A Nigerian crypto wallet with a Mastercard attached — and a lot of blank spaces
PPAY is a crypto wallet that issues a USD virtual card for online shopping and a physical Mastercard card. It is aimed at residents of Nigeria and, according to its own site, a “10+” list of other countries it does not name. The parent company is PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD, registered in Nigeria, and PPAY describes itself as “a technology company, not a bank.” On the surface it looks like a workable everyday card for someone who holds crypto and wants to spend it. The problem is what the public pages do not say: no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no conversion rate, no ATM fee, no spending limits, no named issuer, no list of supported coins or networks. My score for PPAY is 4.5 out of 10. That is not a judgement about the product’s intent — it is a judgement about how much you can verify before you hand over money and documents.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: who the card suits and who it does not
PPAY is built for one audience: Nigerian residents who want a wallet holding crypto with a virtual card and a Mastercard attached, and who are comfortable with a fintech rather than a bank. If that is you, and you are willing to ask support directly for the numbers the site leaves out, the product may be perfectly usable. If you are anywhere else, want a card you can predict the cost of, or need the reassurance of a named licensed issuer and a published fee schedule, this is not the card.
I also found no user reviews at all. When I searched for PPAY card reviews on Trustpilot and Reddit, the only similar name that came back was Perpay — a completely different company — and nothing for the site itself. That cuts both ways. No complaints can mean no problems, but it more often means the card is either very young or very small, and neither of those is a reason to move money quickly.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | Residents of Nigeria or “an eligible country”; the site says “10+” countries but names none |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | No issuance or monthly fee published; fee amounts undisclosed; P2P transfers are fee-free |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | The wallet holds crypto and swaps run via a WhatsApp bot; the coins and networks for card top-ups are not published |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Owned by PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD, “not a bank”; issuer and licences unnamed; no complaints or reviews found |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | USD virtual card and physical Mastercard; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM details undisclosed |
| Total | 4.5 / 10 | A promising product with more unknowns than numbers |
The score is not lower because anything looks wrong. It is lower because the information a cardholder needs to decide is mostly absent from the public pages. I would rather tell you that plainly than dress a gap up as a feature.
Will they give you the card?
The terms say you “must be a resident of Nigeria or an eligible country where PPAY operates.” That is a residence rule, not a citizenship rule — where you live is what counts, not what your passport says. The home page shows “10+” countries supported but names none of them, so from outside Nigeria there is no way to tell from the site whether your country is on the list. The AML policy refers only to “high-risk jurisdictions” without defining them.
For someone in the United States, the UK, or the EU, the honest answer is: I cannot tell you from what PPAY publishes whether you qualify. If you live in one of those places, the first thing to do is email support and ask whether residents of your country are eligible. Do not assume that “10+ countries” includes yours.
One more thing to check: the physical Mastercard is described as “accepted everywhere Mastercard is.” Where you live still matters for shipping, and for whether your country’s postal system can deliver to you. I could not find delivery details anywhere on the public pages.
How to get it
The signup route is: create an account in the app, verify your identity, then use the features. Minimum age is 18. The AML policy lays out what you will need at onboarding, and it is a substantial list:
- Full legal name and residential address
- Date of birth, phone number and email
- Government-issued ID plus a selfie or biometric check
- Proof of address
- “BVN, NIN, or equivalent verification data where applicable”
That last line is a Nigerian reference — BVN is your Bank Verification Number and NIN your National Identification Number — but the phrase “or equivalent” suggests other countries have their own version. Identity verification is mandatory before the account is activated; there is no way around it, and any product that told you otherwise would be a red flag. The terms frame this as KYC “in compliance with CBN regulations,” the Central Bank of Nigeria, which is normal for a Nigerian financial product.
You will end up with a USD virtual card for online shopping and a physical Mastercard. The virtual card’s network is not stated — I could not confirm whether it runs on Visa or Mastercard — and its currency is USD. The physical card is a Mastercard. Delivery times for the physical card are not published.
One point deserves attention. PPAY “operates tiered verification limits” — meaning different verification levels unlock different amounts. But the tiers themselves are not described: not what the levels are, how long each takes, or why an application might be rejected. The AML policy does say that failing to respond to verification or enhanced due diligence (EDD) requests can lead to suspension or termination. So upload correct documents the first time and answer requests promptly, because the escalation path from a missed request is real.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the weakest section of the whole review. The short version: I could not find a single fee amount anywhere in PPAY’s public material. There is no published issuance fee, no monthly fee, no conversion fee, no foreign-exchange fee, no ATM fee. The terms say fees “may apply to bank transfers, card funding, and certain third-party services” — which is honest, but it is not a number you can plan around.

