A privacy-minded prepaid card bought with crypto, sold on unstated terms

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you are reading this, you probably want a card that spends without a bank asking a long list of questions, and you are weighing Trocador against the alternatives. My verdict up front: 5.4 out of 10. That is a middling score, and the reason is not that the card is obviously bad — it is that almost everything you would need in order to decide is missing from the card’s own public pages. What the pages do tell you is coherent and, in places, unusual. What they do not tell you is who is issuing the card, what it costs, what the limits are, or what happens when something goes wrong.

Trocador works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

So the useful way to read this page is not as a verdict delivered from nowhere. It is as a walk through what is documented, what is merely reported by third parties, and what is simply not said. I will point at each of those as we go, because the gaps are the story here, and because you should know which kind of fact you are reading before you act on it.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Who the card is for, and who it will disappoint

Trocador suits a narrow but real group: privacy-minded users who want a prepaid card they can buy with crypto and spend without a normal bank relationship. If that is you, the idea is a good one and the structure — convert once, hold a fixed-value balance, spend that balance — is the least fragile version of the crypto-card idea.

It does not suit anyone who needs to know the exact cost of a swipe, the exact monthly limit, or what happens on a support ticket. From the card’s public pages I could not find an official fee schedule, an official ATM position, official daily or monthly limits, or a named licensing position. Where those numbers exist at all, they come from third-party sources, and I will mark them as unofficial throughout.

Country access is the second thing you should know before you get excited. Officially, restrictions depend on the provider issuing the card. Unofficial sources put availability at 164 countries and closure in 11, and say the Reward and MyPrepaidCenter cards are US-only. That last point matters: if you are outside the United States, the question of which provider actually issues your card may decide whether you can have one at all.

Here is the full picture of how I scored it, with the reasoning for each line.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Country limits vary by provider; unofficial lines say 164 countries available, 11 closed, and Reward and MyPrepaidCenter US-only
Cost 3 / 10 Nothing official published; unofficial figures include a 3% plus $2 Trocador fee and a 2.75% non-USD payment charge
Top-up options 7 / 10 Cards are bought with crypto — BTC, XMR, LTC, stablecoins and others via AnonPay per starting data, exact list unconfirmed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Operator is Reta Development Assets LLC, cards issued by Reward, MyPrepaidCenter, Obsidian, no issuer named; MyPrepaidCenter complaints noted
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual cards and Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay “usually” work; not accepted where 3DS is required; no ATM, no top-up, no plastic

That table is the whole review in miniature. A strong 8 on access sits next to a 3 on cost, and the 4 on everyday use is the one that will decide whether the card is convenient for you or merely possible.

Will they give you the card

The short answer is: probably, if you are in a country the issuing provider serves, but nobody publishes which countries those are.

The official statement is that country restrictions vary by provider. That is the entire official position, and it is worth pausing on what it means. A prepaid card is not issued by Trocador in any simple sense. Cards are delivered by several separate providers — Reward, MyPrepaidCenter and Obsidian — and each of those decides its own eligibility. So the country question is not really a question about Trocador. It is a question about which company ends up issuing your plastic, and their rules are not printed anywhere I could find.

The unofficial picture is more specific and, as always, less reliable. Third-party sources claim the card is available in 164 countries and closed in 11, and that the Reward and MyPrepaidCenter cards are limited to the United States. Treat that as a pointer for your own research rather than a promise: it may describe the situation at one moment, for one card, and the card’s pages themselves do not confirm any of it.

What the card does say about the physical object is friendlier than the eligibility silence. You receive a prepaid Mastercard or Visa, and the version may be virtual or physical — the word “or” is doing some work there, since the exact mix is not specified. Identity verification is not stated officially, and neither are verification tiers. That absence cuts both ways: there is no stated KYC barrier, and equally no stated assurance about what happens to your data.

If you are someone whose reason for wanting this card is to avoid identity checks, I want to be blunt about the limits of this page. I am not going to explain how to get around identity requirements, sanctions rules or country restrictions, and you should treat any product that promises that as a red flag rather than a solution. What I can tell you is that the card’s own pages do not describe a verification process either way, and an unspecified process is not an anonymity guarantee. Nobody can honestly promise you anonymity on a card that runs on Mastercard or Visa rails, because those networks answer to their own risk policies.

