A crypto-funded debit card for Latin America, with clear gaps in what the company tells you
OSMO is a virtual Visa debit card from a company that calls itself “no un banco” and runs an app in which a USD balance sits next to a Bitcoin balance. The pitch is simple: top up the card with Bitcoin, USDT, a bank transfer, a card payment or, in some places, cash, and spend dollars anywhere Visa is taken. There is no monthly fee on the virtual card and no issuance cost. The catch, if you can call it that, is that the company is upfront about the regions it serves and quiet about almost everything else. The score below reflects that unevenness. The card is genuinely useful for the readers it was built for, and just as genuinely underspecified for anyone who has to ask detailed questions before signing up.
Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
OSMO earns 6.4 / 10 in this review. The breakdown, copied from the scorecard used throughout this page:
| Criterion | Mark | Short reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Sixteen Latin American countries listed; no EU, UK, US, Canada, Asia-Pacific or Africa |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | No monthly fee, free virtual card; 1% cash and bank withdrawals; FX not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Bitcoin, USDT, card, bank, cash; minimum Bitcoin buy from $1 |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Real licensed partners and an El Salvador custody entity; thin third-party review footprint |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Apple Pay works on day one; Google Pay, ATM use and reward details not stated |
Who the card suits: people living in one of the listed Latin American countries who already hold US dollars or Bitcoin in an app and want a familiar Visa number to spend from, including through Apple Pay, without a monthly account fee. If you live outside the supported region, none of the rest of this review is going to change that. If you live inside it, the card is built for you in a way that very few other crypto-funded cards in the region are.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card, a confirmed ATM network, a published FX margin, cashback terms or a deep public complaints record. A European resident looking for a regulated EMI under MiCA, a US resident who needs a card issued under US rules, or a frequent traveller who relies on predictable FX will find more transparent products elsewhere.
The reason the cost mark is high even though OSMO does not publish an FX rate is that what it does publish is generous: a free virtual card, no monthly fee, and 1% on cash and bank withdrawals. The reason the eligibility mark is low is that the country list is short and the help centre language is Spanish-only. You can read both judgements as honest reflections of where OSMO is strong and where the documentation simply is not there.
Who will they give you the card
OSMO’s app store listing says product availability “depends on where you live”, and the list of starting countries in the materials used for this review is a Latin American one: Costa Rica, Guatemala, El Salvador, Panamá, Honduras, República Dominicana, Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, México, Uruguay, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Perú, Bolivia. That is sixteen jurisdictions. The rest of the world is not on the list. If you are reading this from Madrid, Berlin, Toronto, Lagos, Manila or Sydney, the answer to “can I get OSMO?” is no on the basis of the public information right now.
A few things follow from that. First, the help centre is in Spanish, the Tarifas page is in Spanish, the company says “no un banco” rather than “not a bank”, and the regulatory entity that holds customer Bitcoin (Osmo El Salvador S.A.) is regulated by El Salvador’s CNAD, BCR and SSF. This is a regional product, not a global one with a Latin American branch. Second, country rules can differ inside the list. The help centre has a “Límites de transacciones” section, and OSMO’s materials note that limits vary by country. Third, US-based readers sometimes assume Puerto Rico is the same as the rest of the United States for card purposes — it is not, and the listing here is a separate jurisdiction from any US state. If you are in any of the sixteen places, the rest of the section is worth reading. If you are not, the alternatives section is the better place for your time.
How to get it
Sign-up is in the OSMO app. You start with an email or a phone number and the materials say it takes 30 seconds, after which you go through “verificación de identidad”, the in-app identity check. The exact documents the check requires are not specified; OSMO’s help centre has a KYC collection with six articles, but the documents page itself is not quoted — and a separate proof of address is not mentioned. If you have gone through bank KYC in a Latin American country in the last few years, the pattern will be familiar: national ID, sometimes a second document, sometimes a selfie or short video. The app store page does not promise a particular outcome or a particular document set.
