PayPaw review: a throwaway crypto prepaid card with no top-ups
PayPaw is not a bank account with a card attached. It is a Telegram bot that sells you a prepaid card once, takes your crypto, and hands you a card number that spends whatever balance you loaded at the moment you bought it. There is no monthly fee, no app, no ATM, and — this is the detail that shapes everything else — you cannot add money to the card afterwards. If it runs out, you buy another one.
That single design choice decides who this suits. If you are someone without easy access to an ordinary bank card, you already hold US dollars or stablecoins on Solana, and you want to spend them at an online store without opening an account anywhere, the logic is sound and the fees are honest. If you want a card you top up all month, keep for years, or use face to face for cash, the product simply does not do that.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
My score for PayPaw is 5.8 out of 10.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | More than 200 countries, 30 restricted countries excluded (Belarus and Russia appear on that list) |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | 3% of the card cost plus $2; 2% for use in another currency |
| Top-up options | 8 / 10 | SOL, USDC, USDT or BONK on Solana; an aggregator swaps other tokens (BTC, ETH, BNB per the card’s own material) |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Legal entity, issuer and licences not named; no complaints found; top-ups are not supported |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Apple Pay and Google Pay exist; no ATM; card type and top-up mechanics not disclosed |
. The shape of that table is the shape of the product: strong on access and funding, weak on cost clarity and on the boring institutional details that decide whether a company can still issue cards in three years.
The audience the card seems built for is specific — Telegram users buying one-time prepaid cards with Solana tokens. That is a real group, and for them the design makes sense. For everyone else the missing pieces dominate.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, for most of the world: the card states availability in over 200 countries, with 30 restricted countries excluded, and Belarus and Russia are on that restricted list.

That is the eligibility picture in full. What the card does not say is whether the test is citizenship or residence. The bot asks you to set your country when you open it, and the public pages do not state which of the two decides. If you are a citizen of an excluded country living elsewhere, or a resident of an excluded country with another passport, you will not find the answer written down anywhere — you will only find out at the point where the bot refuses.
Here is the broader context, because it explains why the answer is not obvious from the card alone. A payment card number begins with an issuer identification number of six or eight digits, and merchants can look that number up to see which institution and country issued it. A shop that sees an issuer country different from your billing address may apply extra scrutiny. That is normal for any card issued in one country and used in another, and it is not something specific to PayPaw.
The other thing worth knowing about who gets cards like this is that screening is often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the address. Nationality is recorded and checked separately from residence for exactly that reason. So “over 200 countries” on a card’s site is a statement about coverage, not a guarantee for any particular passport.
How to get it
Open the Telegram bot, set your country, choose Create Card, pick a provider and an amount, pay the exact SOL amount requested, and activate through the partner link. The card says there is no need for KYC to get started, and its FAQ puts it more carefully: KYC is not strictly required, though the provider still asks for your data. Both statements can be true at once, and the gap between them is worth sitting with.
No KYC does not mean no information is collected. Under anti-money-laundering law, regulated businesses are required to verify customers and assess risk, including ongoing monitoring and reporting of suspicious activity. In the EU, customer due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. So whether your specific card flow asks for documents depends on which licensed institution sits behind it — and with PayPaw, the public pages do not say who that is.
Timing is fast on the card’s own account: order creation takes about 20 seconds, and the card arrives roughly 15 minutes after payment.
What you receive is a prepaid card denominated in EUR or USD. Whether the card is Visa or Mastercard, and whether it is virtual or physical, is not stated. That is not a small gap — if you need a specific network for a specific merchant, you are guessing. There is no stated limit on how many cards you can order, and no tier structure: it is a single product, with the amount chosen per order in the bot.
Fees: what it really costs
PayPaw’s headline price is 3% of the card cost plus a $2 flat fee, and no monthly fee is stated. Spending in a currency other than the card’s own adds a 2% conversion fee. What is not stated is the crypto conversion fee charged by the swap aggregator — and since you are paying in crypto and spending fiat, there is a conversion somewhere in the chain, and the card does not say whose number it is.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | 3% of the card cost plus $2 flat |
| Monthly fee | None stated |
| Currency conversion (crypto swap) | Not stated |
| Foreign-currency use | 2% conversion fee |
| ATM withdrawal | Not supported (“No”) |
| Daily spending limit | Not listed |
| Monthly spending limit | Not listed |
| Cash withdrawal | Not supported |
| Number of cards | No limit stated |
| Card currency | EUR or USD |
Two everyday payments, so you can see which numbers actually bite.
