A crypto exchange card with two spending modes, an 8% cashback ceiling and a list of countries you cannot easily see

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Gate Card is a payment card that draws on a balance funded by the crypto you hold on the Gate exchange. The exchange has been around since 2013 and is one of the larger names in crypto trading by volume. The card is its move into everyday spending, and it works in two ways: Instant Spend Mode, where the card converts the coin you pick at the moment of payment, and a prepaid mode where you load fiat first. The promise is simple — pay anywhere Visa or Mastercard is taken, without first having to cash out to a bank. The reality is more complicated, because the country list is not on the page, the issuer is not named, and several everyday details are left to the in-app fee schedule. This review walks through who can get the card, what it really costs, how the cashback and points system works, and where the rough edges are. I have used the official help pages, the Standard card fee table and one well-known third-party directory; everything marked unofficial comes from that third-party source and is not confirmed by Gate.

Gate works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Gate Card scores 6.8 out of 10. It is a useful product for the audience the exchange already serves — Gate users who hold USDT, BTC, ETH or GT and want a card that spends that balance directly, with up to 8% cashback on eligible purchases depending on tier. The cost score is high because the Standard card has no issuance, monthly or inactivity fees, and the conversion fee is 0.90% for transactions of 2 USD or more, dropping to 0.05 USD on tiny payments. The reliability score is the weakest, partly because the issuer is not named on the public card page, partly because user reports mention a paused cashback programme in 2024 and slow card replacements, and partly because the gate.io Trustpilot score sits at about 1.5 out of 5 — though most of those complaints are about exchange services rather than the card itself.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Gate payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 “Non-restricted countries or regions” — no list on the card page; unofficial list of 24 European countries; US, UK, Germany, France, Canada reported as not supported
Cost 8 / 10 Standard card free to issue (virtual and physical), no monthly or inactivity fee; crypto conversion 0.90%, non-USD FX 1.00%, ATM 2%; 25 USD replacement
Top-up options 7 / 10 Instant Spend Mode supports USDT, BTC, ETH, GT; prepaid mode supports a wider range but the networks are not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer not named officially; gate.com Trustpilot ~3.5/5, gate.io ~1.5/5; card-specific reports of cashback pause and replacement delays
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual card in minutes, physical in 7–45 days, ATM withdrawals supported, help article for Google Pay and Apple Pay exists; unofficial note that the Classic tier is Google Pay only
Total 6.8 / 10 Best for existing Gate users spending USDT, BTC, ETH or GT; not for someone who needs a clearly named issuer or a published country list

If you already keep funds on Gate and want a card tied to that balance, this is one of the cheaper ways to do it. If you are choosing an exchange card from scratch, the country opacity, the unnamed issuer and the cashback inconsistency make it harder to recommend on first principles.

Will They Give You the Card

The card page is unusually short on the question most people want answered first: can I get it in my country? The official wording is that “Gate Card is only available to users in non-restricted countries or regions”, and the page does not publish the list. Citizenship versus residence is also not stated. You find out by starting an application, which is why so many reviews of crypto cards carry the same “it depends where you live” caveat.

Unofficial reporting — and you should treat this as such until Gate confirms it — names 24 European countries where the Classic card has been listed: Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Sweden. The same source lists the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, France and Canada as not supported. A different directory adds Austria and Spain and drops Italy and Lithuania from the list, so the picture is not fully consistent. None of this is confirmed by the card’s own pages.

What the official pages do say is that the application has to come from inside the Gate app, that the Level 2 identity verification must be complete, and that the card application must use the same ID as the Gate KYC. Age is not stated. If you are resident in a non-restricted country but hold a passport from a restricted one, the card page does not tell you which rule wins; that is a real ambiguity for expats, dual nationals and people who have recently moved.

In short, before you start, check that Gate operates in your country for any service — the exchange is available in more places than the card — and be ready to walk away from the application if your country is not in the list. The card is not something you can pre-order and collect on arrival.

How to Get It

The official flow is short: open or sign in to a Gate account, complete Level 2 KYC, then apply for a virtual or physical card from inside the Gate app. The help centre spells out that you need a linked email and a linked phone, that the same ID you used for KYC must be used for the card, and that in the application you will be asked for ID, facial information and address. Some card types also ask for a proof of address dated within the last three months. The card page does not name a minimum age.

There are two card formats. The Instant Virtual Card is reviewed “typically within 3–5 minutes”, which is fast enough that you can apply and start using a card number almost immediately. The physical card is sent by post and “usually it takes around 7 to 45 days” depending on the country of residence. Unofficial reporting gives 15 to 45 days for the Classic card. If the card has not turned up after 45 days, the help centre tells you to confirm your address with support and use the “Resend” option; that means a six-week wait is the worst case before you have to chase it.

