A solid crypto card with a high bar for the plastic one

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Nexo is one of the older crypto platforms in Europe, and its card is one of the more established ways to spend a crypto balance through an ordinary payment network. The idea is simple: money sits in your Nexo account, the card converts what you spend into fiat at the moment of payment, and a merchant sees a normal card transaction.

Nexo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That simplicity is the appeal, and also the limitation. Nexo is not a bank account with a card attached. It is a custodial crypto platform with a payment card programme attached to it, issued by a separate e-money institution. Those two facts explain most of what follows — the good parts, the parts that cost you money, and the parts where you have to accept a level of trust.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.3 out of 10

Nexo scores 6.3 / 10 overall. That is a middle-of-the-road number, and it reflects a card that is genuinely convenient once you are inside the app and genuinely unhelpful if you need to know what a fee will be before you spend.

The card suits Europeans who already hold a sizeable crypto balance, are comfortable leaving that balance with a custodian, and want a small amount of cashback without thinking about it. It does not suit someone whose main problem is not having a normal bank card, because the $5,000 balance threshold and the identity checks put it in a different category from an ordinary debit card.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Card page names “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom” and lists no countries; an unofficial list puts 30 countries on one footing and Bulgaria, Estonia and the US on a restricted one
Cost 7 / 10 No monthly, annual or inactivity fee and free issuance; but FX is 0.2% on weekdays inside the EEA/UK and 2% outside, ATM is 2% over the allowance, and the plastic card needs Gold tier plus $5,000
Top-up options 7 / 10 Spends straight from the Nexo account across 100+ assets, stablecoins and FiatX in Debit mode; but the networks are not published
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer DiPocket UAB (Bank of Lithuania) is named; Trustpilot sits at 4.4 yet reviews repeat withdrawal delays and account closures, plus a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid and a MiCA transition to partners; unofficial sources say there is no cardholder insurance
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM withdrawals; the catch is that plastic only comes at Gold tier with $5,000 held
Total 6.3 / 10 A good spend card for an existing large balance, not a general-purpose replacement for banking

Who it suits, who it does not

Worth it if you hold a large crypto position already and just want to convert a slice of it into everyday spending without a separate exchange account. Cashback is real, though modest, and it only applies to purchases made in Credit Mode with more than $5,000 in digital assets in the account.

Not worth it if you are trying to solve a banking access problem. The account needs a supported ID from the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country, and the physical card needs a Gold-tier relationship with a $5,000 balance. If you have neither, you are left with the virtual card and a $50 minimum to activate it.

Will they give you the card

The card page states eligibility as residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”. There is no country list on the page itself, and the excluded jurisdictions are described only as “not available in certain jurisdictions”.

That two-part wording matters more than it looks. Residence alone is not enough on the page’s own terms — citizenship is mentioned alongside it. Since the platform is custodial, its screening applies to citizenship and country of birth as well as to where you live, and that is a normal thing for a regulated business to do, not a quirk of this card.

An unofficial country list — from CryptoCardHub, August 2026, and not confirmed by Nexo — puts 30 countries on one footing: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom. It lists Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States as restricted. Treat that as a starting point to check against the app, not as a guarantee.

If your country is not on a list at all, the honest answer is that the card’s public pages do not say whether you qualify. The verification step is where you will find out.

How to get it

The route is the same as any regulated platform: identity verification, then the card.

  1. Identity verification. You need a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. Proof of address is not stated on the card page, and neither is a minimum age — both are simply absent from what the card’s public pages say.
  2. Choose the card. Virtual or physical. The virtual card activates in the app; the physical one is ordered inside the app, under Card tab and then Order Nexo Card, at no additional cost.
  3. Wait, or don’t. Delivery is standard, up to four weeks, and may go to your local Post Office. Either way, the card has to be activated in the app before it works.
  4. Satisfy the balance rule. The virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate. The physical card needs more than $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier.

Only one verification level is described, and no tiers, processing times or rejection reasons are published on the card page. Nexo does not publish the replacement-card cost or a country-by-country delivery list either.

The card is issued by DiPocket UAB, which the page names. A Mastercard trademark notice appears, though the network is not stated explicitly; an unofficial source gives the network as Mastercard. The card currency is not named either — the fee tables are quoted in EUR and GBP, but that is not the same as a published currency for your card.

