The Gemini card pays crypto back on ordinary credit, and that changes who it is for
The first thing to understand about the Gemini card is that it is not a crypto card in the sense most people mean. You do not load coins onto it, you do not convert a stablecoin balance at the till, and there is no stored balance waiting to be spent. It is a Mastercard World Elite credit card, issued by WebBank, where cryptocurrency arrives as a reward on spending you would have done anyway. That single design choice decides almost everything else on this page: the eligibility, the cost profile, the rewards, and the risks. It is a US credit card with a crypto kicker attached, marketed by an exchange.
That is not a criticism. It is a useful frame, because it means you can judge the Gemini card on the same terms as any other rewards credit card and hold it to the same standards. My score for it is 4.9 out of 10, and the reasons are set out below. The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.9 out of 10
I scored it 4.9. The card is well-built in the parts it does control — no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, clean mobile wallets, and rewards that arrive immediately in crypto — but it is closed to anyone outside the United States, its credit costs are high, and the customer-service record attached to the Gemini name is the worst element in the whole package. If you are a US resident with a solid credit history who already spends on gas, EV charging, transit, dining and groceries, and you are comfortable paying credit-card interest on the rest, there is a real version of this card for you. If any of those four things is false, there is not.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Credit card for residents of all 50 US states; no other country named |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | No annual fee and no foreign transaction fees; purchases at 16.49% to 34.49%, cash advance $10 or 3%, one free replacement per 12 months, then $50 |
| Top-up options | 2 / 10 | A credit card repaid in fiat; crypto only as reward — 4% on gas, EV and transit up to $300 a month, 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% everything else |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issuer WebBank, Mastercard World Elite; Trustpilot 1.3 out of 1,513 reviews: frozen accounts, withdrawal delays up to 35 days, disputes refused, no phone line |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, cash advance available; unofficial: a metal physical card and a virtual card |
| Total | 4.9 / 10 | Strong on the card itself, weak on reach, cost of borrowing and support |
Two things I want to be upfront about, because they cut against my own score. The everyday-use mark is the highest here and deservedly so: a no-annual-fee World Elite card with instant crypto rewards and all three mobile wallets is a good card in the hands of someone who has been approved for it. And the cost mark is higher than you would expect for a card whose headline rate starts at 16.49%, because there is genuinely no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee and no fee on the crypto rewards themselves. What drags the total down is not the card. It is who can get it, what borrowing from it costs when you stretch, and what happens when you need a human being on the phone.
Will they give you the card?
Straight answer: if you live in the United States, you have a realistic chance. If you do not, this is not your card, and no amount of reading here will change that.
The card’s own public pages do not state the eligibility requirements. What I can tell you comes from Gemini’s support material: residents of all 50 US states are eligible to apply, with terms and restrictions applying. That is the whole official picture, and it is narrower than the rest of the Gemini platform, which is a crypto exchange with a much wider geographic footprint. The card is the US-only piece.
Third-party reviews add detail that Gemini’s own text I found does not. Per a CryptoSlate review and Gerald, both undated, a valid US Social Security Number is listed as a requirement, along with a hard credit pull. The Social Security Number point is not in Gemini’s own text, so treat it as unofficial even though it is unsurprising for a US credit application. The same sources say US residents only. Either way, if you are reading this from outside the US, stop here and look at the alternatives section instead.
One more thing that is not on the page and that you will feel: this is a credit card, so getting it means a creditworthiness check. There is no soft-check preview mentioned anywhere in what I found, and no published list of rejection reasons. Nobody publishes those, but the practical consequence is that you find out by applying. Approval is also the moment your rate is set, which is the next section.
How to get it
The short version: you apply through Gemini, a credit application with a creditworthiness check runs, and if you are approved you receive a Mastercard World Elite credit card. The card page describes the product; the mechanics of applying are not spelled out there, and neither the identity-check process, the KYC tiers, nor the processing time are stated.
The cardholder agreement is the more informative document, and it tells you where you land. The rate on purchases is 16.49% to 34.49%, set by your creditworthiness at the moment the account opens. Cash advances are 29.49% and the penalty rate is 33.49% — all three variable, moving with the Prime Rate. That spread is wide. The card you are offered at 16.49% and the card you are offered at 34.49% are different products with the same name and the same rewards table, and the only thing separating them is your credit file on the day you apply.
