Wallib looks cheap and pays 1% bitcoin cashback — but half the card's key facts are simply not published
Wallib is a Colombian fintech with a rechargeable Visa debit card, a balance held in pesos, top-ups from BTC, USDT or COP, and 1% bitcoin cashback on larger purchases. The card costs nothing to create and nothing to keep, and a Colombian merchant gets paid in pesos without any conversion. That is the good part. The problem is everything around it: no named issuing bank, no stated licence, no ATM information, no explanation of which networks the crypto deposits travel on, and no independent review pages anywhere I could find. I gave it 5.4 out of 10, and the reasoning below is where that number comes from.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.4 out of 10, and the split tells the story
The single word that summarises Wallib is *unpublished*. Not bad — unpublished. The card is clearly real, the fees are clearly low, and the product logic is sound for its home market. But too much of the information you would need in order to decide whether to trust it with money is missing from the company’s own public pages. When a fintech cannot name the bank that issues its card, you cannot check that bank’s record, and that is not a small gap.

This card is built for Colombian residents who hold BTC or USDT and want to spend in pesos from a crypto balance without going through an exchange every time. If that is you, the economics are genuinely attractive and I would not talk you out of it. If you are anywhere else, want a physical card with an ATM, want to know what happens when a merchant holds your payment, or want to read a single complaint from a stranger before signing up, Wallib is not the card for you — the card’s own pages do not support those questions.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Launch market is Colombia, with Mexico also named on the site; international purchases work anywhere Visa is accepted |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Card creation and activation are 0 USD with no monthly fee; top-up is 0.1% + 1,000 COP + IVA, COP purchases are free, foreign-currency purchases pay Visa’s 1.2% |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Top up from BTC, USDT or COP, converted to pesos on load; the networks are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | A Colombian fintech in Bogotá; the issuing bank and licences are not named, and no Trustpilot page or complaint pages could be found |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Virtual card available immediately, Apple Pay and Google Pay at no extra cost; the plastic is mentioned without any ordering process and the ATM is not covered |
| Total | 5.4 / 10 | Cheap and local, but too much of the decision rests on facts the company does not publish |
Two things to hold onto as you read the rest. First, the highest mark in the table is Cost, and it is the one area the company documents clearly and honestly — 0 USD to create, no monthly fee, a top-up fee written out to three decimals. That part you can rely on. Second, the lowest is Who can get it, at 2 out of 10, and that is not because the card is restrictive — it is because the eligibility rules are barely stated. Mexico is named on the site; Colombia is the launch market. Beyond that, the picture is guesswork.
Who they will give the card to
Honestly? The published position is thin, and you should treat it that way rather than filling the gaps with assumptions.
The launch market is Colombia. That is the market the card was built for, where domestic purchases at Colombian merchants are the core use case. The site also names Mexico. And the site’s own words on transfers say money goes to “cualquier banco, billetera o tarjeta en Latinoamérica” — any bank, wallet or card in Latin America.
So: a card for Latin America, centred on Colombia. International purchases work at any merchant that accepts Visa, which is the ordinary Visa promise and is not itself a restriction — but it is also not the same as being available to you. Being able to *spend* a card abroad and being able to *open* an account from your country of residence are two entirely different questions, and only the first one has an answer here.
There is another phrase worth pausing on. If your instinct is that the card is somehow restricted or that some people are quietly excluded, let me set that down clearly: nothing in what Wallib publishes points to a nationality screen or a country blacklist. The limitation is simpler and duller. The card is a Colombian product for Colombian residents, and the company’s own site is where eligibility beyond that would be written — and it is not written.
What I could not find, and you should assume is unavailable until you ask: the age requirement beyond the general adulthood rule that applies to prepaid and debit cards, any proof-of-address requirement, any list of accepted identity documents, and any statement about which countries’ residents are accepted. The card’s pages simply do not say.
How to get it
The signup path is short and entirely inside the app, but it is gated by a real identity check and a real first deposit.
The sequence the company gives is: create and verify your Wallib account, activate the virtual card in the app, then recharge from BTC, USDT or COP. That is the whole of it — three steps, all in-app.
Two conditions sit in front of you before anything works:
- Identity verification must be approved. The account has to exist and KYC has to be cleared before the card is activated. This is normal and it is not negotiable, so do not go looking for a way around it; there is not one, and anyone offering you one is running a different kind of business.
