The Wenia card pays online from a crypto balance — but it is digital only, and the terms it publishes are thin

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Wenia card is a virtual Mastercard that spends straight from a balance of digital assets held in the Wenia app. There is no monthly fee, no interest, and no charge on purchases paid in COPW, USDW or EURC. It is also, on the evidence of its own public pages, a thin product: eligibility rules are not listed, the KYC process is not described, no physical card exists, and in-store payment through a mobile wallet is described as coming soon. That combination pulls it to 6.1 out of 10 — good where the promise is narrow, unclear everywhere else.

Wenia works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Who it suits: someone living in Colombia who already holds crypto or stablecoins, wants to spend online without opening a bank account in their own name, and is content to pay for the privilege in transparency. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card, an ATM, or a clear statement of what identity documents are required before they can start.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, and who should look at this card

The score below is my own assessment, built from what the card’s public pages actually say — not from what they might say later.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia through the Wenia app; availability conditions are not listed
Cost 9 / 10 Free to create, no management fee or monthly charges, 0% interest; payments in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no extra cost, other coins may incur a conversion fee
Top-up options 8 / 10 Payment from a digital asset balance: COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK, ADA; the asset is switched in the “Wenia Card” section; networks are not named
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Wenia S.A.S. (NIT 901656609-9), overseen by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, Mastercard network, issuing bank not named; no complaints found
Everyday use 5 / 10 Digital Mastercard only, Apple Pay and Google Pay mentioned, in-store payment via mobile wallet “coming soon”; no physical card and no ATM

Total: 6.1 / 10

The mark for cost is the highest here, and it is the one you can verify yourself in a minute. The mark for eligibility is the lowest, and it is the one that should make you pause before installing anything: if you cannot tell from the public pages whether a person in your situation may open an account, you will find out by trying.

The audience note that fits the product as described is simple — Colombia residents paying online from a crypto balance. If that sentence is you, the rest of this review is worth reading carefully. If it is not, the low eligibility score is probably enough to send you elsewhere; the “what to take instead” section below has three cards that publish more.

Will they give you the card?

Here is the plain answer: the public pages do not say who is eligible. The product is offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia through the Wenia app, and that is as far as the official information goes. No residence requirement, no citizenship rule, no minimum age, no list of excluded countries — none of it is stated on the pages I could read.

That silence is the single most important fact on this page for anyone living outside Colombia. If you are in Bogotá or Medellín, the odds are obviously better. If you are anywhere else, you are applying blind. It also means I cannot tell you what to expect if your country is unsupported: whether the app simply refuses registration, whether the account opens and then fails at verification, or whether nobody ever tells you.

A related question people ask is whether Wenia is a bank. The company details do not present it as one. The card sits on the Mastercard network, but the issuing bank is not named on the page — the page says only that Wenia issues and operates the card. That distinction matters: when something goes wrong with a payment or a balance, a bank issuer and a programme manager are different counterparties, and you would want to know which one you are dealing with before you put money in. See the section on what can go wrong for why this one gap carries more weight than it looks.

What is stated: Wenia S.A.S. is a Colombian company with NIT 901656609-9, supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio (SIC). That is a real registration and a real supervisor, which is more than many pages in this category give you.

How to get it

The stated steps are short enough to repeat exactly:

What you will not find on the pages: what identity verification involves. The KYC details are not stated — not the documents, not the video check, not the selfie, not how long it takes, not what happens if it fails. So when you open the account, expect to be asked for identification at some point; just do not expect to be able to predict from the website what form it will take or how long it will hold your money.

On the card itself: it is a digital (virtual) Mastercard for online use worldwide. No physical card is mentioned at all. In-store use through a mobile wallet is described as coming soon — meaning as of the pages I checked, tapping a contactless terminal in a shop is not something you can rely on. The currency of the card is not stated either, which is worth noting because you will be spending from a dollar-pegged asset against prices in whatever currency the merchant charges, and the card’s own currency would normally tell you who absorbs the exchange.

Activation is not described as a separate step — the card is created in the app, which suggests it is usable once created, but that is my reading of the flow rather than something the pages state.

Fees and limits: what it really costs

The headline is genuinely good. Creating the card is free, and there is no management fee and no monthly charges (“sin cuota de manejo ni cargos mensuales”). Interest is 0%. Purchases paid in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no additional cost. If you pick some other cryptocurrency, a conversion fee may apply — and the rate is not stated on the page, which is the catch in an otherwise clean fee sheet.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Wenia payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is everything the card publishes about cost and limits, in one place.

Fee or limit What the card says
Issuance Free to create
Monthly fee None (“sin cuota de manejo ni cargos mensuales”)
Interest 0%
Payment in COPW, USDW or EURC No additional costs
Payment in another cryptocurrency A conversion fee may apply; rate not stated on the page
FX fee Not stated
ATM Not stated (and there is no physical card)
Monthly limit Up to 10,000 USD per month
Higher limits Available on request via customer service
Daily limit Not stated
ATM limit Not stated

Now let me walk through three everyday payments, because the fee picture changes depending on what you spend.

