The card that costs $50 before you spend anything
Before anything else, the number that will decide this for you: I scored the CardUpNow card 4.2 out of 10. That is not a rounding error, and it is not a harsh reviewer being harsh. It is what the card’s own pages, its fee schedule, and the complaints its users have filed add up to when I read them line by line.
The deal sounds attractive in the way a lot of crypto cards sound attractive: register with an email and a password, no ID, no phone, no social security number; get a virtual Visa or Mastercard in about fifteen minutes; load it with crypto and spend. For the specific person this card is built for — someone who cannot get an ordinary bank card at all, who has no documents they are willing to hand over, who just needs a card number to pay for something tonight — that pitch is real and it solves a real problem. I want to be fair about that before I tell you why I still came out under halfway.
Because the moment you look past the front page, three things sit side by side and refuse to go away. You pay $50 to activate the account, before you have bought anything or loaded anything. You pay 5% to issue the card, 5% on every deposit, and 5% on every withdrawal — the card charges a fee to move your money in, to have it, and to get it back out. And on the review sites, the recurring theme is not annoyance about fees. It is frozen cards and money that did not come back. On Trustpilot, 79% of the ratings that I could read were one star, drawn from a small pool of reviews, and the rating itself was displayed as unavailable because of a breach-of-guidelines notice and removed fake reviews.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
So who is this for? In my judgement, someone with a genuine, documented reason to have no conventional card and a high tolerance for losing access to their own balance. Someone for whom a $50 activation fee plus 5% per operation is a small price for the alternative being nothing at all. For anyone else — anyone who has a normal bank card and simply finds crypto spending interesting — I would not recommend this card, and in the alternatives section I point to three that are not clearly worse on the dimensions that matter.
Let me take you through what I found, in the order you would actually need it: who issues it, how you get it, what it truly costs, how you load it, what daily life with it looks like, what goes wrong, and what I would choose instead.
Verdict: 4.2 out of 10, and the reasoning behind every part of it
The score is an average of six criteria, each of which I looked at separately. Here is the whole picture, with the reasoning in plain words rather than in a rating system you have to decode.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Worldwide, no country list; use in sanctioned countries or with sanctioned entities prohibited; non-residents allowed |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | Activation $50, card issuance 5% of the card amount, top-up 5%, withdrawal 5% |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDT and “other major coins”; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 2 / 10 | Legal entity and issuer not named; on Trustpilot 79% of ratings were one star: frozen cards, unreturned funds |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual Visa and Mastercard only; Apple Pay and Google Pay for Visa; no ATM |
| Total | 4.2 / 10 | A card you can get in minutes and spend anywhere Visa works, bought at a price that is high by any measure, from a company that names neither itself nor its issuer, with a support record that includes frozen cards and money not coming back |
The one high mark is access, and it deserves credit. Very few things in this category are genuinely open to anyone, anywhere, without a nationality or residence filter. The card’s public pages say worldwide, name the UK and India as markets, allow non-residents, and forbid use in sanctioned countries or with sanctioned entities. That last point is the correct position and I want to be clear that I am not writing this review to help anyone operate around sanctions — using the card in a sanctioned country or with a sanctioned entity is prohibited, and if that is your situation, the answer is simply no, not with this card or any other.
The five other marks are low, and one is as low as this kind of scale really goes. Cost earns 1 because the fee structure takes a percentage on every single movement of money, on top of a flat $50 just to exist. Everyday use earns 4 because there is no physical card, no ATM, and wallets only for one of the two networks. Reliability earns 2, and that is the mark that should give you the most pause, because it is not about fees being annoying. It is about whether you can count on getting your money.
This card is explicitly aimed at users who want a no-KYC virtual card with just an email. That is a real niche and I would not pretend it is a scam on that basis alone. But a card with no identification at all is also a card with no recourse when something goes wrong, and that is the tension running through everything below.
Who will they give you the card
The short answer is: almost anyone, anywhere, who is at least 18. The card is described as available worldwide with no country list, and the UK and India are named as markets. Non-residents are allowed, which is more than many cards in this category can say — you do not have to be a resident of the country you are signing up from. The age floor is 18.
