The Moonwell Card Is Gone: Closure Dates, Holder Steps, and Real Alternatives

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you were looking for a crypto card to spend from your own wallet, the honest answer comes first: the Moonwell card no longer exists as a working product. New cards stopped being issued on 8 July 2026, the last day to use any card was 8 August 2026, and the app that ran the programme went offline on 6 September 2026. That is not a rumour about future changes; it is a closure that has already happened, and everything below is about dealing with it rather than signing up for it.

The Moonwell card programme no longer issues new cards

I have scored this card 2.3 out of 10. That number is low because there is no card left to rate, not because spending crypto on a card is a bad idea in general. If you were already using one, the useful part of this page is the section on what to do with the balance sitting in it. If you were still shopping around, the last sections point you at cards that are actually running today.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 2.3 out of 10, and why

The score breaks down into six criteria, and the shape of the breakdown tells the story faster than any prose could. Two criteria score zero because the things they measure simply do not exist any more. The two that score above zero do so because of unofficial historical information about how the card used to work.

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 0 / 10 Programme closed: card loading stopped and new issuance ended 8 July 2026, last day of use 8 August 2026
Cost 7 / 10 Unofficial: 0.5% USDC loading fee, 1.5% currency conversion fee
Top-up options 2 / 10 Card loading stopped 8 July 2026; unofficial historical options were on-chain USDC and “borrow-and-load” against Moonwell lending positions
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Card closed together with the Cypher infrastructure acquired by Nium; fee-free withdrawal ran until 6 September 2026; no complaints about the card found
Everyday use 0 / 10 All cards cancelled 8 August 2026, app offline from 6 September 2026
Total 2.3 / 10

Read the cost line carefully, because it is the one place where a plausible-looking high mark can mislead you. Seven out of ten sounds like the card was cheap and good value. What actually happened is that third-party sites described the old fee schedule — 0.5% for loading USDC, 1.5% for currency conversion — and those numbers are not confirmed by the card’s own pages. The card publishes nothing now. A good score on a criterion you can no longer act on is not value; it is a footnote.

Who does this page suit? Almost nobody as a card to get. It suits you in three narrow situations: you held a Moonwell card and want to confirm the closure details and tidy up what is left; you were considering a card that spends on-chain stablecoins and want to know what happened to one implementation of that idea; or you want to understand how crypto card programmes shut down, because this one shows the shape clearly. Who does it not suit? Anyone who needs a card in the coming weeks, anyone who wants to know the current fee schedule, and anyone hoping the closure was a temporary pause.

One more thing worth saying plainly: Moonwell itself was not the company that operated the card. The card ran on infrastructure built by Cypher, and Cypher was acquired by Nium. That distinction matters in the next section.

What happened to the programme

The programme did not fade out; it unwound on a schedule. The closure notice came from Cypher, the infrastructure provider, dated 8 July 2026, and it announced that Cypher has been acquired by Nium. Here is the sequence as it was set out:

Moonwell has said it is exploring new card providers, with no timeline attached, and that the team is building a successor platform on Nium’s infrastructure. So there may be a Moonwell-branded card again someday. There is nothing you can plan around today.

A few details about how the card used to work survive only in third-party reporting, and I mark them as unofficial because the card’s own pages confirm nothing. Per Crypto Briefing and Diario Bitcoin, the Moonwell card was a Visa debit card that spent on-chain USDC at more than 44 million merchants, launched in December 2024, and was said to be available in more than 180 countries except New York and Vermont. The same sources describe Apple Pay and Google Pay support, a 0.5% fee for loading USDC, and a 1.5% foreign exchange fee. These are useful for reconstructing the picture; none of them carry a guarantee now.

The card’s own public pages no longer carry the practical details. Who could get it, what identification was required, what the card looked like, what it cost, what fees applied, which wallets it supported, what rewards or tiers existed, which currencies it held, how it was delivered, and what verification levels applied — none of that is stated anywhere on the card’s pages, because the pages no longer exist in any meaningful sense. The app being off since 6 September 2026 is the practical summary of that.

If you already had the card

If your card is already dead, this is the part that matters. The closure notice states that the card balance was withdrawable through the Cypher app or dApp at no fee, and that deadline was 6 September 2026. Support was available at [email protected] up to 6 September 2026, with a 60-day transitional period after that. Whether you are inside that transitional window or past it, the first thing to do is open the Cypher app or dApp and check what balance remains.

Two points about that balance:

Beyond that, the card’s own details are gone. ATM access, spending limits, top-up methods, dispute handling — none of it is stated on the card’s pages, because there are no card pages. The only top-up information that survives is unofficial and historical: on-chain USDC, plus a “borrow-and-load” feature that let you borrow against Moonwell lending positions and load the proceeds onto the card. Both of those are now closed doors.

If you are still holding a balance and the app is offline, do not assume a screenshot or an email is enough. Work out what you can still reach, and if you cannot reach anything, the support address above is the place the notice pointed people to.

What can go wrong

This is a short section, which is itself the point: the risks here are not subtle fee traps or merchant declines. They are the blunt risks of a programme that no longer exists.

