The card spends from your own wallet, not from a bank balance
The ELLIPAL Pay card is the part of the ELLIPAL hardware wallet product that finally reaches past the device and into a shop. It is a Visa card that draws on stablecoins sitting in a self-custody wallet you control, rather than on a bank account or a balance held by a card issuer. On paper that is a genuinely different proposition from most crypto cards, because the provider is not sitting between you and your money at the moment of payment. In practice it is also a young product, built by a company best known for hardware wallets, running on a partner’s card programme, and described on its own site as still rolling out.
I score it 5.8 out of 10. That is not a bad score for something launched into a category where most options are worse; it is also not a score that should make you rush. The fee picture on the official pages is unusually good, the eligibility list is narrower than you might expect, and the practical details that decide whether a card is pleasant to live with — physical card, mobile wallets, ATM withdrawals — are either absent from the pages or visible only in unofficial sources.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.8 / 10, and a specific person it suits
This is a card for someone who already holds a hardware wallet, already thinks in stablecoins, and already accepts that they are the one who has to keep the thing working. ELLIPAL Pay lets you spend from your own wallet: the funds stay with you, and the card settles against them at the moment of payment. If that describes your setup, the value proposition is real and unusual.
It is not for you if you want a normal everyday card that arrives in the post, works in Apple Pay, and gives you a predictable answer at the ATM. It is not for you if you are in a country outside the listed European and Latin American states, or if you want a card that does not require you to already hold crypto and understand self-custody.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Legal residents of selected countries in Europe and Latin America — Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Rep., Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Argentina, Brazil, Colombia; elsewhere a waiting list |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Officially no transaction fees, no ELLIPAL conversion markup, no gas on card payments, card described as free; unofficial: Gnosis Pay lists 30.23 EURe per card and 2% per ATM withdrawal after five free ones |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Stablecoins from a self-custody wallet, settled on Gnosis Chain at the moment of payment; balances held in EURe, GBPe and USDCe |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Runs on partner Gnosis Pay with KYC via SumSub, issuer not named; unofficial: Monavate. Trustpilot for ELLIPAL is 4.1 from 303 reviews about wallets, not this card; product page still says “coming soon” |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | A virtual card on activation; physical card and Apple Pay / Google Pay not stated; unofficial: 250 per cash withdrawal, 500 daily |
| Total | 5.8 / 10 | Strong on principle and on published fees, thin on the details that make a card usable every day |
Two words worth pausing on. The first is *free*: the official pages call the card free, while the partner’s own ordering guide charges for it. The second is *coming soon*: the product page still carries that label, which tells you how much of the experience is finished.
Will they give you the card?
They will give it to legal residents of a specific list of countries in Europe and Latin America, and to nobody else yet. The list as published covers Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania and Luxembourg on the European side, and Argentina, Brazil and Colombia on the Latin American side. Other countries sit on a waiting list rather than a hard no, which is a small comfort: the list is described as the starting set, not the finished one.
One practical note about how I got that information. When the eligibility page was fetched, it redirected to the help-centre landing page instead of the list itself, so the country list here comes from the starting data rather than from the page responding normally. That is a small sign, but it is the kind of sign that adds up: this is a product still being assembled.
The verification is run by Gnosis Pay, the card partner, using SumSub. The identity side of a crypto card application is never the interesting part, but two general points help you know what to expect. Proof of address normally means a document dated within the last three months, and address verification is what catches mismatches between a passport and a utility bill. And nationality is screened separately from residence: sanctions screening usually applies to citizenship and country of birth, not just where you live. So being a resident of an eligible country with a citizenship from a restricted one is a different case from being a citizen of that eligible country, and the rules are not written on the page.
If you are not on the list, the honest answer is that waiting is the option rather than applying anyway. Age requirements for prepaid and debit cards are generally adult, but ELLIPAL Pay’s own age threshold is not stated on the pages I read.
How to get it
The route runs through the ELLIPAL app rather than a website form, which tells you something about who the card is aimed at: people who already have the app installed and the device set up.
The sequence given is: open the ELLIPAL app, go to Assets, then Pay, then ELLIPAL Pay, then Apply. You complete identity verification with your email, a government ID and proof of address, and then you wait for Gnosis Pay to verify you. No processing time is published. After approval you activate a virtual card, providing a phone number and confirming the source of your funds.
That last point is worth being honest about. A source-of-funds confirmation means someone is going to look at where the money is coming from — which for a self-custody wallet means you may need to be able to explain, and possibly show, how you acquired the stablecoins you intend to spend. If you have been buying small amounts over a long period from various places, expect that conversation to take longer than the form suggests.
