US Unlocked card review: a virtual dollar Visa for non-US shoppers, with strings attached
The US Unlocked card is a virtual, dollar-denominated Visa that promises something many other cards do not: the ability to pay US online shops from a balance topped up with crypto or a local bank transfer, even if you do not live in the United States and cannot easily get a US bank account or US card. That is its appeal, and the reason it has been picked up by readers from places where ordinary US dollar cards are hard to obtain. The reason to read past the first paragraph is that, behind that promise, the card has a narrow balance cap, a monthly or annual fee, recurring user complaints about frozen accounts and rejected payments, and a Trustpilot score in the low twos. This review walks through who the card actually suits, what it really costs to run, where the everyday friction shows up, and what to look at instead if any of the limits or warning signs are deal-breakers for you.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
US Unlocked scores 5.1 out of 10. The single number is less useful than what sits behind it, so here is how the card breaks down across the criteria that matter when you choose a crypto-funded payment card.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Open to non-US residents with an ID and a proof of address; the published list covers roughly 175 countries. |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | A $4.95 monthly or $39.95 annual fee, a 2% crypto load fee, a 3% foreign-currency fee and a $10 unload fee add up quickly. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Crypto, SEPA, UK Faster Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and credit cards; the specific coins and networks are not published. |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | A 1.9-out-of-5 Trustpilot score, multiple user reports of accounts placed under review after deposits, and a public acknowledgement of a payment-partner issue. |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual only, USD only, a $3,000 maximum balance, and no ATM access; mobile wallets are listed as load methods, not as places where you can tap to pay. |
The picture that falls out of that table is consistent with the score. If you live outside the US, can show a real address, and only need a small dollar balance to pay a handful of US online shops, US Unlocked can do the job. If you want a card that replaces an everyday wallet, holds a meaningful balance, works in shops abroad or pulls in cashback, you will be frustrated. The card is best understood as a narrow tool for a specific buyer, not a general-purpose account.
Who they will give the card to
US Unlocked’s eligibility rule is simple enough to fit in one line, and unusual enough to be the reason the card exists. The card’s pages say the card is for “anyone residing outside the U.S. with valid ID and proof of address”, and the terms ask the cardholder to attest that “you are not a United States citizen”. US residents are not eligible. The reason for the rule is the card’s purpose: it is built to spend US dollars at US online merchants, so it is the inverse of the usual situation where a US customer struggles to pay a foreign shop.

The country list on the site runs through about 175 jurisdictions from Albania to Zambia, and it includes places where US-card access is patchy: Kazakhstan, Georgia, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova and Turkmenistan. There is no published list of excluded countries, and Russia and Belarus do not appear in the available list at all. The rule is residence-based, not citizenship-based, so what matters is where you actually live, supported by a recent utility bill or bank statement. A PO box or a virtual address will not be accepted as proof.
For the reader asking “is this card available where I live”, the practical answer is to check the country list yourself, and to assume that if your country is on it and you can produce a real address in your own name, you are in the eligibility window. For the reader asking “why is the rule written this way”, the short answer is that the card is sold as a way to reach the US e-commerce market from outside it, so the rule follows the product.
How to get it
The signup flow has five steps and is built to be quick. You register an account, verify your identity, choose a plan, load the account, and then issue cards. Identity verification is the step that takes the most attention, because it is the step the company can reject.
You will be asked for a government-issued photo ID, and a recent utility bill or bank statement may also be requested as proof of address. PO boxes and virtual addresses are not accepted. The pages say verification is typically under three minutes but can take up to 24 hours. The age requirement is not stated on the public pages, so the safe assumption is that you must be an adult under the law of where you live; prepaid and debit cards in this category are generally available to adults 18 and over. The reasons the company gives for rejection are an expired ID, a poor image of the document, or information that does not match what the ID says; an additional review may be required in some cases, and that is where the 24-hour window comes from.
