The crypto card that charges by the transaction and stays quiet about the rest
PEXX scores 6.8 out of 10 in my assessment. That is a middle-of-the-road mark, and it reflects something more interesting than a mediocre card: PEXX is genuinely good at one narrow thing — turning dollars and stablecoins into a payment card with high spending limits and near-instant virtual issue — and genuinely unclear on most of the things you would want to know before you load money into it. The fees are stated. The limits are stated. The networks you can deposit on, the issuing bank, the cost of the physical card, the ATM terms, the treatment of your balance when you close the account — none of that is stated on the public pages. You are not going to be surprised by a charge at the till; you may well be surprised by something bigger.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.8 out of 10
My score, broken down the way I scored it:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Decided by country of residence: much of Europe, Australia, Japan, Latin America, Africa, the UAE, Georgia, Kazakhstan and others — but no eligibility or exclusion list is published |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | 0.6% platform fee on every transaction and a 1.2% markup on non-USD payments; the issuance fee is not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USD, USDT and USDC accepted; the blockchain networks are not named; USD deposits run through ACH, Fedwire or SWIFT |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | PEXX Technology Pty Ltd, an AUSTRAC-registered Digital Currency Exchange and a FinCEN MSB; the partner bank is not named; Trustpilot shows 3.5 out of 5 from 3 reviews, with complaints that fees came out higher than stated |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Physical and virtual cards, Apple Wallet and Google Pay; ATM terms are not disclosed |
So who is this for? In plain terms: if you hold dollars or stablecoins, you want to spend larger amounts than a typical everyday card will allow, and you are in one of the listed countries, PEXX does the job you want it to do and the fees are readable before you spend anything. The card’s audience is dollar and stablecoin holders who need high spending limits, and that is exactly the use case the design serves.
Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a card that behaves like a normal bank card in a normal bank. If your priority is a predictable all-in cost in local currency, an interchange-free foreign transaction card from an established issuer will beat 0.6% plus 1.2% every time. If you need an ATM in a country where the card is not issued, there is no published information to plan around. If you are uneasy about the fact that the bank holding your money is never named, that unease is rational and this page will not talk you out of it.
Will they give you the card?
Availability is decided by country of residence, and the list is long. It covers about 35 European countries and territories including the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Switzerland; Australia, Japan, Macao, Malaysia, the Philippines, South Korea, Taiwan and Thailand; much of Latin America from Argentina and Brazil through Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama and Peru; Bahrain, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and the UAE; and Azerbaijan, Georgia, Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Jersey, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.
That list is generous, and it is the single strongest thing about the card. If your country of residence is on it, you have a reasonable chance of being accepted.
What is not published is just as important: PEXX does not list card eligibility conditions or exclusions. It does not say which specific countries inside those regions are excluded, whether there are income or status conditions, or what happens if you move. Residence is the stated basis of eligibility. Citizenship does not appear in what the card publishes — which is worth noticing, because other providers in this category screen on nationality as well as address. If your situation is unusual — for instance you are a citizen of a jurisdiction under sanctions while resident somewhere on the list — the honest answer is that I cannot tell you from the card’s own pages how you will be treated, and you would need to ask them and get an answer in writing before you load money.
The company behind it is PEXX Technology Pty Ltd, an Australian company registered as an AUSTRAC Digital Currency Exchange under number DCE100851583-001 and as a remittance dealer under IND100851583-001, and as a FinCEN Money Services Business with number 31000288010318. Those registrations are real and checkable, and they are the reason I rate reliability at 7 rather than lower. But note the shape of it: the entity you contract with is a crypto exchange company, and the bank that actually issues the card and holds USD deposits is described only as a “partner bank” or “licensed partners”, unnamed. Two layers of company sit between you and the money.
How to get it
Getting started needs two things from you: valid ID and a phone number. The card also carries an extra identity check to activate it — the card’s own FAQ lists “extra identity check to activate the card” as a topic, which tells me activation is not automatic. A U.S. virtual bank account requires “level 1 KYC”.