What you get at the end is a Visa card usable worldwide wherever Visa is accepted. On activation it is virtual. Whether a physical card exists, whether it is metal, and how long delivery takes are all not stated. The balances involved are EURe, GBPe and USDCe.
Fees: what a payment actually costs you
Here is the published picture, and then the parts that are not settled.

| Item | What ELLIPAL’s pages say | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | Card described as free | Unofficial: Gnosis Pay’s partner guide lists 30.23 EURe, paid from a Gnosis Chain wallet plus a little xDai for gas |
| Monthly fee | Not stated | No annual or maintenance charge described |
| Card purchase | No transaction fees | Also no gas fees on card transactions |
| Currency conversion | No added fee from ELLIPAL Pay for conversion | Applies to non-local purchases |
| Balances | EURe, GBPe, USDCe | No ELLIPAL markup stated on conversion |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated on ELLIPAL pages | Unofficial: 250 per withdrawal, 500 daily, five free or 200 per month, then 2% |
| Daily limit | 24-hour rolling cap of 8,000 (EURe/GBPe/USDCe) | — |
| Per-transaction limit | 5,000 | — |
| Tiers | Not stated | No tier structure described |
Now let me walk you through what three ordinary days would look like, because the fee table alone will mislead you.
Coffee, 4. The vendor’s terminal accepts Visa. The payment is authorised against your wallet balance. No transaction fee, no conversion fee, no gas — this is the case the card is designed around, and on the official numbers it costs you nothing beyond the 4.
A subscription priced in a foreign currency, while your balance is in EURe. Here the card converts. ELLIPAL states no added fee from ELLIPAL Pay for the conversion, which is the genuinely good part of the fee structure — you are not paying a provider’s spread. What you still pay is whatever conversion cost sits in the underlying stablecoin versus fiat exchange rate, and that is not an ELLIPAL fee but it is real money. The card does not hide it, and neither should you treat it as zero.
Withdrawing 200 in cash. This is where the official pages go quiet and the unofficial partner guide fills the gap: 250 per withdrawal, 500 per day, five free withdrawals or 200 a month, then 2%. I want to be clear that those numbers come from Gnosis Pay’s help material for its partner programme, not from ELLIPAL’s pages and not confirmed by ELLIPAL for this card. Treat them as a strong hint, not a promise. Either way, the shape suggests cash is the expensive corner of this card, and that if you need regular ATM access, this is not the product for you.
The general category rule worth carrying with you: on-chain network fees for a deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. Anything that touches the network costs something.
Top up: you do not top it up, that is the point
Here is the concept that makes ELLIPAL Pay different, and it is worth being precise about because it trips people up.

You do not load the card. Your stablecoins stay in your own self-custody wallet. When you pay, the settlement happens on-chain through the Gnosis Pay smart contract on Gnosis Chain at the moment of payment. The product page puts it plainly: spending draws on the stablecoins in the wallet you control.
Practically, that means three things. First, there is no deposit step to forget, no prefilled card balance that ages, and no moment where funds sit with a provider waiting to be spent. Second, the blockchain does the work at the moment of sale, which is where on-chain cost would normally appear — the card states there are no gas fees on card transactions. Third, and least comfortable, the responsibility is entirely yours: your keys, your wallet, your recovery phrase. If your seed phrase is compromised, there is no support desk that can reverse the transaction, because the transaction was on a blockchain and blockchain transfers are typically irreversible.
Your working balances are EURe, GBPe and USDCe. Note that EURe and GBPe are euro- and sterling-denominated stablecoins, not dollars; if you are paid in dollars, USDCe is the relevant one, and a purchase in euro will involve converting anyway.
One warning that applies broadly rather than to this card specifically: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Check the network before you move anything.
Paying with it every day
This is the section where the card is weakest, and the weakness is mostly silence.
The card itself. Virtual on activation. A Visa card accepted worldwide. Whether a physical card is offered at all is not stated, and if you are the kind of person who taps a card on a terminal rather than pulling out a phone, that is the first thing to ask about before you commit to this.
Apple Pay and Google Pay. Not stated. The help centre mentions tokenisation generically — how Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, so each payment uses a one-time dynamic code — but nothing says whether you can add this card to your phone wallet. That is a significant gap for daily use, because most people now pay by phone more often than by card.
Blocked merchant categories. Not stated. This matters more than it sounds: gambling is classified under a merchant category code that many issuers block by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. You cannot tell from these pages whether this card would be declined at a betting site, and you should not assume either way.
Cashback and rewards. Not stated for ELLIPAL Pay. An unofficial source — a Bleap review of Gnosis Pay — describes cashback of 1% to 5% in GNO depending on how much GNO is staked, but that is Gnosis Pay’s programme and is not confirmed for ELLIPAL Pay. Do not count on it.