What the site does mention positively: “Live Rates: crypto and fiat rates with a built-in converter” and “zero peer-to-peer fees” — but that last one applies only to P2P sends, not to card spending. Spending your crypto at a shop is a conversion, and the cost of that conversion is exactly what is not published.
| Fee or limit | What PPAY publishes |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | Not stated; “live rates” with a built-in converter |
| Foreign exchange | Not stated; virtual card is USD |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated |
| Daily spending limit | Not stated; tiered verification limits only |
| Monthly spending limit | Not stated; tiered verification limits only |
| Peer-to-peer transfers | Zero fees |
Let me walk through what this means for three everyday payments, so you can feel the size of the gap.
A coffee purchase in Lagos. If your balance is in naira or in crypto, paying with the card converts something into USD at a rate the site calls “live” and then charges a conversion fee it does not name. If that fee is a small fraction of a percent, you barely notice. If it is closer to what some crypto cards charge on the fiat side, a small purchase can quietly cost you several times what it should. You cannot tell which from what is published.
An online subscription in dollars. This is the cleanest case. The card is USD, the purchase is USD, so at least one conversion is out of the picture. But the merchant may decline a foreign or prepaid card anyway (more on this below), and any “conversion” still applies if your underlying balance is not already dollars.
A purchase in Europe or a trip withdrawal at an ATM. The card is USD, so a euro purchase involves a currency conversion at whatever rate the network applies, and the FX fee — if any — is not published. ATM withdrawals are the worst case, because you can be hit by the operator’s own fee plus an issuer fee plus a conversion spread, and PPAY discloses none of them. I would not use an undisclosed ATM fee as a reason to choose a card.
The pattern is consistent across the section: the only published fee figure is the one that is zero, on the one transaction type most people will not use. Everything else is “may apply.”
How to Top up the wallet
The wallet holds crypto. That much is clear. Beyond that, the funding picture is where PPAY’s public pages go quietest.

Here is what is stated, and what is not:
- The wallet holds crypto and offers swaps.
- Swaps and “OTC trades” run through a WhatsApp bot.
- The coins and networks you can use to fund the card are not listed anywhere on the public pages.
- No top-up instructions, minimums, or networks are published.
- On withdrawal, the terms say only that “you may close your account at any time through the app settings” and “any outstanding balance will be settled before closure.” The method and any fees for cashing out are not stated.
That last point matters more than it first appears. A card you can load but not reliably unload is a one-way street. Before you commit real money, find out from support how you get funds back out, in what currency, to where, and at what cost. If the answer is vague, that is your answer.
The WhatsApp bot deserves a note of its own. Swapping crypto through a chat channel rather than an in-app screen is unusual. It may be a deliberate low-friction choice for the Nigerian market, or it may simply be how the product is built. Either way, before you swap, make sure you understand what rate you receive and who is the counterparty to the trade — in an OTC trade you are relying on the platform’s fulfilment, not a public order book.
If you do fund the card with a stablecoin, the mechanics are unforgiving. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. ERC-20 tokens on Ethereum require ETH in the wallet to pay gas, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send. Tron fees are paid through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is no longer a native option. Given that PPAY does not publish which networks it accepts, the safest first move is a small test deposit after support confirms the network — not a large one.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, PPAY offers the two things most people want from a crypto card: a virtual card for online payments and a physical Mastercard for the real world. That is genuinely more than many crypto wallets in this category offer. The physical card works “everywhere Mastercard is accepted.”
What is missing from the daily-use picture is everything around the payment. Whether Apple Pay or Google Pay are supported is not stated. Whether you can withdraw cash, and at what cost, is not stated. Whether spending limits are per-transaction, per-day, or per-month is not stated. Whether merchant category codes are restricted — for instance, gambling (MCC 7995) is blocked by policy on many issuers — is not stated. Virtual card numbers for subscriptions, and whether single-use or locked virtual cards exist, is not stated.
There is no cashback on the card. That is worth saying plainly, because the site advertises a savings feature at “up to 8.5% APY” — that is the savings product, not the card, and the two should not be conflated when you weigh what you are getting.
Two practical points about how cards behave, in general, that bear on any card like this:
Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards. The first six or eight digits of a card number identify the issuing institution and country, and merchants can look this up. If the issuer country differs from your billing address, some shops apply extra scrutiny or refuse the card. A Nigerian-issued card in a European or US store is exactly the profile that gets looked at twice. This is a property of the card network, not a fault of PPAY, but it shapes your experience.