Once your account is verified, you choose a plan (monthly or annual) and load money onto the account. Only then do you issue a card. The card is a virtual Visa billed in US dollars, with the CVV and expiry shown inside the dashboard after an SMS or one-time passcode check. There is no physical card and no delivery, because the card does not exist as a piece of plastic; it is a number, an expiry and a CVV, ready to type into a checkout form. That is also why the activation step is so light: there is no card to unbox, no envelope to break a seal on, and no courier to wait for.
Three virtual card types are available. The Everyday Spend Card is the open-to-buy type that can be used at any merchant that accepts it. The Store Locked Card is restricted to the first merchant it is used at, which is a way to keep a card number away from any other site. The One-Time Use Card deletes itself after a single transaction. The latter two are tools for limiting exposure, and they cost extra; they are not part of the default subscription.
What it really costs
US Unlocked is not a free card. There is a subscription on top of the per-transaction fees, and the per-transaction fees add up. The Costs table is the cleanest way to see what you are signing up for, and it is followed by a walk through three everyday payments so the numbers are not abstract.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Monthly plan | $4.95 |
| Annual plan | $39.95 (described as “save 33%”) |
| Issuance | No separate fee; included in the plan |
| Crypto load | 2% |
| Foreign currency transaction | 3% when the merchant does not accept USD |
| $0.00 transaction | $0.50 |
| Returned or reversed payment | $30 |
| Unload (withdraw balance) | $10 |
| Additional Everyday Spend Cards | $1 per month each (FAQ text says $2 each; pricing page and card terms say $1/month) |
| One-Time Use Card | $2 each |
| Maximum balance per account | $3,000 |
| ATM access | not stated — card is virtual and described for US e-commerce |
| Daily and monthly spending limits | “generally set by US Unlocked”; the issuer may set additional limits |
The two-plan structure is the first thing to notice. Both the monthly and the annual plan include one Everyday Spend Card and let you hold up to 10 cards, with no domestic USD transaction fees; the annual plan is offered as a discount against paying month by month. There is no free trial, so the first dollar you load is also the first dollar of subscription you are paying for.
The second thing to notice is the cluster of small fees that hit in unusual cases. A $0.50 charge for a $0.00 transaction is not a fee most people will see often, but it shows up if a merchant runs an authorisation for a token amount and it declines. The $30 fee for a returned or reversed payment is the kind of number that hurts if a direct debit bounces. The $10 unload fee matters if you only want to move a balance back out: the fee is a flat charge that can be a significant portion of a small withdrawal.
The third thing to notice is the inconsistency in the published pages. The FAQ says additional Everyday Spend Cards cost $2 each, while the pricing page and the card terms say $1 per month. That kind of mismatch is a sign to confirm the current price in your dashboard before you add a second card.
Three everyday payments make the math concrete:
- Paying a $100 US subscription in dollars from a crypto top-up. You pay 2% to load the crypto, which is $2, and the merchant is in the US so the payment is in USD with no foreign currency fee. Your $100 subscription costs you $102 of crypto.
- Paying a $100 foreign-currency online order in a currency other than USD. The conversion fee of 3% applies, which is $3 on the $100, and the crypto load fee of 2% is $2 if you topped up to cover the charge. Total cost: $105 of crypto for $100 of goods.
- Topping up by $200 with a credit card and then unloading $200 of leftover balance to bank. The card load is $1 + 5%, which is $11, and the unload is $10, so $21 of fees around a $200 round trip. The lesson is that US Unlocked is not the right tool for parking money; it is the right tool for spending a balance.
How to top it up
The card is funded either from crypto or from a local payment method, depending on what the cardholder’s country supports. Crypto is the headline option, because that is the audience the card is sold to: people who hold stablecoins or other tokens and want to spend them in dollars. The pages do not name which coins or which networks the company accepts, which is unusual for a card in this category and worth confirming in your own dashboard before you send anything.
