Cryptomus card: virtual-only, light on details, and harder to trust than it looks
I went through everything the official Cryptomus card pages tell you, the fees they publish, the complaints users have logged publicly, and a couple of alternatives that sit in the same corner of the market. What follows is my reading of whether the card is worth it, who it is built for, and where the gaps are.
The short version: a virtual-only Visa or Mastercard funded by USDT or USDC, with a $4 issuance fee, a 3.2% top-up fee, and very few of the surrounding details (issuer, licence, limits, ATM policy) actually spelled out. If you need to spend a stablecoin balance online and you have nowhere else to go, it can do that job. For anyone who has a real choice, the numbers and the complaint record make it hard to recommend without reservations.
The conditions described in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The Cryptomus card lands at 4.7 out of 10 in my scoring, and that score reflects a real split: the card is easy to get in most places and frictionless to issue, but it is expensive to fund, light on published detail, and sits on top of a payment service that has drawn a thicket of unresolved complaints.
If you already hold USDT inside Cryptomus, want a virtual Visa or Mastercard in five minutes, and plan to spend that balance online, the card is built for exactly that flow. If you want a physical card, ATM access, clear cardholder protections, named fees in plain language, or any sense of who actually issues the card, this is not the product for you.
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | “Most countries worldwide”, with the usual caveat that local rules may restrict it; no country list published, and residence vs. citizenship is not addressed |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | $4 to issue, 3.2% to top up, optional maintenance or inactivity fees depending on card type, and an unofficial 3.9% FX figure circulating on third-party sites |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | USDT and USDC, no networks named, and the official wording leaves the door open to more coins later |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | The issuer and corporate entity are not named; Trustpilot is 2.4/5 across 521 reviews; there are reports of virtual cards being deactivated after a $1,200 transaction with refund refused, and recurring AML holds on funds |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual Visa and Mastercard only, NFC phone payment mentioned; unofficial listings add Apple Pay and Google Pay; no ATM access |
That 4.7 total comes from those five marks. The card picks up points for accessibility and speed, and loses them on cost transparency, regulatory clarity, and the complaint record.
Who they will give the card to
Cryptomus says the card is available in “most countries worldwide”, with the standard reservation that local regulation may rule you out. The company does not publish a list of supported or excluded countries, and the line about the list changing without notice is the only forward-looking statement you get. So you can be reasonably confident you will not be told to go away for an unusual reason, but you cannot read a page and know in advance whether your country is one of the ones that work.
A few practical points follow from that:
- The card is virtual only. There is no plastic to post to you, and the official page is explicit that the card is “issued instantly and works immediately after activation”.
- It is offered on both Visa and Mastercard, with the page claiming “10+ BINs” and multi-currency support, though the currencies are not named on the public-facing copy.
- The cards appear to be designed for online spending. There is no mention of ATM withdrawals, and the absence of a physical card rules out in-person swipe or dip use.
- Residence vs. citizenship is not stated. KYC happens, but the level, the documents, and the rules around citizenship-based screening are not described in the public material.
If you have trouble getting an ordinary bank card, the accessibility claim is the part that matters. The card does not look like it adds a hard country gate on top of the Cryptomus account itself. Where things get harder to evaluate is everything around the card: who issues it, under what licence, with what consumer protection, and with what recourse if a transaction is blocked or a balance is frozen. That detail is largely missing.
How to get it
The signup path is short and matches the “issued in about 5 minutes” claim on the cards page.
- Register on Cryptomus. This is a standard account, not the card itself.
- Pass KYC. The card page says to register and pass KYC before getting a card. The exact documents, the proof-of-address requirement, the minimum age, and the processing time are not stated on the public page. The KYC levels, the reasons a verification might be rejected, and how long a decision takes are also not stated.
- Choose a card type. The cards page tells you to “choose a card that fits your needs” but does not name tiers in the official material I read. Some fees depend on the card type, which suggests there is more than one option, but the breakdown of those options is not published.
- Pay the issuance fee and activate. The card is virtual, so there is no shipping step, no courier, no address to enter for the card itself.
What is not stated matters as much as what is. There is no published age floor, no list of acceptable documents, no SLA on KYC review, and no explanation of what happens if your application is rejected. If you have been through a regulated KYC flow before you will probably find the steps familiar; if you have not, you are going in with less information than the typical card page provides.
The activation step itself is described as “issued instantly and works immediately after activation”, which is consistent with the way prepaid virtual cards normally behave. The card details show up in the app once the issuance fee is paid and KYC is cleared.
