Mobilum Pay card: usable everyday, silent on price, noisy on complaints

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Mobilum Pay is a crypto-linked payment card with two faces — a virtual card you add to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and a plastic card you carry — that spends from a crypto balance you load into the app. On paper it does the everyday job extremely well. In practice the thing I could not get past is the price: the card’s own pages promise “competitive transaction fees and transparent costs” and then do not print a single number. Combined with a very thin public record on who issues the card, that pulls the whole thing down well below what the product itself can do.

Mobilum Pay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My score is 6.3 out of 10.

This page is written for you if a normal bank card is awkward for you — no fixed address, no local branch, no easy route to a current account — and a card that converts crypto into spendable balance would solve that. If you are choosing a mainstream bank card or a well-known exchange card, there are named alternatives further down with published prices.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, criterion by criterion

Criterion Mark Why I gave it that mark
Who can get it 8 / 10 27 EEA countries listed, plus a stated worldwide reach “excluding sanctioned nations”
Cost 5 / 10 “Competitive transaction fees” is the entire published price; no amounts anywhere, though extra cards are free
Top-up options 6 / 10 Crypto directly — BTC, ETH and many ERC-20 tokens — plus a bank account; stablecoins and networks unnamed
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Mobilum Inc, an MSB registered with FinCEN, issuing bank not named; Trustpilot 2.4 from 11 reviews, 82% one-star
Everyday use 10 / 10 Virtual and plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay through external wallets, ATM withdrawals
Total 6.3 / 10 A product that works well, priced in silence, with the weakest support record of the four I looked at

The shape of that table tells the story. The one category the card scores full marks in is the one you notice every day — tapping, paying, ATM. The one that scores 3 is the one that only bites when something goes wrong. That asymmetry is the central fact about Mobilum Pay, and everything else on this page hangs off it.

Who it suits, in my reading: Europeans who want an app that issues both a virtual and a plastic card, who hold crypto they are willing to convert, and who can absorb the uncertainty of an unnamed issuing bank.

Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a published, itemised fee schedule before signing up; anyone whose income or savings sits on this card; and anyone who cannot afford to lose access to funds for weeks while a support ticket goes unanswered.

Who they will give you the card to

The card’s page lists 27 EEA-area countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden. That is a wide footprint — Iceland and Norway in, and the CEE states covered — so if you are in Europe the country list is unlikely to be your blocker.

Alongside that list, the same page says the card is “Accessible worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations.” Read those two statements together and you get the honest position: Europe is enumerated, the rest of the world is promised in general terms with one carve-out. What that means for you in practice is that eligibility outside the EEA is less certain than the sentence sounds, and the way to find out is to reach the company before you commit anything. I found no published page describing the onboarding steps or the identity documents required — the card’s public pages do not say what verification tiers exist or what is required at each one — so I cannot tell you what you will be asked to upload.

That absence matters more than it sounds. Under anti-money-laundering rules, regulated businesses must verify customers and assess risk, including ongoing monitoring and reporting of suspicious activity. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are politically exposed. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to country of address. And if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to hold off on the relationship altogether, and to end it if documents stay missing. Accounts get frozen pending paperwork as a matter of course, not as a punishment. If your documents are unusual — a recent address change, a second nationality, a name that does not transliterate cleanly — that is where friction will appear.

How to get it

The product itself is straightforward in shape. You get a virtual card and a plastic card, and they are multi-currency debit and credit cards on Mastercard. Currencies listed are EUR, USD and PLN, and the app can convert between USD, EUR and PLN. On the App Store listing, ATM withdrawals are described as available “in MasterCard-supported countries”.

Three things a buyer usually wants to know at this point are not published. How long delivery takes is not stated. What documents the application needs is not stated. And what the verification steps actually are is not stated. There is no page describing an application form, no stated processing time, and no stated shipping cost.

What I can tell you is what the app looks like once you have it: iOS and Android, with the Google Play package listed as com.mobilum.wallet. The App Store listing I read showed version 2.8.7, dated Apr 1, with a 5.0 rating from 1 rating — one review, which is not a signal in either direction. I could not read the Google Play rating because the page did not load. I would not read anything into a single-review rating, and I would not read anything into its absence either.

One thing worth knowing before you go further: the card is Mastercard, and Mastercard does not issue crypto cards to consumers. Visa and Mastercard license issuers and can suspend a programme — in November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. So the network logo on your card is not a statement about the company behind it. The card lives or dies with its issuer and programme manager.