Once a transfer is sent, the load arrives in one to two hours for crypto, three to five business days for SEPA or UK Faster Payments, and usually instantly for card, Apple Pay and Google Pay loads. A blockchain transfer is irreversible once it is broadcast, and the card’s pages warn that loads themselves are non-reversible once submitted, so the network you choose is the network that has to match what the company expects on its end. Sending USDT on a network the company does not support, or to an address of a different network, is the classic way to lose a deposit or wait on manual support recovery with no guarantee. A common-sense rule: send a small test first, and only send the rest when the test has cleared.
The non-crypto load methods vary by country. SEPA and UK Faster Payments are the bank-transfer options. Apple Pay, Google Pay and credit cards are listed as load methods, not as wallet targets for spending; the difference is important and is covered in the next section. The pricing for those loads is not the same as the crypto load: SEPA and UK Faster Payments cost $2 plus 2% on the pricing page, though the FAQ gives a different figure of $0.70 plus 4.5%; Apple Pay, Google Pay and credit cards cost $1 plus 5%. PayPal and Venmo are not supported. A minimum top-up amount is not stated, so the binding limit is whatever the load method and the dashboard allow.
Withdrawing a balance is where the unload fee of $10 matters. The pages do not describe a balance-to-crypto or balance-to-bank flow in detail, and the only withdrawal-shaped fee is the $10 unload. Closing the account requires a $0 balance, which means the natural exit is to spend the balance down rather than to cash it out. If the card ends up not being useful, that is the part to plan for.
Paying with it every day
The Everyday Spend Card is the one most people will use, and the limits on it are the limits on what the card can do for you day to day. The card is virtual and in US dollars only; there is no physical card, no ATM access, and no way to hold a balance of more than $3,000 across the account. If a reader imagines using US Unlocked as a travel card, that use case is not what the card is built for. The card is built for US online checkout, and the everyday question is whether that checkout will go through.
The first subtlety is the mobile wallet. The pages list Apple Pay and Google Pay as load methods, not as places to add the card to tap-to-pay; the public pages do not describe how to tokenise the card into Apple Wallet or Google Wallet. For a reader who assumed the card lives in their phone for contactless payment, that is a real gap to be aware of before relying on it.
The second subtlety is the merchant list. The card is blocked for high-risk categories, including gambling, crypto, adult, money transfer and weapons, and the terms also mention internet gambling and cash-like purchases such as lottery tickets and casino chips. Outside those categories, the card works at any merchant that accepts Visa, but a US online shop is allowed to look up the BIN of a card and apply extra checks if the issuer country is not the US. The card is billed in dollars and the billing address is in the US, so for most US merchants it presents as a US Visa. For merchants who specifically screen for prepaid or foreign-issued cards, the lookup can be the difference between a clean payment and a decline.
The third subtlety is what happens when a payment does not go through. Disputes are handled by contacting the merchant first, then opening a dispute with US Unlocked support; any disputed charge has to be reported within 60 days of the statement. Chargebacks that are resolved in the cardholder’s favour are credited back to the account, and pre-authorisation holds can take up to 31 days to release. For fraud, the instruction is to email support immediately and to mark the charge as fraudulent in the dashboard. The card is virtual, so freezing it is a setting in the dashboard rather than a chip you can disable, and the platform supports 2FA through an authenticator app plus an SMS or one-time passcode step before card details are shown.
A note on rewards: the pages do not state any cashback or other reward. For a card at this price, that is part of the cost, not a separate category.
A note on a mobile app: the public pages describe a website dashboard rather than an App Store or Google Play app. That matters if you prefer to manage money on a phone; here the management surface is a browser.
What can go wrong
The risk section is where the score on reliability earns its place, and where the rest of the review’s caution is grounded. There are four things to weigh.
The first is the user experience on Trustpilot, which the company’s own public materials refer to. The card’s Trustpilot page shows 1.9 out of 5 from 113 reviews (18 in the last 12 months), read on 21 October 2026. The themes that repeat in the user reports are merchants rejecting the card, accounts placed under review or closed after deposits, billing and refund disputes, the annual fee being charged instead of the monthly fee, and fees being kept after cancellation. The number of reviews is not large, but the pattern is consistent.
