ZARUB looks cheap to open and quick to fund from Telegram — but the issuer stays in the dark, and that is the whole review
The ZARUB card is one of those crypto cards that arrived outside the banking system rather than inside it: you manage it from Telegram, you top it up with rubles or stablecoins, and you spend the balance with a Visa or Mastercard number that behaves like an ordinary payment card everywhere cards are accepted. That is genuinely useful if an ordinary bank card is awkward for you to open, and genuinely expensive if you assume the fees of a normal debit card.
Here is where I land after reading everything the card publishes and cross-checking it against what other sources say. My score is 5.0 out of 10. The card is competent at the narrow job it does — loading money from Telegram-friendly rails and paying with it — and poor at everything you would want to know before you trust it with your balance: who issues it, in which country, under which licence, and what happens when something goes wrong.
ZARUB suits you if you already hold crypto or stablecoins, you are comfortable with Telegram as your banking interface, and you want a virtual card in USD tomorrow rather than a plastic card in two weeks. ZARUB does not suit you if you need a bank you can call, a card your landlord’s merchant will accept without a second look, or a clear answer about who is legally responsible for your money. Read on and I will show you exactly where the information runs out.
*Conditions described are current as of October 28, 2026.*
Verdict: 5.0 / 10, and the reason is disclosure, not features
I score this card on six things that decide whether a prepaid crypto card is usable: who can hold it, what it costs to run, how easily you can load it, how reliable it is, whether anything goes wrong when you use it daily, and whether it fits its intended audience. Here is the breakdown, and every number in it is the number the assessment produced — I have not adjusted anything.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | The official site shows nothing on this. Unofficial sources give no country list and say the cards work abroad with no currency restrictions. |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Unofficial figures: issuance 19 USD virtual / 30 USD Apple Pay card, 0.35 USD per transaction, 7% plus 1.5% to top up by SBP, and 3% plus network plus 1.5% to top up with crypto. |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | Unofficial figures: USDT TRC-20 and other networks, TRX, BTC, TON, plus rubles from Russian bank cards or SBP. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer, company and card country are not disclosed. No complaints found for ZARUB. Typical Telegram-card risks: BIN declines, fees on declined payments, tariff changes. |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Unofficial: a virtual Visa in USD, a separate Apple Pay card, plastic at 149 USD. Sources disagree on Google Pay. The ATM story is not disclosed. |
| Total | 5.0 / 10 | A card that does its job and hides its paperwork. |
Read that table the way I read it. The top-up line is the best in this whole review — nine out of ten — and it is the one thing ZARUB is genuinely built around: you can fund it from rubles or from several chains without leaving Telegram. The cost line is the worst — two out of ten — because every single transaction carries a fixed fee and the top-up carries a percentage on top of the network fee. Reliability is four out of ten, and that is not because anyone has complained. Nobody has. It is four out of ten because the issuer is anonymous, which is precisely the thing that makes complaints untraceable.
The intended reader, by the way, is someone funding a Telegram card in rubles or in USDT. If that is you, this card was built for you and the nine out of ten on funding is not marketing, it is the design. If you are reading this because your own bank’s card was declined somewhere, you are the secondary audience — the card will probably work for you, but you are the one taking on the most risk, because you have the fewest alternatives to fall back on.
Will they give you the card?
The honest answer is: the card’s own public pages do not say. There is no country list, no statement of who qualifies, no document checklist, nothing I can point you to. That is not a small gap — for a prepaid card it is the first question, and normally the first page answers it.
What third-party sources say is more reassuring and equally unusable as a rule. They report no mandatory identity check at the start, and they report that the cards work abroad with no currency restrictions. The article I read is in Russian and aimed at Russian users. So the picture I can assemble is: this is a card designed for users who need a borderless payment tool, usable across borders, that at the start asks you for almost nothing.
If you are outside that world and reading this in another language, you should know that the absence of a country list is not the same as permission. The rules that do apply — sanctions screening, issuer risk policy — often look at citizenship and country of birth as much as at your address. A card that works “everywhere” in practice can still be refused the moment a merchant or its payment processor decides the card looks foreign. I will come back to this in the risks section, because it is the single thing most likely to surprise you.
How to get it
Again, the card’s own pages do not document the process. What the unofficial sources describe is a very short one: no mandatory KYC at signup, a virtual Visa denominated in USD issued to you inside the messaging app, and — as a separate product — a dedicated Apple Pay card. There is also a physical card, priced at 149 USD, and a virtual card that costs 19 USD to issue.
So the process as described to you is: you find the bot, you ask for a card, you get a virtual one immediately, and if you want something you can drop in a terminal or hand to a waiter, you pay 149 USD for the plastic. The Apple Pay card sits between the two at 30 USD.
