A close look at Spendl: who it is built for, what it costs, and where it falls short

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Spendl is a South African product that turns twelve crypto assets into rand and lets you spend the result with a virtual or physical card. The pitch is simple: load crypto, get a ZAR balance, swipe a card. The reality is narrower, because every part of the service is built around South Africa. The card is only issued to people who can complete South African KYC, ships only across South Africa, and the only fiat on the card is the rand. If you live anywhere else, this is not your card. If you live in South Africa, it is a real option, but one that comes with a monthly fee, a fairly heavy international-transaction charge, and some genuinely confusing documentation about who qualifies for which plan.

Spendl works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through Spendl’s official pages, the terms and the programme information to put together this review. I have not used the card myself; what follows is what the documents say, where they are clear, and where they are not.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Spendl earns 5.0 out of 10. That is a below-average score for a crypto card, and the breakdown explains why. The product itself is well-structured for a single market: there is a real company behind it (registered and FSCA-listed in South Africa), twelve crypto assets convert to ZAR, you get both virtual and physical cards, and the bank-issued card is processed by a licensed payments partner. The trouble is that the product is locked to one country, the fee structure on top of that is heavy enough to sting on a regular basis, and several pieces of the puzzle are simply not stated in the public pages.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Spendl starts with a transfer to the right network

Here is how the score breaks down across the criteria I weighted:

Criterion Mark Why it matters
Who can get it 2 / 10 South Africa only; residents and foreign nationals with valid KYC; one of three plans excludes SA nationals
Cost 3 / 10 R99 card, R100 replacement, R25 monthly, R45 + 1.56% international fee, ATM fees layered on top
Top-up options 7 / 10 12 assets convert to ZAR (BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, SOL, AVAX, BNB, LINK, TRX, XRP, DOGE, SHIB), plus fiat channels
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Registered South African company, FSP and CASP-listed, partner is a registered payments provider; no public complaints found
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual and physical card, ATM access, but no Apple Pay / Google Pay confirmation, PWA app only
Total 5.0 / 10

The card is built for a specific audience: South African residents who want a rand card funded by crypto, are comfortable with the monthly fee, and don’t need to travel much internationally. If that is you, Spendl does the job. If you are anywhere else, the gate is shut before you even get to the fees.

Who will they give you the Spendl card

The single most important fact about Spendl is also the most limiting: it is a South African product, end to end. The official shop page says the card “ships across South Africa”, and the application form asks for your country of residence and nationality. The KYC is built for South African documents, and while the form does accept foreign nationals, the plan you end up on depends on where you actually live and what you can prove.

Three plans are listed, each tied to a KYC tier. The relationship is what matters here, because each tier carries different limits, and you cannot easily switch once you are on the wrong one. Smart is the lowest tier (KYC 2), Savvy is the middle tier (KYC 3) and is currently marked “Coming Soon”, and Guru is the top tier (KYC 4) and is marked as the “Popular Plan”. Spendl’s own pages disagree about who is allowed on which plan: the KYC guide for Smart says “No SA Nationals”, while the card-plans page says Smart is for foreign nationals and non-RSA users, Savvy is for both RSA residents and foreign nationals, and Guru is for RSA users. The Guru plan for a foreign national asks for a passport, a work permit and proof of residence, which is a meaningful barrier if you do not have a South African work permit.

Identity requirements are spelled out in the KYC section of the information pages. You need a South African ID Smart Card (front and back) or a passport, plus a proof of residence: a utility bill, bank statement, municipal rates account or signed lease, with your full name and a physical street address, not older than three months, no PO Box, and under 10 MB to upload. The minimum age is not stated, but the form asks for a date of birth, so you should expect an adult-only product. Processing is usually quick (“Most verifications are completed within minutes”), with some cases taking up to 24 hours. Rejections are typically down to name mismatches, blurry or cropped images, an old or wrongly-named proof of address, PO Boxes, or inaccurate information that “may lead to permanent suspension”.

What the card is, physically, is a little less clear. The official pages do not name the network: the marketing copy says it “works anywhere a supported networked card is accepted”, and the terms say the network is “a major payment Network” disclosed on the Website. An unofficial third-party article (TechCentral, date not shown) describes it as a Visa debit card, but I would not rely on that as a confirmation. The card is loaded in rand, which is the only currency it holds; multi-currency balances are not stated.

How to get it

The sign-up flow has three steps: sign up in the app, complete KYC, then order the card in the shop. The shop sells a single card for R99.00, and you can only order one per order. The card is available in both virtual and physical form on every plan, and you choose which to order at the checkout.

