Convenient on the surface, silent on the details: my read of the UPay card

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have struggled to get an ordinary bank card, a crypto card sounds like the obvious way around that problem: load money from a wallet, spend it in a shop, and nobody asks for a salary slip. UPay is one of the names in that category, and on paper it does a lot of the right things — virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, spending from a balance funded with BTC, ETH or USDT, and a stated reach of more than 180 countries. But when I went through its public pages with the care you would give to anything holding your money, one thing stood out more than the feature list: the pages that should tell you what things cost were blank. No official fees, no limits, no issuer name, no country list. Third-party sites fill in some of those blanks, and they do not agree with each other.

UPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

That tension is the whole review, really. Convenience you can see, terms you have to take on trust or reconstruct from other people’s articles. My score is 6.1 out of 10 — mid-table, and pulled down by disclosure rather than by anything the card demonstrably does wrong.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: 6.1 out of 10, and who it suits

UPay is a well-built front end for people who already hold crypto and want to spend it like cash. If you keep USDT or USDC, want a card that works in Apple Pay the moment it arrives, and do not mind finding out the fee schedule by experiment rather than by reading, the everyday experience is likely to be good — the daily-use side of this card is its strongest suit. What I cannot give you is a clear answer on what it costs you per year or per payment, because UPay’s own pages do not publish that. For anyone on a tight budget, in a country where fees are the deciding factor, or who needs a card that is unquestionably recognised at a specific shop, that silence is disqualifying.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up UPay starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Support is claimed in 180+ countries, with some countries excluded; third-party sites say “over 150 countries”
Cost 4 / 10 Not disclosed officially; third-party figures conflict — virtual $10 or Stellar $50, physical $100, top-up 2% or 3%
Top-up options 6 / 10 Wallet top-up with BTC, ETH or USDT, USDC also listed among supported coins; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD (Denver), MSB / MSO / VASP In-Principle Approval licences, issuer unnamed; Trustpilot 3.3 from 1 review, complaints about freezes and false PEP flags
Everyday use 9 / 10 Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, ATMs mentioned, fee not disclosed
Total 6.1 / 10 Good to use, poor to read

A word on who I built that verdict for. If you are someone the banking system has turned away — no local card, no usable bank account, crypto held in an exchange wallet — then the thing to weigh is not the score but the disclosure row. This card asks you to hand over identity documents, keep a balance with a provider, and accept that you may not be able to find out what a payment costs before you make it. That trade can still be worth it, and for many readers it is. It should just be made knowingly.

Will they give you the card?

Almost certainly to most people, and that is the surprising part. UPay states support in more than 180 countries, while saying it does not serve residents of certain countries, and it warns that the list can change with regulatory or issuer policy. That last sentence is the honest one: your eligibility is not fixed by the website, it is set downstream by whoever actually issues the card.

The country list itself is not published. That is the practical limit of what I can tell you. What UPay does publish is the shape of the identity check: the KYC partner accepts only identity documents issued by the same country as the user. So the answer to “can I use UPay card in my country” is not really about the 180 figure — it is about whether a document from your country of issue is accepted, and whether your country of residence sits on a restricted list nobody has made public.

Here is where I would stop guessing and look for yourself. Third-party sites say “over 150 countries” with the US, Germany, France, Argentina and Canada given as examples (Finbold, 20 Jul 2026), and TechBullion says “at least 168 countries” on an undated piece that reads as company-friendly. Both are unofficial, neither is confirmed by UPay, and both describe availability as depending on your location, eligibility and the specific product. Where a crypto card is concerned, “accepted in” and “available to residents of” are different sentences, and much of the online noise confuses them.

One more thing to be aware of: another review aggregator warns of a name collision with unrelated UPay entities. There is more than one company trading under something like this name, so check that you are reading and downloading from the same domain throughout.

How to get it

The sequence UPay publishes is short and ordinary: create an account and verify your identity, choose and apply for a card, fund the wallet, spend. Nothing exotic in the flow itself.