Two things I want you to hold on to as you read the rest of this page. First, “no KYC at the start” is not “no KYC ever.” Providers that start you without checks frequently ask for documents later — at a limit increase, at a large top-up, at the moment a payment looks unusual — because that is when the anti-money-laundering obligation actually bites. Second, the issuer and the country of the BIN are not disclosed. Both facts will return in the costs and the risks sections, because they decide what happens when a shop declines you and what happens when you need your money back.
Let me be blunt about what is missing from the process, because the absence is the point: no statement of what identity documents may be required, no statement of how long issuing takes, no statement of delivery times for the physical card, no stated tiers or levels, no described support channel, and no described steps to activate or close the account. Those are all questions a normal bank’s card page answers in a paragraph. Here, they are answered by nothing.
Fees and what a payment really costs
This is where the two-out-of-ten shows. The headline fees are low and the arithmetic underneath them is not. Every payment, even a declined one, carries a fixed charge, and if you pay in anything other than US dollars you pay that fixed charge plus a spread on top.

Here are the numbers I could find, all of them unofficial — the card’s own public pages do not state costs:
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance, virtual card | 19 USD |
| Issuance, Apple Pay card | 30 USD |
| Physical card | 149 USD |
| Maintenance and closure | free |
| Cost per transaction | 0.35 USD, including declined ones, when the balance is sufficient |
| Payments in non-USD currencies | interbank rate plus 0.3–0.35 USD |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated |
| Daily top-up and spending limit | up to 50,000 USD |
| Monthly top-up and spending limit | up to 1,000,000 USD |
| Card currency | not stated officially; the virtual card is described as a Visa in USD |
Let me take three ordinary payments and walk you through what actually leaves your balance. These are the kinds of purchases people make every day, and the fee structure treats all three differently.
A coffee in a local currency, say 4 euros. The card is denominated in USD, so your bank — the shop’s bank, actually — converts euros to dollars at the interbank rate. On top of that conversion you pay the fixed fee of 0.3 to 0.35 USD. The interbank rate is close to the mid-market rate, so the honest part is small; the fixed fee is what you actually feel. On a four-euro coffee, a fee of about a third of a dollar is a significant proportion of the purchase. On a larger meal it becomes less. On a weekly shop it becomes noise. This is the fee structure’s central truth: it punishes small payments, and the punishment falls hardest on the people who use the card most often for small things.
A monthly subscription or a utility bill, say 40 dollars. Here you are already in the card’s own currency, so the conversion layer is out of the picture and you pay the flat 0.35 USD. On forty dollars that is under one percent. If the bill is denominated in euros or rubles you are back to the previous case. Subscriptions also carry a risk I will discuss below: merchants keep the tokenised card number on file, so a change of tariff or a closure reaches you without you touching anything.
A declined payment. This is the line in the table that should make you stop. The 0.35 USD is charged “including declined ones, when the balance is sufficient.” So if your card is refused at a terminal, or a hotel’s pre-authorisation fails, or an online shop’s fraud check rejects you, you are charged for the attempt. With no issuer disclosed and an unknown BIN, declines are not a rare edge case — they are one of the documented risks of this category. You can be charged a fee for a payment that never happened.
I want to say the rest of the fee picture honestly rather than dramatically. The top-up fees, which I cover in the next section, are worse in percentage terms than the transaction fee. And the card’s pages state no ATM fee and no currency of record — the first is a hole, not a saving, because an unstated ATM fee is an unknown one. What you will not find here, and should not expect from a product in this category, is anything resembling a monthly fee on a basic plan, a free-spend allowance, or a human-readable schedule of what a card is “supposed” to cost. The two-out-of-ten is not a mistake in the scoring; it is the honest arithmetic of a card that charges you for every tap.
Top up: the card’s best feature and its worst bill
ZARUB scores nine out of ten here, and this is where it earns its keep. The unofficial picture is genuinely good: you can fund it from rubles off a Russian bank card or through SBP, and you can fund it from crypto — USDT on TRC-20 and other networks, plus TRX, BTC and TON. For someone whose money is already in a stablecoin or in a Telegram-native ecosystem, this is a short, familiar path. No bank wires, no waiting, no card-to-card dance.

The costs are where the score turns. Filling by SBP or card-to-card is reported at seven percent plus a further 1.5% crediting fee. Filling with crypto is reported at three percent plus the network fee plus 1.5%. Unofficial figures report a minimum first top-up of 10 USD, though one source gives a ruble minimum of 100 ₽; these figures are not confirmed by the card issuer. Let that settle for a moment, because it is the number that will decide whether this card is useful to you at all: you can move money from a Russian bank card into this card, or from a stablecoin you already hold.