The second is the company’s own acknowledgement of an issue. In a public reply on Trustpilot dated 7 March 2026, US Unlocked acknowledged an ongoing problem with its payment partner. The reply does not describe the partner or the resolution timeline, and the company has not published a separate incident report. The clean way to read this is that the company knows there has been a disruption and is responding to user complaints; the cautious way to read it is that a payment-partner issue is exactly the kind of event that freezes balances and rejects authorisations.
The third is the company itself. The brand is US Unlocked, the operating company is Tern Commerce Inc., and the card programme is issued by “Third National” under a licence from Visa. The registration country of Tern Commerce is not stated on the pages read. For a reader in a country with strict payments supervision, the absence of a named home regulator is part of the picture, even though the card is held out as a Visa product.
The fourth is the card’s own security model. The platform supports 2FA through an authenticator app, requires an SMS or one-time passcode to view card details, and references 3-D Secure for online payments. The account auto-unlocks after 30 minutes. One-time and store-locked cards are tools for limiting exposure if a card number leaks. The pages do not describe how customer funds are safeguarded, and that gap is worth noting: a regulated e-money issuer in the EU would segregate customer funds in dedicated accounts or insure them, and the US Unlocked pages do not say what is done with the balance you load.
Putting those four together, the risk profile is not extreme but it is real. A useful pre-flight check is to read the most recent reviews on Trustpilot before paying for a subscription, because the situation can change quickly in this category. The wider category context is also worth a sentence: card programmes can be suspended by the network or the issuer, and the most common user experience of that is a notice period followed by spending being blocked and a request to withdraw balances. If the only money you have on the platform is the next bill, the worst case is a delay rather than a loss; if the balance is larger and the platform has not been clear about how it is held, the worst case is heavier.
What to take instead
Three other products in the same general category are worth a look, and the table below lines them up against US Unlocked on the few facts that the alternatives publish. None of the alternatives publishes enough information for a like-for-like score, and the lines marked “not stated” reflect what their public pages actually say, not what the cards might do in practice.
| Card | Score | Eligibility | Card type | Funding | Cost and fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| US Unlocked | 5.1 / 10 | Non-US residents; about 175 countries; residence-based rule | Virtual USD Visa | Crypto / stablecoins (coins and networks not named), SEPA, UK Faster Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay, credit cards | $4.95 monthly or $39.95 annual; 2% crypto load; 3% foreign currency; $10 unload |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no country list or exclusions; App Store listing is Naira-focused | Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; card currency Naira per listing | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated | Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion; site mentions an “AI-powered conversion rate”; no fee percentage stated |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Aimed at Nigeria; “Nigerians and global users”; no country list or exclusions | Virtual USD Mastercard; created in about 3 minutes | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated | “Creating a virtual card is completely free”; monthly fee not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | No country list on official pages; App Store says acceptance in “more than 176 countries” | Prepaid card; network not stated; balance in USD or EUR | USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated | Cost not stated; App Store page lists no fees |
The alternatives lean in different directions. Cardex has a wider card-network footprint but a Naira-fl App Store listing and an opaque fee structure. CardFlow is built for Nigeria and global users, with a free virtual card but very little published about its fees. HyperCard is the most established of the three, with the broadest acceptance, but its official pages do not say much about cost or which networks it supports. The honest summary is that all three are thinner on disclosed information than US Unlocked, and that “the alternative” depends on which limitation on US Unlocked matters most to you: if it is the country rule, look at Cardex; if it is the $3,000 balance cap, none of these alternatives publish a higher one; if it is the absence of a physical card, Cardex is the only one in this list that explicitly offers one.
Who I would recommend it to
US Unlocked is the right card for a specific reader and the wrong card for almost everyone else. The reader it suits is a non-US resident who lives in a country on the published list, has a real address in their own name, holds crypto or stablecoins, and wants to pay a small number of US online merchants in dollars without using a US bank account. For that reader, the card does what it says on the tin: it loads from crypto, presents as a US Visa at checkout, and keeps the balance in dollars.