The most useful thing you can do with this section is a concrete check before you spend anything: work out which provider would issue your card, then find that provider’s own country list and its own terms. Those are the documents that will actually decide your application. Everything else is inference.

How to get it

There is no app. That is the whole process description I can give you: purchase happens on the web, and there is no mobile application involved.

Officially, the card is a prepaid Mastercard or Visa from several providers, and KYC is not stated. Delivery terms are not stated officially — not the processing time, not the shipping cost, not whether a virtual card arrives instantly and a physical one takes a week or a month. Activation is not described in any official material I could read, and while third-party user reports mention activation problems with MyPrepaidCenter cards specifically, that is a user report rather than a documented policy.

So the honest version of “how do I get it” is: you go to the web, you choose a card, you pay with crypto, and then the experience depends entirely on a provider whose process is not documented by Trocador. Whether you get a virtual card in minutes or a physical one in the post is something I cannot tell you from the official pages, and any source that states it confidently should be asked for its date and its card type.

Two practical consequences follow from the no-app, web-purchase model. First, there is no app-based card freeze, no push notification, and no in-app spending limit control — the standard safety tools of a modern card are simply not part of what is described. Second, if something goes wrong, you are contacting support on the web with no self-service tools, and support quality for the cards themselves is not stated officially.

I realise this makes the section feel thin. It is thin because the card’s public material is thin. That is not a stylistic complaint about the review; it is the finding.

Fees and limits: what it really costs

The card’s official pages state no fees at all. Not the issue price, not the monthly fee, not the conversion charge, not the foreign-exchange rate, not the ATM fee. Official limits are not stated either — no daily cap, no monthly cap, no minimum balance.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Trocador payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What follows is the unofficial picture as third parties report it, with the card itself confirming none of it: a Trocador fee of 3% of the nominal value plus $2; Obsidian at $0.60 per purchase and $5 per month after the second month; and 2.75% on payments made in anything other than USD. Those three numbers are the whole cost story as far as I can reconstruct it, and none of them comes from the card.

Item Value Source
Issuance / purchase 3% of nominal value + $2 Unofficial
Obsidian purchase fee $0.60 Unofficial
Obsidian monthly fee $5, after the second month Unofficial
Non-USD payment charge 2.75% Unofficial
Conversion fee not stated officially —
FX rate not stated officially —
ATM fee not stated officially —
Daily limit not stated officially —
Monthly limit not stated officially —
Tiers not stated —
Card currency not stated officially —

Now let me walk three ordinary payments through that table, because that is where an unknown fee schedule stops being abstract and starts being a number you care about.

Buying coffee abroad. A $5 coffee in a country that is not the US runs into the 2.75% non-USD charge — roughly fourteen cents — and, if your card is an Obsidian one, the $0.60 purchase fee on top. Plus whatever spread sits between the rate at which your crypto was converted into the card’s balance and the rate the merchant’s payment network applies. That spread is not in the table because nobody publishes it. If you pay in small amounts repeatedly in a non-USD currency, the per-payment charges are the part that hurts, not the one-off purchase.

Paying for something online. This is where the card is most likely to fail on you rather than cost you. Not accepted where 3-D Secure is required, and not accepted where gift or prepaid cards are refused. Online merchants frequently require 3-D Secure, and plenty of them refuse prepaid cards outright. So the scenario is not “expensive” — it is “declined”, repeatedly, at the moment you most need the card to behave normally.

Loading the card in the first place. Here the cost is the least documented part of all. Cards are bought with crypto, and the conversion happens once, at purchase, into a fixed-value card. Neither the conversion rate nor any conversion fee is published. If you buy crypto and load a card, the amount of crypto you spend and the balance you receive are connected by a rate that the card does not state, and that is exactly the kind of number where the gap between two quotes can be several percent.

The honest summary: this card is cheap to describe and hard to cost. The reported charges are modest in absolute terms, but the conversion spread is unstated, and an unstated spread is where the money goes. Before you commit, ask for the conversion rate and the total cost of a specific load in writing, and compare it against the same load elsewhere.