Fees: what a Mobilum Pay payment really costs

This is the weakest part of the card, and the reason the cost mark is 5 out of 10 rather than higher. The published wording is “Competitive transaction fees and transparent costs”. That is a claim about being competitive, not a price. No amount appears for a transaction fee, no percentage, no example.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Mobilum Pay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is everything the card does and does not tell you about money:

Fee or limit What is published
Issuance not stated
Monthly or maintenance fee not stated; extra cards are issued “without additional fees”
Transaction fee “Competitive transaction fees” — no amounts
Conversion / exchange not stated as an amount; currency exchange between USD, EUR and PLN is available in the app
FX fee not stated
ATM withdrawal Available on virtual and plastic cards; fee and allowance not stated
Daily limits not stated; the app offers card management with limits
Monthly limits not stated; the app offers card management with limits
Tiers not stated

The one genuinely useful line is on multiple cards: “Unlimited Cards: Flexibility to issue multiple cards without additional fees”. If you need a second card — a separate one for a subscription, or a spare after a freeze — that appears to be free.

Now let me walk through three ordinary payments, because “competitive” means nothing until you put a number against it.

A coffee, in a eurozone country. You tap the card. Two separate things can happen at once: a transaction fee if the card charges one, and a currency conversion if the balance you loaded is not already in euro. The card says you can hold EUR, USD and PLN and convert between them in the app, so if you loaded euro the conversion disappears. If you loaded USD, you are paying both an unknown transaction fee and an unknown spread on the conversion. You cannot pre-compute either.

A monthly subscription in USD, while your balance is in EUR. The merchant bills in dollars; the card network converts. Now you have the card’s unnamed FX treatment on top of the bank’s own network conversion rate. Both the conversion markup and the fee are unpublished. The bank rate is knowable — it is public — but the fee the card adds on top is not.

Withdrawing cash at an ATM. Withdrawals are supported on both card types. The card does not state the fee, the monthly allowance, or whether the number of free withdrawals is limited. This is the classic place where a card’s real cost lives, and it is blank here.

What I would do with that: before you rely on the card for anything recurring, find the current fee schedule in the app itself or in writing from the company. Treat “competitive” as an unverified claim. And note the fee structure of the category generally — on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so a Bitcoin top-up costs you gas on top of everything else the card might charge. None of this is a reason to reject the card; it is a reason not to guess.

Top up: loading the balance

Two routes, and they work differently.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Mobilum Pay starts with a transfer to the right network

Crypto directly. The card says “Load crypto directly”. The FAQ names BTC, ETH and “many ERC-20 tokens”, and the card is loaded from any wallet. The wallet itself is described as custodial.

A bank account. You can link a bank account for deposits and withdrawals. Deposit fee and minimum are not stated. Withdrawal fees are not stated.

Here is the practical problem with the crypto route, and it is the one I would raise with anyone reading this. The card names coins and a token standard but does not name stablecoins or networks. That matters enormously in practice. ERC-20 is the Ethereum token standard, proposed in November 2015, and fees on it are paid only in ETH — so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it. Tether’s USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche, and Tether describes it as a token built on multiple blockchains with reserves intended to back it 1-for-1. Circle’s USDC is natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. The BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in USDT and USDC as of July 2025.

Against that background, “load crypto directly” without a named network is incomplete guidance. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost entirely or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. That is not a rare edge case — it is one of the most common ways people lose money with these cards. Note also that stablecoins are not censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

So before your first transfer, get one thing confirmed in writing: which networks and which assets are accepted for a deposit, and what the deposit fee is. Neither is stated.

Paying with it every day

This is the card’s real strength, and it earned the full mark. Everyday use scored 10 out of 10 for a simple reason: nothing about the mechanics is unusual.

On the mobile wallets, Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number held in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. That is a genuinely better security posture than a plastic card in your wallet, and it is the reason I would reach for the virtual card first. Note that the issuer can still restrict a tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic-stripe, phone or website use is a normal control.

Two things about daily payments are not stated: the blocked merchant categories, and whether rewards exist. There is no cashback scheme published, no points, nothing. If a reward would sway you, treat it as absent rather than forthcoming.

There are, however, day-to-day friction points that belong to this whole category rather than to this card specifically, and you will meet them:

If the reason you are reading about a crypto card is that a bank card is hard to get, these are the actual reasons it happens — the foreign BIN, the prepaid card type, the billing-address mismatch — and none of them are solved by choosing a different crypto card.

What can go wrong

This is the section that took my score from 8 to 6, and it is the one I would not skip.

The wallet is custodial. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you are trusting them completely. The card says recovery is via a backup phrase and calls it “the only way to restore your wallet” — which is simultaneously reassuring and a warning. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and is an unencrypted form of the private key; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. And cryptocurrency transfers are typically irreversible, with no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return what is gone. The card does not state whether it offers instant card freeze or two-factor authentication.

There is a record of custodian failure. Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk.

The company behind it. Mobilum Inc, 228 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003, registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN (#31000258001314). Starting data names Mobilum Pay Sp. z o.o. in Poland. The “licensed partners” are unnamed. The issuing bank is not stated — and for a Mastercard debit card, the identity of the bank that actually holds your balance is not a footnote. I found no official incident report; the concerns below are user reports, not confirmed events.