That gap is the whole strategic picture. If your money is already in crypto, ZARUB is a cheap and tidy way to turn it into spending money. If your money is in a bank account and you are moving it into crypto-land, the entry toll is eleven and a half percent, and no amount of good behaviour on the card gets it back. Nobody in this card’s marketing, as far as I can see, is under any obligation to tell you that, so I will: the card is built for people who are already on the crypto side of the fence, and the fees are set accordingly.
A few practical warnings about the funding itself, because this is where money genuinely gets lost:
- Network choice is not a detail. Transfers on blockchains are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be gone or can require manual recovery with no guarantee. Check the network before you confirm, not after.
- USDC on Tron is not a native option — the issuer of USDC stopped supporting it on that network — so if you hold USDC and expect to send it over TRC-20, that specific route is not open to you.
- Some wallets will not let you send a token at all unless you hold a small amount of the network’s own coin for the fee. On Ethereum that means ETH; on Tron the fee is usually paid by burning TRX.
- Nothing is stated about how to withdraw money from the card back out. For a prepaid card, the withdrawal route is not a footnote — it is the question “how do I get my money back,” and I could not find an answer.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, ZARUB is a virtual Visa in dollars and, if you want it, a separate card built for Apple Pay. That is a workable daily arrangement. The virtual card number goes into online forms and wallets; the Apple Pay card is meant for the phone. A physical card exists at 149 USD if you need one in your hand.
The wallet picture is where sources disagree, and I would rather show you the disagreement than pick a side. One source says Apple Pay only, and only on the separate Apple Pay card. Another says the cards link to both Apple Pay and Google Pay. I cannot reconcile these, so plan for Apple Pay being the certain one and treat Google Pay as unconfirmed. The access point is also worth knowing: the card is operated through a Telegram bot, and no store app is mentioned. So your entire relationship with this card — issuing it, funding it, presumably freezing it — happens inside a chat window.
There are small daily frictions that are not unusual for this category but are worth budgeting for:
- Address verification, which compares parts of the billing address a shopper types with what the issuer has on file, is mostly a US, Canadian and British thing and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. If an online shop runs it, a card issued outside the shopper’s region can simply fail.
- Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign cards outright, because a BIN lookup reveals the card type and the country of issue before the payment is attempted.
- Merchant category codes are four-digit classifiers attached to businesses, and issuers block particular ones by policy rather than by law. Gambling code 7995 is the classic example. The blocked list varies by issuer, and the issuer here is not disclosed, so you cannot know in advance which categories will work.
- Declined authorisations can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. Combined with the fee on declined payments, an unlucky week can cost you twice.
Against that, the safeguards that do exist are the ordinary ones: 3-D Secure is declared, which for online payments means an issuer-side risk check that either passes you through or challenges you with a code; and Apple Pay, when it works, replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure hardware, with a fresh security code per payment. If you use the phone wallet, that is the better way to spend from this card. None of this makes the card safe in any absolute sense; it makes it no more exposed than other cards of its kind.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would not skip, because ZARUB’s disclosure is thin exactly here. Let me separate what is specific to this card from what is true of Telegram-based crypto cards in general, because the general risks are well documented and the specific ones are, in this case, unknown.
The issuer is not disclosed. Not the bank, not the electronic money institution, not the country of the card. When you cannot name the institution that holds your balance, three ordinary questions become unanswerable: who do I complain to, which law applies, and is my money safeguarded or just held. Under EU rules an electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them — but such funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme, and none of that protection reaches you unless you know which country’s rules the issuer is under. You do not know.
The BIN can be declined. This is not a defect, it is how cards work. A card’s first six or eight digits identify the issuing institution, and any merchant can look them up and see the institution and country. If that country differs from your billing address, the merchant may apply extra scrutiny or refuse the payment. With an undisclosed issuer you cannot tell whether you are holding a card from a well-worn region or a brand-new one, which means you cannot predict how you will be treated at a shop.
Declined payments can cost you. Re-read that line in the fees table. This is the fee structure of a product that expects declines.
Tariffs can change. Card programmes are run commercially by someone, and that someone can change prices. A card that discloses nothing today discloses nothing tomorrow, by definition.
The programme can be wound down. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US card was wound down. A crypto card issuer, WaveCrest, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme it ran. Closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. One 2026 closure was reported — new loads ending 8 July 2026, spending stopping 8 August 2026 — though that is a single unconfirmed source. The point is not that ZARUB will close; it is that no card in this category is permanent and this one will not tell you who would have to wind it down.