And there is a live disagreement about whether plastic is even orderable at the moment. Nexo has issued conflicting statements on it. That is the one item on this list I would not take on trust from any single source, including mine.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline is good and the details are where the money goes. There is no monthly fee, no annual fee and no inactivity fee. Issuance is free. That is genuinely rare in this category.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nexo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The charges come from three places: converting what you hold into fiat, spending it outside the currency of your card, and taking money out at an ATM.

Fee or limit What it is Value
Issuance Virtual card Free; needs at least $50 in the account to activate
Issuance Physical card Free shipping, but requires balance above $5,000 and at least Gold tier
Monthly / annual / inactivity Maintenance None
FX fee Weekday, EEA/UK/CH 0.2%
FX fee Weekend, EEA/UK/CH 0.7%
FX fee Weekday, rest of world 2%
FX fee Weekend, rest of world 2.5%
Crypto conversion fee Debit mode swap Not stated on the card page
Cash withdrawal Above the free allowance 2%, minimum 1.99 EUR/GBP per withdrawal
ATM free allowance Base EUR 200 / GBP 180 per month
ATM free allowance Silver EUR 400 / GBP 360 per month
ATM free allowance Gold EUR 1,000 / GBP 900 per month
ATM free allowance Platinum EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800 per month
Daily / monthly spend limits Card spending Not stated; $100,000 in assets is described only as giving “higher Nexo Card spending limits”
Cashback Requirement Credit Mode purchases, more than $5,000 in digital assets

The FX line is the one that decides whether this card is cheap for you. If you are in the EEA, the UK or Switzerland and you spend on a weekday, 0.2% is competitive with almost anything. If you are elsewhere in the world, that same purchase costs you 2% — ten times as much — and on a weekend, 2.5%.

The crypto conversion fee is not stated on the card page. An unofficial source (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) puts the Debit mode crypto-to-fiat swap at 0.75% and says it can stack on top of the FX fee. Verify the total fees for your specific transaction in the app before you spend.

The ATM structure is tiered and generous at the top. Base holders get EUR 200 or GBP 180 free per month; above that, 2% with a 1.99 EUR/GBP minimum per withdrawal. Note that the minimum bites on small withdrawals even inside the free allowance — one withdrawal of EUR 50 from a Base account sits under the EUR 200 allowance, but check how the minimum applies before you assume a small cash-out is free.

Three ordinary payments

A EUR 40 lunch in Paris, EUR card, weekday. No FX fee at all, since the merchant is in your currency. What may still apply is the crypto conversion charge if your balance is held in a token rather than in fiat — and that fee is not published. Budget anywhere between nothing and a fraction of a percent, and check your app for the real number.

A USD 60 online subscription from Berlin, EUR card, weekday. The merchant charges USD and your card settles in EUR, so the FX fee applies: 0.2%. On USD 60 that is a small amount, but subscriptions charge repeatedly and a 0.7% weekend rate is 3.5 times the weekday one. Setting the card’s currency thoughtfully at activation matters more than most people expect.

EUR 120 in cash from an ATM in Lisbon, Silver tier. EUR 400 free per month on Silver covers this entirely, so the 2% and the 1.99 EUR minimum should not apply. On Base, the same withdrawal is EUR 40 over the EUR 200 allowance and the 2% fee plus the 1.99 EUR minimum would bite — on EUR 40 that is a very large share of the withdrawal. Tier is not a status symbol here; it changes what cash costs.

The card currency is chosen at virtual card activation and cannot be changed on the physical card order screen — if you get it wrong, Nexo tells you to contact them. Choose deliberately.

Top up: how money gets in

There is no separate “top up the card” step, and that is the design. The card spends directly from your Nexo account balance.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nexo starts with a transfer to the right network

In Debit Mode it uses stablecoins, crypto and the FiatX assets (EURx, USDx, GBPx) — tokens designed to track a fiat currency. The card page says more than 100 digital assets are supported. Cashback, where you earn it, arrives in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin.

What is not there matters as much. Deposit fees, minimum top-up amounts, the fiat top-up options and their fees: the card’s public pages do not state any of it. Networks are not stated either. That last one is the practical gap — if you intend to move crypto in from an exchange, you need to know which network to send on, and the card page will not tell you. The general rule for this category applies: a transfer on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.

Loyalty tiers are worth understanding here because they set your free ATM allowance and your cashback rate. Base, Silver, Gold and Platinum are assigned by the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio — holding more of the platform’s own token moves you up. Loyalty Program members are described as earning “up to 13%” on idle funds, with the rate per tier not stated. The metal card is not mentioned.