There is exactly one stated prohibition, and it is the important one: use in sanctioned countries, or with sanctioned entities, is not permitted. The card’s own framing is that it is open to the world except where international law says otherwise.
Now let me put the awkward part plainly, because you deserve it before you fill in a form. The card’s public pages do not name a legal entity, a registration, or an issuer. There is no company name with a number, no regulator’s register entry, no named bank behind it. The card describes itself as “not a traditional bank” — accurate, but it leaves a real gap. When you hold a card, you normally know, in the back of an acquirer database and in your own bank statement, which institution issued it. Here that question is left open.
This matters more than it sounds. A card payment passes through several parties. The network — Visa or Mastercard — carries the message and sets the rules. The issuer is the licensed institution that holds the card programme and is answerable to its regulator. The crypto brand is often just the front end that markets it and shows you the app. When the front end will not name the middle layer, the party who is actually regulated and who would answer a complaint is unknown to you. That does not prove anything is wrong. It does mean you cannot check, and that is a problem in itself.
I should also say what the card’s pages do *not* state. The KYC *levels* are not stated — there is no published schedule of what verification tier unlocks what. What you are told about verification is in the next section, and the honest version is that at the entry level there is none, and at the higher end it exists but is undefined. So you cannot know in advance what will trigger a document request, or what will trigger a freeze, because the card never says.
How to get it
The sign-up is as short as the pitch suggests. You register with an email address and a password. No ID, no phone number, no social security number. Age 18 or over. That is the whole of it.
There is an asterisk, and it is worth reading. The marketing qualifies the no-KYC promise with “for eligible plans” and “where allowed by law”. Higher limits and business accounts may require verification. So the guarantee you are really getting is: a low-limit virtual card with no checks, and a possibility of paperwork later if you want more — with the threshold unstated. That is the same pattern you see across this whole category. It is a lawful posture, because KYC rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering work, including ongoing monitoring and reporting of suspicious activity. A card that does no checks is either outside that regime or structured so that someone else holds it.
What you actually receive is virtual cards only. There is a virtual Visa and a virtual Mastercard, each of which can be either single-use or reloadable, and there is a premium tier called CardUp Elite. No physical card exists. Because the card is digital, there is no postal delivery, no waiting, no country-specific address: the card details are expected within fifteen minutes of payment.
Fifteen minutes is the headline advantage, and it is genuinely useful when you need a card number right now. It is also worth naming what it is not: it is not a bank account opening. Nobody is establishing a banking relationship with you. You are creating a prepaid balance in a system whose operator has not told you who it is.
The verification detail that is not stated matters if you are hoping to scale up. If you plan to load thousands and spend them, you are in exactly the profile that anti-money-laundering systems flag, and the card’s own pages do not tell you at which threshold documents will suddenly be required. Plan for the possibility, not the promise.
What it really costs: Fees
This is where the card’s rating collapses to its lowest mark, and it deserves the most detailed treatment of anything on this page. I want you to see the shape of the fees, not just the headline number, because the shape is what will surprise you at the till.

First, the fixed cost of existing. There is a $50 one-time account activation fee, and it is non-refundable. Not $50 a year — $50 once. But you pay it before the account has ever done anything for you, and it is not returned if you change your mind ten minutes later.
Then, the cost of having a card at all. Card issuance is 5% of the card amount. So if you ask for a $200 card, $10 goes to creating it. This is not a one-off either, in the way you might assume — the card is reloadable, and the natural reading of “5% of card amount” is that each load or issue is charged at that rate. The premium tier softens this one thing: CardUp Elite is free with a $300 top-up, meaning if you are putting in at least $300 anyway, the Elite card comes at no additional issuance charge.
After that, the money starts moving, and every direction has a toll. Deposits are charged 5%. Withdrawals are charged 5%. That is the structural problem. You are taxed for putting money in and taxed for taking it out, so the balance is a one-way street in cost terms even though it is not in movement terms.
There are smaller charges that are easy to miss. A declined transaction costs $0.40 — you pay for the shop or site saying no. A payment under $30 incurs an extra $0.40, which is exactly the size of transaction most people make when they are testing a new card in a café or paying a small app subscription. And excessive refund use costs $0.50 or 2%, which tells you the card is watching how often you return things.