What it really costs (Fees)
This is where the card starts to feel thin. The published fees are limited, and the most useful figures come from the cards page itself, with one unofficial FX figure from third-party sites that I have called out as such.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | $4 |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Top-up fee | 3.2% |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | At the market rate at top-up; “may vary” |
| FX (foreign exchange) | Not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: 3.9% |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: card is virtual-only, so no ATM use is the more consistent reading |
| Daily spending limit | Not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: $10,000 |
| Monthly spending limit | Not stated officially; UNOFFICIAL: $25,000 |
| Maintenance / inactivity fee | Optional, depending on card type |
To make the fees less abstract, here are three everyday payments and what they cost, using only the figures above.
- A $50 online subscription paid in USD. You top up with $50 of USDT. The 3.2% top-up fee adds $1.60, so you need to send $51.60 of USDT to put $50 on the card. The merchant is paid in USD, so there is no FX line item. Total fee you pay: $1.60.
- A €40 purchase from a European merchant, paid from a USD card balance. The cards page says conversion happens at the market rate at top-up, not at the point of sale, so the €40 price the merchant charges has to come out of a USD balance that was loaded earlier. Cryptomus’s own pages do not publish an FX markup; the unofficial figure of 3.9% would add roughly $1.56 on a $40 conversion. Whether that markup actually applies is not something the official site confirms.
- A $200 one-off online purchase from a card balance that has been sitting for a week. If the USDT-to-USD rate moved against you in the meantime, the effective cost of the purchase is the rate at the moment you topped up, not the moment you paid. The card itself does not charge a payment fee on top, but the FX risk has already been baked in.
The general pattern: there is an issuance fee, a top-up fee, and a non-zero chance of a maintenance or inactivity fee depending on which card type you pick. The FX markup, the ATM policy, and the daily and monthly limits are not published on the official pages I read. The unofficial figures on third-party sites disagree with each other on a few of these points, which is itself a sign that the fee schedule is not anchored in a single, well-known document.
Two third-party claims worth flagging because they are not consistent: one listing says a free virtual card and 0.5% conversion, while another says a 3.9% FX fee. The official cards page is closer to the $4 issuance / 3.2% top-up version, so I have treated the more generous third-party numbers with caution.
Top up
Topping up the card is the moment your crypto becomes spendable balance, and it is also where most of the explicit fees sit.

- Accepted coins. USDT and USDC. The list “may expand”, but as of the cards page I read, those are the two.
- Networks. Not specified. This is a meaningful gap. USDT and USDC each exist on multiple blockchains, and sending on the wrong network is a common way to lose funds. The cards page does not tell you which network to send on, so the practical answer is to check the deposit screen inside the Cryptomus app before you send anything.
- Top-up fee. 3.2%. This is charged by Cryptomus at the moment your crypto is converted to fiat and credited to the card.
- Conversion rate. Crypto is converted to fiat at the market rate at the time of top-up. The card does not convert at the point of sale, so the rate that matters is the rate when you load, not the rate when you pay.
- Minimum top-up. Not stated.
- Fiat top-up options. Not stated. There is no published way to add money from a bank account or card directly to the Cryptomus card balance; the funding path is crypto in, fiat on the card out.
- Withdrawing the balance back. Not stated. The cards page I read does not describe how to move the card balance back into crypto or to a bank, or what happens to the balance when the card is closed.
The 3.2% top-up fee is the single most important number on this card. It is higher than the typical debit-style crypto card, and it applies every time you load, so it compounds for anyone who tops up frequently. If you only load once and spend the balance down, the fee lands once; if you top up small amounts every week, the fee lands every week.
A practical note on networks: because the official page does not name them, treat any USDT or USDC transfer as a deliberate choice. Confirm the network on the deposit screen, send a small test amount if it is your first time, and never send from an exchange that does not let you pick the network.
Paying with it every day
Once the card is loaded, the everyday experience is meant to be standard card payments, with a few crypto-specific edges.
- Online and in-app payments. The card works for online checkouts wherever Visa or Mastercard is accepted, which is the vast majority of the internet. The Visa and Mastercard networks process the payment; the card balance is drawn down in the card’s currency.
- NFC phone payment. The cards page mentions paying by phone via NFC, which is the underlying technology Apple Pay and Google Pay rely on. The official page does not explicitly name Apple Pay or Google Pay, but third-party product listings do. Treat wallet support as unofficial until you see it in your own Cryptomus app.
- In-store use. Virtual cards do not have a magstripe or an EMV chip, so there is no tap-to-pay at a physical terminal in the usual sense. The NFC mention appears to refer to in-app wallet use on the phone, not a contactless card tap.
- ATM use. Not stated officially. Because the card is virtual-only, the more consistent reading is that ATM withdrawal is unavailable. One third-party listing claims unlimited ATM withdrawals, which contradicts the no-physical-card fact, so I would not plan around it.