A €40 online subscription paid from a EUR card. You pay 3% of the card cost plus $2 to create the card, and nothing per transaction is stated. If you bought a €40 card, that is €1.20 plus $2 up front, then €40 spent at whatever the merchant charges. Because the card is in EUR and the payment is in EUR, the 2% foreign-currency fee does not apply. The awkward part is that you bought €40 and there is no way to add more later, so the next subscription needs a second card and a second €1.20 plus $2.
A $25 dinner paid from that same EUR card. The conversion fee applies now: 2% on top. But the card was funded in EUR, or in crypto that the aggregator converted, and the card does not state the crypto-side spread. If the balance you loaded was slightly short of $25 plus the fee, the payment declines. Declined authorisations can also leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven.
Two structural costs sit on top of the listed ones and are not fees but feel like them. On-chain network fees — gas or bandwidth — for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so they come out of what you send. And because the card needs the exact amount, any shortfall can leave funds sitting in a payment address you cannot spend from.
If you were expecting a monthly-billing card, this is where you should stop reading and go to the alternatives. There is no monthly fee because there is no account to maintain; the cost model is per-card, and per-card costs only make sense if you buy one occasionally.
How to top it up
You cannot. That is the headline and the plainest thing I can tell you about this card.
Funding happens once, at purchase: you pay with SOL, USDC, USDT or BONK on Solana to a fresh address created for that order, and a swap aggregator handles other tokens — BTC, ETH and BNB per the card’s own material. The exact amount is required, and if it does not arrive, the card is not delivered. Once the card exists, no further funds can be added; the stated answer is to create a new card.
So the “top up” question and the “buy card” question are the same question here. Each order is a fresh address, a fresh payment in crypto, and a fresh set of issuance fees. Plan for that as a rhythm: four purchases a year means four rounds of 3% plus $2.
The crypto-side mechanics carry their own risk. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Getting the network right is not a detail here; it is the main way people lose money on cards like this.
Network choice also constrains what you can send. USDT exists on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others, and PayPaw accepts the Solana version. USDC is natively supported on 38 networks per Circle, as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — but Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so the Tron route is not a native option there. Fees on Ethereum must be paid in ETH, which means a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send it at all. Tron prices fees through bandwidth and energy and often burns TRX.
Whether you can withdraw money is not stated, and there is no ATM or cash withdrawal of any kind. The balance is viewed on the partner provider’s site.
Paying with it every day
Everyday use is the weak point. You can link the card to Apple Pay and Google Pay, which is genuinely useful — Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code. There is no app; everything runs through the Telegram bot and a web dashboard.
What is missing from the everyday picture is as important as what is there. Blocked merchant categories are not stated. Spending limits are not listed. Whether there is cashback or any reward is not stated. Whether you can dispute a charge, or how chargebacks work here, is not stated. If a card is lost or stolen, the stated instruction is to contact your provider as soon as possible — which is a sentence you would rather not need.
Some of these blanks have standard industry answers that may apply, but you should not assume them. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business by goods or services, and issuers often block categories such as gambling by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list differing by issuer. 3-D Secure adds an identity step to online payments, and under it liability for fraudulent online transactions can shift from merchant to bank — or, per its critics, to you. Address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address you typed with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. And some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards precisely because the issuer lookup reveals what they are.
There is one more risk that belongs in the everyday section rather than the scary one: authorisations that decline can leave a hold on your funds for days. On a card you cannot refill, a hold is not an inconvenience, it is money you cannot get back until it releases.
Support is a “Support” button inside the Telegram bot at t.me/paypawbot, plus the site paypaw.cards. Languages and opening hours are not stated, and neither is how fast a reply comes.
What can go wrong
The big institutional unknown is the company itself. PayPaw describes itself as a Solana-native prepaid card protocol. The legal entity, the issuer and the licences are not stated. I want to be precise about why that matters rather than dramatic about it.
A card is a payment service, regulated separately from the crypto side — so a card like this usually depends on two licences: one for the crypto activity (custody, exchange, transfer) and one for issuing e-money and payment cards. In the EU, MiCA, the markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions, including rules for crypto-asset service providers, applied from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. EMIs must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and such funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they are authorised or refused authorisation under MiCA, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and that register is where you can check a provider’s status.
I could not find a company, an issuer or a licence named on PayPaw’s public pages. That is a finding, not an accusation — plenty of legitimate projects are coy about structure — but it means you cannot do the one check that would tell you most: look up the provider and see what it is licensed to do.