Here is the full schedule, exactly as the card publishes it. Where the card’s own two pages contradict each other, I have shown you both readings rather than picking the kinder one.
| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Account activation | $50 one-time, non-refundable |
| Card issuance | 5% of the card amount |
| CardUp Elite | Free with a $300 top-up; zero reload fee and zero transaction fee; higher limits; premium support |
| Deposit (top-up) | 5% |
| Withdrawal | 5% |
| Declined transaction | $0.40 |
| Payment under $30 | Extra $0.40 |
| Refund overuse | $0.50 or 2% |
| FX fee | Not stated |
| ATM | Not stated (virtual card only) |
| Spending limits | No published caps; the user can set their own limits per card; Elite has higher limits, amount not given |
| Currency | Fees are charged in USD; “international currencies” claimed, none listed |
Two contradictions on that card’s own site deserve to be flagged rather than smoothed over, because you will hit them. First, the fees-and-usage page says that crypto deposits carry no CardUpNow fee — while the fees page says 5%. I cannot reconcile these for you; the card does not. Assume the 5% is real until the account itself tells you otherwise in writing. Second, the minimum deposit appears as $50 on the fees page and $100 on the fees-and-usage page. Plan for $100.
Now let me make the fee structure concrete by walking through three ordinary payments, because arithmetic is more honest than adjectives.
A $12 coffee. Under $30, so the extra $0.40 applies. You pay $12, and $0.40 comes off your balance on top of it. This is the payment where the small-transaction fee actually exists, and it is a common one.
An ordinary grocery shop. No small-transaction surcharge applies if you exceed $30. But the money reached your card through a deposit, which cost 5%. And behind that 5% is the blockchain network fee the network charges for the transfer, which is separate and not set by the card.
A $300 shop, funded from crypto. Here the picture changes in a way that can be favourable. If the $300 top-up qualifies you for CardUp Elite, Elite carries a zero reload fee and zero transaction fee. So the 5% deposit charge and the 5% withdrawal charge do not apply to Elite reloads. That is the card’s one real concession, and it is a substantial one — but it only opens once you have already committed $300, after the $50 activation, and it comes with the premium tier’s own upsell pressure.
One more thing about money leaving. There is a 5% wallet withdrawal fee with a minimum of $50 on the fees page, and no minimum on the fees-and-usage page. Another unresolved conflict. And if you delete the card or close the account, a remaining balance may be returned to you subject to policy — policy that is not published. I would not close an account with a balance in it and assume the money walks back out the door.
The FX fee is not stated. The card claims “international currencies” and lists none. Fees are charged in USD. So if you spend in a currency you do not hold, you are buying dollars at a rate the card has not described. This is not a hypothetical risk for a traveller.
How to top up
Topping up is where the design makes sense in theory and the networks make it risky in practice. The card accepts Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDT, and “other major coins”. On the funding side, that is a reasonable spread — it covers the major assets and the stablecoin most people actually hold.

But the networks are not stated. This is the single most consequential omission in the whole card, and I want to explain why rather than just flag it.
A stablecoin like USDT is not one thing. It exists on many separate blockchains, and the same token on the wrong network is not your money arriving slowly — it is your money arriving nowhere. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. There is no chargeback, no support ticket that can reverse a transfer, no bank to ask. So if you send USDT on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost outright, or need manual recovery with no guarantee of success. “Not stated” here is not a missing detail. It is the difference between a working top-up and a permanent loss.
On fees, deposits carry the 5% deposit fee we covered above. The minimum deposit is $50 or $100 depending on which page you read, as noted. Deposits under $100 in USDT carry an extra $1 USDT handling charge — so a small test deposit is the most expensive kind by percentage. On top of everything, blockchain network fees may apply; those are charged by the network, not by the card, and they vary with network conditions. There is no stated maximum on deposits.
One piece of background worth having, because it explains a class of surprise. On Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send at all. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy, often by burning TRX. So the wallet you top up from needs the *native* token of the network you are using, not just the stablecoin. And networks matter for another reason: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. If someone tells you a shortcut for sending on a network, that is precisely the moment to slow down.