What you get on the other side of sign-up is a virtual Visa International debit card. The card is free, the materials are explicit about that. OSMO is the programme manager; the actual cards are issued by Rain (which is part of Signify Holdings) for Visa and by SOINSA for Mastercard. There is no physical card described in the public materials used for this review, and there is no delivery step to worry about. You add the card to a wallet — Apple Pay on day one — and start using it. Because the card is virtual-only, the question of shipping, customs, lost-in-transit or activation-by-phone never arises.
The cost-related consequence is that all of the everyday-spend behaviour of the card is what you would expect from a virtual Visa debit: a card number, an expiry, a CVV, and tokenised versions of all three in Apple Pay. There is no contactless plastic card to tap, which matters if you routinely pay in places that do not accept phone wallets.
Fees: what it really costs
The clearest part of OSMO’s pricing is the headline: the virtual card is free, the monthly fee is $0, and receiving USD into your balance costs nothing. Beyond that, the published schedule is small and the gaps are worth knowing before you start using the card for real money.

| Fee or limit | What OSMO publishes |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Free (virtual card) |
| Monthly fee | $0 |
| Receiving USD | No cost |
| Cash withdrawal at affiliated agencies | 1% |
| Bank withdrawal | 1% (1 to 2 business days) |
| Bitcoin send | 3% |
| Card FX fee | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated (cash is via “agencias afiliadas”) |
| Card spending limits | Not stated (user can set own limits; per-country limits exist) |
Three everyday payments, walked through, to give the table some life.
Paying at a supermarket in a country where the local currency is not USD. You tap or insert the virtual card through Apple Pay, Visa routes the transaction in the local currency, and OSMO’s app converts your USD balance to that currency. The company states that if you do not hold the local currency, the card auto-converts. The conversion fee is not published. If you are sensitive to FX margin, this is the single largest unknown cost on the card, and you should make a small test payment and compare what the app shows against the mid-market rate before relying on the card for larger purchases.
Buying something online in US dollars from a Costa Rican IP. The card pays in USD, the merchant receives USD, and OSMO’s published fee for spending in USD is effectively zero. This is the cheapest case.
Sending Bitcoin from your OSMO balance to a friend or to another wallet. This is not a card payment — it is a crypto send — and OSMO charges 3% for it. The on-chain network fee, paid in the network’s own asset, is on top of that. If you are thinking of OSMO as a cheap way to move Bitcoin around, the 3% flat fee will quickly change that calculation.
The card costs table is short because the published schedule is short. Everything that is not in the table is either free by OSMO’s own description (receiving USD) or not stated (FX, ATM, card-issuance for any future physical card, rewards). The two limits that are mentioned are the user-set spending limits, which you can configure in the app, and the country-specific limits in the “Límites de transacciones” help section, which vary.
Top up: how to put money on the card
OSMO’s funding model is what the company calls spending from a USD balance, and there are four ways to put dollars in.

The first is the crypto route. You can send Bitcoin or USDT to the wallet address OSMO gives you; the Bitcoin send has to arrive on either the Bitcoin network or Lightning, and the USDT send has to arrive on Polygon. (USDC is not on this list — only USDT — and only on Polygon; if you are used to sending USDT on Tron, this is a specific network choice to make.) Minimum Bitcoin buy inside the app is from $1. The fee for receiving USD is published as zero, and the fee for a Bitcoin send is 3%, but receiving is the relevant number for topping up.
The second is the card-and-bank route. You can fund the USD balance with a card payment or a bank transfer. The card top-up fee is not stated in the public materials used here; the bank transfer’s fee picture is implied rather than spelled out.
The third is cash. In some of the supported countries, you can top up the balance in cash through “agencias afiliadas”, which OSMO’s materials describe as affiliated agents. The cash top-up is for readers who do not have a bank account or a card, which is part of the reason this card exists.