Paying with it every day

Both mobile wallets work. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and the app itself is iOS-only per the card page — iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Apple Vision — rated 4.2 out of 5 on the App Store with “2K” ratings as read on 2026-10-20, in 18 languages including Russian, Ukrainian, Kazakh and Uzbek. The Google Play listing was not read.

Cashback is the part with conditions attached, and they are sharper than they first look:

So the headline “up to 2%” is a Platinum-tier rate paid in Bitcoin, and it requires you to be borrowing against your holdings rather than spending your own balance. That is a materially different product from a debit purchase, and you should know which one you are making.

Some things are simply not stated and you may want to raise with support: which merchant categories are blocked (gambling being the usual one), and how disputes and chargebacks are handled on this card.

What can go wrong

Two categories of risk sit under this card: the risks of holding crypto with a custodian, and the specific history of this particular platform. Both deserve a look.

The custodial layer. Your crypto is held by the platform, not by you. That means counterparty risk and hack risk — Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network are the historical examples — and blockchain transfers are irreversible with no built-in recovery for a stolen key. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds.

The regulatory picture, which is moving. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its stablecoin rules applied from 30 June 2024 and its crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. The transitional period for existing providers ran until 1 July 2026 or until they were authorised or refused, whichever came first. In the space since, Nexo has said it set up a MiCA-compliant structure under German oversight with products unchanged — a company post, not a regulator record. Independent ESMA-register checks in August and September 2026 found no entity named Nexo among authorised CASPs; custody and trading in the EEA run through partners, Tangany for custody and DLT Finance for trading. A Bulgarian FSC application filed around February 2026 is reported as still pending. The card itself is a separate matter: DiPocket UAB is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania.

A regulatory event in Bulgaria. Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia offices over alleged Russia-sanctions and AML violations. There was no official Nexo statement about Russians found. This is news reporting, not a regulator finding, and I am not presenting it as one.

Complaints, in the reviews. Trustpilot TrustScore 4.4 out of 5 across 18,805 reviews, read 2026-10-20. Recurring themes in recent reviews: high fees on small transactions and frustration with the $5,000 minimum balance, including grace periods when the balance falls below it; delayed withdrawals and locked or closed accounts; support called unhelpful on technical problems by some and praised for speed by others; deposits slow to appear; a third-party “Earn Provider” custody objection; and regional restrictions on bank funding and card access.

What protection you actually have. Instant card freeze, security spending controls, biometric locks and custodial “industrial-grade custody”. Two things the card page does not state: two-factor authentication, and whether any insurance safeguards your funds. An unofficial source (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) says there is no cardholder insurance. That absence is worth taking seriously, because custodial balances are not bank deposits and do not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme.

Support is advertised as 24/7 with a help centre, a contacts page and a status page; the specific channels and hours were not readable when checked.

What to take instead

Two other options in this category are worth weighing, and one of them is a warning.

Nexo Xplace ether.fi Sponge
Score 6.3 / 10 7.7 / 10 6.7 / 10 4.9 / 10
Card Virtual and physical, issuer DiPocket UAB Visa, virtual instant; physical Silver live, Gold/Platinum coming, delivery 7-14 business days Visa, virtual and physical Virtual only, described as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member
Annual fee None Basic free, Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999 Not stated; first virtual card $10 in some regional-pricing countries Not stated
FX 0.2% weekday EEA/UK/CH, 2% rest of world “0% FX on Platinum”; other tiers not stated Core 0.5%, Luxe 0.25%, Pinnacle and VIP none Not stated
Cashback Credit Mode only, over $5,000 held; up to 2% Credit mode by tier, 0.5% to 2%, paid in USDC ETHFI, 3% up to tier caps, paid after a 7-day lock Not stated
Funding 100+ assets from the Nexo account BTC, ETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT, xStocks on Solana Any supported token to your own Safe USDC from the Sponge wallet
Who can get it EEA/UK and others, no official list Not stated; “not available in all jurisdictions” Listed jurisdictions only, plus 31 US states; “if your jurisdiction is not listed, you will not be able to apply” Not stated; platform terms set minimum age 13

Xplace scores higher and is transparent about its tier ladder. If you want a card with clearly stated annual fees, clearly stated cashback by tier, and a named set of supported assets on a named network, it is easier to model. The catch is the fee structure: $99 to $999 a year for anything above Basic.

ether.fi is the most interesting structurally, because deposits go to your own Safe and cashback is paid in its own token — which locks for seven days. Its FX ladder is the most generous of the three. But its eligibility list is explicit and closed: if your jurisdiction is not listed, you cannot apply, and citizenship rules are not stated.

