Spending crypto like a normal Visa, with euro fees that are easier to read than most
Bitrefill is best understood as two businesses wearing one name. There is the gift-card shop most people know, where you buy an Apple or Google Play code and the complaints pile up when a code does not work in your region. And there is the payment card, issued under Estonian and Swedish licences, that turns crypto into a euro balance you spend like an ordinary Visa. This review is about the card. The gift-card shop comes up only where reviewers complain about it, because that is where most of the noise comes from.
My verdict: 6.8 out of 10. That is a genuinely usable card with a clear structure and no foreign exchange fee, held back by eligibility that excludes entire nationalities regardless of where you live, a two-tier upgrade system that punishes inactivity, and a set of fees that the public pages do not fully spell out. If you live in the EU or Norway or Iceland, hold euro-denominated crypto or stablecoins, and spend in euros, it works. If you are anywhere else, or you need USDT deposits, or you want a card that never touches your crypto at all, it is not for you.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Issued to residents of 29 EU countries plus Norway and Iceland, 18+; citizens of the United States and Russia are excluded regardless of residence |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | Card through the app is free; top-up has a fixed 1.99% fee and 0% FX; unofficially a simple 10 EUR a month after 12 months, and 2.49% at ATMs |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base, Polygon and SEPA; USDT top-ups ended 17 March 2025, minimum 15 EUR |
| Reliability and complaints | 9 / 10 | Card issued by Wallester AS (Estonia, licensed by Finantsinspektsioon), operator Airfill Prepaid AB; Trustpilot 4.5/5 across 2,943 reviews, complaints mostly about the gift-card shop |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay available, Apple Pay “soon”, ATMs on Visa cards |
| Total | 6.8 / 10 |
The intended reader here is an EU resident who spends crypto and Lightning in euros. That is the case the card is actually built for, and the case where the arithmetic works out. Spend euros, hold euros or dollar stablecoins, and the only cost that matters is the 1.99% top-up fee plus whatever the exchange rate does to you.
Who they will give you the card
Here is the part that catches people out, so read it before anything else: eligibility is decided by citizenship as well as residence. Bitrefill’s terms say access is “subject to eligibility criteria” and that “further eligibility requirements, established and verified by our partners, shall apply” — which is the correct legal way of saying that the final word belongs to the partner institutions, not to Bitrefill’s marketing.
In practice, eligible residents are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Norway and Iceland. That is 29 EU countries plus two others. You must be 18+ and pass identity verification.
The exclusions are the sharp edge. US citizens and Russian citizens are excluded regardless of where they live. A US citizen resident in Berlin cannot get this card. There is one documented exception: Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship are eligible. And you cannot sign up with a Kyrgyzstan or Tajikistan mobile number, which is a small thing that tells you the compliance team is running a real list rather than a token check.
There is a second list, separate from eligibility: a help-centre blocklist covering verification and deposits that includes the United States, Japan, Russia, Ukraine and the UAE. Note that Japan appears there but is not in the eligible list anyway. The list I read was truncated, so treat it as indicative rather than complete.
If your country is not in the list above, stop reading and accept it. Nothing in the rest of this review will change that answer.
How to get it
There is no branch, no application form to post, no credit check. You do it in the app, and the app is on the App Store and Google Play.
The sequence runs: create the account, complete identity verification, wait for the check, then order the card. The identity check is run by the card partner before the card order goes through, which means you are not ordering a card and then finding out you are ineligible. At the Starter tier the check is a photo ID plus a selfie liveness check, and possibly proof of address; activation outside the EU also requires proof of address. Which documents exactly, and how long the check takes, and on what grounds it can be refused — the public pages do not say, and I would not guess.
Two things you control. First, you choose between a virtual and a physical Visa card. The virtual one is usable on receipt, so you can start spending within minutes of approval. The physical card has to be activated before it works. Second, you choose whether to stay on Starter or push for the Plus tier, which I cover under costs because the limits are the reason people care.