The complaints, as user report. On Trustpilot, read 21 October 2026: a TrustScore of 2.4 from 11 reviews, of which only 2 fell in the last 12 months; 18% five-star and 82% one-star. Reported themes, all from users rather than the company: withdrawals and refunds not processed, from October 2022 through October 2026; unresponsive support, from 2022 through April 2025; unauthorised or disputed card payments in October 2025 and October 2026; verification problems in April 2025. One reviewer in October 2025 says Mobilum refused a refund and advises asking the bank for a chargeback. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received — and it is a route that exists precisely because the merchant and the card provider are separate parties.

I want to be precise about what that Trustpilot profile is and is not. Eleven reviews is a very small sample; a score of 2.4 from 11 reviews is not a measured failure rate, and the fact that only two reviews fall in the last 12 months means the page is largely a record of 2022–2025. What it is: a consistent, repeated, unaddressed pattern of the same two complaints — money not moving, support not replying — from people who say they are customers. What it is not: proof. My mark of 3 out of 10 reflects that the pattern is repeated, recent and squarely on the two things you would need to trust.

Programme closure is a real category risk. Programme closures typically run in a fixed order: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A 2026 closure reported by a secondary source — new loads ended 8 July 2026, spending stopped 8 August 2026 — is single-source and unconfirmed, and I mention it only to show the shape of an exit, not as a prediction.

The regulatory position, briefly. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first — so a provider’s status can genuinely change during the life of your card. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities, and it is a reasonable place to look. A CASP authorised in one member state can serve the EU. Note also that a card is a payment service regulated separately under e-money and payments law, while MiCA covers custody, exchange and transfer — so a crypto card often depends on two licences. EMIs must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but such funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters.

And the tax bit, which is not card-specific. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services, dollars or other digital assets generally produces a taxable gain or loss. For personal or investment holdings the result is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held one year or less, measured in the local fiat currency using fair market value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice — I am telling you that the tax question exists and that it belongs in your own conversation with a professional, not in a card review.

If something goes wrong, the order I would try: freeze the card in the app and change credentials; contact support through the ticket form or the email in the FAQ (languages and hours are not stated, which is itself part of the problem); open a dispute with the issuing bank. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, but prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed.

What to take instead

I looked at three alternatives with published numbers. Here is how they compare, and it is not close on price transparency.

Mobilum Pay International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
Score 6.3 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Card Virtual and plastic, Mastercard U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “Coming soon” Multicurrency, Mastercard network Visa
Issuance not stated $5 one-time (virtual) not stated; “No annual fee” “No extra fees”, amounts not listed
Monthly not stated None on Classic; Pro $9.00; Max $19.00 “No annual fee” not stated
FX / conversion “Competitive”, no amounts Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee Live OTC rates, “No hidden exchange fees” not stated
Funding BTC, ETH, many ERC-20 tokens, bank account USDC or USDT at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow not stated Whop balance, stablecoin-collateral backed
Rewards not stated No cashback stated Spend-to-Earn up to 3% 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber
Where 27 EEA countries listed; “worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations” Not available to residents or registrants of a long restricted list not stated 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses

International Visa Card is the one that publishes a complete price list: $5 one-time issuance for the virtual card, no maintenance fee, free card use in USD on all plans, foreign currency at the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee, and no fee on deposits of any kind. That last point is the one most crypto cards cannot match. The catch is who it is for: the account and card are not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case, and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration — citizenship is not mentioned, which is itself informative. And the physical card is listed as “Coming soon”, so if you need plastic, this is not your answer today.

UNi Card has the cleanest fee language of the three: no annual fee, no annual or foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live OTC rates, “No hidden exchange fees”, and Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3%. It is a multicurrency card on the Mastercard network spending from your UNi.Global account balance. What it does not publish is who can get one, how you fund it, or what issuance costs. Same structural weakness as Mobilum — good cost language, no numbers behind it.

Whop Cards are the narrowest. Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted, no extra fees, 5% cashback at select merchants currently Uber with more planned. But the eligibility is US-only in practice — 31 states for consumers and 41 for businesses — and unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The balance model is unusual too: a pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, while standard withdrawals use settled funds. Nothing is stated about fees, card type, card currency, or the coins and networks behind the collateral.