- A first deposit of at least 20,000 COP is required. 20,000 COP is a low bar — a fraction of a monthly salary — but it does mean you are putting money in before you have proved the card works.
What you get is a rechargeable Visa debit card, virtual and available immediately. The balance is in Colombian pesos.
The physical card, meanwhile, exists only in passing. It is mentioned; no ordering steps, no delivery time, no cost, no eligibility line. Treat “there is a plastic card” as unverified until you see the ordering flow yourself. That is not a criticism so much as a fact about what is and is not documented: the virtual card is the product, and the physical one is an aspiration mentioned in a sentence.
One more small thing that shows where the card’s detail level currently sits. The help material mentions a “verificación de primer nivel” — a first-level verification. It does not say what levels exist beyond that, how long any of them take, or why a verification might be refused. If your document is rejected, the page gives you no reason to expect and no route to appeal.
What it really costs: Fees, limits and the currency you actually hold
This is the section where Wallib earns its best mark, and where I would start if I were you. Fees are stated, they are low, and the domestic case is genuinely free.

| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Card creation | $0 |
| Activation | Free |
| Monthly or annual fee | None listed |
| Recharge | 0.1% (sale rate) + 1,000 COP + VAT for each card recharge |
| Purchase in COP | 0% |
| Purchase in a foreign currency | Visa charges 1.2% of the purchase value |
| ATM | Not stated |
| Daily purchase limit | Up to 10,000 USD, or the COP equivalent |
| Monthly limit | Not stated |
| Tiers | A single card; no tiers |
Now let me walk three ordinary payments through that table, because the fee that matters is the one for the purchase you actually make.
Paying 20,000 COP at a shop in Bogotá. This is the case Wallib is built for, and it costs you nothing beyond what you already paid to load the balance. Zero percent on COP purchases. If you topped up 20,000 COP, the fee on the top-up was 0.1% of the amount plus 1,000 COP plus VAT — call it a few thousand pesos on that size of load — and after that the purchase itself takes nothing.
Paying 20,000 COP’s worth of something online from outside Colombia. Here the 1.2% Visa charge on the foreign-currency purchase lands. This is not Wallib setting a rate; it is Visa’s charge for a cross-currency transaction, and Wallib passes it through. So the structure of your cost changes depending on where you are: cheap domestic spending, and a flat percentage penalty whenever the transaction is not in pesos.
Paying 20,000 COP at a Colombian merchant, funded by a USDT top-up. Two costs, not one. The top-up fee of 0.1% + 1,000 COP + VAT applies to the reload, because the USDT is converted to COP at load. The purchase in pesos then costs 0%. If the USDT arrived on a network that charges its own fee, that network fee is separate — the blockchain charges it, not Wallib — and who pays for it is not stated. If it comes out of your deposit, your effective reload cost is higher than the table says.
Two limits matter more than the others, and one of them is missing. The daily purchase limit of 10,000 USD (or COP equivalent) is generous enough that most people will never notice it, but it is a hard ceiling on a single day of spending. The monthly limit is not stated at all, and that is the number I would want if I were planning anything larger — a month of subscriptions, a rent payment, a single big purchase. Nobody can tell you what it is. The ATM is also not stated: no fee, no availability, no network of machines. Do not build a cash plan around this card.
One structural point that ties costs to behaviour. Because the balance is always in COP and the card is prepaid in effect — it spends a loaded balance and cannot go below zero — the “debit” label is doing less work than it appears. You are spending money you have already converted. That is a feature for budgeting and a limitation for credit.
How to Top it up
Top up from BTC, from USDT, or from COP, and the balance is converted into pesos at the moment of reload. That single sentence contains both the appeal and the trap.
The fee is the same 0.1% (described by the company as the sale rate) + 1,000 COP + VAT per recharge. Note the shape of that: a percentage *plus* a fixed peso amount. The fixed 1,000 COP is nearly irrelevant on a large top-up and comparatively heavy on a small one, so frequent small reloads cost you proportionally more than infrequent larger ones. That is a behavioural nudge worth resisting.
The minimum first deposit is 20,000 COP. After that, top up from COP balances directly, or convert from BTC or USDT at load.
And here is the gap I would not sign anything without asking about: the networks are not stated. Not for BTC, not for USDT. This matters more than it sounds. Blockchain transfers are irreversible by design — there is no built-in way to reverse one, no authority that can freeze or return it after the fact. If you send USDT on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be gone and its recovery a matter of a support ticket with no guarantee attached. In practice the app will normally show you the right route for your own deposit, so the risk is mostly about sending from outside the app — from an exchange’s withdrawal screen, for example — where the choice of network is yours and the consequence is not reversible. Check what the app shows before you ever press withdraw on another platform, and if you can, transfer a small amount first.