The fourth is internal: the Bitcoin you hold in OSMO is converted to USD inside the app, and the USD sits on the card as a balance.
Once the USD is on the card, the card spends that USD, and any non-USD purchase is auto-converted. The order of the four ways matters less than the fact that there are four. The relevant gotchas are the network choice for USDT (Polygon only), the minimum on Bitcoin buys (from $1), the cash availability (country-dependent), and the absence of an explicit card-top-up fee.
Paying with it every day
The app store rating for OSMO is 4.8 out of 5 from about 1.8 thousand ratings, which is a high mark and worth taking seriously. Google Play also lists the app, but the rating there is not quoted in the materials used here, so the iOS number is the only one this review can stand behind.
Day-one behaviour, from the company’s own description, is that the virtual card “can be added to Apple Pay right away”. That is the headline: you sign up, you verify, you get a card, you add it to your phone, and you can pay at a contactless terminal without ever seeing a piece of plastic. For a card with no physical form, the wallet experience is the only experience, and the materials say it works.
What is not said in the public materials is more revealing than usual. Google Pay support is not stated; you can probably add a Visa number to Google Pay, but OSMO has not published that it works the same way as Apple Pay. ATM withdrawals are not stated; the cash path is through affiliated agencies, not through a Visa ATM network. A list of blocked merchant categories is not stated, so the card could in principle be declined by a merchant that runs an age-restricted or high-risk MCC, but the published list does not exist. Rewards are not stated. Disputes and chargeback rights are not stated. (For background on how merchant category codes and 3-D Secure work, see the FAQ on declined payments below.)
The honest summary is that the card is designed to be added to a phone and used at a terminal, and that is what the public materials describe. The rest is silent.
What can go wrong
A crypto-funded card has three broad risk surfaces: the company, the partners, and the network. OSMO is unusually open about the company and the partners, and unusually quiet about the network.
The company. OSMO is run by HODL Group and describes itself as “no un banco”. The regulated entities in the picture are Bridge Ventures LLC, which holds the USD accounts, and Osmo El Salvador S.A., which holds the Bitcoin custody in El Salvador under the supervision of CNAD, BCR and SSF. The cards themselves are issued by Rain (Signify Holdings) for Visa and by SOINSA for Mastercard. So the architecture is a regional programme manager, a US banking partner for dollars, a Central American regulated entity for Bitcoin custody, and Visa/Mastercard-licensed issuers. That is a more interesting structure than a single shell company, and the existence of named partners is a positive signal.
The partners. Cards in the crypto space have a history of issuer-level disruption: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and in 2018 Visa’s suspension of WaveCrest closed every WaveCrest-issued programme in Europe overnight. Visa and Mastercard can suspend a programme, and when they do, the customer experience is the same: a notice period, then no new loads, then no spending, then instructions to withdraw the remaining balance. OSMO uses two licensed issuers, which is a sensible choice for resilience, but it does not eliminate the partner risk. If Rain or SOINSA were to lose its network licence, OSMO cards would be affected.
The user side. There is one user complaint in the public materials used here, on Trustpilot, where OSMO has a 3.2 out of 5 score from a single review (read 21 October 2026). The review is dated 14-17 July 2026 and is one star: the user reports a USDC deposit sent over Polygon that was not credited to the balance, with support answering “investigating” for three days. Two things to take from this. The complaint is about a USDC transfer; OSMO’s published list for USDT is Polygon, and the user sent USDC. The networks are different tokens, even when both are dollars on Polygon, and that is the kind of mistake that crypto cards are particularly exposed to. The complaint is also a single data point on a single review platform, so it is a useful warning rather than a pattern.
Custody. OSMO describes fiat as backed 1:1 by bank accounts and Bitcoin as backed 1:1 with 80% cold storage and 20% hot. That is closer to a traditional custodian’s posture than to a self-custody one. The trade-off is the same one that runs through the whole crypto-card category: when the company holds the key, you trust the company, and when the company fails, the consequences have historically been severe (Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin). The El Salvador regulatory framework is a real layer of oversight, not a marketing line, but it is also a layer that depends on local rule of law.
