Google Pay, both of which are supported. One useful detail: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, and each payment uses a one-time code — so a merchant database breach does not expose a reusable number. The issuer can still restrict the token, including blocking it on phone or website use.
Why is my Airtm payment declined?
There are several ordinary causes that are not about your balance. Your daily and per-transaction limits are both $2,000 USD. Certain merchant categories are blocked outright — gambling, firearms, drugs, adult content and services, and financial services businesses. Address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines at some merchants, and a pre-authorisation hold can keep funds tied up for up to seven business days, which looks like missing money in the meantime.
How do I delete my Airtm account or card?
To move funds off the card, deleting it is the route the card describes: the remaining balance minus the 1% deletion fee goes to your Airtm account, and on closure any remainder returns to the platform wallet as stablecoins. The issuing bank charges no fee for the closure itself. If you are closing your whole Airtm account rather than just the card, that is a separate process, and the public pages do not set out its steps — support at [email protected] is where to ask.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
