Revolut's crypto card is really a Revolut account feature

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Revolut is not a crypto card company with a card attached. It is a banking and payments app that has spent the last few years adding crypto to an account most people already open for the free multi-currency current account. The card is the part of that app you load from a crypto balance instead of a bank balance. That distinction decides almost everything about this review: you are not buying into a standalone crypto card programme, you are adding a spending rail to an account whose rules, limits and support quality are set by a very large fintech.

Revolut works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I gave it 6.5 / 10. Not a warning and not a recommendation — a card that works well inside its own ecosystem and gets awkward at every edge.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, criterion by criterion

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 Availability officially depends on country and plan; unofficial figures say 37 countries including the EU, UK, Australia, Japan, Singapore, New Zealand; 12 countries closed
Cost 6 / 10 Virtual cards free on Standard, Plus and Ultra; crypto exchange fee varies by plan; unofficial: 1% above £1,000/month on Standard, 1% weekend markup
Top-up options 8 / 10 Unofficial: debit from a chosen crypto or fiat account, 250+ tokens to spend and 30+ fiat currencies; officially coins are not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Unofficial: issuer Revolut Ltd, Revolut Bank UAB, EU crypto via Revolut Digital Assets Europe Ltd; Trustpilot high rating, complaints about account closures and hard disputes
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual crypto card; unofficial: Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM allowance depends on plan

Who this suits, and who it does not

This card suits people who already bank with Revolut in the EU or UK and want their crypto balance to pay for ordinary things — subscriptions, groceries, a hotel — without manually selling each time. It also suits anyone who wants Apple Pay and Google Pay tokens without juggling several banking apps. The top-up score is the highest in the table, and that is the honest reason: the flexibility of choosing which balance to spend from is the thing this does better than most of the category.

It does not suit you if crypto is your main money and the card is your only access to it, if you live in one of the countries where the card is reported as unavailable or restricted, or if you plan to lean on the ATM. It is a virtual card first. It does not suit you if you are in the United States, where the card is listed among restricted countries. And it does not suit anyone who wants to keep spending independently of a single app — the complaints that recur are all about the app holding the balance, not the card failing at a terminal.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: officially, it depends on your country and your plan, and the public pages do not spell out the eligibility test.

The card’s own public pages do not state the availability rule, the identity checks, or the delivery terms. What I can tell you is third-party reporting, not confirmed by Revolut: the card and the crypto side are said to be available in 37 countries — Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK — with 12 countries restricted: Belarus, Canada, Cuba, India, Iran, Libya, Myanmar, North Korea, Russia, Sudan, Syria, United States. That list comes from CryptoCardHub in August 2026, and a second aggregator says 48+ countries instead. Two aggregators, two numbers. Treat both as a starting point for a question to support, not a fact to plan a move around.

One thing that is genuinely useful: the restriction is about where you are, not what you hold. Separate from the card list, the crypto entity reported for the EU is Revolut Digital Assets Europe Ltd in Cyprus, a MiCA-licensed crypto-asset service provider. That means the crypto balance is not, legally, the same company as the bank account. They sit under one app and one support chat, but they are two regulated businesses, and a problem in one does not automatically follow you into the other.

If you are outside those lists, the honest position is that the pages do not say, and you should ask before you restructure anything around the card.

How to get it

The honest short answer is that the card is not a separate product you apply for — you get a Revolut account, you choose a plan, and the virtual card appears in the app. The public pages do not state the identity checks, the verification tiers, or the delivery terms.

Unofficial, per CryptoCardHub in August 2026: expect full KYC, meaning a government ID and possibly a selfie, and expect to be asked to declare the source of funds if you make large crypto transactions. That source-of-funds step is the one that catches people out. It is not a formality — it is the moment where a large transfer turns into a conversation, and it is also where the recurring complaints about frozen balances come from.

On the card itself, official fee schedules list virtual cards as free on Standard, Plus and Ultra. Network and currency are not publicly stated. Unofficial reporting describes a Visa/Mastercard prepaid debit whose network depends on the region — which means the card you get may behave slightly differently in different countries, including at checkout.

