A Mastercard you load from crypto, with a $10 monthly fee and a support domain that does not resolve
GFPAY is a Mastercard you can load from crypto and spend like an ordinary payment card, offered in both a virtual and a plastic form, with 3-D Secure on online payments and access to ATMs. On paper that is exactly the shape of card a lot of people in places where a normal bank card is awkward or impossible are looking for. My score for it is 5.0 out of 10 — a card that does a recognisable job, priced high for the job, and sitting on top of a company whose public pages leave several important things unsaid.
I want to be clear at the outset: there are two things. First, I have not used this card; everything below comes from what the card’s own public pages and support material say, plus what is publicly known about the category it belongs to. Second, one of the things that makes this review difficult to write is exactly how often the card’s pages simply do not say. Where that is the case I will tell you plainly rather than filling the gap with a guess.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.0 out of 10
Let me take the score apart first, then tell you who I think it suits.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | The world except 27 named countries, but the basis for eligibility — citizenship or residence — is not stated |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | $50 issuance, $10 a month, 5% to top up, 2.0% conversion, $0.30 a purchase, $4.00 plus 1% at an ATM |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | No coins or networks listed; described earlier as stablecoin-focused and multichain; no way back into crypto |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | GFPAY SOLUTIONS FZCO in Dubai; issuer and licences unnamed, the support domain did not resolve, accounts may be closed without notice; no complaints found either way |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual and physical Mastercard, ATMs, and the virtual card fits mobile wallets while the plastic one does not fit Apple Pay or Google Pay |
| Total | 5.0 / 10 | A working card at a price that is hard to defend, on an unusually thin public record |
The card suits you if you need a Mastercard that exists in both a virtual and a physical form, you are comfortable holding crypto with a provider rather than in your own wallet, and you mostly spend small amounts where the flat $0.30 per purchase does not dominate. The audience note that best describes this card is users who need a Mastercard with both virtual and plastic options — that is its genuine strength.
It does not suit you if the $10 a month matters to you, if you travel and pay in foreign currencies often, if you want the card to work in Apple Pay or Google Pay on the physical card, or if you are the kind of person who reads a licence number before topping up. The reasons are all in the sections below, in the order you would hit them.
Will they give you the card?
Broadly, yes — the card’s own position is that it is available worldwide except in a list of prohibited countries, and that list is long and specific.
The excluded countries are Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cuba, DRC, Ethiopia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Montenegro, Myanmar, North Korea, Palestine, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe and the Central African Republic. That is 27 of them, counting the DRC and the Central African Republic as separate entries.
That much is stated plainly, and it is worth reading as the card states it. But the single most important thing about eligibility is not stated at all: whether the test is your citizenship or where you live. Those are very different gates. If the test is citizenship, a person living in Dubai who holds a passport from one of the excluded countries would read “the world except these 27” and wonder where they stand, and the card’s pages do not answer that. I cannot tell you which it is, and I am not going to guess.
There is a second layer worth understanding, because it explains why an apparently worldwide card can still refuse you a specific shop or a specific terminal. A card number begins with an issuer identification number of six or eight digits, and any merchant can look it up and see which institution and which country issued it. If the issuer country differs from your billing address, the shop may apply extra scrutiny. This is ordinary, and it is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for exactly this reason, and it has nothing to do with you.
How to get it
The application is a standard identity check, and the documents it asks for are ordinary ones. Proof of ID must be valid for at least six months from the moment you apply. Proof of address must be no older than 75 days according to the overview page, or 90 days according to the FAQ on physical cards — the card’s own two pages do not agree, and I would take the older requirement as the safer one. Accepted documents are a passport, an ID card, a driving licence, a residence permit, or bank or card statements. The terms say minors need a guardian’s permission, which in practice means 18 and over for an ordinary account.
Whether the KYC levels are tiered, and how long approval takes, is not stated. That is a real gap for anyone who needs the card by a particular date, and it is worth asking support directly before you pay anything.
