I checked the Xapo Bank card's fees, eligibility and real-world gripes — here's whether a $1,000 membership is worth it

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have ever found yourself blocked from an ordinary bank card — because of where you live, what documents you hold, how you earn, or simply which country’s system your name sits inside — then the pitch of the Xapo Bank card is obvious: a metal Visa-linked card that spends from a crypto-linked account, with a membership that anyone healthy enough to clear the checks can buy. That pitch is real, and so is the card. But it comes with a price tag that stops most people in their tracks, a country list the official pages do not actually publish, and a reviews page where a sizeable slice of customers tell stories about frozen accounts. My job here is to walk you through all of it, in plain terms, so you can decide whether it belongs in your life.

Xapo Bank works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.8 out of 10

Let me start with the number, because it is the honest summary. The Xapo Bank card scores 5.8 out of 10 overall. That is a middle-of-the-road score, and it is not an accident — it is the arithmetic of a card that is genuinely good at a few things and genuinely expensive at others. If you are a premium banking client who already holds US dollars, euros and bitcoin and wants one card to spend all three, this is a card built with you in mind, and the price may be defensible. If you simply want a reliable way to buy groceries, the $1,000 annual membership is going to look obscene next to ordinary debit cards that cost nothing.

Here is how the individual criteria break down, with the reasoning:

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Officially the list of countries is not given; unofficial sources say 50 countries are listed, among them the UK, Canada, Germany, Japan and Singapore, and 28 are restricted, including the USA
Cost 2 / 10 Membership is USD 1,000 a year with a refund within 30 days; the metal card itself is free, there are “no FX fees and no hidden markups”, but the ATM charges “2% of the withdrawal amount” above USD 100 a month
Top-up options 6 / 10 The card spends the Xapo account balance; the stablecoins USDC and USDT convert to USD, and there are SWIFT, ACH, SEPA, Faster Payments and bitcoin over Lightning
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Xapo Bank in Gibraltar holds a Gibraltar FSC licence as a credit institution (Permission No. 23171); USD deposits are covered up to GBP 120,000; but Trustpilot shows 3.9 out of 5 from 1,141 reviews, 31% one-star, with freezes and slow checks
Everyday use 8 / 10 Metal, standard and virtual debit cards, ATMs in 100+ countries; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not disclosed
Total 5.8 / 10 A capable premium card priced like one, with real gripes from real users

Read that table as a person choosing, not as a critic scoring. The two columns that decide your experience are Cost and Everyday use. Cost is the worst-scoring criterion at 2 out of 10, and it is the one you feel first: the membership is the price of admission, and it dwarfs every fee that follows. Everyday use is the best at 8 out of 10, because a physical card that works at ATMs in more than a hundred countries, with metal, standard and virtual options, is a genuinely well-built everyday instrument — when the balance is there and the country is allowed.

The card is built around a clear idea: treat your crypto balance like a bank account and let you spend it as if it were money. The fact that Xapo Bank is a real, Gibraltar-incorporated, regulated credit institution — not a start-up with a card-shaped app — is the single most reassuring fact in this whole page, and I will come back to it. The uncomfortable facts cluster in two places: the membership cost, and the reviews.

Who is this card for? Premium banking clients holding USD, EUR and Bitcoin. Someone who values a metal card, wants to draw on several currencies and a bitcoin balance from one instrument, and either earns or already holds enough that $1,000 a year is a rounding error. Who is it not for? Someone on a tight budget, someone whose country may be restricted, and someone who wants the last drop of anonymity, because the verification is real.

Will they give you the card?

The honest answer is: probably, but not on the basis of anything the official pages promise you. Here is the strange part of this card — the country list is not stated. Not on the card terms, not on the Transact page. The terms are titled “Cards Issued Outside Europe Region” and they do not enumerate the eligible countries. The pages also do not state whether the test is citizenship or residence; both remain unsaid. What they do say is that Xapo may refuse a card at its discretion, and that previously suspended users cannot order one. That is a wide door with a wide, unstated list of what is not allowed through it.

Because the official list is missing, you will meet unofficial figures online, and you should treat them as exactly that — unofficial, and not confirmed by the card. One such source says the card is available in 50 listed countries, naming the UK, Canada, Germany, Japan and Singapore among them, with 28 restricted countries and jurisdictions including the United States, Russia and Ukraine. Another source says more than 100 countries are covered but excludes US residents and US passport holders. A third notes eligibility runs by residence. These numbers disagree with each other and none of them is the bank’s word, which is precisely why they are dangerous to plan around. The practical takeaway: if your country matters to you, ask the bank directly and get the answer in writing, because the published pages will not give it to you.