- Blocked merchant categories. Not stated. Crypto cards in this corner of the market vary widely on gambling, adult content, and other high-risk MCCs; Cryptomus does not publish a list.
- Cashback or rewards. Not stated. The cards page does not mention any rewards programme.
- App features. The app is in the App Store and Google Play, and offers expense control and transaction history. App ratings are not stated.
- Disputes and chargebacks. Not stated. The FAQ page I read did not contain card-specific dispute content, so the practical path if a transaction goes wrong is to go through Cryptomus support rather than rely on a published chargeback process.
The most useful single observation here: this is an online spending card, not a general-purpose payment card. If your mental model is “a debit card I can use anywhere”, this is not it. If your mental model is “a card number I type into checkout pages, funded by a stablecoin balance”, that is exactly what it is.
What can go wrong
The risks section is where I spend the most time, because the published material is light and the third-party record is heavy.
- The issuer and the company behind the card are not named on the public pages. That is not a deal-breaker in itself, but it means a cardholder cannot point to a regulated entity, a licence number, or a regulator to escalate to. It also means the protections that come with that licence (segregated funds, dispute resolution, capital requirements) cannot be assumed.
- Trustpilot score is 2.4 out of 5 across 521 reviews, read on 2026-10-20. The split is 43% one-star and 49% five-star, which is itself unusual: most services with a low average lean more one-sided. Trustpilot flags the listing as “may be associated with high-risk investments”. The reviews are mostly about the payment service rather than the card specifically, but cardholders are part of the same user base.
- Card-specific complaints include a virtual card deactivated after a $1,200 transaction on 24 September 2026, with a refund refused. The company position is that the issuing bank blocked the card after a pattern of declines, and that Cryptomus does not control that card programme. That tells you something useful: the bank behind the BIN can disable a card without going through Cryptomus, and the cardholder has limited recourse in that case.
- Recurring AML and KYC holds on funds are a regular theme in the complaints: dates cited include 30 August, 6 September, 14 September, 17 September and 6 October 2026, all in 2026. These are the kind of holds that freeze balances while documents are reviewed, and they are common on regulated platforms. The pattern in the complaints is that resolution is slow and tickets get closed as duplicates.
- Security features on the card itself are standard: 3D Secure authentication, freeze and unfreeze, and biometric login. The custody model for the underlying crypto and any insurance on balances is not stated. A CertiK project page is linked, which is a third-party code audit signal rather than a financial guarantee.
- Support is through a Telegram bot (cryptomus_support_bot), email at [email protected], and an FAQ page. Languages and operating hours are not stated. The complaint pattern includes slow responses and tickets closed without resolution, which is a real-world data point about what to expect if you need help.
- Programme-wide shutdown risk. This is a category risk, not a Cryptomus-specific one, but it is worth flagging. Card programmes can be wound down by the network (Visa terminated FTX’s global agreements in November 2022; WaveCrest was suspended in Europe in 2018) or by the issuer. When that happens, new loads stop first, then spending stops, then users are asked to withdraw their balances. The transition is not always smooth.
Pulling these together: the card is a thin wrapper around a third-party card programme, run by a payment service that has a low public review score, with a small number of named incidents and a steady drip of AML-related complaints. None of that is proof that the card will not work for you. It is a fair description of the risk surface you are stepping onto.
What to take instead
Three alternatives sit in roughly the same corner of the market. None of them is a perfect substitute, and the scores are from the same scoring approach I use for these reviews, so they are comparable to the 4.7 the Cryptomus card earned.
| Card | Score | Where it works | What it offers | What to watch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no published country list | Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical cards; card currency is Naira in the App Store listing; real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that picks the best rate at the moment of payment | Fees and limits are not stated; Naira denomination suggests the product is built around the Nigerian market |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Aimed at Nigeria, with a stated focus on “Nigerians and global users” | Virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes; creation is free per the site FAQ | Fees, limits, and FX policy are not stated; funding is BTC, USDT, ETH, or Naira bank transfer |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | App Store says the card is accepted in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility) | Prepaid card; balance in USD or EUR; deposit USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; the network on the App Store page is not stated | No fees listed on the App Store page I read; very little published detail overall |
A few notes on the comparison:
- Cardex is the strongest alternative on paper, both because the score is higher and because the conversion happens at payment time, not at top-up time, which removes the rate-locking step that makes the Cryptomus card awkward for anyone who tops up infrequently. The trade-off is that the published detail is even thinner than Cryptomus’s.
- CardFlow is the most accessible if you are in Nigeria or paying in Naira, and the zero-cost card creation is a real differentiator. The lack of published fees beyond that is a flag.
- HyperCard sits at the same score as the Cryptomus card and is the weakest match unless you specifically want a USD or EUR balance funded by major cryptocurrencies. Acceptance in 176 countries is a Visa/Mastercard network fact, not an eligibility statement, so it does not tell you whether you can sign up.