The physical card is sent to the address you provide, ordering is free, and you can request a second card from the Cards page. When the card expires you must order a new one. Delivery time is not stated anywhere I could find, and neither is the cost of a replacement — worth asking support directly if you travel.
Fees and what a payment really costs
The headline is friendly: the card is free through the app. Beyond that, the picture is more mixed, and I want to be straight with you about what the public pages leave out rather than fill the gaps with guesses.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Free through the app; amount not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Top-up fee (Bitrefill) | Fixed 1.99%, plus variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate |
| SEPA pay-in fee | 1.99% |
| Crypto-to-euro conversion | Deposit spread applies; percentage not stated |
| Foreign exchange fee | No FX fee — the Visa exchange rate applies to foreign-currency payments |
| Merchant spread | Spread applied by payment processors and ATM operators on spending |
| ATM withdrawal | At ATMs that accept Visa; fee and free allowance not stated |
| Inactivity fee | Applies after 12 months without spending or cash-out; amount not stated |
| Card currency | EUR, cashback paid in EUR |
| Limits | Not stated on the card page (a separate “Purchase Limits” page exists); terms defer to partner terms |
That table has a lot of “not stated” in it, and the reason is not carelessness on your part — it is that the card page points elsewhere for limits and the terms defer to the partner’s own terms. The concrete numbers live in the tier system.
The two tiers are the real pricing story. Starter is the default. It caps crypto deposits at EUR 15,000 for your lifetime, lets you spend EUR 10,000 a day and EUR 10,000 a month, and caps contactless at EUR 200 per transaction. Plus tier arrives by invitation once you approach the Starter deposit limit. It adds proof of address and proof of source of funds, removes the lifetime deposit cap, and raises monthly spending to EUR 15,000 — but daily spending stays at EUR 10,000 and contactless stays at EUR 200. You have 30 days to move up after being invited, and the stated consequence of not doing so is that “your card will be suspended”.
So the lifetime deposit cap is the sharp edge for anyone serious about crypto. Hit EUR 15,000 of cumulative deposits on Starter and the next step is the upgrade paperwork, not more spending.
Two everyday payments, worked through honestly:
A 40 EUR grocery shop. If you already hold euros or euro-denominated stablecoins on the card, this is 40 EUR and the network’s rates apply. If you had to top up 40 EUR of crypto first, you pay 1.99% on the top-up — about 80 cents — plus whatever the conversion spread is, which the card does not publish as a percentage. On a small purchase the fixed fee is a real drag; on a large one it disappears.
A 30 EUR dinner paid in a currency that is not euros. No foreign exchange fee — you pay the Visa exchange rate, and that rate usually has a markup built into it that the Visa brand does not itemise. The extra cost is inside the rate, not on a fee line. This is the single most misunderstood point about the card: “no FX fee” is not the same as “no cost when you spend abroad”.
And one more, because it comes up constantly: a withdrawal at an ATM. Cash out at ATMs that accept Visa; the fee and any free allowance are not stated on the card page. Unofficially — from a third-party site, not confirmed by Bitrefill — it is 2.49% for both Starter and Plus on top of the ATM operator’s own charge, with limits of EUR 350 a day and EUR 3,000 a month. That same source notes its own pricing page rendered those cells incorrectly, and a separate report says the ATM line was dropped from pricing in mid-2026. Treat all of it as a strong hint, not a promise.
The same third-party source puts the inactivity fee at EUR 10 a month after 12 months without spending or cash-out, and a replacement physical card at EUR 10. Again unofficial, though a February 2026 review agrees on the EUR 10 inactivity figure. The one thing you can rely on is that the fee *exists* after 12 months of not touching the card — the terms say so plainly — and that the card deactivates once an inactivity fee takes the balance down to EUR 0.
Top up
Topping up is where this card earns its keep, and the list is genuinely wide. You can fund with Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base and Polygon, and by SEPA transfer. Lightning is the underrated one: for small, frequent purchases it is the cheapest route in, and a card that accepts Lightning top-ups is not nothing.