Identity verification runs through a provider called Sumsub. It takes five to ten minutes. You need an identity document, and it must have been issued by the same country as you are. Two things it does not tell you: whether proof of address is needed, and what minimum age applies. It also describes a single KYC level — one check, not a ladder — so there is no published upgrade path and no published list of reasons a check can fail. If a rejection happens to you, you are reading the answer out of a support ticket.

What you get is a choice of virtual or physical card, in a personal or business version. The card network is not named on the pages I read, and the card currencies are USD, EUR, AED and others — payments are converted into those. Delivery is another blank: a physical card option is mentioned, but no countries, no time, no cost. I would not order a physical card expecting it to arrive; ask support first, in writing, and keep the answer.

The unofficial picture is messier than the official one. For the Stellar virtual card, one site describes email, phone and an identity document as the requirements, with no proof of address and no selfie, while another says KYC is mandatory through the wallet app (The Coin Republic, Jun 2026). On the network, third parties disagree outright: Visa per PayAtlas, “wherever Mastercard is accepted” per Finbold in July 2026, both Visa and Mastercard per The Coin Republic in June 2026, Visa virtual Stellar per cryptocards.so. Take none of that as settled. If the network matters to you — because of a specific merchant, or because of how your bank treats the payment — ask, and get the answer in writing before you fund anything.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the weak point, and I want to be blunt rather than tidy: UPay does not publish its costs. Not the issuance fee, not the monthly fee, not the conversion fee, not the foreign-exchange spread, not the ATM fee, not the daily or monthly limits. The card page says only that a conversion may occur during payment depending on the network and settlement. That is not a fee schedule; it is a warning label. The help centre’s terms page is a stub listing topic titles with no figures behind them, and there is no published tier structure — the card and home pages name only “personal and business” and “virtual and physical”.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a UPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card states
Issuance Not stated
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion Not stated; the card page says conversion may occur during payment depending on the network and settlement
FX / foreign-currency payments Not stated; marketing says “without the need for currency conversion” while the disclaimer says conversion between digital assets and fiat may occur during payment
ATM The home page says the card can be used at ATMs; fee and allowance not stated
Daily limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated
Tiers None named; only “personal and business”, “virtual and physical”

Now the third-party figures, which are unofficial and mutually inconsistent — read them as a warning about how much the answer might move, not as a schedule. Finbold in July 2026 reports $10 issuance for a virtual card and a $100 activation fee for physical Premier, Platinum and Precious tiers, with no annual fees on those. cryptocards.so, undated, puts issuance at $50 for the Stellar virtual card with no monthly fee. On charges, Finbold describes a 2% recharge fee on virtual cards, 1% on Precious, a flat 1% transaction fee on Premier virtual with “no deposit or cross-border fees”, and a 1.5% transaction fee on UPay Wallet, alongside an advertised “no FX fees” policy. cryptocards.so, undated, says Stellar card top-up is 3% with 1% FX. Figures conflict. Even the recharge number — 2% versus 3% — is not settled, and that is one of the fees you would pay most often.

On limits, the same split appears: cryptocards.so states $20,000 daily spend and unlimited monthly for the Stellar virtual card (an unofficial figure), while Finbold in July 2026 says there are no limits. I would plan around the tighter figure rather than the looser one.

What this means for you in practice: treat your first month as a measurement. Make a handful of small payments — a coffee, a supermarket shop, one online subscription — and compare the amounts on your statement against what you expected. If the arithmetic looks off, that is not your mistake; it is the absence of a published rate. And keep in mind the category rule behind all of this: the network fee for the on-chain deposit you make to top up is charged by the blockchain, not by UPay, so your real cost of spending a stablecoin includes that layer too.

How to top it up

Official answer, in one line: you top up the wallet with BTC, ETH or USDT. USDC is also listed among supported coins. The wallet then converts or holds that balance and the card spends from it — the pre-loaded balance model, where the card can only spend what is already there and cannot overdraw. That is a genuinely useful property if you are used to cards that let a balance drift.

What is missing is the part you need most: the networks. UPay does not say which chain to send on for any of those coins, so there is no official way to know whether your USDT should go over Ethereum, Tron, Solana or something else. This is the single most expensive gap on this page, and it is worth pausing on. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. So the sensible order is: find out the supported network before you send anything, confirm the deposit address character by character, and keep a record of the transaction hash. You do not need to guess the network — you can ask support — but you cannot guess it safely.