If you are choosing on cost alone, the Cryptomus card’s 3.2% top-up fee is on the high side for the category, and any alternative that converts at payment time (Cardex) is structurally cheaper for occasional spenders. If you are choosing on trust signals, none of the four has a clean regulatory story, and that is the real state of this part of the market.
Who I would recommend it to
Pulling the whole review together, the Cryptomus card is a fit in a narrow set of circumstances, and a poor fit in most others.
Reasonable fit
- You already hold USDT (or USDC) inside Cryptomus and want to convert that balance to a spendable Visa or Mastercard number without moving funds out of the platform.
- You only need a virtual card for online checkouts and you do not need ATM access, a physical card, or in-store tap.
- You are comfortable with a 3.2% top-up fee and understand that FX risk is locked in at the moment you load, not the moment you pay.
- You accept that the card programme is run through a third-party bank that can deactivate your card without going through Cryptomus, and that recourse in that case is limited.
Poor fit
- You need a physical card for in-store spending or ATM withdrawals. There is no physical card, and the official pages do not promise one.
- You want published, named fees for every cost line (FX, ATM, monthly, inactivity). The cards page is missing several of these, and third-party sites disagree on the ones they fill in.
- You want a clear regulatory story: a named issuer, a licence, a regulator, and a dispute path. The card is light on all of these.
- You are risk-averse about fund freezes. The complaint record includes a steady cadence of AML-related holds on balances, and the company line is that these are driven by upstream compliance checks.
- You want cashback, rewards, or any cost offset. The card does not mention any.
If you fall into the first group, the card is a reasonable tool for the job. If you fall into the second, you will be happier on a more established programme with a published fee schedule, a named issuer, and a longer complaint history that has actually been resolved. The 4.7/10 score is a reflection of that trade-off: the card does what it says, but it does not say enough about the rest.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Cryptomus card?
The Cryptomus card is a virtual Visa or Mastercard issued through the Cryptomus platform, funded by converting a USDT or USDC balance into fiat at the moment of top-up. It is designed for online spending, has no physical version, and is issued almost instantly after KYC is cleared.
How does the Cryptomus card work?
You hold USDT or USDC in your Cryptomus account, top up the card with the crypto, and the platform converts the crypto to fiat at the market rate at the time of top-up, less a 3.2% fee. The card then spends that fiat balance wherever Visa or Mastercard is accepted online.
Is Cryptomus a bank?
No. Cryptomus is a crypto payment service, and the card programme runs through a third-party issuing bank whose identity is not published on the cards page. That means the protections you would associate with a bank account (deposit insurance, direct regulator access) do not apply in the usual way.
Is the Cryptomus card available in my country?
The official wording is “most countries worldwide”, with the caveat that local regulation may restrict it. There is no published list of supported or excluded countries, and the list can change. The practical check is to register and attempt KYC; if your country is excluded, that step will fail.
How do I get a Cryptomus card?
Register on Cryptomus, pass KYC, choose a card type, and pay the $4 issuance fee. The card is virtual, so it appears in the app once issuance is complete, with no shipping step. The KYC documents, the processing time, and the rejection criteria are not published.
Does the Cryptomus card require KYC?
Yes. The cards page says to register and pass KYC before getting a card. The level of KYC, the documents required, the minimum age, and the time the review takes are not stated on the public page, so the practical path is to start the process and see what is asked.
How do I top up the Cryptomus card?
Top up with USDT or USDC from inside the Cryptomus app. The official page does not name the networks, so check the deposit screen for the supported network before you send. The 3.2% top-up fee applies at the moment of conversion, and the conversion rate is locked in at that moment.
Is the Cryptomus card free?
No. Issuance costs $4, and top-ups cost 3.2% per load. Optional maintenance or inactivity fees may apply depending on the card type you choose, and an unofficial 3.9% FX markup is reported by third-party sites, though it is not confirmed on the official page.
Is the Cryptomus card safe?
The card uses standard safeguards (3D Secure, freeze and unfreeze, biometric login), but the issuer and the company behind the card are not named, the underlying custody model and any insurance are not described, and the public complaint record includes fund freezes and at least one deactivated card after a single transaction. Treat the card as a thin wrapper around a third-party card programme rather than a regulated bank product.
Is the Cryptomus card worth it?
It depends on what you need. If you already hold USDT inside Cryptomus and want a quick virtual card for online spending, the 3.2% top-up fee and the missing detail may be an acceptable trade-off. If you want a physical card, ATM access, a published fee schedule, or a clear regulatory story, the card is not a good fit, and one of the alternatives in the same category will probably serve you better.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