Precedent explains why. Programme closures in this category are not hypothetical. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. The pattern in a closure is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. With a card you cannot refill and cannot withdraw from, that last step matters enormously.
I found no official incidents and no user reviews — no Trustpilot page, no complaint threads. Treat that as absence of evidence rather than evidence of quality. With no entity named, there is also nobody obvious to complain to, and complaints and dispute handling are not stated.
On custody, the card is privacy-centric and uses a fresh payment address per order, which is good practice. Whether your funds are held by a third party, whether two-factor authentication or a freeze exists, and what happens to your balance if the operator disappears — not stated. That is the ordinary counterparty risk of any custodial arrangement: whoever holds the credentials holds the ability to move the money. The historical record in custodial crypto is not gentle, with Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network among the well-known losses, and blockchain transfers having no built-in recovery by design.
Finally, the token side. USDT and USDC are US-dollar-pegged, and the BIS put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in those two as of July 2025. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and fully backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations. None of that makes a stablecoin stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
Tax sits in this section because it is the thing people forget. I am not giving tax advice, and you should talk to someone qualified in your jurisdiction, but the mechanics are worth knowing: digital assets are generally treated as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in your local currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal. Buy four cards a year, and you may have four events to report rather than one.
What to take instead
Here is how the main alternatives compare, using the same questions I asked of PayPaw. Scores are mine, on the same ten-point scale.
| Card | Score | Who it is for | Card form | Upfront and monthly cost | Top-up and fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayPaw | 5.8 / 10 | Occasional spenders holding Solana tokens | Not stated (Visa/Mastercard, virtual or physical) | 3% of card cost plus $2; no monthly fee stated | SOL, USDC, USDT or BONK on Solana; 2% foreign currency; no top-ups, no ATM |
| Azul Card | 5.3 / 10 | Users wanting a virtual card they can refill | Virtual only, Mastercard | $20 one-time, refunded after $2,000 in spending; $5 monthly | Crypto top-up 4%; $0.25 per transaction; FX fee not stated |
| Telecard | 6.1 / 10 | Users who want a bigger plan and USD | Virtual Mastercard, instant, USD | $5 one-time standard; VIP $49 setup then $19/month; $99 minimum deposit, stated as not a fee | USDT on Tron or Ethereum, USDC on Ethereum, Polygon unsupported; 1.5% conversion, 0.5 USDT per transaction, up to 3% each FX and cross-border |
The differences that matter are not in the headline numbers.
Azul Card is refillable, which is the thing PayPaw is not, and it publishes a country list: worldwide except Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions, and the card states the restrictions apply regardless of the user’s nationality. That is a firmer answer on eligibility than PayPaw gives. Against it: a $5 monthly fee whether you use the card or not, a 4% crypto top-up fee, and virtual-only with no physical card available yet. Its referral programme pays up to 40% of fees from transactions by people you referred.
Telecard scores highest of the three and is the one to look at first if you want a card you keep. It is a virtual Mastercard in USD, instant to issue, with no physical or metal option. The structure is odd in a way you should notice: the main page says signing up is free with no monthly fee on the basic plan, while the plan table lists a $5 one-time standard tier and a VIP tier at $49 setup then $19 per month, plus $15 for a VIP reissue. It also requires a $99 minimum deposit to activate, which it states is not a fee because it stays in your wallet. Funding is USDT on Tron (TRC-20) or Ethereum (ERC-20), and USDC on Ethereum, with Polygon not supported — note that the main page also lists ETH and TRX, which the help page does not, and bank transfers are described as coming soon. Fees: 1.5% currency conversion on non-USD payments, 0.5 USDT per successful card transaction, and cross-border and FX fees stated as up to 3% each. On eligibility it says over 150 countries and an identity check available in most major regions, with no supported or excluded country list, and its terms only bar users blocked or sanctioned by the United States Government, including OFAC. It has a referral scheme with a points currency, and the cashback rate is not specified.
OnCards I would mention only to rule out. It is virtual only, sold through Telegram, funded with USDT on BEP20, and does not accept bank transfers. Its country eligibility, card currency and fees are not stated at all — the site says only that fees are simple and clear with no hidden charges, without amounts. Nothing published here is a reason to prefer it over the other three.
My honest read: if your problem is “I cannot open a normal card”, PayPaw and Azul are the realistic pair, and the deciding question is whether you need to refill. If you want a card that lasts and can be topped up repeatedly, Telecard is the only one of the three that clearly supports that, at the cost of a bigger fee stack and a minimum deposit.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend PayPaw to someone in this position: you already hold SOL, USDC, USDT or BONK on Solana, you cannot get an ordinary bank card where you live, and you have a specific purchase to make — a subscription, a service, an online merchant that takes card payments. You accept that you will pay 3% plus $2 for the privilege, that you cannot refill the card, and that you will buy a new one next time.