Minimums, top-up fees and any fiat option are also not stated anywhere on the card page, the home page or the help centre. On fiat entry, an unofficial source (Finbold, Jul 2026) says wallet top-ups can come from a bank account or an eligible Visa or Mastercard, and cryptocards.so lists BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC and DOGE for the Stellar card. Networks: still not found anywhere.

Withdrawing is the other half of this story and there is no page about it. I found nothing on taking the balance back out, and nothing on closing the account. If you hold funds here, that asymmetry matters: the documented way in is several lines long, the documented way out does not exist on the pages I read. Ask what the withdrawal route, the fee and the minimum are before you load more than you would mind losing for a week.

Paying with it every day

This is where the card is at its best, and I would rather say so plainly than hedge the whole review. You get virtual and physical cards, and Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay linking is stated on the home page. That combination — a card you can add to a phone wallet immediately, whatever your banking history — is the reason this category exists, and UPay delivers it. Merchant blocking is not stated, so I cannot promise any shop will take it, but nothing is advertised as blocked either.

One technical note worth having in your head, because it explains the odd declines people report. When you add a card to Apple Pay, the card number is replaced by a device-specific number held in the Secure Element, not on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. Your card issuer can restrict that tokenised number — block it for online use, for contactless, or for a particular region. That is a normal issuer power, and it is one reason reports circulate of Apple Pay being unavailable on some cards or in some regions. It is not something you did wrong.

On ATM withdrawals, the home page says the card works at ATMs and nothing more. Unofficially, The Coin Republic (Jun 2026) says withdrawals are possible with no fee amount given, Hackernoon (2025) mentions domestic and overseas ATMs with no figure, and cryptocards.so says ATM withdrawals are not supported on the Stellar virtual card at all. If cash is part of your plan, treat it as unconfirmed.

Two smaller things. No cashback is stated on the card page; the home page lists a product called “Earn While You Sleep” with a title and nothing more, which I would not count on. Apps are linked from upay.com for the App Store, Google Play and a direct APK download — an APK is a file you install yourself, so treat it accordingly — but I found no rating and no number of ratings anywhere. And on disputes, the FAQ page returned a page error and the help centre terms is a stub, so how a chargeback would actually be handled here is not documented. On a prepaid card, do not assume the US debit-card reversal rights or credit-card protections you would have with a bank account; prepaid coverage varies and is not guaranteed.

What can go wrong

The serious risks here are operational, not technical. UPay does not publish official incident information, so the picture comes from user reports and reviews — and those are worth taking seriously precisely because the provider publishes nothing to check them against.

A June 2026 report describes reviews as mixed: praise for speed and easy crypto deposits, and complaints about verification, accounts frozen mid-transaction with identity documents requested, and false PEP flags with no appeal route. That last one deserves an explanation, because PEP flags scare people. A “politically exposed person” flag is a routine part of anti-money-laundering screening, intended to catch officials, relatives of officials and people close to them. It is not an accusation of wrongdoing. But a flag that fires wrongly, on someone with no obvious connection to public office, and comes with no appeal path, can end your access to your own balance over an administrative error — and that is what the reports describe.

The aggregator cryptocards.so, unverified as a source, cites Trustpilot and Google Play ratings of roughly 2.5 to 2.8 stars, app crashes after an update, and a support bot with no escalation route. Trustpilot for upay.com, read on 2026-10-20, showed 3.3 out of 5 from a single review — a two-star review about a KYC failure involving a Palau digital-residency ID. One review is not a track record, but it is a sample, and it involves the identity rule I flagged earlier: a document issued by a different country than your own does not pass. Other Trustpilot pages for upay.best show 2.5 from 19 reviews, and The Coin Republic in June 2026 cites 2.6 from 19 for Upay Technology Limited — note the domain differs, so treat that with care. Broader user themes across 2026 include false PEP flags, unsupported ID document types, temporary account restrictions after deposits, Apple Pay unavailability on some cards or regions, declined transactions, delayed refunds and unclear fees. That last two, declined payments and unclear charges, are exactly what you would expect from a provider that publishes no fee table.