Paying a subscription in USDW. This is the cleanest case. No conversion, no monthly fee, no interest. The only question is whether the merchant accepts Mastercard and whether the price is charged in the same currency your card is denominated in — and the card’s currency is not stated, so you are relying on the merchant’s side here.

Paying a Colombian shop’s website, priced in COP. You are spending USDW against a peso price. The card says no additional cost for USDW purchases, and the FX fee is not stated. Whether the conversion is absorbed or passed through is exactly the kind of thing that lives in the unquoted rate. This is where a page that lists fees so confidently elsewhere leaves a real gap.

Paying something billed in BTC. Here a conversion fee may apply, at a rate the page does not give you. If you use this card regularly with BTC or ETH, you are paying a variable, unquoted cost on every transaction, and the only way to know it is to watch what actually leaves your balance after a test payment.

Two things I would want before recommending this card at scale: the FX fee and the conversion rate. Neither is stated. Ask support for both in writing, and keep the answer — a fee you were told verbally and a fee you can point to are different things when a month goes wrong.

How to Top up the card

Topping up here means funding the digital asset balance in the app, not loading cash at a machine. The list of assets the card can pay from is long and specific:

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Wenia starts with a transfer to the right network

COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK, ADA

You switch which asset pays in the “Wenia Card” section, so the choice is per-purchase rather than fixed for the whole balance.

Two details are conspicuously absent. First, networks are not named. This is the one that should stop you before you transfer. A crypto transfer sent on a network the provider does not support — or to an address belonging to a different network — can be lost, or can need manual support recovery with no guarantee, because blockchain transfers are irreversible by design. The cost of the transfer itself is set by the blockchain, not by the card company, so a cheap network and an expensive one both exist and you cannot tell from these pages which to use.

Second, there is no mention of a card balance versus a wallet balance, no fiat top-up path, and no ATM. So the set of options is exactly the eleven assets listed, and nothing else is described.

The stablecoins in that list are the practical ones: USDW and EURC are dollar and euro denominated, and COPW appears to be the Colombian peso counterpart. The rest — BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK, ADA — are the volatile end of the list, and each of them carries the conversion fee mentioned above. If I were setting this up, I would keep the card paid from a stablecoin and treat the volatile assets as something to switch in deliberately, not as the default. Stablecoins themselves aim to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable” — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023, so a stablecoin balance is a balance with a risk attached, not cash.

Paying with it every day

Realistically, today this is an online card. Worldwide online use is what the pages claim; in-store payment through a mobile wallet is coming soon; there is no physical card and no ATM.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are both mentioned on the home page. That is the one genuinely interesting everyday-use item, because a digital card with no physical form is otherwise awkward to use anywhere. Note what tokenised wallet payments actually do: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number held in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. That is a genuine security improvement over typing your card number into a website — though it only helps if the site accepts wallet payments at all.

What is not stated: blocked merchant categories. This is a real omission. Card issuers routinely block entire categories — MCC 7995 covers gambling, casinos, betting and lotteries, and many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list differing from issuer to issuer. If gambling or similar is something you would try, you cannot tell from these pages whether the card permits it, and finding out by decline at the checkout is a poor way to learn.

Also not stated: rewards. There is no cashback programme described, no points, no tiers. Do not assume one exists because you have seen it on other cards in this category — Young Card pays cashback in YNG tokens by tier, and Bybit Card runs a points and cashback ladder, but Wenia publishes nothing of the kind. If a referral or bonus offer is being pushed at you anywhere, treat it as separate from anything on the official pages.

Two everyday frictions worth planning around, both general to the category rather than specific to Wenia. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK — so a Colombian-issued card checked against a US AVS system may simply be declined. And merchants can decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuer country, which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Neither is a Wenia defect. Both are things that will happen to you occasionally, and knowing why makes them less alarming when they do.

What can go wrong

Let me split this into things about the card and things about the category, because they need different amounts of attention.

Nothing is known to have gone wrong yet — and that is thin evidence. No complaints or user reviews were found on Reddit, Trustpilot or in the news for the Wenia card, and no official incidents were found. For a young product, that is what you expect: absence of complaints usually means absence of users, not absence of problems. I would not treat it as a clean record. It is an empty one.

The issuer is not named. The page says Wenia issues and operates the card, and the network is Mastercard. Mastercard itself licenses issuers and can suspend a programme — in November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. When a crypto card programme winds down, the usual pattern is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances; one 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026, though that is a single unconfirmed source. This is not a prediction about Wenia. It is the reason to find out who the issuer is before you have a balance you care about.