Issuance on the Standard card is free for both the virtual and the physical version, and the replacement fee is 25 USD. There is no published list of countries that get the physical card, so the safe assumption is that the supported list is the same restricted-country list that applies to the card overall. Rejection reasons are not stated on the public pages, which leaves applicants in the dark on what to fix if the first attempt fails.

The network is described as “primarily supports the Visa or Mastercard network”, with the actual scheme depending on the card type and region. The card’s own currency is not stated publicly; what the prepaid mode does is convert the funds to the corresponding fiat currency at the moment of loading or, in Instant Spend Mode, at the moment of payment. There is no mention of a metal card on the pages reviewed, though a metal edition may exist on a tier I did not see.

What the Gate Card Really Costs

This is one of the cleaner parts of the product, but only because the Standard card has a fee page that lists the numbers. Other tiers, and the prepaid variant, are less transparent. Where a fact is not in the official fee table, I have said so rather than fill in the gap.

Fee or limit Standard card
Virtual card issuance Free
Physical card issuance Free
Monthly fee Free
Inactivity fee Free
Crypto conversion 0.90% (transactions of 2 USD or more); 0.05 USD on payments below 2 USD
Foreign exchange (non-USD) 1.00%
ATM cash withdrawal 2%
ATM daily limit 5,000 USD (up to 10 withdrawals)
ATM monthly limit 15,000 USD (up to 100 withdrawals)
ATM yearly limit 50,000 USD (up to 1,000 withdrawals)
ATM per-transaction limit 5,000 USD
Spending limit, all tiers T0–T4 50,000 USD daily; 990,000 USD monthly
Replacement card 25 USD
Chargeback processing fee 30 USD

The card page itself is quieter than this table. The official wording is that conversion runs “according to the card rules and applicable exchange rates”, and the issuer’s fees and exchange-rate differences may apply. The fee table above is the underlying number set, and it is the same across tiers T0 through T4, which means upgrading your tier changes the cashback, not the baseline cost of running the card.

To make that concrete, three everyday situations:

  1. You buy a 60 USD coffee in Tokyo with USDT in Instant Spend Mode. You pay 0.90% on the conversion, so 0.54 USD comes off your crypto for the conversion fee, then 1.00% on the FX because the merchant settles in yen, so another 0.60 USD. The visible fee on a 60 USD purchase is about 1.14 USD before any network or issuer charge.
  2. You buy a 1.50 USD in-app item with BTC. Conversion is the 0.05 USD flat rate rather than 0.90%, because the transaction is below 2 USD. The FX leg depends on the merchant’s currency; if the merchant is in USD, there is no FX fee on top.
  3. You take 200 USD out of an ATM abroad with the physical card. ATM fee is 2%, so 4 USD; if the ATM dispenses local currency, the 1.00% non-USD FX fee also applies, adding 2 USD. You also need to check the ATM owner’s own surcharge, which is independent of Gate.

A few charges are not in the Standard fee table but show up in unofficial reporting about the prepaid variant: a 0.9% top-up charge, a 10 USDT first-load minimum, a 2% refund charge, a 1 USD reversal fee, a 35 USD chargeback fee, and a 0.10 USD Apple Pay authorisation charge. The 2 USDT virtual-card fee for users below VIP 5 is also unofficial, and the Standard card’s own fee page does not list it. The dispute fee in the table is 30 USD, but a different help-centre page says a 25 USD processing fee “typically” applies, regardless of outcome. Treat the dispute figure as approximate until the issuer or the in-app flow tells you the number at the moment you file.

What I would not do is rely on the card page alone. The fee table is the source of truth, and the rest is commentary. If a number matters to your decision, check it in the app before you commit.

How to Top Up the Gate Card

The card has two funding modes, and the choice changes what you can spend and what you pay. Instant Spend Mode lets you hold USDT, BTC, ETH or GT and have the card convert the coin at the moment of payment. Prepaid Mode has you convert first — through Gate Pay or Spot — into a fiat balance on the card, after which the card behaves like any other prepaid Visa or Mastercard.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Gate starts with a transfer to the right network

The four coins in Instant Spend Mode are a deliberately small set. USDT and USDC are the obvious everyday stablecoin choices, BTC and ETH cover users who hold the majors and would rather not pre-sell, and GT is Gate’s own token, which is useful only for users who already hold it. Prepaid Mode supports a wider range, but the available coins and the networks they can arrive on are not listed on the public card page. That is a meaningful gap, because the conversion fee on prepaid loads is not the same as the Instant Spend conversion: unofficial reporting puts the prepaid top-up charge at 0.9%, and the Standard card fee page applies 0.90% to crypto conversion in the Instant Spend sense. The page is silent on the minimum top-up.