Now the entity behind it, because this is the part to read twice. The operator is UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., listed in Denver, Colorado, USA, with the address garbled on the site. Licences named are MSO (Hong Kong), VASP Lithuania at “In-Principle Approval” stage, MSB in the United States and MSB in Canada. The issuer bank is not named, and neither is the network. “In-Principle Approval” is not a full authorisation. And The Coin Republic, in a June 2026 item about UPay expanding its crypto spending options with BTC, ETH and USDT converted to fiat, explicitly flagged the company’s licence claims as unverified. So: a company with several named regulatory footprints, none of them a clean statement of who stands behind your deposit.

What is not published on the pages I read is almost as important as what is. Custodial status — whether your balance sits with UPay or somewhere else — is not stated. Two-factor authentication, card freeze, and safeguarding arrangements are not stated. The only security information available is that identity checks run through Sumsub. That means I cannot tell you whether your funds are segregated, insured, or held, and for a balance you intend to be your emergency spending money, that is not a small unknown.

Finally, the category context, because it is not specific to UPay and it is worth weighing honestly. Crypto card programmes have ended before. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer supplying crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. Holding crypto with a custodian carries real counterparty and hack risk — Mt. Gox (about $350 million reported stolen, 2011-2014), Coincheck (about $400 million, 2018), Ronin Network ($625 million, 2022) — and blockchain transfers are irreversible with no built-in recovery. And stablecoins are not guaranteed to hold their peg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023.

Support, at least, exists on paper: a help centre, an FAQ and [email protected]. When I opened the help centre root page, it showed only a Chinese-language “Help Center” heading with no article list. So the channel is there; the content may not be.

What to take instead

If disclosure is your priority — and for anyone budgeting tightly, it should be — none of these three is dramatically better on that axis, and I want to be honest about that rather than pretend one solves it. What they do offer is a different shape: stated prices in some cases, and a clearer sense of who they are for.

UPay Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
My score 6.1 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Who it claims for 180+ countries claimed, some excluded; country list not published “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no list or exclusions Aimed at Nigeria — “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” No country list; app says works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility)
Card Virtual and physical, personal and business Debit card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid “HyperCard”; network not stated
Cost Not stated officially Not stated Virtual card creation stated as free; monthly fee not stated Not stated; app lists no fees
Fees Not stated officially Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment; no percentage stated Not stated Not stated
Top-up BTC, ETH, USDT; USDC also listed USDT, USDC, BTC Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer USDT, BTC, ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR

Where the alternatives differ most is intent. Cardex is the one with the most explicit mechanism — real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment, with a claimed “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scanning global exchange rates — but it still publishes no percentage, and its app listing is Naira-focused. CardFlow is Nigeria-first and at least states one hard number: creating a virtual card is free. HyperCard is the least specified on the pages I could read, and its “176 countries” line is about acceptance rather than your eligibility.

The honest conclusion is that in this part of the market, disclosure is thin across the board, and switching cards is not a way to buy certainty. What you can do is choose on grounds that are actually documented: HyperCard if you want a simple prepaid balance in USD or EUR; CardFlow if you are Nigerian or transact in naira; Cardex if you want the widest network list and a stated conversion model. And if you can, keep the balance small — treat the card as a spending tool funded from crypto you hold elsewhere, not as a place to park money.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend UPay to someone who already lives in crypto, holds USDT or USDC, has a document issued by their own country of residence, and wants a card in their phone wallet this week rather than in three months. For that person the card does its job well — the daily-use side is genuinely strong, and being able to add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay immediately is worth a lot when a normal card is not available to you. I would also recommend it to anyone who has tested it with small amounts and found the real fee behaviour acceptable for their own spending pattern, because for them the missing fee table is no longer a blocker.