How to top up

There is no top-up. That is not a limitation I am paraphrasing — the model simply has no top-up step, and the card pages say so.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Trocador starts with a transfer to the right network

What actually happens: crypto is converted once, at the point of purchase, into a card of fixed value. The card then holds a balance and spends that balance, and when it is empty it is empty. There is no reload, no partial top-up, and no way to add to a card you already hold. Official withdrawal terms are not stated either, so even the mechanics of getting money back out are not something I can describe accurately.

The coin list is a starting-data claim, not a confirmation. Cards are bought with crypto; the starting data listed BTC, XMR, LTC, stablecoins and others through AnonPay, with the exact list explicitly not confirmed. Unofficial descriptions add that the selection is broad, that Monero is supported, and that a conversion fee may apply.

That Monero detail is the reason this card appears in conversations about privacy at all, and it is worth being careful about what it does and does not mean. Paying for a card in a privacy-oriented coin means the card purchase does not sit on a public chain under your name. It does not mean the card itself is anonymous, and it certainly does not mean the spend is: once you are tapping at a shop, you are in the world of address verification and 3-D Secure and merchant decline policies, none of which care which coin you loaded.

There is one further thing to know before you send anything, and it applies to every card of this kind rather than only to this one. Sending on the wrong network loses money. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent to a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be gone or can depend on a manual support recovery nobody guarantees. Check the network and the address twice, and expect that a mistake here has no undo button.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where this card is weakest, and the reasons are structural rather than fixable.

Virtual cards are available, and Samsung Pay, Google Pay and Apple Pay “usually” work — that word is the card’s own, and “usually” is doing honest work in a sentence about whether a tap will go through. Apple Pay, where it works, is the well-engineered option: the card number is replaced by a device-specific number in the phone’s secure hardware, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time code. The caveat that comes with all of it is that the issuer can restrict a tokenised number, blocking it on magnetic stripe, phone or website use.

Then the exclusions. The card is not accepted where 3-D Secure is required. It is not accepted where gift or prepaid cards are refused. Those two rules together cover a large slice of ordinary online commerce and a fair amount of in-store caution, and no amount of careful reading will change them.

Address verification is the quiet one. The address verification service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against the issuer’s records, and it is mainly available in the US, Canada and the UK — which means it is generally unavailable for a foreign-issued card. Third-party user reports specifically mention billing-address validation as a source of trouble. If your card is not issued in the country where you are shopping, a mismatch is not your typo; it is the design.

Other everyday details: no ATM. Unofficial sources say there is no ATM and no plastic card; the official pages describe a prepaid Mastercard or Visa and do not promise cash access. Rewards are not stated officially. Disputes — what happens when a charge is wrong, when goods never arrive, when you need a refund — are not stated. Refund rights are one of the areas where prepaid cards differ most sharply from bank cards, and US reversal rights for prepaid cards in particular should not be assumed to apply to yours.

If your day is mostly tap-to-pay in a single currency and in countries that do not demand 3-D Secure, this is workable. If your day includes hotels, car hire, airline bookings, subscriptions or any merchant who refuses prepaid cards, it is not.

What can go wrong

Let me start with the reassuring part, because it is short. I found no official incident involving the card and no dated card events at all — no launch, no closure, no regulatory action that the card’s own material acknowledges. In this category that silence is not the same as a clean bill of health, but it is not nothing.

Then the things that could go wrong.

The card may simply not activate or work. This is the most concrete risk on record. A user report describes MyPrepaidCenter cards with activation problems, billing-address validation failures, declines, locked access and slow support. That report is undated and comes via a third-party site rather than the card. But it is specific, and it describes exactly the failure modes that make a prepaid card useless: a card in your hand that will not activate, an account you cannot get into, a merchant decline you cannot explain.

The exchange side is a separate business. The Trustpilot score of 4.8 out of 5 from 267 reviews, read on 2026-10-21, is for Trocador mostly as an exchange service — which is a genuinely strong number, and worth saying plainly. But it is not a score for the cards. The card and the exchange are different products with different failure modes, and reading the exchange rating as reassurance about your card is a mistake.