A practical thing to know about top-up networks: stablecoin transfers depend on which blockchain you send them on, and transfers on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery. If you top up from a non-Gate wallet, send a small test amount first and confirm it lands, especially if you are using a network other than Ethereum or Tron. The card provider does not control the network fee you pay to send the transfer — that is the blockchain’s own gas or bandwidth, paid in the native token of that network.

The card page has a “Card Balance Withdrawal” section pointing to an announcement that the help centre does not fully describe, and card closure is not stated on the pages reviewed. The card balance is described as linked to a Gate Pay payment account, which is the wallet you would use to spend or withdraw from outside the card.

Paying with the Gate Card Every Day

Once the card is in your wallet, the day-to-day experience is similar to any other Visa or Mastercard, with a few crypto-specific points worth knowing. The card works at any merchant that accepts the network, including online shops, in-store terminals and ATMs. There is a help-centre article on adding the card to Google Pay and Apple Pay, and unofficial reporting says the Classic tier is Google Pay only, while Standard and Signature support both. If mobile wallet support is essential to you, confirm with your specific tier before you apply.

Cashback is the headline feature. The marketing line is “up to 8% cashback on eligible purchases”, and the cap depends on the card tier. The FAQ says rewards are issued as points that can be redeemed for USDT or GT; a banner elsewhere has said cashback in BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC. That inconsistency is a yellow flag, because the on-page description of one product should not be in conflict with itself. Unofficial reporting on the Classic tier lists monthly spend bands and corresponding cashback rates and caps: T0 at 0 USDT monthly spend pays 1% capped at 5 USDT; T1 at 500 USDT pays 1% capped at 50 USDT; T2 at 3,000 USDT pays 2% capped at 100 USDT; T3 at 6,000 USDT pays 3% capped at 150 USDT; T4 at 10,000 USDT pays 5% capped at 250 USDT; T5 at 15,000 USDT pays 8% capped at 400 USDT. The same source says 100 points equal 1 USDT and points do not expire. None of this is on the card page itself.

The cashback programme has been paused before — third-party reporting dates a cashback pause to 19 June 2024 — which is a reminder that a tier system is only as good as the programme that pays it. If you are choosing a card primarily for the cashback, the historic pause is something to weigh.

App and wallet management go through Gate Pay and the Gate app. Unofficial reporting puts the Apple App Store rating (US, the whole exchange app) at 4.3 out of 5 from about 5,200 ratings. Store ratings are not the same as card reliability, but they are one signal of how the surrounding experience feels.

If something goes wrong with a payment, the help centre’s first instruction is to contact the merchant directly, and only if that does not resolve the issue to start a chargeback through Gate, with proof of the merchant conversation. The Standard fee table puts the chargeback processing fee at 30 USD, and the help-centre text on disputes says 25 USD “typically” applies regardless of outcome. The process can take “sometimes up to 3 months”. Pre-authorisation holds — temporary blocks a merchant places when you check in to a hotel or hire a car — are released after the service ends, but the merchant sets the timeline.

Blocked merchant categories are not listed on the public card page, which is a real omission. Many crypto cards block gambling, and some block other categories. If a specific MCC matters to your spending, ask support before you apply.

What Can Go Wrong

Two kinds of risk matter here: the kind that comes from holding funds with a crypto custodian, and the kind that comes from the card product itself.

On the company side, the card page describes Gate Card as “a digital assets credit card offered by Gate”, and the issuer or BIN sponsor is not named on the public pages. Unofficial reporting names Stanhope Financial UAB, an electronic money institution in Lithuania, as the EEA issuer, and Lead Bank, with Bridge as programme manager, as the US issuer. Licences are not listed on the card page. Gate did join the Mastercard Crypto Partner Program, which is a positive signal about the relationship with the network, but it is not a substitute for an issuer licence. Visa and Mastercard do not issue cards to consumers directly; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme — Visa’s termination of the FTX global agreements in November 2022 is the most-cited example of how that can play out.