Sponge is the one to approach carefully. Almost every basic fact — who qualifies, what it costs, what the fees and cashback are — is not stated, and its platform terms set the minimum age for the service at 13, while prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and up. A card in this category whose fee and eligibility details are unpublished is not a card I would put money behind.

Who I would recommend it to

If you are in the EEA or the UK, hold a crypto balance above $5,000, and want to spend it directly with 0.2% weekday FX and a small cashback rate — yes, this is a sensible card for that, and the absence of any monthly or annual fee is the reason it scores as well as it does on cost.

If you are outside the EEA or the UK, or you are trying to get your first payment card, or you need to know what a given transaction will cost before you make it — no. The 2% FX line, the unpublished conversion fee, the unpublished limits and the closed jurisdiction list all point the same way.

And if you are choosing on trust rather than on fees: this is a custodial balance with no published cardholder insurance, held by a platform that spent mid-2026 moving its custody and trading onto partners under a regulatory regime that does not yet list it by name. None of that makes it a bad platform. It does mean the decision is about counterparty risk, not just convenience.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Nexo card?

It is a payment card that spends directly from your Nexo account balance. Over 100 digital assets are supported, and in Debit mode the card uses stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx. The merchant receives ordinary fiat. The virtual card activates in the app; a physical card can be ordered there too, free, but needs Gold tier and $5,000 held.

Does Nexo card require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification is required with a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. The card page does not state whether proof of address is needed, nor a minimum age, nor any tiers, processing times or rejection reasons — those details are simply absent from what the public pages say.

Who can get the Nexo card?

The page says residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”, without listing them. An unofficial list names 30 countries and marks Bulgaria, Estonia and the US as restricted. Because citizenship is mentioned alongside residence, your nationality may matter as much as where you live.

How much does the Nexo card cost?

There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee and issuance is free. The costs are the FX fee — 0.2% on weekdays inside the EEA/UK/CH and 2% elsewhere — a 2% fee on ATM withdrawals above your tier’s free allowance, and a crypto conversion fee the card page does not state. Unofficial sources put that swap at 0.75%.

Is the Nexo card free?

Free to issue, yes, with no ongoing monthly charge. But the virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate, and the physical card requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets plus at least Gold tier. So “free” describes the card, not necessarily the relationship you need to use it.

How do I top up the Nexo card?

You don’t top up the card itself — it spends from your Nexo account. Deposit fees, minimum amounts, fiat top-up options and their fees are not stated on the card’s public pages, and the supported networks are not published either. If you plan to send crypto in from an exchange, confirm the network in the app before transferring anything.

Can I add the Nexo card to Apple Wallet?

Yes — Apple Pay is supported, and Google Pay too. The number is tokenised to your device, and you can freeze the card instantly from the app if it is lost. One thing to know: the app is iOS-only per the card page, covering iPhone, iPad, iPod touch and Apple Vision, with an App Store rating of 4.2.

Is Nexo a bank, and is the card safe?

Nexo is not a bank; the card is issued by DiPocket UAB, which the page names and which is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania. The card page lists instant freeze, spending controls and biometric locks, but does not state whether two-factor authentication exists or whether funds are insured. An unofficial source says there is no cardholder insurance, so treat this as counterparty risk.

Why is my payment or withdrawal being declined or delayed?

Recent reviews on Trustpilot — 4.4 out of 5 across 18,805, read 2026-10-20 — repeat complaints about delayed withdrawals and locked or closed accounts, and about deposits slow to appear. Region-specific limits and funding restrictions are also mentioned. Note that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days even when the payment itself never went through.

Is the Nexo card worth it?

For a large existing balance in the EEA or UK spent mostly in your own currency on weekdays, the 0.2% FX rate and the absence of any monthly fee make it a good fit. Outside those regions the FX fee is ten times higher, cashback needs Credit Mode and $5,000 held, and the balance requirement puts it out of reach as a first card. Judge it on your country and your balance, not on the tier table.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team