Delivery, unofficial: Standard is paid (around £4.99/€5.50), Plus is paid, Premium is free express, Metal and Ultra are free priority. A replacement runs around £5/€6 on Standard, Plus and Premium, and costs more on Metal and Ultra. I would rather show you that than repeat the comfortable-sounding “it’s free” — the issuance fee is small and real, and it lands on the people most likely to be on the cheapest plan.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is where the picture gets complicated, and where I would focus your attention. The costs table below mixes what the card’s own pages say with what third-party sources report, and I have marked which is which because the gap between them is the whole story.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Revolut payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What applies Source
Issuance, virtual card Free on Standard, Plus and Ultra plans Official fee schedules (older 2023–2024 PDFs; current schedule not read)
Monthly plan fee, UK/EEA Standard 0; Plus £3.99/€2.99; Premium £7.99/€7.99; Metal £14.99/€13.99; Ultra £55/€60 Unofficial
Crypto exchange, card spend No exchange fee for crypto transactions with the Revolut card, but fair usage fees may apply depending on plan Official help page (German version)
Exchange allowance, older schedule Standard GBP 1,000/month then 1%; Plus GBP 3,000/month then 0.5%; Premium/Metal/Ultra no limit Official, older schedule
Weekend FX markup Standard 1%; Plus 0.5%; Premium/Metal/Ultra 0% Unofficial
Fair usage fee Standard 1% above £1,000/month; Plus 0.5% above £3,000/month Unofficial
FX fee Not read —
ATM allowance Fees apply beyond a monthly allowance; crypto-card-specific ATM terms not stated Official, older schedule excerpt
ATM allowance amounts Free up to £200/month (Standard, Plus), £400 (Premium), £800 (Metal), £2,000 (Ultra), then 2%; daily ATM limit £3,000 Unofficial
Exchange count limit 100 crypto exchanges per 24 hours, minimum/maximum depending on coin Official help page excerpt
Spend limits Not stated —
Single transaction Around £100,000 Unofficial; contradicts the official 100-exchanges figure above
Card currency, networks Not stated —

Let me take three everyday payments through that table, because the abstract numbers hide which ones actually cost you.

Paying a UK subscription in pounds. This is the cheapest case. The card spends from a fiat balance, so no crypto is converted and no exchange fee applies — the official help page says no exchange fee for crypto transactions with the card, and fair usage fees may apply depending on plan. What you are really paying is your plan subscription: Standard 0, Plus £3.99/€2.99, Premium £7.99/€7.99, Metal £14.99/€13.99, Ultra £55/€60 per month per the unofficial figures.

Paying a US subscription in dollars from a euro balance. Here the weekend markup is the number that matters. Unofficial: Standard 1%, Plus 0.5%, Premium/Metal/Ultra 0%. If you are on Standard and you pay a dollar service on a Saturday, that 1% is the price of the convenience. I would not try to model the exact result for your own month — exchange rates move, the published FX fee was not read — but the shape is clear: the plan you are on determines how much the currency mismatch costs you, and on the two entry plans it costs real money.

Paying for something by converting crypto. This is where it stops being free. The older official schedule allowed GBP 1,000/month on Standard and GBP 3,000/month on Plus before a 1% and 0.5% fee respectively, with no limit on Premium/Metal/Ultra. Unofficial sources put a fair usage fee of 1% above £1,000/month on Standard and 0.5% above £3,000/month on Plus — the same shape — and 2023 terms mentioned a crypto fee of 1.99% or £0.99 whichever was greater on Standard and Plus. The current schedule was not read. So: your first thousand pounds a month of crypto-funded spending is reported as free, and past that you are paying around 1% on Standard. Whether the older schedule still applies is exactly the thing to check in your app before you rely on it.

Two limits are worth knowing because they contradict each other. The official help page says 100 crypto exchanges per 24 hours. An unofficial source says 200. If you are a heavy trader rather than a spender, that gap is the difference between a limit you never notice and one you hit.

The card also runs a 100-exchanges-per-24-hours cap with per-coin minimums and maximums, which sounds generous until you remember spend limits are not stated at all. That absence matters more than the exchange cap, and I want to be explicit that it is an absence, not a reassurance.

Top up: how money gets in

Officially, the funding mechanics are not stated — which coins, which networks — and I will not guess them, because a wrong network is the single most expensive mistake in this category. Unofficial reporting says the card draws from a chosen crypto or fiat account with a fallback to other accounts, spending 250+ tokens and holding 30+ fiat currencies.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Revolut starts with a transfer to the right network

That is the section where this card scored 8 out of 10, and the reason is the fallback. Having a card that pulls from whichever balance you nominate, and falls back when that one is short, removes the most common friction in crypto card use: being stuck with a card you cannot fund because the coin you hold is not the coin it wanted. Per-tier differences are reported through the fees rather than a published tier table — the plan prices, exchange allowances, ATM allowances, and the reported priority support on Premium/Metal/Ultra with a dedicated callback line on Ultra.