On the physical side: one free card replacement per 12 months, and each additional replacement $50. Delivery countries, delivery time and shipping cost are not stated. Unofficially, a metal physical card is said to arrive about 5–7 days after approval, and a virtual card is issued after verification — that comes from a third-party review, not from Gemini. Since the card page itself says the physical, virtual and metal options and the currency of the card are not stated, I would treat the shape of the card as something to confirm rather than assume.
Fees: what it really costs
No annual fee. That is the headline and it is accurate. The costs arrive instead when you borrow, when you replace the card, or when you are late.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | None |
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| Foreign transaction fee | None |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not applicable — credit card, rewards paid in crypto |
| Purchase rate | 16.49% to 34.49%, variable with Prime Rate |
| Cash advance fee | $10 or 3% of each cash advance, whichever is greater |
| Cash advance rate | 29.49%, variable |
| Penalty rate | 33.49%, variable |
| Late payment fee | Up to $35 (first late fee up to $25) |
| Returned payment fee | Up to $35 |
| Card replacement | One free per 12 months, then $50 each |
| ATM fee | Not stated |
| Credit limit | Not stated |
Three everyday payments, so this is not abstract:
- A $60 supermarket shop. No fee of any kind. You get 2% back, paid instantly in Bitcoin or 50+ other cryptos. If the balance is not paid in full you pay 16.49% or more on the remainder.
- A $40 dinner. 3% back, no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee involved. Clear of what the card charges. The interest rate is what the card charges if you carry it.
- A $400 flight, paid with a card you do not clear. Four percent of $400 is $16 — but if you do not clear it, and that is what a foreign booking usually means, you are borrowing $400. At the top of the range that is roughly $17 a month in interest before you have made a single repayment. The 4% tier does not apply here; that is gas, EV and transit.
The cash advance deserves its own warning, because it is the one place the fee stack is genuinely nasty: $10 or 3%, whichever is greater, on top of 29.49%. That is $10 for a small withdrawal. Unofficially, cash advances are allowed at that rate, and no ATM limit is published.
Top up: there is nothing to top up
I want to answer this plainly, because “how do I top up the Gemini card” is one of the most-searched questions about cards like this, and for this one it rests on a false premise. This is not a prepaid card. You do not deposit coins, you do not choose a network, and there is no deposit fee, because there is no deposit. It is a credit card that you repay in fiat, and the crypto is the reward rather than the fuel.

That makes the whole class of mistakes that hit people with stored-balance cards simply inapplicable here. Nobody can lose your USDT to a wrong network because there is no USDT to send. Nobody can strand funds in an address the provider does not support, because there is no deposit address. If you came to a Gemini card because you want to spend crypto directly without converting it in advance, this is the wrong product and it will feel like one.
What replaces those worries is ordinary credit-card debt, with ordinary credit-card consequences: the cash advance fee and rate, the late payment fee up to $35 with a first late fee up to $25, and the returned payment fee up to $35, all from the cardholder agreement dated 1 April 2026. There is no stored balance to withdraw, so taking money out through the card does not apply; closure and payoff terms sit in the cardholder agreement and are not summarised in what I read.
The one genuine upside of this design is worth naming: because there is no stored balance, there is no exchange-rate slippage between the moment you want to spend and the moment the crypto market moves. That is a real problem with stored-balance cards and this card simply does not have it.
Paying with it every day
This is where the card is strongest, and if the rest of this page has put you off, this is the part that explains the 8 out of 10.
- Rewards. Gas, EV and transit at 4% on the first $300 of spend per month, then 1%. Dining 3%, groceries 2%, everything else 1%. Paid instantly in Bitcoin or 50+ other cryptos on Gemini, and you can change the crypto at any time. Some instant-reward exclusions apply. On top of that, 10% Vault Rewards at some merchants — capped, and varying by merchant — and referrals of $50 in crypto each, $250 per five referrals, up to 50 a year. The 4% tier resets on the 1st.
- Wallets. Gemini’s support says the card works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. The card page itself does not state this. Unofficially, there is a metal physical card and a virtual card.
- The app. The Gemini app on the US iOS App Store listing reads 4.8/5 from 110K ratings, requires iPhone iOS 17.2 or later, and supports Apple Watch and Apple Vision, in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish — no Russian. The Google Play listing was not read.