I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true:
- You want one card for everyday use across a month. It cannot be refilled, so you would buy several.
- You need cash. There is no ATM and no cash withdrawal.
- You want Apple Pay to work months later without thinking about it. The card has a fixed balance and a fixed end.
- You are outside crypto and want a normal spending tool. There is no app, no statement service worth relying on, and no monthly billing.
- You need to know who stands behind the card. The legal entity, issuer and licences are not named on the public pages, and that is a gap I could not close.
- You want rewards. Cashback is not stated.
- You need to dispute a charge. Dispute handling is not stated.
The single most useful thing you can do before paying anything is look up the provider yourself. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and an authorised provider in one EU member state can serve the whole EU. That register will tell you things this card’s own pages do not. If the operator is not there, that is your answer.
The second thing is to keep the Solana network in mind, because it is the one choice that can cost you the entire amount. Irreversible transfers to the wrong network or the wrong address are recoverable only by manual support, with no guarantee.
Frequently asked questions
What is PayPaw card?
PayPaw is a prepaid card sold through a Telegram bot rather than a bank account. You pay once in crypto on the Solana network — SOL, USDC, USDT or BONK — and receive a card number that spends the balance you loaded. There is no monthly fee and no app, and the card is described as a Solana-native prepaid card protocol. The legal entity, issuer and licences behind it are not stated on its public pages.
Does PayPaw require KYC?
The card says there is no need for KYC to get started, and its own FAQ puts it more carefully: KYC is not strictly required, though the provider still asks for your data. Those can both be true, since a flow can collect information without full identity verification. Whether more is demanded depends on which licensed institution sits behind the card, and PayPaw does not name one on its public pages.
How do I get and activate a PayPaw card?
You open the Telegram bot, set your country, choose Create Card, select a provider and the amount you want, send the exact SOL amount requested to the address given, and activate through the partner link. Order creation is said to take about 20 seconds, and the card arrives roughly 15 minutes after payment. If the amount does not match exactly, the card is not delivered.
Can I top up a PayPaw card?
No. Once created, a PayPaw card cannot be funded again — the stated answer is to create a new card. Each order uses a fresh payment address and a fresh purchase of the card, so the 3% plus $2 issuance cost is paid every time rather than once. Withdrawing is not stated as supported, and there is no ATM or cash withdrawal.
What does a PayPaw card cost to use?
Card issuance is 3% of the card cost plus a $2 flat fee, and no monthly fee is stated. Spending in a currency other than the card’s own adds a 2% conversion fee — cards come in EUR or USD. The crypto conversion fee charged by the swap aggregator is not stated, which is the number I would want to see before committing to a large card.
Which countries can use a PayPaw card?
The card states availability in over 200 countries, with 30 restricted countries excluded, and Belarus and Russia are on that list. It does not say whether the test is citizenship or residence; the bot simply asks you to set your country. Cards issued in one country and used in another can also attract extra scrutiny at checkout, because merchants can look up the issuer’s country from the card number.
Is PayPaw a bank or a safe place for money?
It is not described as a bank, and it is not presented as one. Card programmes of this kind normally depend on a licensed issuer holding the card programme while the crypto brand manages or markets it; PayPaw does not name its legal entity, issuer or licences. Funds held by an electronic money institution are safeguarded but are not bank deposits, and I found no user reviews or complaint history to weigh either way.
Can I add PayPaw to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Yes — linking to Apple Pay and Google Pay is supported. Apple Pay stores a device-specific number in the Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time code. Keep in mind that this only spends the fixed balance loaded at purchase: Apple Pay does not change the fact that the card cannot be refilled, and no cash withdrawal is available through any channel.
Is PayPaw card worth it?
It is worth it if you hold crypto on Solana, cannot get a normal bank card, and have a specific purchase to make — you get a card number in about 15 minutes for 3% plus $2, with no monthly fee. It is not worth it if you want a card you refill all month, need cash, or want to know which licensed institution stands behind it. For a card you keep and reload, a refillable alternative is the better fit.
What happens to my money if PayPaw stops operating?
That depends entirely on who the issuer is, and PayPaw does not say. Closures in this category follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances — as happened with the FTX US debit card and with WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. On a card that cannot be refilled or withdrawn from, you have no fallback, which is why checking the provider against a public register before you pay is worth the ten minutes.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