What you are applying for is a prepaid Mastercard, available physical or virtual. Tokenization is described as “coming soon”, so at the time of checking the numbers themselves were not yet set up for mobile wallet use. You can hold up to three cards per user according to the overview, or four physical cards according to the FAQ — again, the two pages disagree. 3-D Secure is enabled, and the card works in USD and EUR.
Physical delivery is quick: the card ships the next business day after payment, or within three days of the invoice being paid. The delivery cost is invoiced separately and the amount is not stated, so treat $50 as a floor rather than the total. The countries served come from an “approved countries” list that is not published, which is another thing to ask about. If a card is lost or stolen it is deactivated and a replacement is issued against the remaining balance, with the fee not stated.
Fees: what it really costs
This is where the card earns its lowest mark, and the lowest mark in the whole review is not a rounding error. One mark out of ten.

| Item | Fee or limit |
|---|---|
| Card acquisition | $50 |
| Activation | Free (overview) / $10 (physical card FAQ) |
| Monthly maintenance | $10, and the card is cancelled if the balance is too low |
| Top-up | 5% |
| Purchase, POS or online | $0.30 per transaction |
| Currency conversion | 2.0% on foreign-currency transactions; crypto conversion rate not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | $4.00 plus 1% |
| ATM balance inquiry | $1.00 |
| ATM limits | $1,000 per transaction and per day with 25 per day (overview); $2,000 per day, $20,000 per month and 60% of balance (physical FAQ) |
| Minimum load | $15 |
| Maximum load | $100,000 |
| POS and online limits | $100,000 per transaction, $100,000 per day, 25 per day; no monthly limit listed |
| Physical FAQ limits | Maximum balance $150,000; monthly spend $175,000 |
Now let me run three ordinary payments through that table, because a fee list on its own does not tell you what a week costs.
Coffee and a sandwich, about $8. You paid 5% to load the money, so roughly $0.40. The purchase itself costs $0.30. In dollars, EUR or dollars — the currency is not the issue here — the total overhead on an $8 spend is about seventy cents, close to nine per cent. For an $8 purchase this card is expensive by any measure, and no conversion rate changes that.
A weekly shop, about $60. Loading costs $3.00, the purchase fee $0.30, total about $3.30 on $60. If you load once and shop several times, the load fee is spread thinner and the per-purchase $0.30 stops dominating — this is the shape of use the fees fit best.
A $300 purchase abroad in euros. Load fee $15.00, purchase fee $0.30, and 2.0% on the conversion, which is $6.00 if the card converts at roughly the mid-market rate. Total overhead about $21.30 on $300, or just over seven per cent — and that is before whatever spread sits inside the crypto conversion rate the card declines to publish. On a foreign-currency purchase you are paying the load fee, the purchase fee, the FX fee and an unknown spread, and the last of those is the one you cannot see.
Notice what the pattern is: the 5% load fee is charged every time you move money in, so frequent small top-ups are penalised twice — once by the percentage and once by the flat $0.30 on the resulting small purchases. If you are going to use this card, loading in larger amounts less often is simply how the fee structure works, and I would rather say that plainly than let you discover it.
Two things I could not find: whether there are tiers of any kind, and what the crypto conversion rate actually is. The card describes a single programme, and the rate is the number that would tell you most about what a payment really costs you.
How to top it up
Here the card’s public information is thinner than anywhere else, and I would rather show you that than dress it up.
The overview page does not list the coins or networks it accepts. An earlier check described it as stablecoin-focused and multichain, which is a description of intent rather than a specification you can follow. If you are the kind of person who has been burned by sending USDT down the wrong chain, you will want the list of supported networks in writing before you send anything, and the card does not currently publish one.
What is stated is more concrete. The top-up fee is 5%. The minimum load is $15 and the maximum is $100,000. For the online purchase of the physical card, there is a $100 initial deposit, and the physical card FAQ describes it as covering acquisition and activation with $50 of that netted against the card, leaving $40 — which does not quite reconcile with the separate $10 activation figure elsewhere on the same site. A gift-card FAQ mentions a $10 creation charge, the same 5% load fee, and Bitcoin. Who pays the on-chain network fee is not stated.