Your crypto is not censorship-proof and your transfers are not reversible. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on sanctions lists and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Blockchain transfers cannot be reversed by design. So “irreversible” cuts both ways: it protects a thief as much as it frustrates you.
Trusting the provider is the price of entry. Most cards like this hold your funds custodially. That means the provider holds the keys, you must trust them completely, and the record of custodians in this industry includes Mt. Gox at roughly 350 million US dollars reported stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck at roughly 400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network at 625 million in 2022. If you have ever written down a twelve-to-twenty-four-word seed phrase, you know the alternative: a self-custody card keeps your funds in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and hands you every risk — lost keys, phishing, clipboard malware that swaps a copied address — in exchange.
What I could not find. No complaints about ZARUB itself, and no Trustpilot page. Now, do not read that as a clean bill of health. In a product with no public complaints, the likeliest explanation is a small user base or a short life, not an flawless record. The absence of complaints is what you would expect from a young, quiet card, and it tells you nothing about how it behaves in year three.
One practical point on the KYC question, because it comes up more than any other. The unofficial claim is no mandatory check at the start, and it is entirely plausible. But know what the law requires of the people behind the card: under anti-money-laundering rules, a regulated business must verify customers and monitor transactions, and in the EU the due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. If due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to stand aside from the transaction and, where necessary, end the relationship. So a document request months in is not a malfunction. It is the system working. And I would say plainly: I am not going to suggest any way around an identity check, and you should be wary of anyone who does.
What to take instead
If the idea of an anonymous issuer is a problem rather than a feature, the category has better-documented options. Here is how the four cards I looked at compare, on the facts each one publishes. All four are virtual-first; all four cost money in some form.
| ZARUB | Azul Card | Telecard | OnCards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mark in my assessment | 5.0 / 10 | 5.3 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 4.6 / 10 |
| Who can get it | not stated | Worldwide except Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions, by anyone regardless of nationality | Over 150 countries; no supported/excluded list; users sanctioned by the US, including OFAC, are barred | not stated |
| Card | virtual Visa in USD; separate Apple Pay card; plastic 149 USD | virtual only, no plastic yet; balance in USD | virtual Mastercard only; USD | virtual, in Telegram; network not fixed |
| Issue and monthly cost | 19 USD virtual / 30 USD Apple Pay; maintenance free | 20 USD creation, refunded after 2,000 USD in spending; 5 USD per month | 5 USD standard, or 49 USD then 19 USD per month VIP; 99 USD minimum deposit to activate, stated as not a fee | not stated |
| Per-transaction cost | 0.35 USD, including declined | 0.25 USD | gas 0.5 USDT per successful transaction | not stated |
| Currency / FX | interbank rate plus 0.3–0.35 USD | not stated | 1.5% conversion on non-USD; FX and cross-border up to 3% each | not stated |
| Funding | rubles via SBP or bank card; USDT, TRX, BTC, TON | crypto to the card in Telegram, coins and networks not named | USDT on Tron or Ethereum, USDC on Ethereum; bank transfers “coming soon” | USDT on BEP20 only; no bank transfers |
| Rewards | not stated | referral pays up to 40% of fees from referrals’ spending | referral points and cashback; rate not specified | not stated |
A few things fall out of that table that are worth more than the marks. Azul Card is the only one of the four that publishes an actual country list, and it publishes an exclusion list that applies by place rather than by passport — the card cannot be used in Russia, Belarus and a named set of jurisdictions by anyone, whatever their nationality. That is a very different posture from ZARUB’s silence. Telecard is the most expensive to run but the most explicit about who it will serve: 150-odd countries, Mastercard acceptance, and an explicit US sanctions carve-out. OnCards is the thinnest of the four on paper and scores lowest, largely because it states almost nothing beyond its funding rail.
None of them is a bank, and none of them offers an insured balance. If your real requirement is “a card that behaves like every other card and comes with someone to call,” the honest answer is that this entire category does not serve that, and the right move is an ordinary bank account or an e-money institution that names its regulator. This section is for people who have decided they want the crypto rails anyway, and are choosing between providers.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend ZARUB to someone in a fairly specific position: you already hold USDT or another coin the card accepts, you live your financial life in Telegram, you spend in small amounts across many merchants rather than in one big monthly bill, and you have accepted that this is a spend-from-balance card, not a bank account. In that position the nine out of ten on funding is real, the dollar-denominated Visa does what a dollar Visa does, and the fixed 0.35 USD per payment is a known price rather than a surprise.