Getting money back out is the question nobody answers. How do you withdraw money from Wenia? The pages do not describe an ATM, nor do they detail any path for withdrawing funds. If your money goes in and you cannot get it out, the card is a one-way instrument. Ask before you rely on it.

The networks are not named. Covered above, but it is the risk I would rank first in practice. Irreversible transfers to a wrong or unsupported network can simply be gone.

Transfers are irreversible, full stop. Blockchain transfers cannot be reversed by design. There is no built-in recovery for a stolen key, no freeze button at the network level. And Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on OFAC’s sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoin balances are not censorship-proof either — which cuts both ways, but you should know it.

Custody means trust. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of that key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. The category has a record of custodian failures: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). I am not claiming Wenia holds your assets that way or has had any such incident; I am saying that the risk sits with whoever custodies, and you should know which that is.

Declined payments can leave a hold. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7. On a balance sitting in crypto, that is your money frozen while a shop’s systems sort out a decline.

3-D Secure cuts both ways. Mastercard’s version is Identity Check. It adds an identity check to online payments, and liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from merchant to your bank — or, per critics, to you. Worth knowing that you are approving payments in an app.

The regulatory picture is two-layer, not one. A card is a payment service regulated separately (e-money or payment-services law), while MiCA in the EU covers the crypto side — custody, exchange, transfer — so a crypto card often depends on two licences. That is for European readers; Wenia’s own regulator is the SIC in Colombia.

Taxes are yours to check. I am not going to advise you here beyond flagging the mechanic: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services, dollars or other digital assets generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in the local fiat currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. That means each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. Talk to someone who knows your jurisdiction.

What to take instead

Three other cards, and honestly — what each one publishes versus what Wenia publishes. The comparison is less about which is better and more about which explains itself.

Wenia Young Card MSX Bybit Card
Score 6.1 / 10 5.7 / 10 6.4 / 10 6.0 / 10
Who can get it Offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia via the app; conditions not listed Not stated Not stated on an official page I could read Long published list of regions, with the EEA excluded
Card Digital Mastercard, online worldwide; no physical card mentioned; in-store via wallet “coming soon” Not stated officially Not stated officially Virtual and physical, by region
Cost Free to create, no monthly fee, 0% interest Not stated officially Not stated Virtual issuance free in all regions “until further notice”; physical 29.99 USD Australia, 5 USD/USDT Argentina, 29,99 USDT Georgia and Kazakhstan (AIFC), 5 USDT Asia Pacific, none Brazil and Mexico
Fees No cost for COPW, USDW, EURC; conversion fee may apply, rate not stated; FX fee not stated Not stated Not stated Conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Brazil, Mexico), 0.5% Argentina, Peru not supported; FX 2% on top of the network rate (Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Mexico), Kazakhstan (AIFC) 2% “International Fee” even in USD, Argentina 7%, Brazil 1.5%, Peru 1%; FX padding 0%, 5% Argentina, 1% Brazil, the excess refunded
Funding Digital asset balance: COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK, ADA; networks not stated Not stated for the card itself Not stated Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn, fiat first, then crypto sold at the One-Click Sell rate plus the card conversion fee; BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC, GRAM, default USDT > USDC > GRAM > BTC > ETH > XRP, reorderable
Rewards Not stated Cashback in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated) Not stated From 2026-10-05 10:00 UTC only crypto-funded transactions earn; Base 2.00% (cap 5 USD), Beta 2% (50 USD, 500 USD to unlock), Alpha 4% (150 USD, 3,500 USD), Apex 6% (250 USD, 9,500 USD), Omega 8% (400 USD, 12,500 USD), Infinite 10% (600 USD, 25,000 USD)

Bybit Card is the one to read if transparency is your priority, because it publishes the most and the most precisely — and, importantly, it publishes its exclusions. The official help centre lists card regions: Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific. The application asks for Country of Residence, and if the country is not supported Bybit will “register your interest” — a much clearer answer than silence. The cards page states plainly: “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” No card-specific statement on Russian or Belarusian citizens was found, and no citizenship-versus-residence rule; the card currency “depends on the country of your Advanced Identity Verification”.

Bybit also documents the unglamorous parts, which is exactly what I wanted from Wenia: validity of 3 years in AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Asia Pacific and Australia, 6 years in Argentina, 5 years in Brazil, Mexico and Peru; Argentina’s VAT 21% on foreign digital services, 30% tax on foreign transactions and provincial gross-income tax of 1%–13.2%; and the detail that from 2026-10-05 10:00 UTC only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, because fiat-funded spending does not. Its trade-offs are real too: conversion and FX fees are higher than Wenia’s zero-cost promise for stablecoins, the virtual card must be obtained before a physical one, the physical card is not available in Peru, and rollout is in phases.