- Disputes and blocked spending. The agreement has a “Billing Rights” section covering disputed transactions, though the details were not extracted and the statutory 60-day window is not confirmed in the text I read. Blocked merchant categories are not stated.
Two practical notes that may save you a declined payment. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business, and MCC 7995 covers gambling; many issuers block it by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — Gemini’s is not published here. And declined authorisations can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. If a shop’s own risk system reads a card as foreign it may simply decline, though yours is a US-issued card and that is the case this card does not have.
What can go wrong
The card’s mechanics are not where the risk sits. The issuer and the brand behind it are.
Who you are actually dealing with. The card is issued by WebBank. Gemini is the brand and the programme front; the credit product sits with the bank. Gemini’s corporate and licence details are not on the card page. That is normal for this kind of product, but it means the credit side of your relationship is not the same entity as the crypto exchange side.
The complaint record. This is the part that moves my score most, and it is worth reading in full because it is specific rather than generic. Trustpilot reads 1.3 out of 5 across 1,513 reviews, 212 of them in the last 12 months; Gemini replied to 3% of negative reviews. An earlier pass put it at roughly 1.5 out of 5 across about 1,475 reviews, with replies to 9% of negative reviews. The themes people report:
- Frozen accounts and withdrawal holds, August to September 2026, with delays of up to 35 days.
- Slow or absent support and no phone line, July to September 2026.
- A card that could not be activated after sitting unopened.
- A dispute refused after the card data was compromised, October 2026.
- Repeated declines over three months, October 2026.
- A card closed without explanation, September 2026.
- The app stopping showing balance and payment history after a July payment, July 2026.
- Late fees charged after app glitches, July 2026.
- A fraud freeze still unresolved two months later, reported in January 2026.
Read those carefully, because several of them describe a *credit* account being mishandled, not just an exchange balance. A card closed without explanation and a late fee after an app glitch are credit-card complaints. Support by form and email only, through support.gemini.com and the “Contact Us” request form, is thin ground for a product you carry a statement balance on. The credit-limit stories reinforce the same picture: unofficially, limits are generally $2,500 to $25,000 per one review site, with starting limits as low as $1,000 reported per Gerald and Reddit in 2026, and available credit updating slowly after payments.
What I could not verify. No official incidents are stated on the card page. Freeze in the app, two-factor authentication and spending controls are not stated there either, though they are the standard safeguards in this category. The cardholder agreement is dated 1 April 2026, and I found no licence or programme-change news in this pass.
The specific thing to watch. If you take one practical precaution from this page, take this one: pay on time even when the app looks wrong. The late-fee reports above are not about overspending. They are about fees charged on top of a software failure. If the app stops showing your balance or payment history, screenshot it and open a ticket with the date in it, before the fee lands.
What to take instead
If you are outside the US, or you want crypto as the thing you spend rather than the thing you earn, these are the shapes to look at. Scores are mine on the same basis.
| Card | Score | Shape | Funding | Fees | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lava | 7.1 / 10 | “Lava Card”; spend at 150 million merchants in 150+ countries; network and physical/virtual not stated | Deposits in local currency or stablecoins; networks not stated | “no annual fees”; no FX fees and no FX spread; no exchange fees or spread on Bitcoin buy/sell | Up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase; conditions not stated |
| GoMining | 6.6 / 10 | Virtual now, physical “coming soon”; network and currency not stated | BTC, USDT, GOMINING and other coins | Not stated; opening a card grants a free 1 TH miner | Cashback paid in mining power, rising with VIP level; “up to 5%” |
| Kinesis Virtual | 4.8 / 10 | Virtual card; network and currency not stated | Instant conversion of gold (KAU), silver (KAG), crypto and C1USD at the point of sale; networks not stated | Not stated; the site links a fees page that was not read | 2% cashback in gold; six months free from launch |
Three things to notice as you read that table. Lava’s 5% back in bitcoin is closer to what people imagine a Gemini card is, and it is the one with a genuinely open geographic picture. GoMining pays you in mining power, which is neither spendable cash nor a coin you hold — that is a different product entirely. Kinesis converts metals at the till, which is its own idea.
And the honest caveat on all three: who qualifies is not stated on any of these pages, and every one of them has a KYC question you should expect to answer. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening is often applied to citizenship and country of birth rather than to your address. If due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is expected to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end it. That is not a quirk of any one provider; it is the rule, and it is why accounts freeze pending documents. I am not going to tell you how to get around any of it, and you should be wary of anyone who does.