Online payments and declined transactions. Address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines at some merchants. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. That is worth remembering if you are spending from a wallet balance rather than a bank account: a failed payment may not free your money up immediately.
Disputes and chargebacks. Not stated. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received; what this card offers you in that situation, and from which institution, the pages do not say.
What can go wrong
Let me split this into the risks you carry yourself and the risks that come from the arrangement.
The self-custody risks are real and they are yours. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, so there is no built-in recovery. And clipboard-hijacking malware exists that swaps a copied address for the attacker’s, which is a mundane attack that catches careful people. On the other side of the ledger, the card genuinely does mean no bank or third party holds, freezes or manages your funds. That is a real advantage, not a slogan.
The counterparty risks come from the stack. A card payment involves several parties: the network (Visa) routes the messages and sets the rules, the issuer — a bank or e-money institution licensed under the network’s licence — holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end. In this case ELLIPAL is the brand and the partner is Gnosis Pay, which runs the KYC through SumSub. The issuing institution, its country and its licences are not stated on the ELLIPAL pages I read; an unofficial source, DeFiLlama, lists the Gnosis Pay card issuer as Monavate. Treat that as unconfirmed. What it means practically is that if your card is declined, frozen or wound down, the party you deal with is not obviously the party you have an account with.
Programmes do close. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued programmes. Closures typically give notice, then stop spending and loading, then ask you to withdraw what is left. This is not a prediction about this card; it is the base rate for cards in this category.
Complaints and support. ELLIPAL’s Trustpilot profile is 4.1 out of 5 from 303 reviews — but those are reviews of the whole company, mostly hardware wallets, and there is no mention of the Pay card among them. The recurring themes there are delivery delays, device battery and defect problems, and wallet or app issues, reported between August and October 2026. No dated news about the Pay card itself was found. Support is through a help centre at support.ellipal.com, and the company stated on Trustpilot on 25 August 2026 that it does not offer phone support. For a self-custody product that is arguably consistent; for a payment card it is thin.
Regulation is settling around this. Under MiCA — the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, which ESMA says took legal effect in June 2023, with rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024 — e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period runs until 1 July 2026 or until a provider is authorised or refused. A card is regulated separately as a payment service, so a crypto card often rests on two licences. If you want to know whether a provider is authorised, ESMA keeps an interim public register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities.
One more risk category is worth knowing about. Stablecoins can depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
What to take instead
If the missing physical card, the unstated mobile wallets or the country list rules this card out, there are three comparators worth reading against the same questions.
| ELLIPAL Pay | TokenPocket | MetaMask | KAST | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.8 / 10 | 5.8 / 10 | 7.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 |
| Network | Visa | Visa / Mastercard debit | Mastercard | Visa Platinum, Visa Infinite metal or gold |
| Card form | Virtual on activation | Virtual | Virtual first; metal pre-orderable in app | Virtual and physical, up to 10 cards |
| Cost | Free per ELLIPAL; 30.23 EURe per Gnosis Pay’s guide | Small NFT creation fee partly covered by TokenPocket; “no additional fees” | Virtual free; metal $199/year | Standard 0 USD/year, Premium 1,000 USD/year, Private 10,000 USD/year; Standard physical 0 USD plus 40 USD delivery |
| Fees | No transaction, conversion or gas fees | 1% fee on crypto deposit, refunded later via rewards | “Minimal fee for each transaction”, amount not stated; no FX fee | Top-up, USD spend, Apple/Google Pay 0%; non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75%; transactions under 25 USD 0.10 USD; declined transaction 0.50 USD |
| Funding | Stablecoins from own wallet, Gnosis Chain | Crypto from TokenPocket wallet, Arbitrum | Directly from connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana | USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD |
| Rewards | Not stated | 1% deposit fee refunded via rewards later | Cashback in mUSD: 1% virtual, 3% first 10,000 USD then 1% on metal | Cashback in USD: 1.5% to 3% by tier on tier spend caps, plus KAST Points |
MetaMask scores highest of the four here, largely on completeness: a metal card you can actually order, a clearly stated cashback structure, and spending directly from a connected wallet across four named networks. It costs $199 a year for metal, though, and its sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories with others on a waitlist.
KAST is the one to look at if you want a physical card and named cashback, and the one to look away from if price matters: Premium and Private memberships run into four figures a year, and its eligibility logic is unusually blunt — its terms say you can create an account in an unsupported country but KYC stays locked, and that living in a supported country while holding an ID from a restricted region may still make you ineligible.
TokenPocket sits at the same score and is the most awkward of the four: the 1% deposit fee is described as refundable later through rewards or reduced transaction fees, which is a promise about the future rather than a fee schedule.