The age floor is clear, at least. You must be at least 18 to order a card, which is the standard adult threshold for prepaid and debit cards. Beyond age, the terms are quiet on the details you would want: the specific KYC documents required and the proof of address are not stated in the card terms themselves.

So: will they give you the card? If you are an adult in a permitted country with a Xapo account and clean documents, most likely yes. If you are in one of the countries people quietly say is restricted, most likely no, and you may not get a satisfying reason. That ambiguity is the price of a page that does not publish its own list.

How to get it

Getting the card is not a single click; it is a sequence, and the first step is not about the card at all. You need a Xapo account — the account must be opened first, because the card is linked to it. There is no way to walk in with just a passport and leave with plastic.

Before any of that, you will clear verification. To get through it you need a valid passport or national ID, personal details that confirm both your identity and your residence, and a real-time photo or short video taken in the app. The age requirement of 18 or over applies throughout. What the terms do not tell you is how long any of this takes, what tiers exist, or precisely why a verification might be rejected — so the one thing you cannot do is budget a timeline with confidence.

Then the card itself. Included with membership are three flavours of debit card: metal, standard and virtual. For non-European cards, Visa’s terms apply — note the network is named on the Transact page rather than in the card terms themselves. The card spends your USD balance.

Delivery is where caution earns its keep. Physical cards are posted only to your verified address. If you want them sent somewhere else, that is at your own risk and is not guaranteed. The countries served, the delivery time and the delivery cost are all not stated — so the phrase “it will arrive” is doing quiet work in every promise the bank makes. On replacements: an additional replacement card within a calendar year costs USD 25, and other lost, stolen or damaged re-issues carry fees that “may apply” — the amounts sit in a Fees Information Sheet that I have not read, so I will not invent them for you. One unofficial source adds colour and should be weighed the same way: it says delivery speed varies by region, emergency replacement runs to $100 plus address-dependent shipping, and the first replacement each year is free. Unofficial, unconfirmed — but it explains the $25 figure well enough to be plausible.

A dedicated relationship manager is mentioned for members, and support runs through the app and customersupport.xapo.com. This is the part of the journey that will matter most if something goes wrong later.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the section that decides whether this card is for you, and I am going to be blunt about it. The membership is USD 1,000 a year. It comes with a 30-day full-refund window, so you can try it and get your money back within a month if you change your mind. Beyond that window, it is a thousand dollars a year. Everything else — every foreign purchase, every ATM withdrawal, every replacement — is, by comparison, small change. But small change every month adds up, and the membership is the wall.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Xapo Bank payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

So here is what the costs look like, drawn from what the card actually states:

Fee or limit What the card says
Membership USD 1,000 per year, with a 30-day full refund
Metal card issuance Free to order (premium metal card described as complimentary)
Additional replacement card in a year USD 25
Other re-issues (lost, stolen, damaged) Fees “may apply”; amounts in the Fees Information Sheet
Conversion / FX “no FX fees and no hidden markups”; merchants’ dynamic currency conversion should be declined
Bitcoin spending “no fees and competitive spreads”
ATM “2% of the withdrawal amount” above USD 100 per month (so the first USD 100 a month is free); ATM operator fees may apply
Monthly spending / withdrawal limits Default limits exist and are manageable in the app; amounts not stated (“high spending limits”)

There is only a single membership, with no named tiers — you buy the one thing and it includes the metal, standard and virtual cards. That simplicity is worth noting: you are not choosing a level, you are choosing yes or no to a $1,000-a-year relationship.

Now let me make those costs concrete, because abstract fee tables hide the shape of real spending. Three everyday payments, and which fees apply:

Two more figures the unofficial sources attach to the limits, offered as unofficial and not confirmed by the card: $50,000 per day in store, $50,000 per day online, ATMs capped at $2,000 per day, and temporary purchases up to $750,000 by case-by-case approval. The official terms confirm only that default monthly spending and withdrawal limits exist, are adjustable in the app, and that the amounts are not stated. Some merchant categories are blocked, and recurring pre-authorised payments, self-service petrol pumps and cash-like transactions may be declined — that last set is the sort of thing that embarrasses you at a petrol station or a parking meter if you did not know it in advance.