One restriction worth knowing, and it is not a hint or a workaround, just a fact: Pro and Business accounts cannot link the card. If your money sits in a business account, this card is not for you, full stop.

Paying with it every day

This is a virtual card, first and foremost. That shapes the day-to-day more than anything else here.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. That matters: in the pre-loaded balance model, the user converts or tops up a balance and the card spends only that balance, so the card cannot overdraw. A virtual card behind a phone wallet is the normal shape of that. The app ratings are strong — App Store 4.8/5 from 140,618 ratings, Google Play 4.5/5, and Trustpilot around 4.5/5 from roughly 425,000 reviews. Trustpilot ratings are generally high, though numbers vary across platforms.

Cashback, unofficial: Metal and Ultra get 0.1% in eligible European countries and 1% elsewhere, capped at roughly one month’s fee; Standard, Plus and Premium get none. Read that cap carefully — the reward is designed to be smaller than the plan costs you, so cashback is a partial offset on Metal or Ultra, not a reason to move up.

The wallet support detail, rewards terms and app feature set are not stated officially. Where the card comes up short is cash: ATM fees apply beyond a monthly allowance, and the crypto-card-specific ATM terms are simply not stated. The unofficial allowances run £200/month free on Standard and Plus, £400 Premium, £800 Metal, £2,000 Ultra, then 2%, with a £3,000 daily ATM limit. So if you expect to take out real currency regularly, you are spending against the weakest part of this card.

A structural note that applies to any crypto card, and explains the occasional decline at a till. The merchant category code is a four-digit classification of a business, and MCC 7995 covers gambling; many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. And a declined authorisation may leave a hold that can sit for several days, typically up to seven.

What can go wrong

The complaints are the most useful thing on this page, and they are not about the card.

Trustpilot sits at about 4.5/5 from roughly 425,000 reviews. The recurring themes: accounts closed without clear reasons, fraud and chargeback cases that are hard to resolve, and a crypto deposit held for two and a half months or more, with posts on r/Revolut describing a denied fraud chargeback. Support is reported as 24/7 in-app chat in 100+ languages, with some users saying help was limited on crypto issues specifically.

Read those three themes together and the risk becomes clear. The card is the small part. What you are trusting is that a single app, holding a balance convertible from crypto, will not freeze it, will not close the account, and will support you competently if something goes wrong. Those are the exact failure modes that show up in the complaints, and none of them are card-network problems you can influence.

The regulatory picture gives you a little more shape. Revolut was granted a UK banking licence with restrictions by the PRA in July 2024, reported September 2024 through a third-party summary I did not read in detail — a summary, not the licence conditions. In the EU, an electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend, and must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them; those funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. A card itself is regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often depends on two licences. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people merely buying goods or services are not.

The third structural risk is one the category cannot remove. Custodial platforms have a record: Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk. Here the private key is not yours, so recovery is a support ticket rather than a technical process — and support is exactly where the complaints concentrate. Stablecoins can depeg too: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023.

On the safety side, the card’s own security features, spending limits, freeze controls and authentication settings are not stated in the public pages I could read, and I am not going to describe safeguards I have not verified.

What to take instead

Three cards came up in the same comparison, and the honest summary is that none of them is clearly better — they fail in different directions.

International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
Score 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Card U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, pays in USD; physical “Coming soon” Multicurrency, Mastercard network Visa, works online and in stores
Who Not for residents or registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list reviewed case by case Not stated 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses
Cost Virtual issuance $5 one-time, no maintenance; Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month No annual fee Page says “No extra fees”, no amounts listed
Spending fees USD use free on all plans; foreign currency “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits free No FX fee, live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” Not stated
Funding USDC or USDT 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow; networks not stated Not stated Whop balance; pending balance usable on arrival; stablecoin-collateral backed
Rewards None stated Up to 3% Spend-to-Earn 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber

The International Visa Card is the closest competitor and the one I would put beside Revolut. It costs $5 for the virtual card with no maintenance fee, gives a free Classic tier, and its 2% FX fee is a fixed, published number — where Revolut’s FX fee was not read. It also has a longer exclusion list, includes Israel and Turkey where Revolut’s does not, and its rule is by residence or registration rather than citizenship.

UNi Card is the simplest on paper: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, live OTC rates, and rewards of up to 3%. But its eligibility and funding are both not stated, which for a card you would use with your own money is a large gap.

Whop Cards are a different proposition entirely — 31 US states, no extra fees, 5% cashback at select merchants. If you are in the US and spending from a Whop balance, that is a fit. For anyone else it is not.