I would not recommend it to you if your priorities are predictable costs, a published country list, a named issuing bank, or a documented route for getting your money back out. I would not recommend it as a place to hold more than you can afford to have restricted for a while, given the reports of mid-transaction freezes and PEP flags with no appeal, and the simple fact that custodial status is not published. And if your identity document was issued by a different country than the one you live in — a digital-residency permit, for instance — I would not start here at all; that is precisely the case in the one Trustpilot review on the upay.com page.

Whatever you decide, the checks I would run first are these: confirm your country is eligible and your document type is accepted; get the supported deposit networks in writing before sending anything; ask what the withdrawal route, fee and minimum are; and make three small payments before you commit real money. None of that requires trusting anyone’s marketing, and all of it closes the gaps that a fee table should have closed.

Frequently asked questions

What is UPay card?

It is a crypto payment card that spends a balance funded from your own crypto rather than a bank account. You load the wallet with BTC, ETH or USDT, with USDC also listed among supported coins, and the card draws on that stored balance — closer to a prepaid card than to a debit card, so it cannot overdraw. UPay operates virtual and physical versions in personal and business form.

Is UPay a bank?

No, and you should not treat it as one. The operator is UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD., listed in Denver, Colorado, USA, with licences named as MSO (Hong Kong), VASP Lithuania at In-Principle Approval, MSB in the United States and MSB in Canada. The issuing bank is not named on the pages I read. A card is a payment instrument, and this one depends on a licence structure behind a company rather than a bank you could deposit at.

Who owns UPay?

The stated owner is UPAY TECHNOLOGY LTD. in Denver, Colorado, though the address on the site is garbled. Third-party reviewers warn of a name collision with unrelated UPay entities, so there are several companies using a similar name. That is why I would work only from the official domain, and treat any review of a similarly-named domain as possibly about someone else entirely.

Does the UPay card require KYC?

Yes. Verification runs through a provider called Sumsub, takes five to ten minutes, and requires an identity document issued by the same country as the user. Only one KYC level is described, so there is no published upgrade path. Proof of address and minimum age are not stated. Note that this same-country document rule is exactly what failed in the one Trustpilot review on record, involving a Palau digital-residency ID.

Is the UPay card free?

Not officially documented either way, which is the problem. Third-party sites report $10 issuance for a virtual card, $50 for a Stellar virtual card, and a $100 activation fee for physical Premier, Platinum and Precious tiers with no annual fees. Another source says virtual card creation elsewhere is free — that was a different card. Treat UPay’s own figures as unknown until the company or its support desk states them to you in writing.

How do I top up the UPay card?

You send crypto to the wallet — BTC, ETH or USDT, with USDC also listed — and the card spends from that balance. The important part is that the supported networks are not stated anywhere, and blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on the wrong network can be lost. Ask support which network to use for your coin before you send anything, then check the address character by character.

Can I use UPay card in my country?

Probably, but nobody has published the list. UPay claims support in 180+ countries while saying it does not serve residents of certain countries, and warns the list changes with regulatory and issuer policy. Third-party figures of “over 150 countries” and “at least 168 countries” are unofficial and refer partly to acceptance rather than eligibility. The test that matters is whether a document from your country of issue passes, and whether you are resident somewhere excluded.

Is UPay card safe?

It depends entirely on how much you trust an issuer that does not name itself or publish its fee schedule. Safeguards I would want — two-factor authentication, instant card freeze, safeguarding of funds, custodial status — are not published. User reports through 2026 describe accounts frozen mid-transaction and false PEP flags with no appeal route. Keep the balance small and treat the card as a spending tool, not a place to park money.

How do I add the UPay card to Apple Wallet?

The home page states Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay linking is supported, so you add the card from the app the same way you would any other card. Note that Apple Pay stores a device-specific number, not the real card number, and your issuer can restrict that tokenised number by channel or region — which is the usual explanation for reports of Apple Pay not working on some cards. This is normal issuer behaviour, not something you did wrong.

How do I withdraw from UPay or delete my account?

I could not find a page on either. Nothing on withdrawing the balance, nothing on closure, and no minimum or fee. That asymmetry is worth weighing before you load: the way in is documented in several lines, the way out is not documented at all. Ask support directly what the withdrawal route, cost and minimum are, and keep the answer, before you put real money in.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team