The exchange has had its own problems. User reports describe delayed swaps via partner exchanges in June and July 2026, long AML and KYC holds from March to May 2026, and support tone in September 2026. These sit alongside a 4.8 rating, which is what a mixed picture usually looks like rather than a bad one.

Nobody will tell you who stands behind the card. The operator is Reta Development Assets LLC per the starting data. The cards are delivered by Reward, MyPrepaidCenter and Obsidian. The issuing institution is not named per CryptoCardHub, and licences are not stated. This matters more than it might seem: when something goes wrong, the question “who is the issuer I complain to” needs an answer, and there is not one printed. MyPrepaidCenter’s profile is described as weak.

The card can be switched off without warning. Card programmes close. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. FTX’s US debit card was wound down after Visa said on 13 November 2022 that it had terminated its global agreements with FTX. Closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — a single unconfirmed source, but the shape of it is the shape you should plan for.

Money through a custodial chain is exposed. If crypto is converted into a card balance, at some point a provider holds funds or a claim on funds. Custodial platforms have a history: Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen in 2011–2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. And blockchain transfers have no built-in recovery — a stolen key cannot be frozen or reversed by the network.

A decline can tie your money up. Declined authorisations may leave a hold on your funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven.

I would not describe any of this as a warning that this card is unsafe, because the card’s own pages state nothing about security and that absence is not a reassurance. I would describe it as a card where you should know, before you load it, who the issuer is — and if you cannot find that out, weigh that against the price.

What to take instead

None of these are clearly better. They are clearer, which at this stage is worth something.

Score Card Who it is for Funding Cost stated?
Trocador 5.4 Prepaid Mastercard or Visa, several providers Privacy-minded users buying with crypto Crypto, once, at purchase No
Cardex 5.6 Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; virtual and physical “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no list or exclusions USDT, USDC, BTC No percentage stated
CardFlow 4.9 Virtual USD Mastercard, about 3 minutes Nigeria-focused; “Nigerians and global users” Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira transfer Virtual card free; monthly fee not stated
HyperCard 4.7 Prepaid “HyperCard”, network not stated on the App Store page No country list; “more than 176 countries” is acceptance, not eligibility USDT, BTC, ETH in the app No fees listed

Cardex scores marginally higher and is more specific where Trocador is vague. It runs on four networks including Visa and Mastercard, offers virtual and physical cards, and converts in real time at the moment of payment, with a site-described rate scan across global exchanges. It is a debit card rather than a stored-balance prepaid, which changes the overdraft and balance model. Against it: the App Store listing is Naira-focused, and no country exclusions are listed — so its 200+ countries claim is a marketing line rather than an eligibility list.

CardFlow is the clearest entry point of the three: a virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes, free to create, aimed at Nigeria with a stated ambition to serve global users. If you want the simplest possible version of this idea, it publishes more of the basics than Trocador does. But it is a virtual card with no stated monthly fee and no stated fee schedule, and Nigeria-focused is a narrower door than you may be hoping for.

HyperCard is the vaguest. A prepaid card whose network is not stated on the App Store page, available in USD or EUR, funded by depositing USDT, BTC or ETH in the app. The “more than 176 countries” line describes where the card is accepted, not who can hold one, and that distinction is the one most likely to trip you up.

The comparison that actually decides it is not the scores. It is this: all four leave the fee schedule largely unstated, all four run on someone else’s licence, and all four depend on a provider whose identity you may have to dig for. Trocador’s distinguishing feature is that you buy it with crypto and, if Monero support is what you are after, that may genuinely matter. If you would rather have a card whose network and issuer are named in plain text, one of the others may serve you better — but none of them will tell you your costs up front either.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to someone who has already decided what they want and matches three conditions.

First, you are buying it with crypto specifically, and you would be disappointed if the card required a bank account to hold the balance anyway. That is the case the card genuinely serves, and nobody else on this list serves it in the same way.

Second, you can live without the fine print. You will not be able to look up your conversion rate, your monthly limit or your fee per transaction, and if you are the kind of person who would rather not commit money to a product that publishes none of that, this is not for you — and that is a reasonable position, not a flaw in your character.