How to Top up

This is the part that will feel either delightful or baffling depending on where you are in the world, because it is where the crypto in the name actually shows up. The card spends the Xapo account balance only — it is not a top-up card in the sense of being loaded from your ordinary bank on demand; it draws on the one account. And that account can be filled in several ways.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Xapo Bank starts with a transfer to the right network

Stablecoins are the first route: deposit USDC or USDT and they are auto-converted to USD. This is the feature people who hold crypto actually care about — the ability to park value in a dollar-pegged token and have it become spendable balance. The network you send on matters, though, and that is a trap worth naming early. USDC and USDT each live on several blockchains, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support — or to an address belonging to another network — can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are simply irreversible. So “top up with USDC” is really “top up with USDC, on exactly the right network, to exactly the right address,” and the card’s pages do not map that out for you.

The fiat routes are more conventional. For US dollars you have SWIFT, ACH, RTP and FedACH. For pounds, Faster Payments. For euros, SEPA. And bitcoin comes in over Lightning. Between them these cover the currencies the account actually holds — USD, GBP and EUR, plus Bitcoin — which is exactly the balance sheet the card is built to spend from.

Two things are simply not stated: the deposit fee and the minimum top-up amount. You will find those out by trying, not by reading. And remember the reverse direction too — you can withdraw out by SWIFT, ACH, Faster Payments and SEPA, and in Bitcoin by Lightning, though withdrawal fee amounts are not stated. If you close the account, the card is cancelled; the card can also be cancelled on its own. What happens to any balance left in the account on closure is not stated, which is one of those sentences I would want answered before committing a thousand dollars a year. And Xapo may end the agreement with two months’ written notice — a notice period, at least, which is more comfort than nothing.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, this is the card’s strongest suit — 8 out of 10, the best score on the board. What you are carrying is a proper payment card: metal, standard and virtual debit options, working at ATMs in more than 100 countries, drawing on a balance that can be USD, GBP, EUR or bitcoin. Each payment can pull from either your USD balance or your Bitcoin balance, which is the flexibility that justifies the whole concept. Pay in a currency you do not hold and it converts and debits your balance, promising no FX fees and no hidden markups; pay in one you do hold and it is simply debited. The card works online and in stores wherever the network goes.

There is a rewards angle, but it has narrowed. A promotional offer gives 3% cashback in Bitcoin on rideshares and taxis, running 1 July to 31 October, and it requires an active Metal Card; the terms warn that “Cashback is available for selected spending only”. There is no general, ongoing cashback stated — and this matters, because from 1 July 2026 the general everyday cashback was replaced by these targeted campaigns. So do not buy this card expecting a standing rebate on your groceries; the everyday version of that perk is gone.

The friction points are worth knowing. Apple Pay and Google Pay are simply not disclosed — no promise either way, so do not plan your phone wallet around this card. Xapo blocks a list of merchant category codes, and that list is not published on the page, so there are categories you will only discover by being declined at the till. From the wider category, know that some issuers block gambling (MCC 7995) as policy rather than law, and prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers can be declined by merchants who look at the issuing country — which is often the case with crypto cards. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes up to seven. Online payments may use 3-D Secure (Visa’s version is Visa Secure), which can challenge you with a one-time code or a biometric; address verification can fail for foreign-issued cards.

On getting help when a payment goes wrong, the terms are unhelpful in a specific way: they give no dispute or chargeback timeframes at all. Refunds are “usually up to 10 Business Days”, and refunds in unsupported currencies are converted at the payment system’s rate, with Xapo not liable for losses from that. So if something goes sideways, you have a support channel and a relationship manager, but not a stated clock on disputes.

The app is a single iOS and Android application running 24/7. Its store ratings and number of ratings were not read, so I will not pretend to know whether users love it.

What can go wrong

Let me put the risk plainly, in two halves: what the bank’s own pages show, and what customers say.

The reassuring half first, and it is substantial. Xapo Bank is a real bank: incorporated in Gibraltar, Company No. 111928, at 2 Irish Town, Gibraltar GX11 1AA, and regulated by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission with permission as a “credit institution” under the Financial Services Act 2019. Permission No. 23171. Xapo VASP Limited is separately permitted as a DLT provider, Permission No. 26061. Your USD deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the USD equivalent of GBP 120,000 — real deposit protection, not a crypto promise. Bitcoin and other crypto are not covered, which is exactly as it should be and as you would assume. The bank advertises “bank-grade security” with fraud monitoring, lists PCI DSS, SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 among its certifications, and gives you instant card freeze and unfreeze in the app. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned in the card terms, so do not assume it is on by default. This is a custodial bank, meaning they hold the credentials and you trust them; the wider category has a scar tissue of custodial failures — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022) — so custody carries real counterparty and hack risk even under a licence.