Read across the table and the pattern is clear. If your problem is documentation — a card without a bank account behind it — and price transparency matters, the International Visa Card is the one with numbers attached, provided you are outside its excluded list. If you want a multicurrency card with clean cost language and rewards, UNi is the shape of it. If you are in the US states it covers, Whop’s cashback is the concrete perk. Mobilum Pay’s distinctive offer is the combination of virtual and plastic, three currencies, ATM access and direct BTC/ETH/ERC-20 funding — and that combination is exactly what costs you the published price list.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Mobilum Pay card to a person in one of those 27 EEA countries who already holds crypto they are comfortable converting, who wants both a virtual and a plastic card from a single app, who will use Apple Pay or Google Pay most of the time rather than the plastic, and who has read the fee section above and accepts going in without published numbers. For that person it is a reasonable everyday card, and the 10 out of 10 on daily use is deserved.

I would not recommend it as the only card you hold, to anyone who keeps meaningful savings on it, or to anyone whose access to money depends on being able to withdraw. The reason is not that I expect bad faith — I found no official incident report. The reason is the structure: a custodial wallet, an unnamed issuing bank, no published fees, a support channel with no stated hours, and a small but consistent complaint record about withdrawals and refunds going unprocessed. Each of those alone might be tolerable. Together they mean that when something goes wrong, you are negotiating with a company whose banking partner you cannot name.

If you are reading this because you have been declined a normal card, here is what actually determines whether this one works for you: whether the card’s issuing bank will open an account for someone in your situation, and whether you can hold funds through a period when support is slow. Neither is answered on the card’s public pages. Ask both questions directly, get answers in writing, and then decide.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Mobilum Pay card?

It is a crypto-linked payment card issued through an app, offered as both a virtual and a plastic card on the Mastercard network, in EUR, USD and PLN. It spends from a balance you load — crypto directly, including BTC, ETH and many ERC-20 tokens, or fiat through a linked bank account. The app converts between the three currencies and can add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay.

How does the Mobilum Pay card actually work?

It behaves like a prepaid card: you load a balance first, then the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. A card number starts with six or eight digits identifying the issuing institution, which is how merchants recognise the issuer’s country — the reason a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Unlike a normal debit card, no bank account is drawn on at the point of sale.

Is Mobilum Pay a bank?

No — the card’s public pages do not say it is a bank. The company behind it is Mobilum Inc, at 228 Park Avenue South, New York, NY 10003, registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN (#31000258001314), with starting data naming Mobilum Pay Sp. z o.o. in Poland. Its licensed partners are unnamed and the issuing bank is not stated, so ask who actually holds your balance.

Who owns Mobilum Pay?

Ownership details beyond the corporate structure above are not something the card’s public pages state — they name Mobilum Inc, its FinCEN registration, and a Polish entity in the starting data, but not an owner. There is a trust registration in the UK and a FinCEN money services business registration in the US, which tells you where the company is registered rather than who ultimately owns it.

Is the Mobilum Pay card available in my country?

The page lists 27 EEA countries, including Poland, Germany, France, Spain, Italy’s neighbours but not Italy itself, plus Iceland and Norway. It also says the card is “Accessible worldwide, excluding sanctioned nations”. Outside the EEA that sentence is a general claim, not a guarantee, so check with the company before committing money.

How much does it cost, and is the card free?

The card publishes no amounts. It says “Competitive transaction fees and transparent costs” and that multiple cards can be issued “without additional fees”. Issuance fee, monthly fee, transaction fee, conversion rate, FX fee and ATM fee are all not stated — which is why I marked cost at 5 out of 10 and why I recommend getting the schedule in writing before you rely on it.

How do I top up the card?

Two ways: crypto, loaded from any wallet, where the FAQ names BTC, ETH and many ERC-20 tokens; or fiat through a linked bank account, which can also handle withdrawals. Deposit fees and minimums are not stated. Critically, the networks and stablecoins are not named — and transfers are irreversible, so confirm the supported network before sending anything.

Is the Mobilum Pay card safe?

It is a custodial wallet, so the provider holds the credentials and you trust them completely; recovery is via a backup phrase described as “the only way to restore your wallet”. Standard industry failures — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin — all happened under custody. On Trustpilot, read 21 October 2026, the score was 2.4 from 11 reviews with 82% one-star, and the recurring themes were unprocessed withdrawals and unresponsive support, all user report rather than confirmed facts.

Can I add it to Apple Pay and use it at ATMs?

Yes to both, as the card’s pages describe them. Cards can be added to “any external wallet, such as Apple Pay or Google Pay”, and funds can be withdrawn at ATMs using either the virtual or the plastic card. What is not stated is the ATM fee, the withdrawal allowance, or the blocked merchant categories — and note that declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds for up to seven days.

Is the Mobilum Pay card worth it?

Worth it if you want virtual and plastic cards, three currencies, wallet access and ATM withdrawals from one app, and you already hold crypto. Not worth it if you need a published fee schedule, if the card would be your only card, or if you want to know who the issuing bank is before you deposit. On balance I scored it 6.3 out of 10 — excellent daily mechanics, silent on price, and the weakest complaint record of the four cards I compared.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team