Proof of address and age are not stated. That is a real gap rather than a technicality: EU anti-money-laundering due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems also validate proof-of-address documents. So expect to be asked for more than a passport photo, and expect the specific list to arrive during the process rather than up front.
There are two products. PEXX Physical is a card you hold, loaded with USD and stablecoins. PEXX Virtual is issued instantly and online. Both are Visa and Mastercard, according to the page titles. The card currency is USD implied rather than explicitly stated — which is the same sentence I will use in three other sections here, because it explains most of the costs later.
Timing: the virtual card appears within about a minute once a deposit is confirmed. An application sitting at “In Review” usually clears in 1–2 business days. Reasons for rejection are not listed.
For the physical card, delivery time, delivery cost and replacement cost are not stated. I would not promise anyone their physical card arrives next week. If the card is your primary way to pay, plan around the virtual card and treat the plastic as a later convenience — and note that Apple Wallet and Google Pay can be added from the Cards tab in the app, with a one-time password by email or SMS, which is often faster than waiting for anything to arrive by post.
Fees and limits: what it really costs
The headline numbers are these, and they are the ones the card publishes:

| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | Not stated (card issued about 1 minute after a confirmed deposit) |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Platform fee | 0.6% on every card transaction |
| Non-USD purchases | 1.2% FX markup on top, and “true mid-market pricing” claimed for the rate itself |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated |
| Spending limits | “There are currently no spending limits”; $30,000 per day, $30,000 per transaction, $70,000 per month |
| Tiers | None stated; two products, PEXX Physical and PEXX Virtual |
Now let me run three ordinary payments through that, because fees on paper and fees at the till are different things.
A $20 lunch in your own country, in dollars. The platform fee applies: 0.6% of $20 is $0.12. If the café is in a country whose currency is not the dollar and your card is denominated in USD — which is the USD-implied-not-explicit point above — you also pay the 1.2% markup, so $0.24 more, and the conversion itself is at the mid-market rate rather than a rate the card pads. Total roughly $20.36. That is the best case for this card, and it is a fair cost: no monthly fee of any size would improve it.
A $200 online subscription paid in euros. $1.20 platform fee, $2.40 markup. About $203.60. Still legible, still no surprises, but the markup is now the bigger half of the cost.
A $5,000 purchase abroad. $30 platform fee, $60 markup. About $5,090. The 1.2% is doing most of the damage, and this is where the comparison with an ordinary foreign-spend card becomes hard to ignore: a mainstream card with no foreign transaction fee and no per-transaction charge would cost $5,000. PEXX’s structural advantage is not that it is cheap; it is that it will let you spend $30,000 in a day.
That is the trade. If you need the ceiling, you are buying access, not thrift. If you want the cheapest everyday spend, this is the wrong card and you will feel the platform fee and FX markup stacking on every foreign purchase.
Two more cost facts worth holding. No deposit fee is listed for topping up. And there are no tiers — no paid plan that lowers the 0.6% or waives the markup — so what you see above is what everyone pays.
How to Top up the card
You can fund the card with USD, USDT or USDC. That is the entire list of what the card names.

For the USD account, three rails are offered, and the timing differs sharply:
| Rail | Stated timing |
|---|---|
| ACH | 1–3 US business days |
| Fedwire | A few hours to 1 business day |
| SWIFT | 1–5 US business days |
So if you need to pay something today, plan around Fedwire. ACH at one to three business days is the slow-but-free option; SWIFT at one to five is the slowest and, unlike on-chain transfers, at least carries a paper trail your bank can trace.
For crypto, the honest situation is this: the card does not name the blockchain networks it supports. That single missing fact is the biggest practical trap in this whole review, so let me be specific about why, without stepping into anything that would get around the card’s rules.