The complaining half is where the mark of 7 comes from. On Trustpilot, Xapo Bank sits at 3.9 out of 5 from 1,141 reviews as of 20 October 2026, with 31% of those being one-star. Read those themes, because they cluster: account freezes and closures (November 2025, July and August 2026); users unable to withdraw or close (August 2026) and a $1,000 annual fee not refunded (July 2026); slow compliance reviews, one reportedly running seven weeks (June to August 2026); complaints about high fees (June to September 2026); and templated support (June, September 2026). There is praise in there too — some reviewers commend the support. On Reddit’s r/CryptoHelp (2025), one user reports an unresolved ID verification problem lasting more than three years with unresponsive support. Officially, I found no recorded incidents. Historically, there was 2014 backlash over the old Xapo debit card’s fee schedule, where Xapo blamed its issuer and promised reimbursement — but that was a different, earlier product, not this card, so I mention it only so you do not mistake it for a present problem.

Now put those two halves side by side and the honest reading is this: the institution is sound, the protections are real, and the complaints are the kind that come from a bank that freezes accounts to satisfy compliance and is slow about it. For someone whose entire point is “I cannot get an ordinary card,” a frozen account is not a minor inconvenience — it is the whole problem coming back. That is the specific risk to weigh here, and it deserves more of your attention than the headline score does.

One more risk that is not about trust but about cryptography: stablecoins can depeg. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, so “stablecoin” is a description of intent, not a guarantee — despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable. Most of the market (about 90% by the BIS in July 2025) sits in USDT and USDC, and Circle says USDC is 1:1 redeemable for USD and fully backed by cash and equivalents with monthly reserve attestations — reputable, but still a private issuer’s word with monthly, not constant, proof. Sending on the wrong network, to the wrong address, is the fastest way to lose money here, because transfers are irreversible.

What to take instead

I do not think you should treat this as the only card in the category. Three alternatives came up in my research, and each trades the Xapo Bank’s high price for a different set of compromises. Here they are side by side — note how different the shape of each one is.

Alternative Score Card & network Cost Fees Availability
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon”; pays in USD $5 one-time issuance, no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month Card use in USD free on all plans; foreign currency “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits of any kind free Not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list reviewed case by case; purchases blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Multicurrency, Mastercard network, spends from the UNi.Global account balance “No annual fee”; issuance fee not stated “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”; converted at “live OTC rates”; “No hidden exchange fees” Not stated; top-up routes not stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 Visa, works anywhere Visa is accepted; virtual/physical type and currency not stated “No extra fees”; no issuance or monthly amounts listed Not stated (no conversion or FX amounts given) Consumers: 31 US states; businesses: 41 states; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; basis of eligibility not stated

Some quick orientation on each. The International Visa Card scores highest of the three alternatives at 6.7, and it publishes the most — real plan prices, a stated 2% foreign-exchange fee, a clear availability list. Its catch is the 2% FX fee, which on heavy foreign spend will add up fast, and its physical card is only “coming soon”, so you are virtual-only for now.

The UNi Card at 6.1 is the value play: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live rates with no hidden exchange fees, and up to 3% spend-to-earn rewards. The gap is disclosure — its availability, top-up routes and issuance fee are all unstated, so you are trusting it on a short page.

Whop Cards at 5.2 spend from a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, offer 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber), and claim “No extra fees” — but list no amounts at all for issuance or monthly costs, no conversion or FX fees, and no coins or networks. Its eligibility is also the most American of the three: a 31-state map for consumers, a 41-state map for businesses.

Set against those, the Xapo Bank card is the most transparent about who it is and the most expensive way to be it. What none of these — Xapo Bank included — changes is the underlying design of crypto cards. A crypto card is not magic: a payment card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that tells the merchant which institution and country issued it, and that is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another and draw extra scrutiny. Many crypto cards work like prepaid cards — crypto is converted and loaded as fiat balance — rather than true debit cards. And Visa and Mastercard do not issue these themselves; they license issuers, and they can switch a programme off, which is exactly what happened when Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Xapo Bank card to someone in a specific and fairly narrow position, and I would caution everyone else.

I would recommend it if you are a premium banking client who already holds a foot in several currencies — US dollars, euros, maybe bitcoin — and you want one metal card that spends all of them. If a relationship manager and a metal card are things you actively value, and $1,000 a year is a cost you have already decided is worth paying for that kind of banking relationship. If you are in a country the unofficial lists say is permitted and can get a real address where your documents match. And if you have read this page’s risk section and are comfortable that a licensed Gibraltar bank with GBP 120,000 of deposit protection on the fiat side is a better bet than an unlicensed app — even knowing that “better” still includes the possibility of a slow, freezing compliance review when something looks off on your account.