Third, you have decided how much you are willing to lose. Budget it the way you would budget a prepaid travel card you bought at a kiosk: useful, disposable, and not somewhere to park meaningful balances. If the balance is small enough that a programme closure or a support dead end would annoy rather than wound you, that is the right size to hold.

And I would steer away from it if any of these are true: you need cash from ATMs; you travel to countries where shops demand 3-D Secure; you buy from merchants who refuse prepaid cards; you need chargeback or refund rights you can rely on; you are loading enough money that an unstated conversion spread would matter; or you need to know the name of the institution that stands behind your card. That last one is not a preference — it is the question you should have an answer to before you load any money, and the card’s pages do not supply one.

If you want the honest one-line version: this is a workable prepaid card for a specific and privacy-minded user, sold on terms that are thinner than the market norm, and the right response is to size your exposure accordingly rather than to assume the silence is benign.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Trocador card?

It is a prepaid Mastercard or Visa bought with cryptocurrency and delivered by one of several providers — Reward, MyPrepaidCenter or Obsidian. You convert crypto once at purchase into a card of fixed value, and the card spends that stored balance. It is a payment card with a balance, not a bank account, and the operator is described as Reta Development Assets LLC.

How does the Trocador card work?

You convert cryptocurrency into a fiat-denominated balance at the moment of purchase, and the card draws on that balance until it is empty. There is no top-up: no reload, no partial refill, and no way to add to a card you already hold. Because the balance is stored rather than drawn from an account, the card cannot overdraw. Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay “usually” work with virtual cards.

Is Trocador a bank?

No — nothing in the card’s public material describes it as a bank. It operates as a card programme front-end over providers that issue the cards, and the issuing institution itself is not named per third-party sources. Card payments generally involve a network, an issuer licensed under that network’s licence, and a brand that manages or markets the programme. Which of those Trocador is, exactly, is not stated officially.

Who owns Trocador?

The starting data names Reta Development Assets LLC as the operator. Cards are delivered by Reward, MyPrepaidCenter and Obsidian, and no single bank or licensed institution is identified as the issuer. Licence status is not stated on the card’s public pages, so if you need a named regulated counterparty, this is the first question to put to them in writing.

Can I get a Trocador card in my country?

Possibly, but you cannot tell from the card’s pages. Officially, country restrictions vary by provider. Unofficial sources claim availability in 164 countries with 11 closed, and say the Reward and MyPrepaidCenter cards are US-only. Since your eligibility is decided by whichever provider issues your card, check that provider’s own country list rather than relying on a summary.

How much does the Trocador card cost?

The official pages state no costs at all. Third-party sources report a Trocador fee of 3% of nominal value plus $2, Obsidian at $0.60 per purchase and $5 per month after the second month, and 2.75% on non-USD payments. The conversion rate and spread are not stated anywhere, which is usually the largest single component of what you actually pay.

Does the Trocador card require KYC?

The card’s public pages do not say — identity verification and verification tiers are both not stated. That is an absence, not a permission: an unspecified process means you cannot plan around it, and no card running on Visa or Mastercard rails will give you anonymity at the point of sale. Treat any promise of verification-free anonymity as a reason for caution.

Can I add the Trocador card to Apple Wallet?

Where the card is virtual and the provider allows it, Apple Pay generally works — the card’s own wording is that these wallets “usually” work. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number held in the phone’s secure hardware, and each payment uses a one-time code. Keep in mind the issuer can restrict a tokenised number to specific channels, so a card working in a wallet may still be blocked online or on a physical terminal.

Why is my Trocador card being declined?

The likeliest explanations are structural rather than a fault on your side. The card is not accepted where 3-D Secure is required, or where gift and prepaid cards are refused. Address verification checks numeric parts of your billing address and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines on its own. Prepaid balances also cannot go below zero, and a declined authorisation can leave a hold for up to seven days.

Is the Trocador card safe?

There is no official incident on record and no dated card events I could find, but the pages also state nothing about security, so that is not a guarantee. User reports describe MyPrepaidCenter activation problems, billing-address validation failures, declines and locked access. The unnamed issuing institution is the concern: when something fails, you need to know who you complain to, and that answer is not printed anywhere.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team