The exchange itself has a mixed record in user reviews. Trustpilot has gate.com at roughly 3.5 out of 5 from about 121 reviews, with most complaints about non-card services, and gate.io at roughly 1.5 out of 5 from about a thousand reviews, with accounts restricted without explanation and deposits and trading suspended. A third-party figure puts the gate.io score at 1.5 out of 5 from about 1,400 reviews, 77% one-star, mostly on account access, withdrawal checks, verification and support delays. That is an exchange-wide picture, not a card-specific one, but the same legal entity and the same support team are usually behind both. The good news is that card-specific complaints on the official channels are hard to find; the bad news is that the third-party reports include a 2024 cashback pause, a card retained by an ATM with a delayed replacement, a six-day period where card funds were inaccessible, merchant refund delays, five-to-six-week waits for chargeback responses, and cards frozen after small purchases — all in small, unverified samples.

Card-level security controls include the ability to freeze a lost or stolen card “temporarily”, automatic freezing after several wrong PIN entries, a PIN changeable in the Gate Card app, and the warning that a negative card balance “will risk having your card getting permanently blocked”. Custody, two-factor authentication and insurance are not stated on the pages reviewed. The support channel is [email protected] and the Help Center, and neither hours nor languages are published.

If you are new to crypto cards, two background risks are worth keeping in mind. First, a custodian can fail: the larger industry examples are Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million in 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million in 2022). Holding funds on a custodial platform carries counterparty and hack risk that a self-custody wallet does not. Second, the funds you load onto a card issued by an electronic money institution in the EU are safeguarded, but they are not bank deposits, and they may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. In the US, prepaid card coverage varies and should not be assumed.

What to Take Instead

The honest answer to “what should I get instead” depends on what you need. None of the three alternatives below dominates Gate on every axis; each has a different reason to be on your shortlist. I have used the official pages I could read and one well-known third-party directory, and the scores below are from that source, not from my own grading.

Young Card

Young Card is a crypto card with a token-based cashback. The published score is 5.7 out of 10. Country availability, card format, fees and funding options are not stated on the official pages I could read, which means the basics of running the card are not transparent. Where Young Card is interesting is the cashback structure, which is paid in YNG tokens at a rate that depends on the Club tier: Essential pays 0.1%, Gold pays 1.8%, Platinum pays 3.6%, with Bronze and Silver not stated. If a token-denominated cashback and a higher top rate than 8% matter to you, Young Card is the one to read up on. The drawback is the opacity on the operational basics.

MSX

MSX is a more recent entry on the scene, with a published score of 6.4 out of 10. The official pages I could read did not state country availability, card format, fees or funding options, so I cannot tell you how it runs day to day. If you are choosing among less-established options, treat MSX as a card to read more about before applying rather than one to assume parity with Gate on cost or coverage.

Bybit Card

Bybit Card is the most direct comparison to Gate, and the published score is 6.0 out of 10. Country availability is wider and more honestly documented: the help centre lists Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. The cards page is explicit that the product is “not meant for European Economic Area customers” and that “all European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited”, so for an EEA reader the choice is already made. The fiat-service restricted list — which is broader than the card rules — includes Belarus, Russia, Serbia, China and the United States.

Card formats vary by region: virtual and physical in most places, except Peru, where physical is not available. The network is Mastercard prepaid in Argentina and Mastercard credit in the AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Mexico; Visa prepaid in Brazil and Peru; Visa credit in Asia Pacific. The card’s currency is set by your country of residence and the Advanced Identity Verification.

Costs on Bybit are competitive. Virtual card issuance is free “until further notice”, and there is no annual or cancellation fee. Physical card issuance and replacement range from free in Brazil and Mexico to 29.99 USD or USDT in Australia, Georgia, Kazakhstan and Asia Pacific, with VIPs holding those physical cards exempt. Crypto conversion is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina, and Peru does not support it. FX fees are 2% on top of the network rate in the Australia group and Mexico, 2% as an “International Fee” in Kazakhstan on purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil and 1% in Peru. Argentina adds VAT, a 30% tax on foreign transactions and a provincial gross-income tax between 1% and 13.2%, which makes the headline rate much less attractive.

Funding is structured: the Bybit card has no balance of its own, drawing on a Funding Account plus the Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first, and converting crypto at the One-Click Sell rate plus the card’s 0.9% conversion fee when fiat is short. Supported coins are BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM, with a default priority of USDT over USDC over GRAM over BTC over ETH over XRP that you can reorder in the Card Dashboard.

The cashback programme changed on 5 October 2026: from that date only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, and fiat-funded spending does not. Tiers range from Base at 2.00% (5 USD cap, 0 monthly spend to unlock) to Infinite at 10% (600 USD cap, 25,000 USD to unlock), with a 4-calendar-day pending period and cashback paid in USDT. Welcome offer is 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days, with subscription-related bonuses for VIPs and Alpha and above.

Against Gate, Bybit’s advantages are the published country list, the named card programmes and the explicit 10% top cashback rate. Its disadvantages are the EEA exclusion and the slightly higher FX fees in some regions.