Young Card scores lowest of the three at 5.7, and the thinness is in the details rather than the promise — eligibility, card, cost and funding are all not stated officially. What it does publish is the cashback ladder in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%, with Bronze and Silver not stated. Paying you back in your own token is a different proposition from paying you back in dollars, and you should price it that way.

MSX scores highest at 6.4, and the reason is the same reason Wenia scores 6.1: eligibility, card, cost, fees, funding and rewards are all not stated on any official page I could read. A higher score with nothing published is not something I would act on.

If you are in Colombia and spending crypto online, Wenia’s zero-cost stablecoin payment is genuinely attractive and none of the three alternatives matches it on that point. If you are outside Colombia, or if you need a physical card, an ATM, a withdrawal route, or a published fee sheet you can check before you commit — Bybit’s documentation is the better starting point, provided you are outside the EEA.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Wenia card to a resident of Colombia who already holds stablecoins, pays for things online rather than in shops, and is comfortable with a financial product that explains itself partly through silence. For that person it is close to ideal on cost: no monthly fee, no interest, no charge on COPW, USDW or EURC payments, and a 10,000 USD monthly ceiling that customer service will raise on request.

I would not recommend it to anyone who needs to walk into a shop and tap a card, who needs an ATM, who wants to know exactly what identity documents will be demanded before they sign up, or who wants to see the conversion rate before they spend. On each of those, the pages are empty or the answer is “coming soon”.

And I would think twice, hard, if you intend to hold a meaningful balance there. The combination that concerns me is not any single fact — it is the issuer not being named, the withdrawal path not being described, the networks not being listed, and no complaint history, which for a young product means an absence of evidence rather than evidence of absence. Any one of those is a small question to ask support. All four together, with money involved, is a reason to keep the balance small until you have answers in writing.

For everyone else: start with Bybit if you are outside the EEA, or with the “not stated” entries in the table above as a reminder that in this category, a product that tells you nothing is telling you something.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Wenia card?

It is a virtual Mastercard that pays for online purchases from a balance of digital assets held in the Wenia app, offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia. The assets it can pay from are COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK and ADA, and you switch between them in the “Wenia Card” section. There is no physical card and no ATM; in-store payment through a mobile wallet is described as coming soon.

Is Wenia a bank?

The public pages do not present Wenia as one. Wenia S.A.S. (NIT 901656609-9) is a Colombian company supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, and the page says it issues and operates the card on the Mastercard network. A separate bank issuer is not named, which means you would be dealing with a card programme manager rather than a deposit-taking bank.

Who can get the Wenia card?

The eligibility conditions are not listed on the public pages — that is a real gap, not a summary on my part. The product is offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia through the Wenia app. No residence requirement, citizenship rule or minimum age is stated, so if you live outside Colombia you are applying without knowing in advance whether you qualify.

Does the Wenia card require KYC?

The KYC details are not stated. What is stated is the flow: download the Wenia app, open an account, create the card in the app, and choose the digital asset to pay with. Anti-money-laundering rules mean regulated businesses verify customers and monitor transactions, so expect identity checks — just do not expect the website to tell you which documents or how long.

What does the Wenia card cost?

Creating the card is free, there is no management fee or monthly charges, and interest is 0%. Purchases paid in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no additional costs. Choosing another cryptocurrency may incur a conversion fee, and the rate is not stated on the page; the FX fee is not stated either. Those two gaps are the ones to ask support about in writing.

How do I top up the Wenia card?

You top it up by funding the digital asset balance in the app, and the card pays from that balance. Networks are not stated on the pages, which matters: a transfer sent on an unsupported network or to an address belonging to another network can be lost or need manual recovery, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Confirm the correct network with support before sending anything.

Is the Wenia card safe?

There is no single yes or no. No complaints or user reviews were found on Reddit, Trustpilot or in the news, and no official incidents were found — but for a young product that is an empty record, not a clean one. The card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, which add real protection through device-specific tokens and one-time codes, and typical safeguards include 3-D Secure confirmation and spending limits.

Can I use the Wenia card in my country?

The card is described as usable online worldwide, so online payments are the use case it claims. Whether you can open an account at all depends on eligibility conditions that are not published. Physical use in shops is not currently supported — no physical card exists and in-store payment through a mobile wallet is coming soon.

What are the limits on the Wenia card?

The stated limit is up to 10,000 USD per month, and higher limits are available on request through customer service. Daily limits and ATM limits are not stated. If the monthly ceiling is too low for your subscriptions or rent, ask about raising it early rather than discovering the ceiling at a declined payment.

Is the Wenia card worth it?

Worth it for a Colombian resident paying online in COPW, USDW or EURC, because there is genuinely no monthly fee and no per-payment cost in those assets. Not worth relying on if you need a physical card, an ATM, a withdrawal route, or published conversion and FX rates. Nothing here is tax or legal advice — check your own jurisdiction’s treatment of spending digital assets.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team