The reader it does not suit is anyone who needs a physical card, an ATM, a balance above $3,000, a wallet to tap-to-pay, a cashback or rewards programme, or a wide range of merchants. It also does not suit a reader who is uncomfortable with a Trustpilot score of 1.9, with accounts being reviewed after deposits, or with the company that runs the programme not being clearly regulated as an e-money issuer. For those readers, the alternatives above are worth a look, or it may be that a regular non-crypto card with a US billing address is a better fit.
The honest summary is that US Unlocked is a narrow tool for a narrow job, and the price is a subscription plus a stack of small fees. If the job is yours, the price is what it is; if the job is not yours, the price is high for what you would actually use.
Frequently asked questions
What is the US Unlocked card?
US Unlocked is a virtual Visa card billed in US dollars, sold to people who live outside the United States. It is run by Tern Commerce Inc. and issued by “Third National” under a Visa licence. The product is built for paying US online shops from a crypto or local-bank balance when the cardholder does not have a US bank account or US card of their own.
How does the US Unlocked card work?
You register, verify your identity with a government ID and a proof of address, choose a monthly or annual plan, load your account from crypto or a local payment method, and then issue a virtual card. The card carries a number, an expiry and a CVV, and the dashboard asks for an SMS or one-time passcode before showing those details. The card is then used like any other Visa at online checkout.
Is US Unlocked a bank?
No. US Unlocked is a card programme manager, not a bank. The card is issued by “Third National” under a Visa licence, and the operating company is Tern Commerce Inc. The pages do not name the home regulator, and they do not describe how customer balances are safeguarded, so it is best to treat the platform as a payment service rather than as a deposit-taker.
Who owns US Unlocked?
The brand is US Unlocked and the operating company is Tern Commerce Inc. The card programme is issued by “Third National” under a Visa licence. The registration country of Tern Commerce is not stated on the public pages.
Is the US Unlocked card available in my country?
The country list on the site runs through about 175 jurisdictions, from Albania to Zambia, and includes places like Kazakhstan, Georgia, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova and Turkmenistan. There is no published list of excluded countries; Russia and Belarus do not appear in the available list. The rule is residence-based, so a real address in your own name matters as much as the country on your passport.
How do I apply for the US Unlocked card?
You register an account on the US Unlocked website, verify your identity with a government-issued photo ID and possibly a recent utility bill or bank statement, choose a plan, load the account, and then issue a virtual card. Verification is typically under three minutes but can take up to 24 hours. PO boxes and virtual addresses are not accepted.
Does US Unlocked require KYC?
Yes. The card requires a government-issued photo ID, and a recent utility bill or bank statement may also be requested as proof of address. The pages describe a single verification step, with rejection reasons such as an expired ID, a poor image, or mismatched information; an additional review may be required in some cases.
How do I top up the US Unlocked card?
You can top up with crypto or stablecoins, with SEPA or UK Faster Payments, or with Apple Pay, Google Pay or a credit card, depending on what your country supports. Crypto arrives in one to two hours, SEPA and UK Faster Payments take three to five business days, and card, Apple Pay and Google Pay loads are usually instant. The pages do not list the specific coins or networks, and the load itself is non-reversible once submitted.
How do I withdraw money from US Unlocked?
The pages do not describe a balance-to-crypto or balance-to-bank flow in detail. The only withdrawal-shaped fee is a $10 unload fee, and the account can be closed only once the balance is $0. For most cardholders, the practical exit is to spend the balance down.
Is the US Unlocked card safe to use?
The card supports 2FA through an authenticator app, asks for an SMS or one-time passcode before card details are shown, and references 3-D Secure for online payments. The pages do not describe how customer balances are safeguarded, and the Trustpilot score for the brand is 1.9 out of 5. Treat the platform as a payment service rather than a deposit-taker, and load only what you intend to spend in the near term.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