Who I Would Recommend the Gate Card To

If you already hold USDT, BTC, ETH or GT on Gate and you want a card that spends that balance with one tap, the Standard card is worth a serious look. The 0.90% conversion, 1.00% non-USD FX and 2% ATM fees are competitive with the rest of the exchange-card market, the issuance and monthly fees are zero, and the help-centre article on Apple Pay and Google Pay is at least a sign that mobile-wallet support is on the radar.

If you do not already use Gate, the case is weaker. The country list is not on the page, the issuer is not named, the cashback page contradicts itself on which coins the rewards are paid in, and the historic cashback pause is a reminder that the headline rate is only as solid as the programme that pays it. A card you are choosing from a standing start, where you do not have an existing exchange relationship to lean on, gives you more transparency elsewhere — Bybit is the obvious comparison, and there are others.

The people I would not push towards Gate Card are: anyone in a country the exchange will not serve, anyone who needs the issuer’s name to appear on the card or in the agreement, anyone whose primary interest is a high published cashback rate and who cannot afford for that programme to be paused, and anyone spending mostly in fiat (in which case a regular debit card is cheaper and simpler). For everyone else, the answer is “yes, but check your country first, read the fee table in the app, and start with the virtual card to confirm the funding flow before you wait 7 to 45 days for the physical one.”

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Gate Card?

Gate Card is a payment card offered by the Gate crypto exchange. It draws on a balance funded by the crypto you hold on the exchange, either converting at the moment of payment (Instant Spend Mode) or from a prepaid fiat balance loaded in advance. It is not a bank account, and the funds you load are held by the card issuer, not by Gate directly.

How does the Gate Card work?

You hold USDT, BTC, ETH or GT on Gate, and the card converts the chosen coin into the merchant’s currency at the point of payment. The conversion fee is 0.90% on transactions of 2 USD or more, with 0.05 USD on smaller payments. A prepaid mode is also available, where you convert crypto to fiat first and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw.

Is Gate a bank?

No. Gate is a crypto exchange, and Gate Card is a card product tied to that exchange. The card itself is issued by a licensed institution, which the public card page does not name; unofficial reporting identifies Stanhope Financial UAB in the EEA and Lead Bank in the US, with Bridge as programme manager. Your funds on the card are safeguarded, not deposit-insured.

Who owns Gate?

Gate.com is operated by Gate, a crypto exchange founded in 2013 and one of the larger exchanges by trading volume. The card product is a partnership with a licensed card issuer, and the public card page does not name the issuer or list its licences. Names and licences are likely to vary by region.

Is Gate Card available in my country?

The card page only says “non-restricted countries or regions”, and does not publish the list. Unofficial reporting lists 24 European countries (Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden) and treats the US, UK, Germany, France and Canada as not supported. The only reliable test is to start the application in the Gate app and see if your country is accepted.

How do I apply for Gate Card?

Open or sign in to a Gate account, complete Level 2 KYC, then apply for the virtual or physical card from inside the Gate app. The card application must use the same ID as the Gate KYC, and you will be asked for ID, facial information and an address. The Instant Virtual Card is typically reviewed in 3–5 minutes.

Does Gate Card require KYC?

Yes. You must complete Level 2 identity verification before applying, which means providing an ID document and, for some card types, a proof of address from the last three months. The card application is matched to the same ID as the Gate KYC, so a clean KYC on the exchange side is a prerequisite.

Is the Gate Card free?

The Standard card has no issuance, monthly or inactivity fees. You do pay 0.90% on crypto conversion for transactions of 2 USD or more, 0.05 USD on smaller transactions, 1.00% on non-USD foreign exchange and 2% on ATM withdrawals. A replacement card costs 25 USD and a chargeback processing fee of around 25 to 30 USD applies if you dispute a transaction.

How do I add the Gate Card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

There is a help-centre article on adding the card to Google Pay and Apple Pay, though the article body was not reviewed for this page. Unofficial reporting says the Classic tier is Google Pay only, while the Standard and Signature tiers support both. Confirm the specific tier you are on before relying on a mobile wallet.

Is the Gate Card safe?

The card supports freeze-on-lost, automatic freezing after repeated wrong PIN entries, a changeable PIN in the app, and the usual 3-D Secure confirmation on online payments. Custody, 2FA and insurance are not described on the public pages. Funds loaded onto a card issued by an electronic money institution are safeguarded but are not bank deposits and are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. The exchange itself has a mixed user-review profile, with the gate.io Trustpilot score at about 1.5 out of 5; most complaints relate to exchange services rather than the card, but the same entity is behind both.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team