Who I would recommend it to
To the US resident, with a credit history good enough to land near the bottom of that 16.49%–34.49% range, who already spends on gas, EV charging and transit — the 4% tier is real money, it resets monthly, and it arrives immediately in a crypto of your choosing. Add the 3% dining and 2% grocery rewards, and for someone who lives in a car the cash advance availability is a genuine convenience.
To nobody else, quite literally. Not to a non-US resident, because you cannot have it. Not to someone carrying a balance, because the interest range starts high and the penalty rate is 33.49%. Not to someone whose relationship with an exchange has ever involved a frozen account — the complaints above are not a generic worry, they are a pattern, and they were still running through the autumn of 2026. And not to anyone who needs to call a bank.
My own ordering, if you are choosing between this and one of the alternatives: take the Gemini card if you are in the US and your spending matches its tiers, and take a stored-balance card if you are anywhere else and want crypto to be the thing that funds the purchase. They solve different problems, and the market confusion about which is which is the main reason cards in this category get misjudged.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Gemini card?
It is a Mastercard World Elite credit card issued by WebBank and marketed by the Gemini exchange. You do not load crypto onto it and there is no stored balance — it is an ordinary credit line that you repay in fiat. What is unusual is the reward: cashback arrives instantly in Bitcoin or 50+ other cryptos on Gemini, and you can change which crypto at any time.
How does the Gemini card work?
You apply, the issuer runs a creditworthiness check, and if approved you are given a credit limit and a rate between 16.49% and 34.49% on purchases, variable with the Prime Rate. Spend on eligible categories and the reward is credited to your Gemini account in crypto immediately. There is no conversion step at the till, because there is no crypto balance to convert.
Is Gemini a bank?
Not on the evidence of the card page. The card is issued by WebBank, and Gemini’s corporate and licence details are not on that page. Gemini is the brand and the programme front for the credit product; in this market the crypto name on such a card is often only a programme manager, while the bank holds the actual card programme and the balance behind it.
Who can apply for the Gemini card?
Residents of all 50 US states, per Gemini’s support material, with terms and restrictions applying. Third-party reviews add a valid US Social Security Number and a hard credit pull, but that is unofficial and not confirmed in Gemini’s own text. No other country is named, so if you are outside the US this card is not available to you.
Does the Gemini card require KYC?
Yes in substance — it is a credit application with a creditworthiness check, so identity verification is unavoidable — but the card page does not state the KYC tiers, the processing time or the rejection reasons. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems also validate proof-of-address documents against records.
What does the Gemini card cost?
No annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, and no crypto conversion fee since the rewards are simply credited. Borrowing is where it costs: 16.49% to 34.49% on purchases, 29.49% on cash advances plus $10 or 3% whichever is greater, and a 33.49% penalty rate. Late payment is up to $35, with the first late fee up to $25, and card replacements are free once a year then $50.
Can I use the Gemini card with Apple Pay?
Yes. Gemini’s support says the card works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, though the card page itself does not state this. When you add a card to a mobile wallet the number is replaced by a device-specific token stored on the device, and each payment carries a one-time security code, which is why it is safer than handing over the plastic.
Is the Gemini card safe?
The card mechanics are ordinary and standard: a real Mastercard network, an issuer authorised to issue, and mobile wallet tokenisation. What gives me pause is the service record, not the card. Trustpilot reads 1.3 out of 5 across 1,513 reviews, with reports of frozen accounts, holds of up to 35 days, disputes refused and no phone support — so judge it as a well-built product attached to a support experience some customers find difficult.
How do I top up the Gemini card?
You do not, because there is no balance to top up — it is a credit card, not a prepaid one. You repay it in fiat, and crypto arrives as a reward rather than as the funding source. That also means there is no deposit address to get wrong and no network to choose, so the standard stablecoin transfer mistakes cannot happen here.
Is the Gemini card worth it?
For a US resident whose spending already matches the rewards table, and who qualifies near the low end of the rate range, it plausibly is — 4% on the first $300 of gas, EV and transit, 3% dining, 2% groceries, with no annual fee. Outside the US, if you carry a balance, or if you need phone support, it is not, and a stored-balance card with crypto rewards is the better fit.
Credit and cashback card costs – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