Address verification often fails on foreign-issued cards. The Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with the issuer’s records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK. For a card issued outside those countries, the check is generally unavailable, which can cause declines at checkout for reasons that look arbitrary.
On disputes, the terms say transactions are final once confirmed, and refunds are decided case by case. Chargebacks are not mentioned, and disputes should first go through support. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received; if the issuer does not run one, you may not have that route at all. Note also that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days — typically up to seven — even though the purchase never completed.
The apps exist for iOS and Android. I could not read ratings: the store buttons on the home page link to placeholder anchors rather than live listings, so there was no app store listing to find and no user scores to weigh.
What can go wrong
Let me separate what I found from what is simply unknown, because in this case they are not the same thing.
The company. PPAY is owned by PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD, named in the footer. PPAY states plainly that it is “a technology company, not a bank.” The registration country, the issuing bank and any licences are not stated. The terms are governed by the laws of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and disputes go to the Lagos State courts — so if something goes wrong, you are dealing with the Nigerian legal system, and that is worth weighing before you deposit.
The issuer is unnamed. A crypto card typically involves several parties: the card network (Mastercard here) routes the payments and sets the rules, a licensed issuer holds the actual card programme, and the brand you have signed up with is often just the front-end. PPAY does not say who its issuer is. That means you cannot look the issuer up, check what protections it operates under, or verify that the programme is properly licensed.
Custody is not stated. PPAY does not say whether it holds your crypto itself or whether funds sit in a wallet you control. This is the single most consequential unknown on this page. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider completely; a seed phrase (typically 12 to 24 words) is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return it. The custodial record is not encouraging: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). If PPAY is custodial — and a wallet offering OTC swaps suggests it may be — you are carrying counterparty and hack risk, and you should size your balance accordingly.
Safeguarding is not stated. Electronic money institutions in the EU must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. PPAY does not say whether it holds any such protection.
Security claims. PPAY says “every account, and every sensitive action within it, is protected by biometric and two-factor verification,” and that transactions are screened for fraud and sanctions. A help page lists the question “Can I freeze my card?” without providing an answer. That is an odd omission — instant card freeze is one of the standard safeguards people rely on when a card is lost or compromised.
No complaints found, but also no history. I found no official incidents and no dated news events for PPAY. But I also found no Trustpilot page and no user reports anywhere. For a service holding crypto, an empty track record is not the same as a clean one.
Programme closure risk. Card programmes do close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically run in an order: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. If you hold a balance on PPAY, that withdrawal window is the exit.
Stablecoin risk. The assets you would most likely hold to use a crypto card are not risk-free. Stablecoins aim to hold a steady value but are not necessarily stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.
Tax. Every payment funded from crypto can be a separate taxable disposal. Digital assets are treated as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a gain or loss, measured in your local currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. I am not giving tax advice here — I am telling you that a card payment funded from crypto is, in many jurisdictions, a reportable event, and that you should check your own position with a professional.
Support. Reachable by email at [email protected], in-app chat, X, Instagram, and the WhatsApp bot. Replies are promised “within one business day.” Hours and languages are not stated. One business day is a reasonable commitment, but it is a commitment about email, not about a frozen account or a stuck transfer at 2am.
What to take instead
If PPAY’s core problem is that it publishes so little, the alternatives are worth weighing on exactly that axis — what they tell you up front. Here is how they compare on the criteria that matter when you cannot afford surprises.
| PPAY | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.5 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Card | USD virtual + physical Mastercard | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual (physical “coming soon”) | Multicurrency, Mastercard network | Visa |
| Issuance fee | Not stated | $5 one-time (virtual) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated | None on Classic; Pro $9.00/mo; Max $19.00/mo | No annual fee | “No extra fees” (no amounts listed) |
| FX fee | Not stated | Visa rate + 2% | “No foreign transaction fee” | Not stated |
| Top-up | Crypto; coins/networks not listed | USDC/USDT free at 1:1; also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | Not stated | Whop balance from stablecoin collateral |
| Rewards | None stated | None stated | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% | 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber) |
International Visa Card (score 6.7 / 10) publishes the most: a $5 one-time issuance fee on the virtual card, no maintenance fee, free card use in USD on all plans, and a clearly stated “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” for foreign currency. It excludes residents and legal registrants of a long list of countries — Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam — and blocks purchases in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration. The catch: the physical card is “coming soon,” so if you need plastic, this does not solve it.
UNi Card (score 6.1 / 10) is a multicurrency Mastercard spending from the account balance, with “no annual fee or foreign transaction fee,” assets converted at live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees,” and Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3%. Against that, eligibility is not stated at all, and the physical/virtual format and funding routes are not published either.