I would not recommend it if $1,000 a year is a real obstacle, because there is no cheap version of this particular card. I would not recommend it if you are in — or might be in — one of the restricted countries, since the official pages will not tell you which those are and the answer, when it comes, may be a refusal with no explanation. I would not recommend it if you want Apple Pay or Google Pay, because that is simply not disclosed. And I would think hard if your priority is a card that never gets declined: this one blocks merchant categories it does not publish, can decline recurring payments and petrol pumps and cash-like transactions, and carries a reviews page where 31% of reviewers are one-star, many of them about accounts being frozen or money being hard to withdraw.

The fair summary is this: Xapo Bank is a real, regulated bank with a genuinely capable card attached, and the card itself is the best part of the proposition — 8 out of 10 for everyday use. But it is wrapped in a $1,000-a-year membership, sold under terms that do not publish their own country list, and shadowed by a customer-support reputation for slowness. If you can afford the membership and you live where it is allowed, it is a serious instrument. If either of those is not true of you, one of the alternatives above — or an ordinary debit card — will serve you better and cost you a fraction as much.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Xapo Bank card?

It is a Visa-linked payment card that spends from your Xapo account balance rather than from a traditional bank account. Membership includes metal, standard and virtual debit card options, and the balance behind it can be US dollars, pounds, euros or bitcoin. The account must be opened first, and the card draws on that balance only.

How does the Xapo Bank card work?

You top up the Xapo account — by sending USDC or USDT, which auto-convert to USD, or by bank transfer in USD, GBP or EUR — and then the card spends that balance as ordinary money, online and in stores. Payments can draw from your USD balance or your bitcoin balance. If you pay in a currency you do not hold, the card converts it and debits your balance with, it says, no FX fees and no hidden markups.

Is Xapo Bank a real, regulated bank?

Yes. Xapo Bank is incorporated in Gibraltar (Company No. 111928) and regulated by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission with permission as a credit institution under the Financial Services Act 2019, Permission No. 23171. USD deposits are covered by the Gibraltar Deposit Guarantee Scheme up to the equivalent of GBP 120,000; bitcoin and other crypto are not covered.

Who can get the card, and is it available in my country?

You must be 18 or over and clear identity verification. The awkward part is that the official card terms and Transact page do not actually publish a list of eligible countries, and do not say whether the test is citizenship or residence. Unofficial sources disagree, citing 50 listed countries or more than 100, with the US excluded. Ask the bank directly before you rely on it.

How much does the Xapo Bank card cost?

Membership is USD 1,000 a year, with a full refund if you cancel within 30 days. The metal card is free to order, and there are no FX fees on foreign spending, but ATM withdrawals cost 2% of the amount above USD 100 per month, and a second replacement card in a year costs USD 25.

Is the Xapo Bank card free?

No. The card itself is free — the premium metal card is described as complimentary — but the membership you need in order to hold it is USD 1,000 a year. Spending the balance itself is free of any stated conversion fee, and there are no hidden markups on foreign purchases, but that membership is the price of admission.

How do I top up the Xapo Bank card?

By topping up the Xapo account behind it. Send USDC or USDT and they are auto-converted to USD; use SWIFT, ACH, RTP or FedACH for dollars, Faster Payments for pounds, SEPA for euros, or Lightning for bitcoin. The deposit fee and any minimum are not stated, so check before sending, and be careful to use a network the provider supports — transfers on the wrong network can be lost.

Is the Xapo Bank card safe?

The institution behind it is a licensed Gibraltar credit institution with deposit protection on USD balances and bank-grade security certifications. But it is a custodial bank, so you are trusting it with your funds, and stablecoins themselves can lose their peg. Customer reviews also report account freezes and slow compliance checks, so weigh that alongside the licence.

Can I use the Xapo Bank card with Apple Pay or Google Pay?

That is not disclosed. The card’s pages do not state whether either mobile wallet is supported, so do not plan around adding it to your phone wallet — if that matters to you, ask the bank before you commit to a year of membership.

Why do some Xapo Bank reviews complain about frozen accounts?

The reviews cluster around exactly that: account freezes and closures, difficulty withdrawing or closing, slow compliance reviews (one reportedly lasting seven weeks), high fees, and templated support. The Trustpilot score is 3.9 out of 5 from 1,141 reviews, with 31% one-star. There is praise for support in there too, but for someone who cannot get an ordinary card, a frozen account is the original problem returning.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team