And one honest note about stablecoins, because the word misleads: despite the name, they are not necessarily stable. USDT and USDC are dollar-pegged, and the BIS put roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in those two as of July 2025. But TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. A stablecoin is a claim on an issuer’s reserves, not a bank deposit.
If the card is for you, the first top-up is the one to be careful with: small, on a network you have confirmed, from a wallet where you control the keys. Not because the card instructs this, but because the transfer is the part you cannot undo.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day, the card is thinner than it looks.
There is no physical card. Everything is virtual. For a subscription, a travel booking, an online shop, that is fine. For a restaurant that only takes a card reader in person, for a market stall, for anything where you tap and hand over plastic — you cannot. There is no ATM; the card’s pages do not state ATM access, and a virtual card without a physical one has no realistic path to cash. If you need cash, this is not it.
Apple Pay and Google Pay work for the Visa card. That is the one genuine convenience upgrade in the daily-use column: you can load the card into your phone’s wallet and pay by face or tap without typing numbers in. Mastercard, as far as the pages state, does not get this. So if you want tap-to-pay, you want the Visa variant, not the Mastercard.
The card is a prepaid product. It draws on a balance you have already loaded, not on a bank account, so it cannot overdraw — the balance simply runs out. That is a real structural difference from a debit card, and it is why these cards are often refused in the situations described next.
Because prepaid behaviour, expect friction in exactly the places you might want the card most. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the merchant can look up the card’s issuing country and card type from the card number itself, and apply extra scrutiny when the issuer’s country differs from your billing address. Online, address verification can cause declines, and it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven — so a card that says “no” can still tie up your balance while it resolves.
There are prohibited uses: unlawful gambling, pornographic services, and dark-web markets. This is standard policy, not a judgement about you, and I mention it only so you are not surprised by a decline at an odd place.
The premium tier promises “cashback, rewards & perks” with the rate not stated. I would treat that as marketing copy rather than a number, because there is no figure attached to it anywhere I could read.
The app is web-only, at app.cardupnow.com. There is no store app. On a phone that means a browser-based dashboard, which is less convenient than a native app but not unusual for smaller services.
One thing the card does have is a dispute process, and its shape tells you about how the card sees itself. You must request a refund within 48 hours of the transaction. It is reviewed within three business days, and a payout takes 5–10 business days. It applies only for system errors or unusable cards. Chargebacks are not mentioned. So: if a shop took your money and never delivered, this process is not for you. It is for when the card itself broke. In the category generally, a chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received; the US protections that give debit cardholders these rights come from Regulation E, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would not skip, and I have given it the complaints and the company facts separately because they carry very different weight.
The complaints. I want to give you the themes with their dates, because a pattern that repeats across six months is different from one bad week. Users have reported: high fees, the $50 account fee, and pressure to upgrade to $300 Elite (May 2026); a card removed with roughly $7 left in it (May 2026); frozen cards, restricted accounts, and funds not returned (September 2026); and cards declined at checkout (August–October 2026). The company replies and disputes these reports. I am not treating user reports as proven fact — but I am treating fourteen-to-sixteen reviews as a warning light, and 79% one-star as a red one.
The Trustpilot picture specifically. The rating was displayed as unavailable because of a breach of guidelines with fake reviews removed. There are 14 reviews, though the page also says 16 in the last 12 months. 79% of ratings were one star, read on 2026-10-21. A page whose own rating is suppressed for review-manipulation violations is not a page that speaks well of the service. The user-report themes there were failed and declined cards (May–October 2026), frozen cards and unreturned funds (June–September 2026), and fees and upsells (May–June 2026).
The company facts. No legal entity, no registration, no issuer is named, and the card says it is “not a traditional bank.” There is no news coverage to cross-check any of it. Support runs through a contact page, a Telegram channel at t.me/CardUpNowSupport, and WhatsApp — with hours not stated. Elite customers get “premium support,” which implies the standard tier does not.