Who I would recommend it to
If you already use an ELLIPAL hardware wallet, you are a resident of one of the listed countries, you spend in euro, sterling or dollars anyway, and you would rather hold the balance than trust a provider — then yes, this is worth applying for. You are paying nothing per transaction, nothing on conversion, and you keep custody.
If you need a physical card, if Apple Pay is how you pay, if you take cash out regularly, or if you are outside the listed countries, I would not start here. In each of those cases one of the alternatives above will answer your question better, and I would rather you spent your attention on the one that fits.
And if you are simply curious about spending crypto without handing over your keys, this is a clean example of the idea — just not yet a card I would build a month of spending around.
Frequently asked questions
What is the ELLIPAL Pay card?
The ELLIPAL Pay card is a Visa payment card that spends stablecoins directly from a wallet you control yourself, rather than from a bank account or a balance held by a card issuer. You apply for it inside the ELLIPAL app, and a virtual card is created when you activate. Your working balances are in EURe, GBPe and USDCe, and settlement happens on-chain through Gnosis Pay’s smart contract on Gnosis Chain at the moment of payment.
How does the ELLIPAL Pay card actually work?
When you pay, the card draws on stablecoins that stay in your self-custody wallet, and the settlement is executed on Gnosis Chain through the Gnosis Pay smart contract at that moment. Because your coins never leave your wallet beforehand, there is no prefilled card balance to manage. You hold the private key throughout, which also means no provider can freeze your funds, but also no provider can reverse a mistaken or stolen transaction.
Do I need KYC to get the ELLIPAL Pay card?
Yes. Verification is run by the card partner Gnosis Pay using SumSub, and the stated steps are a government ID, proof of address such as a utility bill from the last three months, and confirmation of where your funds come from. The exact minimum age is not stated on the pages I read, though prepaid and debit cards are generally issued to adults. Note that your citizenship is screened separately from your country of residence.
Which countries can get the ELLIPAL Pay card?
Legal residents of a set of European and Latin American countries, which as published includes Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Argentina, Brazil and Colombia. Elsewhere the product sits on a waiting list. One caveat: when I fetched the eligibility page it redirected to the help-centre landing, so treat this list as the starting set rather than a final one.
Is the ELLIPAL Pay card free?
ELLIPAL’s own order guide calls the card free, and there are no transaction fees, no ELLIPAL markup on currency conversion and no gas fees on card payments. However, Gnosis Pay’s own ordering guide for its partner programme lists the card at 30.23 EURe, paid from a Gnosis Chain wallet plus a small amount of xDai for gas. That second figure is unofficial and not confirmed by ELLIPAL for this card, so ask before you assume which one applies to you.
Can I add the ELLIPAL Pay card to Apple Pay?
The pages I read do not say. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is simply not stated, and the absence matters because phone wallets are how a lot of people pay day to day. Technical details such as one-time passcodes and tokenised card numbers exist in the help centre in general form, but nothing confirms this specific card can be added to a phone wallet. If that is a requirement rather than a nice-to-have, ask ELLIPAL directly or look at a card that documents it.
How much can I spend, and what are the limits?
The published limits are a 24-hour rolling daily cap of 8,000 across EURe, GBPe and USDCe, and 5,000 per transaction. There are no published tiers. On cash withdrawals the official pages are silent; unofficial Gnosis Pay material for its partner programme describes 250 per withdrawal and 500 per day, with five free withdrawals or 200 a month before a 2% fee applies. ATM fees are not confirmed by ELLIPAL, so treat that as a hint.
Is the ELLIPAL Pay card safe?
The safety story is genuinely mixed. On the positive side, the funds are in self-custody, so no bank or third party holds, freezes or manages them. On the negative side, that same structure means you carry all the risk of key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware, and blockchain transfers are typically irreversible. Card-level safeguards such as two-factor authentication, instant freeze and spending controls are not stated, and no phone support is offered — support runs through a help centre only.
Can I withdraw money from the ELLIPAL Pay card?
The funds never sit on the card in the first place, so there is no withdrawal step: your money remains in your own wallet and the card spends from there. If you want cash, that is an ATM withdrawal, where the official pages are silent and the unofficial figures are 250 per withdrawal and 500 daily, with fees after five free or 200 a month. Alternatively you can simply move your stablecoins on from your own wallet to anywhere you like, which is one of the genuine advantages of the self-custody design.
Is ELLIPAL Pay worth it, and who should get it?
Worth it if you already hold crypto in a wallet you control, live in one of the listed countries, and spend in euro, sterling or dollars anyway — you pay no transaction or conversion fees and keep custody. Not worth it if you need a physical card, rely on Apple Pay, take out cash often, or live outside the eligible list. It is also still marked “coming soon” on the product page, so treat it as a product in progress rather than a finished one.
Wallet card fees and costs – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