Operational. The app supports freeze and unfreeze of the card, refresh of digital card details, and 2FA-style controls. The help centre is in Spanish; contact is via the /contacto page; support hours are not stated. There is no published incident history, no major outage reference, and no regulatory action in the materials used here.
The third surface — the network — is the one OSMO is quiet about. Card FX, ATM behaviour, MCC blocking, 3-D Secure challenges, AVS mismatches (which can cause declines for foreign-issued cards at US merchants), and dispute resolution are all network-level issues, and the company has not published a policy for any of them. This is normal for a regional card programme, but it is the kind of normal that bites when something goes wrong.
What to take instead
OSMO is the right answer for a narrow reader. For readers outside the supported region, or for readers who want different trade-offs, three alternatives are worth knowing about. The scores are from the same review series.
International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10. A US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual for now with a physical “coming soon”. Plans: Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month. Virtual card issuance is $5 one-time. Card use in USD is free on all plans, and foreign currency uses the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee, which is the published number OSMO does not give you. The eligibility list is the inverse of OSMO’s: Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam are out, and FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. If you are a US resident or an English-speaking traveller, this card’s published fees and eligibility rules are the more useful starting point.
UNi Card — 6.1 / 10. A multicurrency Mastercard on the UNi.Global account, with “no annual fee or foreign transaction fee” and assets converted at “live OTC rates”. “Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3%” are mentioned. The trade-off against OSMO is that the published fee schedule is short: funding sources, KYC rules and country list are not specified for the reader. For a reader who already holds assets with the UNi ecosystem, the card removes a fee layer that most cards have; for a reader outside that ecosystem, the gap between what the card promises and what is documented is the reason to read the small print.
Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10. A Visa card linked to a Whop balance, available to consumers in 31 US states and to businesses in 41 states, with a separate list of unsupported countries. The published promise is “no extra fees” and 5% cashback at selected merchants (currently Uber, with more planned). The published gaps are also large: card type, currency, conversion fee, FX, and the coins and networks behind the balance are not stated. Whop Cards is the right answer for a US-based creator or small business that already runs on Whop and treats the card as a payout rail; outside that, the score reflects the same documentation problem the card’s pricing tries to hide.
If you are weighing OSMO against any of these, the question to ask yourself is which trade-off you can live with. OSMO is free, regional, and quiet on FX. International Visa Card is paid, broadly eligible, and explicit on FX. UNi Card is fee-light inside a specific ecosystem. Whop Cards is cheap for a US creator audience. None of them is a perfect substitute for the others, and the score differences are small enough that the right answer is really about your country, your existing balances and how much you need every fee in writing.
Who I would recommend it to
My honest recommendation, after working through the materials, is that OSMO is a good card for a specific reader. That reader is a resident of one of the sixteen listed Latin American countries who already keeps dollars or Bitcoin in an app, who wants to spend at any Visa terminal or through Apple Pay without paying a monthly fee, who is comfortable with a virtual-only product, and who is not going to be unsettled by a help centre in Spanish, a 1% cash-withdrawal fee through affiliated agents, an FX margin that is not disclosed, and a thin third-party review footprint. If you tick those boxes, the card is genuinely built for you, and the structural choices (regulated Bitcoin custody in El Salvador, US-based USD accounts, two licensed card issuers) are real reasons to trust the product.
If you do not tick those boxes, the card is the wrong product. A European reader looking for a MiCA-regulated EMI; a US resident who needs a US-issued card; a frequent traveller who relies on a published FX margin; a reader who needs a physical card or a confirmed ATM network — every one of those readers should look at the alternatives, starting with International Visa Card if the broader eligibility list is the priority, and with UNi Card or Whop Cards if the priority is the fee schedule inside a specific ecosystem.