The structural risks. The balance is custodial: the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust it completely. Custody is the standard weak point of this category. It has a history — Mt. Gox (about $350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about $400 million, 2018), Ronin Network ($625 million, 2022). Crypto transfers are irreversible by design, and a stolen key has no recovery because the network cannot freeze or return funds. On the other side of that, providers themselves can simply stop: WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme — Visa said in November 2022 it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX,” and that FTX US debit card programme was wound down. Programme closures typically run in a predictable order: notice, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. There was a 2026 closure reported by a single secondary source — new loads ended 8 July 2026, spending stopped 8 August 2026 — which I cannot confirm, and I include only to show the pattern is current, not as fact.
The money side. Funds here sit with a provider, and in the regulated version of this model they are supposed to be safeguarded — segregated or insured. That is not the same as a bank deposit, and it may not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. Regulatory status here is not stated, which means you cannot know whether any safeguard applies. And one more, quietly expensive: since the IRS treats digital assets as property, exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in your local currency at the transaction’s value. Every card payment funded from crypto can be a separate taxable event. I am not giving you tax advice — I am telling you this exists and that nobody on this card’s pages mentions it.
Add to the risk list: a 5% withdrawal fee on the way out, and a $50 minimum withdrawal on one page. If the account freezes, that fee and that minimum are the terms you are stuck with.
What to take instead
I looked at three alternatives from the same category. I want to be fair: none of these is a clean bill of health, and I am comparing them against CardUpNow on the dimensions that actually decide it — not declaring a winner on vibes.
| Card | Score | Who it is for | What you get | Cost and fees stated | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CardUpNow | 4.2 / 10 | Worldwide, non-residents, no KYC at entry | Virtual Visa and Mastercard, single-use or reloadable; Elite tier | $50 activation; 5% issuance, deposit, withdrawal; small-transaction and decline fees | Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDT, other major coins; networks not stated |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; App Store listing is Naira-focused | Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical | Not stated; real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment, an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” scans rates and picks the best; no percentage published | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Aimed at Nigeria, “Nigerians and global users” | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Creating a virtual card is “completely free”; monthly fee not stated; other fees not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | No country list on official pages; App Store says it works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility) | Prepaid card; network not stated; balance in USD or EUR | Not stated; App Store lists no fees | Deposit USDT, BTC, ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated |
A few honest observations on that table. Cardex scores highest and is the only one of the four with a *physical* card, on four networks including UnionPay, which matters in markets where Visa and Mastercard are thin. Its weakness is disclosure: “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” is a slogan until you see a percentage, and none is published. Its App Store listing being Naira-focused suggests a Nigerian centre of gravity even with the 200-country claim.
CardFlow is the cheapest to enter — a free virtual card in three minutes — which is a real advantage over a $50 activation. Its scope is narrower: Nigeria-first, USD Mastercard only, virtual only.
HyperCard is the quietest: a prepaid card in USD or EUR, accepted widely, with no fees listed at all. “Not stated” cuts both ways — it may be free, or it may simply not be published.
What none of these cards does is name its networks for funding, and none of them states a regulatory status on the pages I read. That is the category talking, not CardUpNow specifically. The difference between them is mostly degree: how much it costs to walk in the door, whether you get plastic, and how wide the network coverage is.
One alternative is not a card at all, and it is worth naming: a self-custody-linked card, where funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment. You keep the keys, so counterparty risk collapses to nothing — and in exchange you take on sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps a copied address. It is a different trade, not a better one, and it is the right trade for exactly the kind of reader who finds this whole category uncomfortable.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to a narrow group, and I would rather be specific than generous.
Recommend it if you genuinely cannot open an ordinary bank card — no documents you will part with, no fixed address a bank will accept, no country of residence an issuer will work with — and you need a Visa or Mastercard number within the hour. If you have crypto you need to spend, the “other major coins” flexibility is genuinely convenient. If you can put in at least $300 and stay there, CardUp Elite removes the deposit and transaction fees entirely, and for that specific profile it is the cheapest the card ever gets. And if you have the temperament to treat the balance as money you could lose access to on any given Tuesday, you can probably live with it.