If you only signed up for the Spendl Wallet (a crypto wallet without a card) and later want to add a card, the wallet-to-card upgrade triggers an extra KYC step, so it is not instant. This is worth knowing if you are trying Spendl’s wallet first to see how it feels before committing to the card application.

Replacement cards cost R100.00, and the terms say replacements “typically take 5 to 10 Business Days”. Delivery time and cost for a first card are not stated. Spendl ships across South Africa; the wording does not commit to a specific courier or a guaranteed timeframe, so if timing matters to you, treat it as a variable rather than a fixed lead time.

A quick note on the app: Spendl is a progressive web app at app.spendl.money, not a native app. There is no App Store or Google Play listing, so there are no store ratings to look at (read on 2026-10-21). For some people that is a deal-breaker; for others it is a non-issue. It does mean that biometric login, push notifications and OS-level integrations are less reliable than they would be on a native app, and you will likely be using a browser-based shortcut on your home screen rather than a downloaded app.

What it really costs (fees)

Spendl is not free to keep, and that is the first thing to budget for. There is a card purchase price, a monthly fee, an international transaction fee, and a layered set of ATM charges. Crypto conversion is advertised as “transparent” but the actual amount is not published; you see it before you confirm the conversion. That is fair, but it does mean you cannot model the cost in advance.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Spendl payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is the published fee schedule for card spending and funding:

Fee or limit Amount
Card price R99.00 (one card per order)
Replacement card R100.00
Monthly fee R25.00 (listed for Savvy and Guru; Smart not listed)
Crypto conversion “A small transparent fee may apply”, shown before you confirm
International POS fee R45.00 + 1.56% of transaction value
International POS decline R17.50
Local ATM withdrawal R12.50 + R2.50 per R100 or part thereof
Local ATM balance enquiry R6.75
International ATM withdrawal R100.00
International ATM balance enquiry R12.00
International ATM decline R20.00
Deposit from card issuer R1.20
Deposit from outside source R2.75
Instant deposit R12.00
SWIFT deposit R55.00
Daily POS limit (Savvy / Guru) R20,000.00 / R100,000.00
Daily ATM limit (Savvy / Guru) R5,000.00 / R10,000.00
Per-transaction ATM (both) R2,000.00
Per-transaction POS (Savvy / Guru) R10,000.00 / R50,000.00
Maximum daily spend (Savvy / Guru) R25,000.00 / R100,000.00
Maximum monthly spend (Savvy / Guru) R100,000.00 / R500,000.00
Maximum monthly balance (Savvy / Guru) R25,000.00 / R500,000.00
Monthly EFT (Savvy / Guru) R20,000.00 / R50,000.00
Smart plan monthly spend R25,000.00

The monthly fee is the line that surprises people. R25.00 per month is R300.00 a year, on top of the R99.00 you pay for the card itself. If you are using the card heavily, that is easy to absorb. If you only use it occasionally, it is a noticeable drag on the value.

International use is the most expensive area. The R45.00 + 1.56% on every international transaction is a serious mark-up; if you spend, say, R1,000.00 abroad, you are paying R60.60 before any FX spread. A declined international transaction is R17.50, which adds friction on top of the cost. This is not a card you would want to take on holiday, and that is probably the point: Spendl is positioned as a domestic ZAR card, not a travel card.

ATM use is structured in a way that gets expensive fast. The local fee of R12.50 plus R2.50 per R100 (or part thereof) is on a sliding scale: a R250 withdrawal is R12.50 + R7.50 = R20.00, a R1,000 withdrawal is R12.50 + R25.00 = R37.50. International ATM withdrawals are R100.00 flat, which is punitive. There is no free allowance stated for any of this.

For everyday South African spending, the picture is more reasonable: domestic POS transactions do not appear to carry a published transaction fee, only the monthly R25.00 to keep the card open. The cost only really bites when you cross the border or step away from a till.

How to top it up

Topping up Spendl is a two-step process: you fund your Spendl Wallet, and the card is loaded from that wallet. The card does not spend directly from a crypto balance, so you always end up with rand on the card after a conversion.

Twelve assets can be converted into ZAR: BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, SOL, AVAX, BNB, LINK, TRX, XRP, DOGE and SHIB. That is a reasonable list; you have the majors, the two biggest stablecoins, and a spread of altcoins, but no other stablecoins, no euro-pegged tokens, and no on-ramps that would let a non-crypto user start from scratch with a single balance. The networks for each asset are not listed in the public pages I read, so before you send, you have to confirm the supported network through the app or support. Send on the wrong network and the transfer may be lost; crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and recovery is not guaranteed. The minimum crypto top-up is R10 or the asset minimum, whichever is greater, and the per-asset minimums are: BTC 0.000008, ETH 0.0002, USDC 0.6, USDT 0.6, SOL 0.003, XRP 0.8, AVAX 0.03, BNB 0.0008, DOGE 3, LINK 0.04, TRX 2. SHIB has no listed minimum. The crypto deposit fee and who pays the network fee are not stated.