The structure is simple: a fixed 1.99% Bitrefill fee plus the variable exchange cost at the card partner’s live rate. The minimum deposit is currently EUR 15, and anything smaller is not added — so if you are topping up with a small amount of Lightning, this floor is the thing to check first. SEPA pay-in costs 1.99% as well.
Two warnings that catch people out.
First, USDT deposits ended on 17 March 2025. If you saw “USDT” on the card page’s “Buy with” list, that list is not a funding list — it is what the store accepts as payment for gift cards. Apple Pay, Google Pay, Visa and MasterCard appear there too, and none of them top up the card. The distinction matters because USDT is the single most common way people hold dollar balances, and the workarounds people suggest are not workarounds at all. USDC works; USDT does not.
Second, store credit cannot be moved to the card. If you bought gift cards, that balance stays where it is.
Getting money back out is free in one direction: withdraw to a bank account at no charge, or take cash out at an ATM. Unofficially, the free SEPA cash-out is described as within limits and not available to Swedish residents.
Paying with it every day
The card behaves like a prepaid Visa. You load a balance, the balance gets spent, and it cannot overdraw because there is no credit behind it. That is the honest mental model, and it explains both the strengths and the limits.
Google Pay works. Apple Pay does not — the pages say “not supported yet” and “will be available soon”. If your phone is your primary way of paying, that matters, and “soon” is not a date. Note that Apple Pay and Google Pay appear on the card page only as ways to *buy gift cards*; as card support, Google Pay is confirmed and Apple Pay is not.
The rewards are 2% total cashback with no cap: 1% on each crypto deposit and 1% on each purchase. The currency the cashback is paid in is not stated on the page — the terms say the rate is published on the website — though the card itself is EUR. I would not build a plan around the cashback until you have seen it land.
Three ordinary friction points:
- Some payments will be declined. Among the reviews I read, a three-star review says the Visa card is sometimes denied. This is common to foreign and prepaid BINs generally — a merchant can look up the issuing institution and country from the card’s first six or eight digits and decide to be careful.
- Refunds cost you the cashback. If a transaction is refunded or charged back, rewards may be debited. The help article says to contact the merchant first, because most refunds are handled that way. Time frames are not stated.
- A declined authorisation can hold money. Holds can sit for several days, typically up to seven.
The app itself is on the App Store and Google Play. Unofficially, the ratings are 4.7/5.0 on the Apple App Store across 372 ratings and 4.5/5.0 on Google Play across 2,468 ratings.
What can go wrong
Most of what follows is not card-specific, and I want to separate the two honestly.
Your funds are held by partners, not by you. This is a custodial setup: Lightspark and Wallester hold the money. That is what “safe” means and does not mean here. If a custodian fails or is breached, you are exposed to counterparty risk — and the category has a real record of it, from Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011-2014) to Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) to the Ronin Network bridge (US$625 million, 2022). The protection that does exist is concrete: freeze the card and hide the balance in one tap, 3-D Secure on online payments, and lost or stolen cards reported to [email protected]. Whether customer funds are safeguarded or insured is not stated, and in the EU that safeguarding sits with a licensed electronic money institution rather than a bank — which is not the same as a deposit guarantee scheme.
A deposit on the wrong network can be gone. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send to an unsupported network or a mismatched address and recovery depends on support, with no guarantee. This is the most expensive mistake available on this card, and it is entirely avoidable by copying the address from the app rather than from an old message.
Rules changed under you in 2026. From July 2026 the EU Transfer of Funds Regulation means deposits from wallets that are not your own, or from VASP wallets not licensed in the EU, are declined above EUR 1,000. Strong customer authentication rules also changed how deposits work. Combined with USDT ending in March 2025 and a help-centre mention of a temporary suspension of applications from Hungarian residents, the direction of travel is clear: this card is tightening. If you are planning around it, plan around the tighter version.