The pattern worth noticing: every one of these cards hides something. Revolut hides its fee schedule behind plan tiers; the Visa card hides behind a 2% FX fee; UNi hides its eligibility; Whop hides its country list. Before choosing any of them, ask the one question the marketing page will not answer: what does this cost me in the worst month, in the currency I actually spend in?

Who I would recommend it to

Revolut, 6.5 / 10.

I would recommend it if you already have a Revolut account in the EU or UK, your crypto spending is ordinary monthly subscriptions and groceries rather than cash withdrawals, and you value being able to pick which balance pays. The 8-out-of-10 top-up score is real and it is why.

I would not, if you are in the United States or any of the 12 restricted countries, if your balance sits in a Pro or Business account, if ATM withdrawals are a normal part of your week, or if you hold a large crypto position and need a card that is not one app away from a frozen account.

If you want the card purely as a crypto spending rail and you have never used Revolut, start by reading the fee page in your own app and your own country’s terms. The published FX fee was not readable from outside, the current fee schedule was not read, and the exchange-limit numbers in unofficial sources contradict the official help page. Those are three reasons to look at the live terms yourself before you commit — not three reasons to avoid it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Revolut card?

It is a payment card linked to a Revolut account, and the crypto version spends from a crypto balance rather than a bank balance. Revolut is primarily a banking and payments app that added crypto to an existing multi-currency account, so the card is a feature of that account rather than a standalone crypto product. The virtual card is reported as free on Standard, Plus and Ultra plans.

How does the Revolut card work?

You load or convert a balance and the card spends only that balance, which is the pre-loaded model most crypto cards use and why such cards cannot overdraw. Unofficial reporting says the card draws from a chosen crypto or fiat account and falls back to other accounts, with 250+ tokens available to spend. Which coins and networks are supported is not stated on the public pages.

Is Revolut a bank?

Partly, and it varies by market. The PRA granted Revolut a UK banking licence with restrictions in July 2024. In the EU, Revolut Bank UAB operates under an electronic money institution licence, and such institutions can issue cards and wallets but cannot lend. Customer funds must be safeguarded, but that is not the same as a bank deposit or deposit-guarantee cover.

Who owns Revolut?

The company behind the app is Revolut Ltd in the UK. The EU banking entity is Revolut Bank UAB, with regional partner banks elsewhere, and EU crypto services are reported as running through Revolut Digital Assets Europe Ltd in Cyprus as a MiCA-licensed crypto-asset service provider. These figures come from third-party sources rather than Revolut’s own pages.

Which countries can get the Revolut card?

Official pages say availability depends on country and plan without listing it. Unofficial reporting from August 2026 says 37 countries including the EU, UK, Australia, Japan, Singapore and New Zealand, with 12 restricted including the United States, Canada, India and Russia. A second aggregator says 48+, so treat the exact list as something to confirm with support.

Does the Revolut card require KYC?

The public pages do not state the checks. Unofficial reporting describes full KYC with a government ID and possibly a selfie, plus source-of-funds declarations that may be requested for large crypto transactions. That last part is the one to plan for: it is a conversation, not a click, and it is where delays get reported.

How much does the Revolut card cost?

Virtual cards are listed as free on Standard, Plus and Ultra. Unofficial reports (not confirmed by Revolut) list plan fees as Standard 0, Plus £3.99/€2.99, Premium £7.99/€7.99, Metal £14.99/€13.99, Ultra £55/€60 per month in the UK and EEA. Crypto exchange spend has no fee per the official help page, but fair usage fees apply by plan above roughly £1,000/month on Standard and £3,000/month on Plus.

Can I add the Revolut card to Apple Wallet?

Apple Pay and Google Pay are both reported as supported, which is the practical reason a virtual crypto card works day to day. The tokenised number lives on the device rather than on Apple’s servers, with a one-time dynamic code per payment. Official confirmation of wallet support is not stated on the pages reviewed.

Is the Revolut card safe?

It carries normal payment-industry risk plus the specific risk of holding crypto with an app. The recurring complaints are account closures without clear reasons, hard fraud and chargeback cases, and deposits held for months. Safeguards like two-factor authentication, instant freeze and spending limits are not stated on the public pages, so check them in the app before you fund it.

Can you close a Revolut account or withdraw from it?

Withdrawal terms are not explicitly stated, and account closure is one of the recurring complaint themes on Trustpilot, where the rating sits around 4.5/5 from roughly 425,000 reviews. If you hold a balance you care about, ask support directly about withdrawal limits, processing times and what happens to any crypto balance before you close anything.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team