Fiat funding is broader. You can fund the wallet with a card, PayShap, RTC, EFT, cash at participating tills, and Zapper QR. The fees here are: receive from card issuer R1.20, from an outside source R2.75, instant deposit R12.00, and SWIFT deposit R55.00. So if you are moving money in from a regular South African bank account via EFT, the deposit fee is R2.75. The instant deposit is the more expensive option for when you need the balance immediately.

There is no way to send crypto from Spendl to a third-party wallet, and no way to convert ZAR back into crypto on the platform. ZAR can leave only by EFT to a named, compliant bank account. If you close the account, the residual balance is generally returned within 30 days, less any fees, holdbacks and amounts owed, and sanctions or AML holds can delay that further. In practice, this is a card-funded-by-crypto product, not a full crypto banking account, and Spendl is not positioned as a custodian of standalone crypto holdings; the company explicitly says it is not a custodian of standalone crypto.

Paying with it every day

The card works in two forms: virtual and physical, both available on every plan. The virtual card is the one you can use immediately after KYC, and the physical one follows by post to a South African address. Where you can use it depends on the merchant: a “major payment Network” is referenced, and the unofficial third-party article describes it as Visa, so the working assumption is that it works wherever Visa works, but Spendl does not confirm this in its official pages.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned in the terms or the documentation. If those matter to you, treat them as unsupported until Spendl says otherwise. The same goes for blocked merchant categories: Spendl does not publish a list of MCCs that are restricted, which is a gap compared to cards that publish a clear policy on gambling, crypto purchases, or adult content.

Rewards are structured as XP, points, levels, streaks and a leaderboard. There is no cashback, and the rewards carry no stated monetary value. That is not a problem if you are using the card for utility, but it does mean Spendl is not trying to win users on the strength of a rewards programme.

For disputes, the process is: notify Spendl promptly with evidence, typically within 30 to 60 days of posting. Disputes run through the Programme Partner under the card network’s rules, and the terms warn that chargeback abuse can bring higher fees, a reserve requirement, restrictions or termination. If you have a real problem with a transaction, the path exists; you just have to be the one to raise it.

What can go wrong

There are a few categories of risk worth thinking through, and Spendl is fairly transparent about most of them, even where the news is not great.

Company and regulatory position. Spendl is operated by Light Fusion (Pty) Ltd t/a Spendl Technologies, registered in Cape Town (reg. no. 2023/154151/07). The company holds FSP No. 53757 with the Financial Sector Conduct Authority, an FIC ID of 74993, and is described as “an FSCA-exempt Crypto Asset Service Provider (CASP)”. The payments partner is Payaccsys Services (Pty) Ltd, described as “A Registered SO & TPPP” with FIC ID 69498. The card itself is issued and processed by a licensed third-party “Programme Partner”, but the issuing bank is not named in the public documents. This is standard for a programme-manager setup, but it does mean Spendl is not itself the bank; the bank behind the card is somewhere in the partner chain.

Custodial risk and insurance. Your ZAR balance is held in a pooled client account at the Programme Partner. Spendl’s terms say these funds are “not deposits at a registered bank in SPENDL’s name” and that there is no statutory deposit insurance. Spendl is also “not a custodian of standalone crypto holdings”, which means the company is not holding your BTC or ETH; it is converting and accounting for them. The result is that, if the Programme Partner failed, your ZAR balance would be a pooled client claim, not a guaranteed deposit, and the recovery process would be the one set out in the partner’s terms. This is a real category of risk for any prepaid-style card, and it is not unique to Spendl.

Security features. The card can be blocked on request, and there is a fraud hotline at 011 207 1600. The terms do not mention 2FA or an in-app freeze button, both of which are standard on competitor cards, so I would not assume either is available until you see it in the app yourself. There is no public statement about biometric login or device binding.

Complaints. No official incidents are published, and I did not find any user reports or news stories in a search for reviews on 2026-10-21; no Trustpilot page and no Reddit threads surfaced. That is not the same as a clean record (the absence of a public review footprint can also mean a small user base), but it is a neutral signal rather than a red one.

Support. The support email is [email protected]. Standard hours are stated as 08:00 to 17:00 South African time, Monday to Friday, but this is given for B2B support; the card support hours are not stated. If you run into a problem outside those hours, the fraud hotline is the route that is explicitly open.