Whether *you* pay the network fee on the way in is not stated either. On-chain fees are charged by the blockchain rather than the card provider, so the honest answer is that they exist and are separate from Wallib’s 0.1% — where they come out of is a question for support.
One last movement to know about: withdrawing from the card back to your Wallib balance is 0%, with no fixed fee. What happens to your balance at closure, and how you get money out to a Colombian bank account, are both not stated. If your plan involves cashing out, ask before you load.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, the mechanics are pleasant. The card is built for online merchants, subscriptions, and anywhere that takes a peso payment on Visa. Apple Pay and Google Wallet both work at “sin costo adicional” — no extra cost to add the card to either — and there are apps for iPhone and Android.
Then there is the part that made me look twice, because it is the feature most likely to be the reason someone stays: 1% bitcoin cashback on eligible purchases over 10,000 COP, paid into your Wallib BTC wallet once the payment is confirmed.
Read the caps before you plan around it. The cashback is limited to 20 cashback transactions and to 3,000,000 COP of eligible purchases per month. Those are real limits, not decorations, and the monthly ceiling means the cashback stops at about 30,000 COP of bitcoin per month no matter how much you spend. On the maximum transaction side, the payout arrives after the payment is confirmed — so it is not available at the moment of spending.
Three things that are simply not stated and that you will notice if you trip over them:
- Blocked categories. No list is published. Some issuers block gambling and similar categories by policy rather than by law, and the list differs per issuer, so you cannot assume anything about which merchants this card will refuse.
- Dispute handling. Nothing is stated about chargebacks, complaint routes, or what happens when a payment is wrongly held. This is a prepaid-style balance, and prepaid-card dispute rights vary by jurisdiction and should never be assumed.
- How to delete your account. A real question people search for, and there is no published answer on the card’s pages.
Two more technical points worth knowing, not as warnings about this card but as facts about any card like it. A card number starts with six or eight digits that identify the issuing institution, and any merchant can look it up — which means a Colombian BIN can look “foreign” to a shop elsewhere, and some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for that reason. Also, a declined online authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, occasionally as long as seven. Hold that in mind before assuming money missing from your balance has been stolen.
What can go wrong
I found no official incidents, and I want to be precise about what that does and does not mean.
A search for Wallib reviews across Trustpilot and Reddit returned no pages about Wallib. No complaint themes were found because there were no complaints to find themes in. That is not a clean bill of health — it is an absence of data, and for a young card with a small user base it is roughly what you would expect either way. The site displays a 4.5/5 rating from its own testimonials, which is the company grading itself and tells you nothing about how disputes were handled.
The substantive risks are structural, and I would group them like this.
Who is behind the card is not named. Wallib is a Colombian fintech based in Bogotá, a member of Colombia Fintech, with Cristian Peñaranda as CEO and, per the starting data, the legal entity Wallib SAS. The issuing bank and the licences are not named. In a normal card, the issuer is a bank you can look up, and the Visa logo means the programme sits under that bank’s regulatory supervision. Here you cannot name the institution, so you cannot look up its record. For a company holding your balance and issuing your card, that is the first thing I would resolve.
Custody and safeguarding are not stated. Whether your funds are safeguarded in a way you could claim back if the company failed is not something the card’s pages address. This is worth explaining plainly. An e-money institution must safeguard customer funds — segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them — but such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. Whether Wallib does this, and how, is simply not on the page.
Programme risk is real in this category and this card is young. The history of crypto cards contains abrupt endings: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its Visa programmes closed. Closures typically follow a pattern — a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. A 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026; that is a single unconfirmed source, but the shape of it is what closures look like.
How old is this, really? The card launched on 7 May 2024, with the first 1,000 cards free through a referral campaign, a stated target of 1 million cards by the end of 2025, and expansion planned to Mexico, the US and Peru. That is a young operation with ambitious plans. Ambition is not a fault, but it does mean the track record you would want does not exist yet, and the plans are plans.
Deposits and withdrawals are the exposed end. Irreversible transfers, undisclosed networks, no stated answer on who pays network fees, no stated withdrawal-to-bank process, no stated closure balance handling. The card side is small money; the crypto side is where the mistakes would be expensive.