That last point deserves a sentence of its own. On-chain network fees — gas, or bandwidth — for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card. So your real cost to top up is the 5% card fee plus whatever the network takes, and on some networks that is small and on others it is not. Sending on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can simply lose the money or require a manual recovery with no guarantee — blockchain transfers are irreversible by design.
Two more categories of stablecoin detail are worth knowing before you choose where to hold value, though neither is about this card specifically. ERC-20 is the Ethereum token standard, and gas there is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send it. Tron prices fees with bandwidth and energy, often by burning TRX. And Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is no longer a native option.
One hard limit on the other side: money cannot be converted back into crypto, and funds cannot be moved between cards. What happens to a remaining balance when an account closes is not stated. So this is a one-way instrument — you put crypto in and it comes out as card spending, not as crypto. Anyone who needs to get back to self-custody should know that before their balance grows.
Paying with it every day
The day-to-day experience is where the card is at its best, and where the plastic-versus-virtual distinction bites hardest.
The virtual card can be added to mobile wallets. The physical card is not tokenized and is not compatible with Apple Pay or Google Pay. That is a strange split: if you want to tap your phone, you take the virtual card, and if you want something in your wallet, you take the plastic one. Tokenization is listed as “coming soon”, which suggests the plastic card might eventually join the mobile wallets, but I would not plan around a promise.
3-D Secure is enabled, so online payments get an extra identity check: the issuer assesses the risk and either approves them frictionlessly or challenges you with a one-time code or a biometric prompt. Mastercard’s brand for this is Identity Check. It is the mechanism that also shifts liability for fraudulent online payments, and it is one of the better things on this card.
Some categories of purchase may simply decline. “Quasi cash” purchases — crypto, travellers cheques, gift cards — are listed as blocked, which is standard risk practice and also means you cannot use the card to buy more crypto with money already on it. Gambling is its own category, four digits in the merchant’s classification code, blocked on many issuers by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. You can pass through Apple Pay with the virtual card because the card number is replaced on the device by a device-specific number held in the secure hardware, with a one-time code per payment.
There is no mobile app. The dashboard is on the web at dashboard.gfpay.net. For someone who wants to freeze a card from a phone at short notice, that is a genuine drawback, and instant card freeze is one of the standard safeguards in this category that you simply do not get here.
Two further payment realities. Address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with the issuer’s records, and it is mostly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, so some online checkouts will decline you for that reason alone. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your money that stays for several days, typically up to seven, even though you never completed the purchase.
On refunds and disputes, chargebacks are not mentioned. What is described is a general dispute route: 30 days of negotiation, then binding arbitration before ICAC seated in Dubai. For prepaid gift cards there are no refunds. That is a thinner position than the category norm and worth weighing before you keep a large balance here.
What can go wrong
I found no official incidents, and I want to be careful with the other half of that sentence too: I also found no reviews of GFPAY on Trustpilot or Reddit. So this is not a card with a bad public record — it is a card with almost no public record at all, which is a different problem and arguably a worse one to get comfortable with.
The company is GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO, Aspin Commercial Tower, Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, UAE. The issuer is not named and no licences are named. The terms are under UAE law with arbitration in Dubai through ICAC. The overview carries a 2025 copyright and the terms were last updated on October 05, 2023. I could find nothing in the way of company news, and that is how I would put it to you: nothing to read, rather than nothing to report.
That produces a specific structural question, and it is one every card in this category raises. A card number is issued by an institution licensed under the card network’s rules, and the crypto brand in front of you is often only a programme manager or front end that markets the card. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. When a sponsor collapses, what happens to your balance depends on who actually holds it. The card’s pages do not say who holds it here, and the custody model is not stated.
Closures in this category are not hypothetical. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the US debit card programme was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018 and all its programmes closed. The typical sequence is a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then users are asked to withdraw. GFPay may terminate accounts without notice, and the terms are from 2023. I am not predicting anything; I am saying the sequence has happened before in this category, and the amount you leave sitting here matters more than it would at a bank.
There is also the everyday category of risk you cannot verify. Whether the stablecoin you send has value, whether the provider can actually convert it at the rate they imply, and whether your deposit arrives at all when the network is busy — none of that is visible from the outside.