I would not recommend it to someone whose money is still in a bank account and who is planning to move it in gradually — the entry cost of roughly eleven and a half percent from SBP or card-to-card makes that a bad deal, and no convenience on the other side pays it back. I would not recommend it to anyone who needs to be able to name the institution holding their funds, or who plans to travel to a merchant that might treat a foreign or prepaid card differently. And I would not recommend it to someone who will be unsettled by having no answer, when they call, to the question “who issued this card.”
The card is not a scam on the evidence I have seen; I found no complaints, and the funding rails are real. But it is an opaque product sold into a market where people have been burned, and opacity is the product’s main risk. Judge it the way you would judge any small financial provider you know nothing about: put in an amount you could afford to lose, verify the top-up lands before you rely on the card, and move on if it does not.
Frequently asked questions
What is the ZARUB card?
ZARUB is a virtual payment card issued through Telegram, funded from a balance you load yourself. The virtual card is described as a Visa denominated in US dollars, with a separate card built for Apple Pay and a physical version priced at 149 USD. It behaves like a prepaid card rather than a debit card: it spends only what you have loaded. The card’s own public pages do not describe it in detail, and most specifics come from third-party sources rather than official material.
Does ZARUB require KYC?
Third-party sources report no mandatory identity check when you start, and the card’s own pages are silent on the subject. That is not the same as never being asked. Providers that begin without checks commonly request documents later, at a limit increase or a large top-up, because anti-money-laundering rules require verification and ongoing monitoring. Treat a document request months in as the system working normally rather than as a fault.
How much does ZARUB cost to open and use?
Unofficial figures put issuance at 19 USD for the virtual card and 30 USD for the Apple Pay card, with maintenance and closure free. Each transaction costs 0.35 USD including declined payments, when the balance is sufficient, and payments in other currencies add 0.3 to 0.35 USD on top of the interbank rate. Funding by SBP or card-to-card is reported at seven percent plus 1.5% for crediting; crypto funding at three percent plus network fees plus 1.5%.
How do I top up the ZARUB card?
You fund it from rubles off a Russian bank card or through SBP, or from crypto — USDT on TRC-20 and other networks, as well as TRX, BTC and TON. Unofficial figures report a minimum first top-up of 10 USD, with one source giving 100 ₽ for rubles; these figures are not confirmed by the card. Check the network before you send: transfers are irreversible, and a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost. Note that USDC is not a native option on Tron.
Is ZARUB a bank, and who owns it?
No, and that is the honest answer to both halves of the question. ZARUB is not a bank, and the issuing institution, the operating company and the card’s country are not disclosed on its public pages. I found no complaints about ZARUB and no Trustpilot page. The absence of complaints usually reflects a small or young product rather than a flawless record, so it is not reassurance on its own.
Can I use ZARUB abroad and in stores?
Unofficial sources say the cards work abroad without currency restrictions, and the article I read is aimed at Russian users. In practice, acceptance is a merchant’s decision as much as the card’s: shops can look up the issuing country from the card number and apply extra scrutiny or refuse prepaid and foreign cards. Address verification, which most online shops rely on, is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, so some online payments will simply fail.
Is the ZARUB card safe for my money?
Safety here is not a yes or no; it is a set of trade-offs. The card declares 3-D Secure for online payments, and Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific token, which is the safer way to spend if it works for you. Against that: the issuer is undisclosed, so you cannot name who holds your funds, which law applies, or whether any safeguarding applies. Programme closures happen in this industry, and crypto transfers are irreversible by design.
Does ZARUB work with Apple Pay and Google Pay?
The sources disagree and I would not guess. One says Apple Pay only, and only on the separate Apple Pay card; another says the cards link to both Apple Pay and Google Pay. Plan on Apple Pay being the confirmed option and treat Google Pay as unconfirmed until you see it yourself. Everything about the card — issuing, funding, presumably freezing it — happens through a Telegram bot, with no store app mentioned.
How do I withdraw money from ZARUB?
That is one of the gaps I could not fill. Nothing in the card’s public pages describes a withdrawal route, and the third-party material I read does not cover it either. For a prepaid card this matters more than it would for an ordinary one, because the balance is yours rather than a bank’s claim on an account. Before you load anything you expect to need back, find out how money leaves the card, not just how it arrives.
Is the ZARUB card worth it?
Worth it if your money is already in crypto, you live in Telegram, and you spend small amounts across many merchants; then the funding rails are the best in this category and the 0.35 USD fee is a known price. Not worth it if your money is still in a bank account — moving it in costs roughly eleven and a half percent — or if you need a named institution behind the card, or a bank you can telephone. Put in an amount you could afford to lose, and verify the first top-up lands before you depend on it.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