Do not recommend it if you have any workable alternative for getting a card — because you are paying a $50 activation fee, 5% on issuance, 5% on every deposit, and 5% on every withdrawal, in a currency you did not choose, to buy convenience you can get free elsewhere. If you need cash, this is the wrong product; there is no physical card and no ATM. If you are planning to hold a balance you care about, custodial storage plus a complaint history of frozen cards and unreturned funds is a combination I will not ask anyone to accept. If you are somewhere with a real banking system and you simply want to spend crypto, exchange it to your currency through a regulated provider and use your own bank’s card; the fee you are avoiding is worth more than the novelty.
The honest summary is this: CardUpNow solves one specific problem — fast, document-free access to a virtual card — and it solves it while charging you heavily for the privilege and leaving you unable to name the entity that owes you the money. That trade is defensible for someone with no alternative and indefensible for anyone who has one.
Frequently asked questions
What is the CardUpNow card?
CardUpNow is a prepaid crypto payment card. You register with an email and password, and the balance you load is spent like ordinary money through a card number. It offers virtual Visa and Mastercard cards, each single-use or reloadable, plus a premium CardUp Elite tier. There is no physical card. The card says it is available worldwide, allows non-residents, and forbids use in sanctioned countries or with sanctioned entities.
How does the CardUpNow card work?
It works like a prepaid card rather than a debit card. You top up with crypto, the crypto is converted and held as a fiat balance, and the card spends only that stored balance — so it cannot overdraw. Because it is prepaid and the issuer country may differ from your billing address, some shops apply extra scrutiny, and some declines. A declined payment can also leave a hold on your funds for several days.
Is CardUpNow a bank?
No — the card says it is “not a traditional bank,” and its public pages name no legal entity, registration, or issuer. That is the part I would want answered before loading anything substantial. A normal card payment involves a network, a licensed issuer, and often a brand as front end; here the middle layer is unnamed, so the party who would answer a complaint is unknown to you.
Who owns CardUpNow?
The card’s own pages do not say. I could not find a named company, registration number, or named issuer, and I found no news coverage to cross-check against. Support is reached through a contact page, Telegram at t.me/CardUpNowSupport, and WhatsApp, with opening hours not stated. Absence of a named owner is not proof of anything — it is simply a fact you cannot verify.
Does CardUpNow require KYC?
Not at entry. You register with an email and password — no ID, no phone, no social security number, age 18+. The marketing qualifies this as “for eligible plans” and “where allowed by law,” and says higher limits and business accounts may need verification. The KYC levels themselves are not stated, so you cannot know in advance at what threshold documents will be required.
How much does CardUpNow cost to get started?
The account activation is $50 one-time and non-refundable, and card issuance is 5% of the card amount. Deposits are charged 5% and withdrawals 5%. The single exception is CardUp Elite, which is free with a $300 top-up and carries zero reload and transaction fees — so the fee structure changes substantially once you commit that much.
Is CardUpNow card free?
No, not at any tier. The basic account costs $50 to activate, and issuance, deposits and withdrawals each carry 5%. There are also small charges: $0.40 for a declined transaction, an extra $0.40 on payments under $30, and $0.50 or 2% for excessive refund use. One card page says crypto deposits carry no CardUpNow fee, which contradicts the fees page — assume the 5% applies until the account shows otherwise.
How do I top up the CardUpNow card?
With Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDT, or other major coins, though the card does not state which networks are supported — and that omission matters, because a transfer on the wrong network is usually irreversible. The deposit fee is 5%, the minimum is listed as $50 on one page and $100 on another, and USDT deposits under $100 carry an extra $1 USDT handling charge. Blockchain network fees may also apply, charged by the network rather than the card.
Can I add the CardUpNow card to Apple Wallet?
Yes, for the Visa variant — the card’s pages say Visa cards can be linked to Apple Pay or Google Pay, and Mastercard is not mentioned. Adding it replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored on the phone, so each payment uses a one-time code. Since there is no physical card, the mobile wallet is the only tap-to-pay route the card actually offers.
Is CardUpNow card safe to use?
It is not demonstrably unsafe, but it is thinly protected for you. The balance is custodial, meaning the provider holds the credentials and you trust it entirely, and no legal entity or issuer is named to be responsible. On Trustpilot, 79% of readable ratings were one star, drawn from a small number of reviews, with recurring reports of frozen cards and unreturned funds — while the rating itself was shown as unavailable after a breach-of-guidelines notice.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