The score, 6.4, captures the gap. The card is solid where it is solid, and silent where it is silent, and the reader who picks it is the one who can live with both.
Frequently asked questions
What is the OSMO card?
OSMO is a virtual Visa International debit card issued through the OSMO app, where a USD balance sits next to a Bitcoin balance. The card is free, there is no monthly fee, and you can add it to Apple Pay immediately on issue. The cards are issued by Rain (Visa) and SOINSA (Mastercard), with USD accounts held by Bridge Ventures LLC and Bitcoin custody held by Osmo El Salvador S.A. under CNAD, BCR and SSF supervision.
How does the OSMO card work?
You sign up in the app, verify your identity, receive a virtual card, and load a USD balance by sending Bitcoin, USDT, a bank or card transfer, or cash through an affiliated agent. The card spends that USD balance; if a purchase is in a different currency, the app auto-converts. The virtual card can be added to Apple Pay on day one for in-store contactless payments.
Is OSMO a bank?
No. OSMO describes itself as “no un banco” and is a programme manager that partners with licensed entities: Bridge Ventures LLC for USD accounts, Rain for Visa cards, SOINSA for Mastercard cards, and Osmo El Salvador S.A. for Bitcoin custody. Customer funds are held by those partners, not by OSMO itself.
Who owns OSMO?
OSMO is run by HODL Group. The regulated entities in the structure are Bridge Ventures LLC (USD accounts), Rain (Visa card issuing, part of Signify Holdings), SOINSA (Mastercard card issuing), and Osmo El Salvador S.A. (Bitcoin custody, regulated by CNAD, BCR and SSF in El Salvador).
Is the OSMO card available in my country?
The published starting list is sixteen Latin American jurisdictions: Costa Rica, Guatemala, El Salvador, Panamá, Honduras, República Dominicana, Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, México, Uruguay, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Perú, Bolivia. The App Store listing says “Product availability depends on where you live”, so even within the list the on-the-ground answer can vary. Outside the list, the public materials do not describe how to get the card.
Does the OSMO card require KYC?
Yes. Sign-up includes “verificación de identidad” in the app. The exact documents and the level of checks (basic, enhanced, address proof) are not specified; the help centre has a KYC collection with six articles, and the in-app flow walks you through what is needed. Sign-up itself, with email or phone, takes 30 seconds.
How do I top up the OSMO card?
You can top up the USD balance with Bitcoin (on the Bitcoin network or Lightning), USDT on Polygon, a card or bank transfer, or cash at affiliated agencies in some countries. Receiving USD is published as free. Minimum Bitcoin buy inside the app is from $1. Card top-up fees are not stated in the public materials.
Is the OSMO card free?
The virtual card is free to issue and has no monthly fee. Cash withdrawal at affiliated agencies costs 1%, bank withdrawal 1% (in 1 to 2 business days), and Bitcoin send 3%. The card’s foreign-exchange fee is not stated. The cheapest use case is paying in USD, where the published cost is zero.
How do I add the OSMO card to Apple Wallet?
Add the card from the OSMO app: the published description is that the virtual card “can be added to Apple Pay right away”. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. Google Pay is not described in the public materials.
Is the OSMO card safe?
The architecture has real licensed partners: a US-based USD account holder, a Central American Bitcoin custodian under named regulators, and two card issuers on the two main networks. Customer fiat is described as backed 1:1 by bank accounts and Bitcoin as backed 1:1 with 80% cold storage. The historical risk in the category is issuer-level disruption: Visa terminated FTX’s global agreements in November 2022, and in 2018 WaveCrest’s suspension closed every programme it had issued in Europe. OSMO is a regional product, not a global one, and the published complaint record is thin: Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 5 from a single one-star review (14-17 July 2026) about an uncredited USDC deposit on Polygon. Safety is real, not absolute.
App and neobank card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