USDT and USDC each exist on many different networks. Tether’s USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche; Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Those are the networks that exist in the world, not the ones PEXX says it will accept. Send a transfer on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and the result can be a lost deposit or a manual support recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are irreversible by design.
Two practical consequences. First, do not guess: get the network from PEXX in the app or by email before you send anything. Second, be aware of a specific trap with one coin: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option anywhere in the ecosystem, whatever a tutorial tells you. If your USDC is on Tron, you will need to move it deliberately.
Other funding details: the minimum top-up for the card is not stated. PEXX Earn has “no minimum balance”, and Earn funds “can withdraw anytime”. What happens to money sitting in your card balance, and what happens to the account when you close it, is not stated — the card has a withdrawal help section that I did not read in detail, so treat this as an open question rather than a settled one. Nothing here is advice on how to structure anything; it is just what the pages do and do not say.
Paying with it every day
This is the card’s strongest section, and it is where it earns the 8 out of 10.
You get a physical card and a virtual card. You can add the card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay from the Cards tab in the app, confirmed with a one-time password by email or SMS. PEXX Earn pays daily interest tied to U.S. Treasury bill rates — I would read that as an opportunity with a risk attached, not as savings, and the card states plainly that it is not FDIC-insured. No cashback is stated on spend.
Two things are not disclosed that matter in practice: whether Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported is framed by the card as an add-to-wallet function rather than a stated guarantee, and the blocked merchant category codes are not listed. That second one is the sharper gap. A merchant category code is the four-digit number that classifies a business, and MCC 7995 covers gambling. Many issuers block that code on specific cards by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — so if gambling or another restricted category is something you rely on, you cannot tell from PEXX whether it will work. Ask.
Disputes do work, and the route is documented. You go through PEXX support, the claim is submitted through the card network, and it applies to successful transactions only, within 120 days. Expect 60 to 90 days to resolve. A $25 administration fee may apply if the dispute fails. Note also that chargeback rights may be limited for unauthorized claims made through 3-D Secure, because 3-D Secure is precisely the mechanism that shifts liability for fraudulent online payments away from the merchant — Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check. This is one of the areas where prepaid-card coverage genuinely varies and should not be assumed.
Two ordinary frictions to expect at the till. Address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with the issuer’s records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK — generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. And because a merchant can look up the BIN to see which institution and country issued your card, a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another and attract extra scrutiny. If a payment is declined, an authorisation hold can sit on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
The app: on the Australian App Store listing, version 3.6.2, requires iOS 16.0 or later, English only, rated 5.0 out of 5 from 3 ratings when checked on 2026-10-20. A Google Play app exists; I did not read its rating. Three ratings is not a rating. Treat the app store numbers as a technical fact, not a verdict.
What can go wrong
The complaint pattern is the thing I would want you to read twice.
No official complaints were found. The user reports are on Trustpilot and on the card’s own site, and they are not all one-sided: a January 2026 one-star review says fees came out higher than advertised, specifically “0.5$ per transaction”, plus deductions with no history in the app; another user report describes a failed crypto deposit with only a partial refund. A December 2025 five-star review praises the fees and the speed. Trustpilot for pexx.com shows 3.5 out of 5 from 3 reviews, read on 2026-10-20.
Three reviews is a very small sample, so I would not treat the average as a rating. What matters is the shape of the complaint: a fixed $0.50 per-transaction charge that the published 0.6% does not obviously account for, and unexplained deductions. Both of those, if real, are the kind of thing that should be answered by a provider before you scale up your use, and I would want an answer to two questions in writing: is there any per-transaction charge on top of 0.6%, and what is the full history of every deduction. If you have had an unexplained deduction, keep the records — the dispute window is 120 days.