Whop Cards (score 5.2 / 10) is a Visa card spending from a Whop balance, with 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber) and a page that says “No extra fees” — though without listing any amounts. It is limited to 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses, and the card type, currency and conversion fees are not stated.
The pattern across all four: three of the alternatives publish at least some of the numbers PPAY leaves blank. If your priority is knowing what a payment will cost before you make it, the International Visa Card’s “2% FX fee” — whatever you think of that figure — is still more usable than silence.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend PPAY to a Nigerian resident who already holds crypto, wants a virtual card for online spending and a Mastercard for the physical world, and who is comfortable treating the service as a fintech rather than a bank. Someone in that position can get real value from it: the product does what it says on the surface, and the surface is not bad.
I would not recommend it to anyone who needs to predict the cost of a payment, who needs to know their funds are safeguarded, or who wants to check a licence before depositing. The gaps I found are not quirks — fees, limits, issuer, custody model and funding networks are all absent from the public pages, and each of those is something you need before you commit money.
My practical advice, if you are in the first group: ask support, in writing, for the five things you cannot find — the issuer’s name, the conversion fee, the spending limits, the custody model, and which networks you can fund from. Keep the answers. Test with a small balance first. And if you are outside Nigeria, confirm eligibility before you upload a single document, because the “10+ countries” list is never named.
Frequently asked questions
What is the PPAY card?
PPAY is a crypto wallet that issues a payment card alongside it: a USD virtual card for online shopping and a physical Mastercard said to be accepted everywhere Mastercard is. The wallet holds crypto and offers swaps. PPAY is owned by PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD and describes itself as “a technology company, not a bank.” It is aimed at residents of Nigeria and other unnamed countries.
How does the PPAY card work?
The card spends from a balance in your PPAY wallet. In the pre-loaded balance model common to crypto cards, you convert or top up a balance and the card spends only that, so it cannot overdraw. For PPAY specifically, the card currency is USD and your underlying balance may be crypto, meaning a conversion happens at payment time — at a rate the site calls “live,” with a fee it does not publish.
Is PPAY a bank?
No. PPAY states plainly that it is “a technology company, not a bank.” Its terms are governed by Nigerian law with disputes to Lagos State courts. The issuing bank is not named, so you cannot verify the licence or the protections that come with it. If deposit-guarantee or safeguarding matters to you, this is the first question to ask.
Who owns PPAY?
The footer names PROSPER DIGITAL SYSTEMS LTD as the owner. The registration country is not stated beyond the Nigerian governing law and courts named in the terms. No licences are named either. I found no official incidents, but also no dated company news and no user reviews anywhere.
Is the PPAY card available in my country?
The terms say you must be a resident of Nigeria or “an eligible country where PPAY operates,” and the home page shows “10+” countries supported — without naming any of them. The rule is based on residence, not citizenship. If you live outside Nigeria, email support and confirm your country is eligible before uploading any documents.
How do I get a PPAY card?
Create an account in the app, verify your identity, then use the features. You must be 18 or older. Verification requires your full legal name, residential address, date of birth, phone, email, a government-issued ID with a selfie or biometric check, proof of address, and “BVN, NIN, or equivalent verification data where applicable.” Identity verification is mandatory before activation.
How much does the PPAY card cost?
I could not find any published amounts. There is no stated issuance fee, monthly fee, conversion fee, FX fee or ATM fee. The terms say fees “may apply to bank transfers, card funding, and certain third-party services” without figures. The only published zero is peer-to-peer transfers. Spending limits are also unpublished — PPAY refers only to “tiered verification limits.”
How do I top up the PPAY card?
The wallet holds crypto and swaps run through a WhatsApp bot, offering “OTC trades, crypto swaps.” Which coins and networks you can use to fund the card is not published. Top up carefully: transfers are irreversible, a wrong network can lose funds, and Ethereum-based tokens need ETH for gas. Send a small test deposit first, after support confirms the network.
Is the PPAY card safe?
The card uses biometric and two-factor verification and screens transactions for fraud and sanctions. But the custody model is not stated — whether PPAY holds your crypto or you hold the keys — and safeguarding is not stated either. A help page even lists “Can I freeze my card?” with no answer. Past custodial failures in this space have been large, so size any balance you keep there accordingly.
Can I withdraw money from PPAY?
The terms say you may close your account at any time through the app settings, and that “any outstanding balance will be settled before closure.” The withdrawal method and any fees are not stated. Before depositing, ask support exactly how you cash out, in what currency, to where, and at what cost — a card you can load but not unload is a one-way street.
App and neobank card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