What you *do* have on the security side is real, if modest. Two-factor authentication, and the ability to freeze, block and unblock the card from the app. Those are the standard, sensible controls and they are the right ones to have. Support runs through an Intercom help centre (“Habla con nosotros”) with FAQ articles — in English as well as Spanish, which is more than many small fintechs offer — plus Instagram, Telegram and Facebook. Spanish-first, English-available is worth noting if you are not a Spanish reader: it is workable, not seamless.
What to take instead
None of these are better than Wallib for a Colombian resident spending pesos from a BTC or USDT balance. They are better in the ways Wallib is thin on: publishing more, working in more countries, or having an independent footprint. Compare them on the axis you actually care about.
An international Visa card. Scored 6.7 / 10. Not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case with compliance approval; purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship. It is a U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD, with a physical card marked “coming soon”. Issuance is $5 one-time with no maintenance fee; plans are Classic free, Pro $9.00/month and Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on every plan, foreign currency costs the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee, and deposits of any kind carry no fee — USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. No cashback stated.
Against Wallib: far better documentation and a named issuing structure, far worse for peso spending — a 2% FX fee on everything you buy outside the US, against Wallib’s free COP purchases. Note the trade honestly: it costs real money to hold and to spend abroad, where Wallib costs nothing.
UNi Card. Scored 6.1 / 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance, with assets converted at live OTC rates. “No annual fee”, no annual fee or foreign transaction fee, and “no hidden exchange fees”. Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3% with the card. Who can get it, whether it is virtual or physical, and how you fund it are not stated — which is its own version of Wallib’s gap problem, on a card that publishes its pricing more confidently than its eligibility.
Whop Cards. Scored 5.2 / 10. Visa, working anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores, spending from a Whop balance — and a pending balance becomes usable as soon as a payment arrives, with standard withdrawals using settled funds. Consumers in 31 US states, businesses in 41, with a list of unsupported consumer countries that overlaps heavily with the international card’s. The page says “no extra fees” but lists no issuance or monthly amounts, no conversion or FX fees, and no coin or network information. Cashback is 5% at select merchants, currently Uber, with payout currency and conditions not stated. The US-state structure is the deal-breaker for most people outside the States.
| Wallib | International Visa | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.4 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Network | Visa | Visa | Mastercard | Visa |
| Currency of balance | COP | USD | Multicurrency | Not stated |
| Cost to hold | None | Free to $19.00/month | No annual fee | “No extra fees” |
| Foreign-currency cost | 1.2% (Visa) | 2% FX fee plus Visa rate | None stated | Not stated |
| Domestic COP spend | 0% | Not applicable | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Rewards | 1% bitcoin cashback, capped | None stated | Up to 3% | 5% at select merchants |
| Physical card | Mentioned, no process | “Coming soon” | Not stated | Not stated |
Read across the bottom row and one thing jumps out: no card in this group will tell you plainly what happens in a dispute. That is a category-wide silence, not a Wallib failing — which is worth knowing before you treat it as the deciding factor against any one of them.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to one person, roughly: someone living in Colombia who already holds bitcoin or USDT, pays most things in pesos, buys online or subscribes to things, adds the card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet once and forgets about it, and can live with a financial product that publishes some of its terms very clearly and leaves the rest to be asked about in support. For that person the deal is good — no monthly fee, free peso spending, 1% bitcoin back on the bigger purchases, and a daily limit of 10,000 USD that will not constrain them. They should load in sensible amounts rather than dribbling small top-ups, and they should transfer crypto only through the route the app shows them.
I would not recommend it to someone who needs a physical card or an ATM, who lives outside Latin America and wants to know whether they qualify, who plans large monthly spending and needs to know the monthly cap, or who needs an independent track record before trusting a young fintech with money. Nor would I recommend it to anyone whose crypto sits in a self-custody wallet and who wants the last word on custody and safeguarding — those questions are unanswered here, and that is not a small thing.
Before you commit, there is a short list of things worth asking support directly, in writing, so you have the answers:
- Which bank issues the card, and under which licence?
- Are customer funds safeguarded, and how?
- Which networks do BTC and USDT deposits travel on, and who pays the network fee?
- What is the monthly spending limit, and what does the ATM situation look like?
- How do I withdraw to a Colombian bank account, and what happens to the balance if I close the account?
- How are disputed payments handled?