The company behind it is small and unfamiliar. The site is owned and operated by Airfill Prepaid AB (559001-6035) in Stockholm, Sweden. The card is issued by Wallester AS, Estonia, licensed by Finantsinspektsioon. The crypto and virtual IBAN services come from Lightspark Payments Europe AS, Estonia, licensed by the Estonian FIU. Three regulated names in two countries — a real structure, and one that gives you somewhere to complain to. But also worth knowing: Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves. They license issuers and can suspend a programme. FTX’s global agreements were terminated in November 2022, and WaveCrest, a supplier to several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Programmes do get closed. Typically there is a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.
The complaints you will find are mostly about the gift-card shop. Trustpilot reads 4.5/5 from 2,943 reviews, 89% five-star and 5% one-star. The recurring themes are gift-card markup and fees (October 2026), Apple codes that do not work with accounts blocked (September-October 2026), a lookalike fake site (October 2026), a deposit pending more than 20 days with support called “worthless” (September 2026), and refunds paused (September 2026). None of that is about the Visa card. Bitrefill states it replies to all one-to-three-star reviews. I found no Reddit threads and no official incident reports on the card.
The one thing people should watch: a fake site. A lookalike site circulating in October 2026 is the kind of thing that costs you the balance in one tap. Type the address yourself.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in my comparison, and none of them beats Bitrefill for a euro-spending EU resident. They are worth knowing about for a specific reason each.
| Bitrefill | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.8 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Who | 29 EU countries + Norway, Iceland; US and Russian citizens excluded | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”, no exclusions stated | Aimed at Nigeria and “Nigerians and global users” | No country list; App Store says acceptance in 176+ countries |
| Card | Virtual + physical Visa, EUR | Debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay; Naira | Virtual USD Mastercard, made in ~3 minutes | Prepaid; USD or EUR balance |
| Cost | Free through app | Not stated | Virtual card free | Not stated |
| Funding | BTC, Lightning, ETH, USDC, SOL, Base, Polygon, SEPA | USDT, USDC, BTC | BTC, USDT, ETH, naira transfer | USDT, BTC, ETH |
| Rewards | 2% cashback, no cap | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Cardex is the broadest on paper — 200+ countries, multiple networks including UnionPay — and its app listing is Naira-focused, meaning you pay in Naira. It converts at payment time with what it calls an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans exchanges for the best rate, but no fee percentage is published. Pick it if you are outside Europe and want breadth of acceptance.
CardFlow is a virtual USD Mastercard aimed at Nigeria, created in minutes and free to create. Fees are not stated. If you spend dollars in Nigeria it may fit; if you spend euros, it is not the card.
HyperCard shows USD or EUR balances and takes USDT, BTC and ETH in-app. Its App Store page claims the card works in more than 176 countries — that is acceptance, not eligibility, and the official pages carry no country list at all. Fees not stated.
The honest summary: none of the three publishes a fee percentage where Bitrefill publishes a fixed 1.99%. If your currency is the euro and your country is in the EU, Bitrefill is the more legible card. If either of those is untrue, compare on where you actually spend money, not on feature lists.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to someone who lives in the EU, Norway or Iceland, spends in euros, and holds euro assets or USDC. They want a card that takes Lightning and stablecoins directly, that has no foreign exchange fee, that gives 2% back without a cap, and that does not ask them to reason about a spread percentage nobody publishes. They should know the 1.99% top-up fee, the EUR 15 minimum, that USDT no longer works, that Apple Pay is not there yet, and that a card left untouched for 12 months starts costing them.
I would not recommend it to anyone who holds mainly USDT — the March 2025 change removed that path and nothing replaces it cleanly. Nor to a US or Russian citizen, who is excluded by citizenship no matter where the address is. Nor to someone who wants their crypto to remain theirs: this is custodial, full stop, and the honest description of that is that you are trusting two licensed Estonian entities with your balance.