A general note on prepaid-style cards, applicable to Spendl in the same way as to its peers. Card programmes can be suspended by the network or the issuer, and when that happens the typical pattern is a notice period, then a stop on new loads, then a stop on spending, then a request to withdraw the remaining balance. One secondary source reported a 2026 closure that followed that pattern (new loads ended 8 July 2026, spending stopped 8 August 2026), but that is a single unconfirmed source and is not about Spendl. It is included only to make the point that no card programme is permanent.

What to take instead

Spendl is not the right card for everyone, and the alternatives below are listed for the readers who do not fit Spendl’s profile. The scores are summary numbers from my own reviews, not from Spendl.

International Visa Card (6.7 / 10). This is a US-issued Visa product that works in a much wider set of countries than Spendl, although it is also restricted. The issuer does not serve residents of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, and FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The card is a US-issued Platinum Visa, currently virtual only (physical is “coming soon”), and pays in USD. The virtual card costs $5 one-time to issue, and there is no maintenance fee; the free Classic plan covers basic use, Pro is $9.00/month and Max is $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on all plans, and foreign currency uses “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”. Funding is USDC or USDT into the USD account free at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits; deposits of any kind are free. There is no cashback.

UNi Card (6.1 / 10). A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, with the account balance held in UNi.Global. Availability is not stated, so the eligibility question is open. There is no annual fee, the cardholder faces no foreign transaction fee, and assets are converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates” with “no hidden exchange fees”. Rewards are Spend-to-Earn, up to 3% with UNi Card. The funding side is not stated, which is a gap, and the card type (physical, virtual, or both) is not stated either.

Whop Cards (5.2 / 10). A Visa product aimed at US consumers in 31 states and businesses in 41 states; the consumer blocked list includes Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The cards are issued on the Visa network and work anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores. Whop says “No extra fees”, with no issuance or monthly amounts published, and no conversion or FX fee amounts stated. Funding is from a Whop balance, where pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives and standard withdrawals use settled funds; backing is stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, but the coins and networks are not stated. The reward is 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber, with more planned), and the payout currency and conditions are not stated.

The pattern across these alternatives is that none of them combine Spendl’s local-South-African footprint with a fully stated fee schedule, a clear crypto-asset list and a published monthly fee. The closest match in structure is the International Visa Card, but that is a US-dollar product, not a rand product. If your anchor is rand and South African KYC, Spendl is the more direct fit; if your anchor is international availability, the alternatives widen the map considerably.

Who I would recommend Spendl to

Spendl is a real product, with a real company, a real regulatory footprint in South Africa, and a real card on a real payment network. The 5.0 score is not a damning verdict; it is a recognition that the constraints around it are heavy and the fees are not trivial. Where it fits, it fits well.

The clearest use case is a South African resident who holds crypto, wants a rand-denominated card to spend at home, and is comfortable paying R25.00 per month to keep the card open plus a R99.00 one-off cost for the card. For a household that does most of its spending domestically and only occasionally needs an ATM, the economics work out. The Smart plan gives you R25,000.00 of monthly spend with a smaller KYC burden; the Guru plan opens the door to R500,000.00 of monthly spend, R100,000.00 of daily POS and R50,000.00 per POS transaction, but the plan list is also the place where the page contradictions (around who qualifies for which tier) are sharpest, so I would check the live requirements before you commit.

The card is the wrong fit if you travel internationally and want to use the same card abroad: the R45.00 + 1.56% international transaction fee is a serious drag, and the R100.00 international ATM withdrawal is a hard reason not to use it overseas. It is the wrong fit if you live outside South Africa: the card is not issued to you, and the application form’s KYC and document requirements are built around South African ID and South African proof of residence. It is the wrong fit if you want to hold multiple currencies on the card: only ZAR is on the card, and multi-currency balances are not stated. And it is the wrong fit if Apple Pay and Google Pay are central to how you pay, since neither is confirmed in the official pages.

If you are a South African user who can live with those constraints, Spendl is a workable crypto-funded rand card with a clear company behind it and a reasonable asset list. If any of those constraints are deal-breakers for you, the alternatives above give you a wider set of options, with their own trade-offs in turn.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Spendl card?

The Spendl card is a prepaid-style ZAR card operated by Light Fusion (Pty) Ltd t/a Spendl Technologies, a South African FSCA-listed company, with the card itself issued and processed by a licensed third-party Programme Partner. You fund a Spendl Wallet with one of twelve crypto assets (BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, SOL, AVAX, BNB, LINK, TRX, XRP, DOGE, SHIB), convert to rand, and the card spends the resulting ZAR balance. A virtual and a physical card are both available on every plan, and the card is restricted to South Africa for both issuance and shipping.