If the answers to the first two are clear and prompt, my view of this card moves up. If they are vague, that tells you something too.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Wallib card?
It is a rechargeable Visa debit card from Wallib, a fintech based in Bogotá, Colombia. You load the balance with BTC, USDT or pesos, and it converts into Colombian pesos at the moment of reload. You then spend that peso balance online or in shops wherever Visa is accepted. It behaves more like a prepaid card than a bank debit card, since it spends only what you have loaded and cannot go negative. A virtual card is available immediately in the app; a physical card is mentioned but no ordering process is published.
How does the Wallib card work?
Three steps: create your Wallib account, get identity verification approved, activate the virtual card in the app, then recharge. After that, the card spends your peso balance like an ordinary Visa card. Apple Pay and Google Wallet work at no additional cost, and 1% bitcoin cashback is paid into your Wallib BTC wallet on eligible purchases over 10,000 COP, once the payment is confirmed — capped at 20 cashback transactions and 3,000,000 COP of eligible purchases per month. The balance is always held in pesos.
Is Wallib a bank?
No, not as far as anything published says. Wallib is described as a Colombian fintech company, a member of Colombia Fintech, with Cristian Peñaranda as CEO and the legal entity given as Wallib SAS. The issuing bank and the licences are not named on the card’s public pages, which is the single most important thing to establish before you trust it with money. In the background, note that the brand is often only a programme manager, while a licensed bank or e-money institution actually issues the card — so the absence of a named issuer is worth chasing directly.
Who can get the Wallib card?
Colombia is the launch market, with domestic purchases at Colombian merchants as the core case, and Mexico is also named on the site. Transfers are described as going to “cualquier banco, billetera o tarjeta en Latinoamérica”. International purchases work anywhere Visa is accepted, but spending abroad and opening an account are different questions. Beyond that, the pages do not state age requirements, accepted documents, proof of address, or which countries’ residents qualify.
How do I get the Wallib card?
You create and verify your Wallib account in the app, activate the virtual card, and recharge from BTC, USDT or COP. Two things gate this: identity verification must be approved before activation, and a first deposit of at least 20,000 COP is required. The virtual card is instant. There is no published ordering process for a physical card and no published delivery time, so treat the plastic version as unverified until you see it in the app.
Does the Wallib card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification must be approved before the card is activated. The help material mentions a “verificación de primer nivel”, a first-level verification, but does not set out the levels, the processing time, or the grounds for refusal. If your verification is rejected, the published pages give you no appeal route — that is a gap worth asking about before you upload anything.
What does it cost to use the Wallib card?
Card creation is $0, activation is free, and there is no monthly or annual fee listed. A purchase in COP costs 0%. A purchase in a foreign currency carries a 1.2% Visa charge on the purchase value. Each recharge costs “0,1% (tasa venta) + 1.000 COP + IVA”, so frequent small top-ups cost proportionally more than fewer larger ones. The daily purchase limit is 10,000 USD or the COP equivalent; the monthly limit is not stated.
How do I top up the Wallib card?
You can top up from BTC, from USDT, or from a COP balance, and the amount is converted into pesos at the moment of reload. The fee is 0.1% plus 1,000 COP plus VAT per recharge, and the minimum first deposit is 20,000 COP. The important gap: the networks for BTC and USDT deposits are not disclosed. Blockchain transfers cannot be reversed, so sending on an unsupported network can lose the money — use the route the app shows you and test with a small amount first.
Is the Wallib card safe to use?
Usefully protected in the basics — two-factor authentication, plus freeze, block and unblock controls in the app, and an English-language help centre alongside the Spanish site. But two things are not stated: who issues the card, and whether customer funds are safeguarded. I also found no Trustpilot page and no independent reviews at all, so there is no track record either way; the 4.5/5 rating on the site is the company’s own testimonials. The card launched on 7 May 2024, so it is young.
Can I use the Wallib card abroad, and is it worth it?
Yes, at any merchant accepting Visa, and the site names Mexico and Latin America beyond Colombia. But the balance is in pesos, so a foreign-currency purchase pays Visa’s 1.2%, and the card is priced for Colombian spending where purchases are free. If your life is mostly outside Colombia, the eligibility questions stay unanswered and a card with a stated currency and eligibility is a safer bet. For a Colombian resident buying online in pesos, the cost side is genuinely hard to argue with — free card, free peso spending, 1% bitcoin back.
App and neobank card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