And if you are outside the eligible list entirely — the questions people actually search, “is Bitrefill card available in {country}”, “can I use Bitrefill card in {country}” — the answer is no, and it has been for a while.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitrefill card?
It is a Visa debit card that spends a euro balance you fund with crypto or a SEPA transfer. It comes as a virtual card you can use immediately and a physical card you activate on arrival. The card is issued by Wallester AS in Estonia and the site is operated by Airfill Prepaid AB in Sweden. It is separate from Bitrefill’s better-known gift-card shop, which is a different business on the same brand.
How does the Bitrefill card work?
You load money, then spend it. Deposits in crypto are converted to euros and held as a balance the card draws on, so it works like a prepaid card and cannot overdraw. The top-up costs a fixed 1.99% plus the partner’s live exchange rate. Buying anything in euros with money already on the card costs you the network’s rates and nothing else from Bitrefill.
Is Bitrefill a bank?
No. The card is issued by a licensed Estonian institution and the crypto and virtual IBAN services come from another licensed Estonian company, but Bitrefill itself is not a bank. That distinction matters for your money: customer funds sit with payment institutions that must safeguard them, which is not the same as a bank deposit covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.
Who can get the Bitrefill card?
Residents aged 18 or over of 29 EU countries plus Norway and Iceland, after identity verification. US citizens and Russian citizens are excluded regardless of where they live, with one exception: Russian citizens who also hold EU or EEA citizenship. You cannot sign up with a Kyrgyzstan or Tajikistan mobile number. The exact list of accepted documents and processing times are not stated on the public pages.
How much does the Bitrefill card cost?
The card is free through the app. Top-ups cost a fixed 1.99% plus the exchange rate at the card partner’s live rate, and SEPA pay-ins cost 1.99%. There is no foreign exchange fee — the Visa rate applies instead. The conversion spread percentage, the ATM fee and the monthly fee are not stated; unofficially the ATM fee is 2.49% plus the operator’s charge, and inactivity costs 10 EUR a month after 12 months.
How do I top up the Bitrefill card?
Send Bitcoin, Lightning, Ethereum, USDC, Solana, Base or Polygon, or a SEPA transfer. The minimum is currently 15 EUR and smaller deposits are not added, which matters most if you are topping up with small Lightning amounts. USDT deposits stopped on 17 March 2025, so if you see USDT listed on the card page that is a payment option for gift cards, not a way to fund the card.
Is the Bitrefill card safe?
It is custodial: partners hold your funds, so you carry counterparty risk that you would not carry with a self-custody card. Safeguards include one-tap freeze and balance hiding, 3-D Secure on online payments, and a support address for lost or stolen cards. What the pages do not state is whether funds are insured. The bigger practical risk is sending a deposit on the wrong network, which is irreversible.
Can I use the Bitrefill card with Apple Pay?
Not yet. Google Pay works with the card. Apple Pay is listed as “not supported yet” and “will be available soon”, and it appears on the card page only as a way to buy gift cards, not as card support. If your phone is how you pay for everything, that gap is worth weighing before you order. A declined online payment can also leave a hold on your money for up to seven days.
What are the Bitrefill card limits?
Spending is EUR 10,000 a day on both tiers. Monthly it is EUR 10,000 on Starter and EUR 15,000 on Plus. Contactless is capped at EUR 200 per transaction. Starter also caps lifetime crypto deposits at EUR 15,000; Plus removes that cap but requires proof of address and proof of source of funds. If invited to Plus you have 30 days to upgrade, or the card is suspended.
What should I do if a Bitrefill card payment goes wrong?
Contact the merchant first — the help article says most refunds are handled that way, and Bitrefill is not liable when a merchant refuses a payment. If the matter is a lost, stolen or unauthorised transaction, email [email protected]. Be aware that if a transaction is refunded or charged back, cashback earned on it may be debited from your balance, which is the sting in an otherwise simple process.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