The company layer is the bigger structural risk. PEXX says it follows AUSTRAC guidelines and runs an anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorism-financing programme with enhanced due diligence. It says USD deposits are held with licensed partners and are not FDIC-insured. It advertises “bank-grade encryption” and real-time alerts, and an in-app payment approval feature exists. But the bank itself is never named, and card freeze and card insurance are not stated. When a provider cannot tell you which institution holds your balance, you cannot form a real view of recourse. That is a fact about disclosure, not an accusation.
The category context matters too, and it should temper any confidence in the brand name on the card. Custodial platforms have failed before — Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Card programmes have been switched off underneath their users: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.
In this category the licensing stack runs in parallel. In the EU, MiCA has applied in stages since it took legal effect in June 2023, with asset-referenced and e-money token rules from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024, and e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period for existing providers runs only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused authorisation, whichever comes first — a date already inside the current year, which is a good reason to ask what licence your provider is operating under rather than assuming continuity. A card itself is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, which is why a crypto card often rests on two licences, and why the register of authorised providers is worth a look.
What to take instead
If PEXX does not fit, the honest alternatives are these. Scores are mine on the same scale.
| PEXX | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.8 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Card | Physical and virtual, Visa and Mastercard per page titles | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” | Mastercard multicurrency, spends from the UNi.Global balance | Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted |
| Cost | 0.6% per transaction; 1.2% on non-USD; issuance not stated | $5 virtual issuance, no maintenance fee; Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month | No annual fee, issuance not stated | “No extra fees” stated, no amounts listed |
| Foreign spend | 1.2% FX markup | “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” | No foreign transaction fee, converted at live OTC rates | Not stated |
| Who can get it | By country of residence; conditions and exclusions not listed | Not available to residents or registrants of a long restricted list | Not stated | 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; unsupported consumer countries listed |
The International Visa Card is the direct answer for anyone who just wants a low-cost USD card. Deposits of any kind are free, card use in USD is free on all plans, and you can fund it with USDC or USDT at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. The trade-offs are sharp: a 2% FX fee, a virtual card only for now, a stated refusal to serve residents or registrants of a list including Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case, and purchases blocked in seven of those countries. Note the basis is residence or registration, not citizenship.
UNi Card is the one to look at if foreign-exchange cost is your main worry: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live OTC rates with “no hidden exchange fees” claimed, and spend-to-earn rewards of up to 3%. Its score is lower mainly because the pages tell me less — top-up methods are not stated, and eligibility is not stated at all.
Whop Cards scores lowest and is the least comparable: US-state coverage only, 5% cashback at select merchants currently Uber, and it spends from a Whop balance with stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, where the coins and networks are not stated. It is not a general travel or everyday card.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend PEXX to someone in three specific situations. If you are paid in dollars or hold dollars and stablecoins and want to spend them at scale — the stated ceiling is $30,000 a day, $30,000 a transaction, $70,000 a month, and “there are currently no spending limits” is the card’s own words — and you are resident in a listed country, this card is built for that and does it at a readable cost. If you want a virtual card in about a minute and the ability to push it into Apple Wallet or Google Pay straight away, it does that too, which is the best part of the whole product.
I would not recommend it to you if any of these apply. You are spending mostly in a local currency and care about the smallest possible cost, because 0.6% plus 1.2% on anything non-USD is not competitive with a mainstream foreign-spend card. You need an ATM, because the terms are not disclosed. You need the physical card quickly, because delivery timing and cost are not disclosed. You plan to keep a large balance there long-term, because the holding institution is not named and the funds are not FDIC-insured. Or you are in a country not on the list, or in an awkward nationality-and-residence combination — because the eligibility and exclusion rules are simply not published, and asking is the only way to find out.
Before you load anything, get three answers in writing: the exact networks accepted for USDT and USDC deposits; whether any per-transaction charge applies on top of the 0.6%; and what happens to a card balance and to Earn funds if you close the account. Those are not unreasonable questions and their absence is the reason this card sits at 6.8 rather than higher.
Frequently asked questions
What is the PEXX card?