And then the risk that follows you around: with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you are trusting them completely; a seed phrase is 12 to 24 words in the clear, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend it; transfers are irreversible and a stolen key has no recovery. Custodial platforms have failed badly — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin Network among them. Conversely, a self-custody card keeps your funds in your own wallet until the moment of payment but leaves you carrying the whole burden of key loss and phishing yourself.
Support, meanwhile, sits at gfpay.biz/support, and that domain did not resolve when I checked on 2026-10-21. There is a Telegram channel with hours and languages not stated. If the page you would use to reach support does not load, then when your deposit arrives late or your card is declined at a till, the practical answer to “who do I call” is weaker than the fee table would suggest.
What to take instead
I want to compare the alternatives honestly, including the fact that none of them is clearly better. Here is what I could verify about the three I looked at, all unofficial reading of their own public pages rather than confirmed terms.
| GFPAY | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 5.0 | 5.6 | 4.9 | 4.7 |
| Reach | World except 27 named countries | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, no exclusions published | Aimed at Nigeria, “Nigerians and global users” | “More than 176 countries” of acceptance |
| Card | Prepaid Mastercard, virtual and physical | Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay | Virtual USD Mastercard in about 3 minutes | Prepaid, network not stated |
| Cost | $50 issuance, $10 a month | Not stated | Creating a virtual card is free | Not stated, no fees listed |
| Top-up | Coins and networks not listed | USDT, USDC, BTC | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH |
| Currency | USD and EUR | Naira per the listing | USD | USD or EUR |
Cardex, at 5.6, edges ahead mainly because its cost position is unknown rather than high, and because it runs on several card networks, which gives you more fallback if one scheme declines. Two things to weigh: its conversion is described as real-time at the moment of payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend, and no fee percentage is published anywhere I could read. And the app store listing is Nira-focused — paying in Naira — so if you are outside Nigeria the practical shape of the product is less clear than the marketing suggests.
CardFlow, at 4.9, is the narrowest of the three and the cheapest to try: creating a virtual card is free, and it takes a few minutes. It is built for Nigeria, funding runs through Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer, and neither fees nor networks are stated. If you are in Nigeria and want a quick virtual Mastercard, this is a reasonable first look; if you are elsewhere, it is a narrower proposition than GFPAY.
HyperCard, at 4.7, is the vaguest. Prepaid, balance in USD or EUR, funded with crypto deposited in the app, with no network, no fees and no country eligibility list on the pages I could read. The “more than 176 countries” line describes where the card is accepted, which is a different question from who can open one — and that distinction matters for every card in this table.
The honest summary: GFPAY is the most expensive of the four on the evidence available, and also the one whose public pages describe themselves most completely. If cost is your deciding factor, the alternatives are worth a look before you commit. If you want to know in advance what a payment will cost you, GFPAY at least publishes its numbers — the problem is that the numbers are high, and the missing one is the crypto conversion rate.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to someone with a specific and unusual situation: you need a Mastercard, you need both a virtual and a plastic version of it, you are outside the 27 excluded countries and have a claim the card will recognise, and you can afford $10 a month on a card that might sit partly unused. Under those conditions it does its job — virtual and physical, USD and EUR, ATMs, 3-D Secure, and a virtual card that goes into your phone’s wallet.
I would not recommend it as a primary everyday card for anyone, and that is mostly about money rather than function. Load at 5%, $0.30 a purchase, 2.0% on currency conversion and $10 a month add up to a real drag on ordinary spending, and on small purchases the drag is severe. Add a $50 issuance fee, an activation figure the card’s own pages state two ways, and a monthly fee that cancels the card if the balance is too low, and the picture is of a card priced more like a premium product than a spending tool.
I would also be cautious about putting a large balance on it, and I would want three answers in writing before I did: who the issuer is and under what licence, what the custody model is, and what happens to the balance on closure. Those are not unreasonable questions to ask, they are the questions that tell you whether your money is protected, and the card’s public pages do not currently answer them.