Is Spendl a bank?

No. Spendl is a payments and crypto services company, not a bank. The terms are explicit that your ZAR balance is held in a pooled client account at the Programme Partner, is “not deposits at a registered bank in SPENDL’s name”, and has no statutory deposit insurance. Spendl is also described as “not a custodian of standalone crypto holdings”. The card itself is issued and processed by a licensed third-party Programme Partner; the issuing bank is not named in the public documents.

How do I get a Spendl card?

The sign-up flow is: sign up in the Spendl app, complete KYC (South African ID Smart Card or passport, plus a recent proof of residence showing your physical address and not older than three months), then order the card in the shop for R99.00 (one card per order). Most verifications complete in minutes, with some taking up to 24 hours. If you start with the Spendl Wallet only and later add a card, an extra KYC step is required.

Does Spendl require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification is required before a card can be ordered. The standard documents are a South African ID Smart Card (front and back) or a passport, plus a proof of residence such as a utility bill, bank statement, municipal rates account or signed lease, with your full name, a physical street address (no PO Box), not older than three months, and under 10 MB to upload. Three KYC tiers exist (Smart, Savvy, Guru), each tied to a plan and a different set of spending limits. The official pages disagree on which tier accepts South African nationals versus foreign nationals, so it is worth confirming the live requirements before you apply.

How do I top up the Spendl card?

Top-ups go through the Spendl Wallet. You can convert one of twelve crypto assets to ZAR, with minimums of R10 or the per-asset minimum (for example, 0.0002 ETH, 0.6 USDC, 0.6 USDT, 0.003 SOL, 0.8 XRP). Networks are not listed in the public pages, so confirm the supported network in the app before sending. You can also fund the wallet in rand via card, PayShap, RTC, EFT, cash at participating tills or Zapper QR, with deposit fees ranging from R1.20 (card issuer) to R55.00 (SWIFT). The card is loaded from the wallet, not spent directly from a crypto balance.

Can I add the Spendl card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?

The official Spendl pages do not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay. Treat both as unsupported until Spendl publishes an integration. The app itself is a progressive web app at app.spendl.money with no App Store or Google Play listing (read on 2026-10-21), so any mobile-wallet support would be a separate announcement rather than something to assume is on the way.

Is the Spendl card free?

No. The card itself is R99.00 (one card per order), the monthly fee is R25.00 on the Savvy and Guru plans, replacement is R100.00, and there are separate fees for international transactions (R45.00 + 1.56% per transaction), ATM use (R12.50 + R2.50 per R100 locally, R100.00 internationally) and fiat deposits (R1.20 to R55.00 depending on the channel). The crypto conversion fee is described as “a small transparent fee” that you see before you confirm; the amount is not published in advance. The domestic POS fee schedule is not published, so day-to-day local spending carries only the monthly R25.00 plus the cost of converting crypto to rand.

Is the Spendl card safe?

Spendl is operated by a registered South African company (Light Fusion (Pty) Ltd t/a Spendl Technologies) and is described as an FSCA-exempt Crypto Asset Service Provider, with an FSCA-licensed payments partner. The fraud hotline is 011 207 1600. The ZAR balance is held in a pooled client account at the Programme Partner, not in a bank account in Spendl’s name, and is not covered by statutory deposit insurance. Spendl explicitly says it is “not a custodian of standalone crypto holdings”. The terms do not mention 2FA or an in-app freeze, so I would not assume either is available until you see it in the app.

Can I use the Spendl card outside South Africa?

The card is denominated in rand and ships only within South Africa, but international transactions are allowed on the Savvy and Guru plans, with the International POS fee of R45.00 + 1.56% of the transaction value (and a R17.50 decline fee on failed international authorisations). International ATM withdrawals are R100.00 flat. Given the cost, this is a card you would use for international spending only if you had a specific reason to, not as a travel card. The international availability of the card as a product is not the same as the cost-effective use of it abroad.

How do I withdraw money from Spendl or close the account?

ZAR can leave Spendl only by EFT to a named, compliant bank account. You cannot send crypto from Spendl to a third-party wallet, and you cannot convert ZAR back into crypto on the platform. If you close the account, the residual balance is generally returned within 30 days, less fees, holdbacks and amounts owed; sanctions or AML holds can delay this further. For disputes on card transactions, the process is to notify Spendl promptly with evidence, typically within 30 to 60 days of posting, and disputes run through the Programme Partner under the card network’s rules.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team