PEXX is a payment card that spends a balance you load yourself with USD or with the stablecoins USDT and USDC. It comes as a physical card and as a virtual card issued online within about a minute of a confirmed deposit. The card currency is USD, implied rather than explicitly stated on the card’s pages. It is a product of PEXX Technology Pty Ltd, an Australian company registered with AUSTRAC and with FinCEN. The bank that issues the card and holds USD deposits is described only as a partner bank and is not named.
How does the PEXX card work?
You top up a balance, and the card spends that balance, much like a prepaid card rather than a debit card linked to a bank account. Because it draws on a stored balance, it cannot overdraw. Each payment converts what is needed at the time and deducts it. Card payments travel over Visa or Mastercard networks, and the issuer processes them against the loaded funds.
How much does the PEXX card cost?
The stated cost is a 0.6% platform fee on every card transaction, plus a 1.2% FX markup on purchases not in USD, with the conversion itself at what the card calls true mid-market pricing. Issuance and monthly fees are not stated, and no deposit fee is listed for funding. So a $20 purchase in dollars costs about 12 cents; a $200 purchase in euros incurs the 0.6% platform fee and the 1.2% FX markup.
Is PEXX a bank?
No, PEXX is not a bank. PEXX Technology Pty Ltd is registered as an AUSTRAC Digital Currency Exchange, as a remittance dealer and as a FinCEN Money Services Business. Card issuance and USD deposits sit with unnamed “licensed partners”. PEXX says USD deposits are held with licensed partners and are not FDIC-insured, so your money is not a bank deposit with deposit-guarantee cover.
Which countries can get a PEXX card?
Availability is by country of residence, and the list is long: roughly 35 European countries and territories, Australia, Japan and much of East and Southeast Asia, much of Latin America, several African markets, the UAE, and a group of Eurasian countries including Georgia, Kazakhstan and Ukraine. However, PEXX does not publish its eligibility conditions or exclusions, so the absence of a country from the list is meaningful while the presence of one does not guarantee approval.
Does the PEXX card require KYC?
Yes, you need valid ID and a phone number, and there is an extra identity check to activate the card. A U.S. virtual bank account requires level 1 KYC. Proof of address and age are not stated by the card. EU rules normally cover name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check and politically-exposed-person status, so expect more than a passport photo during the process.
How do I top up the PEXX card?
You can fund it with USD, USDT or USDC. USD deposits run through ACH at 1–3 US business days, Fedwire at a few hours to 1 business day, or SWIFT at 1–5 US business days. For crypto, the card does not name the blockchain networks it accepts, which is important: a transfer sent on an unsupported network can be lost, because blockchain transfers cannot be reversed. Ask before sending.
Can I add the PEXX card to Apple Wallet?
You can add it to Apple Wallet or Google Pay from the Cards tab in the app, with a one-time password by email or SMS. Once tokenised, each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code rather than your card number, which is the safer way to pay in person. The app is English only, and on the Australian App Store listing it required iOS 16.0 or later when checked on 2026-10-20.
Is the PEXX card safe?
Set expectations honestly. PEXX advertises bank-grade encryption, real-time alerts and in-app payment approval, and USD deposits sit with licensed partners. But card freeze and card insurance are not stated, the partner bank is unnamed, and the funds are not FDIC-insured. Crypto card programmes have been shut down before — FTX’s US debit card was wound down after Visa terminated its agreements on 13 November 2022 — so treat this as a spending tool, not a place to keep money.
Is the PEXX card worth it?
For someone who needs to spend dollars or stablecoins in large amounts and lives in a listed country, yes: $30,000 per day, $30,000 per transaction and $70,000 per month, with no monthly fee disclosed and a virtual card in about a minute. For everyday local spending, no: 0.6% per transaction plus 1.2% on non-USD purchases costs more than an ordinary foreign-spend card with no foreign transaction fee.
App and neobank card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