Finally, on this category in general, so you can weigh the product in front of you. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023, with its rules on stablecoins applying from 30 June 2024 and the crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024; under it, e-money tokens may only be issued by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and the transitional period runs to 1 July 2026 at the latest. In the US, FinCEN treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people buying goods with crypto are not. A card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, which is why a crypto card often depends on two licences — and why a provider that names neither is asking you to take the regulatory question on trust.
One more thing that lands differently depending on where you are: in the US the tax authorities treat digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at the date of the transaction, which can make each card payment a separate disposal. That is not advice, and not something to work out from a review page — it is the reason a card funded from crypto can behave like a series of small taxable events, and the reason to ask someone who knows your jurisdiction.
Frequently asked questions
What is the GFPAY card?
It is a prepaid Mastercard, offered in a virtual and a physical version, that you load from crypto and then spend like an ordinary payment card. It works in USD and EUR, supports 3-D Secure for online payments, and can be used at ATMs. Tokenization is listed as coming soon, so the card numbers are not yet set up for mobile wallets in the way most modern cards are.
How does the GFPAY card actually work?
You buy the card, either virtual or physical, then top it up with crypto; the money lands as a fiat balance and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Payments go through Mastercard’s network from a stored balance rather than pulling from a linked bank account. Cards like this are usually issued by a licensed institution under the network’s rules, with the crypto brand often acting only as the programme manager in front.
Is GFPAY a bank?
The card’s own pages do not say it is one. The company behind it is GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO in Dubai, UAE, and neither the issuer nor any licence is named on those pages. If whether you are dealing with a bank or an e-money institution matters to you, that is a question to ask them directly before you fund the card.
Who owns GFPAY?
It is run by GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO, listed at Aspin Commercial Tower, Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, UAE. The terms are under UAE law with arbitration seated in Dubai through ICAC, and they were last updated on October 05, 2023. Beyond that, the public pages name no owners and no individual executives.
Which countries can I get the GFPAY card in?
The card states it is available worldwide except for 27 prohibited countries: Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cuba, DRC, Ethiopia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Montenegro, Myanmar, North Korea, Palestine, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe and the Central African Republic. Whether eligibility rests on citizenship or on residence is not stated, which matters if you are one of the two.
How do I get the GFPAY card, and does it need KYC?
You apply with proof of ID valid for at least six months, and proof of address no older than 75 or 90 days depending on which page you read; accepted documents are a passport, ID card, driving licence, residence permit, or bank or card statements. Minors need a guardian’s permission. Neither the KYC tiers nor the processing time is stated, and physical cards ship the next business day after payment, with delivery billed separately.
What does it cost to use the GFPAY card day to day?
Acquisition is $50, activation is free on the overview page or $10 in the physical card FAQ, maintenance is $10 a month, top-up is 5%, each purchase is $0.30, foreign-currency conversion is 2.0%, and an ATM withdrawal is $4.00 plus 1%. On an $8 purchase that is roughly seventy cents of overhead, which is the number that should tell you whether this is a card for small everyday spending.
How do I top up the GFPAY card, and which coins work?
The overview page does not list any coins or networks, and an earlier check only described the card as stablecoin-focused and multichain. The stated mechanics are a 5% top-up fee, a $15 minimum load and a $100,000 maximum, with a gift-card FAQ mentioning Bitcoin and a $10 creation charge. Who pays the on-chain network fee is not stated, so ask before sending anything.
Can I use the GFPAY card in Apple Pay or Google Pay?
The virtual card can be added to mobile wallets. The physical card is not tokenized and is not compatible with Apple Pay or Google Pay, with tokenization described as coming soon. That split is the single most annoying practical limitation: the version that fits your phone is the one you cannot hold, and the one you can hold is the one you cannot tap.
Is the GFPAY card safe, and can I get my money back out?
There is no clean answer to either half. I found no official incidents, but I also found no Trustpilot or Reddit reviews at all, the support domain did not resolve on 2026-10-21, and the custody model is not stated. Funds cannot be converted back to crypto or moved between cards, chargebacks are not mentioned, and what happens to a balance at closure is not stated either.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