The first one is the platform underneath. The card ran on Cypher’s infrastructure, Cypher was acquired by Nium, and the programme closed together with that infrastructure. When the operator changes hands, the user-facing product can change with it, and here it disappeared entirely. This is a category pattern rather than a one-off: WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme, and Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, after which the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer.

The second is money you cannot reach. The withdrawal deadline has passed. Whatever balance remains sits behind an app that is offline, with support on a transitional footing. That is the practical exposure.

The third is records. Cypher notes that anti-money-laundering law requires it to keep identification and transaction records for at least five years after account closure. Your transaction history does not disappear the moment the app does. Moonwell’s own security controls, and the card’s own dispute process, are not stated anywhere.

The fourth is the one people find reassuring and shouldn’t. I found no Trustpilot or Reddit complaints about the card itself in my searches. That is genuinely good news about how people were treated while it ran. It is not evidence that closing it was handled well, and it says nothing about the money that may now be hard to reach. An absence of complaints is silence, not a verdict.

On the underlying crypto, the general risks are the ones every self-custody user carries. A seed phrase of 12 to 24 words is an unencrypted form of your private key; anyone who gets it can restore the wallet and spend everything. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery path — the network cannot freeze or return funds. And while USDC is one of the two stablecoins the BIS put at about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in July 2025, stablecoins are not immune: USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and Circle states it is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents with monthly reserve attestations. That is a strong claim from the issuer, not an unconditional guarantee.

What to take instead

Since you cannot get a Moonwell card, here is what people actually do instead. All three of these scored better in my assessment, and all three are running.

Card Score Card type Who it is for
Sponge 4.9 / 10 Virtual card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member Someone who wants a virtual card funded from a wallet holding USDC
Nexo 6.3 / 10 Virtual and physical Mastercard, issued by DiPocket UAB Someone in a selected European country with a balance to spend and wants cashback tiers
Xplace 7.7 / 10 Visa, virtual instantly and physical on paid tiers Someone comfortable paying an annual fee for higher cashback on credit-mode spending

Sponge

Sponge is the closest thing in this list to what the Moonwell card was trying to be. You create a virtual card with createSpongeCard, and the homepage describes it as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, accepted wherever Visa is accepted. Funding works by moving USDC collateral out of the Sponge wallet with card fund, with base as the example chain and base or solana mentioned as optional in the SDK.

The gaps are real: no country list appears on the card pages, though the platform terms set a minimum age of 13 for the service; the card currency is not stated; and cost, fees and rewards are all not stated. A 4.9 reflects an idea that fits the moment with a lot of unanswered details.

Nexo

Nexo is the middle option and the most conventional. It serves residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the United Kingdom, with no country list on the page and excluded jurisdictions unnamed. You get a virtual card that activates in the app and a physical one; a Mastercard trademark notice appears on the page, but the network is not stated explicitly. The card is issued by DiPocket UAB, and the card currency is not stated, though ATM allowances are quoted in EUR and GBP.

On cost, there is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee. The virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate. The physical card ships free but requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier. On fees, the foreign exchange fee is 0.2% on weekdays for the EEA, UK and Switzerland and 2% in the rest of the world, rising to 0.7% and 2.5% at weekends; the crypto conversion fee is not stated. Spending draws on the account, over 100 digital assets are supported, and Debit Mode uses stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets such as EURx, USDx and GBPx.

The reward structure is the reason people notice Nexo. Cashback applies only to purchases in Credit Mode, requires more than $5,000 in digital assets in the account, and is paid in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin with the payout currency changeable. By tier, in NEXO or BTC: Platinum 2% or 0.5%, Gold 1% or 0.3%, Silver 0.7% or 0.2%, Base 0.5% or 0.1%. The tier depends on the share of NEXO tokens in your portfolio, and rates may change and vary by region.

One thing to weigh: Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations. That is news reporting rather than an official statement, and Nexo made no official statement about Russians being found. It is worth knowing about given that this card leans on European regulation.

Xplace

Xplace scored highest of the three. The country list is not stated and the pages say services are not available in all jurisdictions, though Visa acceptance spans more than 160 countries. You get a Visa, virtual instantly, with a physical card live on the Silver tier and Gold and Platinum marked as coming soon at 7 to 14 business days’ delivery. Cash mode spends your stablecoin balance; Credit mode borrows against your holdings.

The cost structure is the clearest of the three. Annual fees are Basic free, Silver $99 a year, Gold $249 a year and Platinum $999 a year, and borrowing carries no origination fee. Platinum carries 0% FX; the FX rate for other tiers and the conversion fee are not stated, though stablecoin spending is advertised with no hidden spread. Funding means depositing on Solana, and the accepted assets are cbBTC, wETH, SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks. Credit-mode cashback runs 0.5% on Basic, 1% on Silver, 1.5% on Gold and 2% on Platinum, paid in USDC to the wallet at settlement; Cash-mode cashback is not stated.

That structure is the trade to think about. Higher tiers buy you cashback, but they also cost you hundreds a year up front and require you to be comfortable borrowing against your holdings rather than spending what you own.

Who I would recommend it to

The Moonwell card, to no one, in the sense of “go and get one.” It is closed.

The Moonwell card’s closure, to you, if you held one and are working out what happened to your balance and when support stops being available.

The idea behind the Moonwell card, to you, if spending on-chain stablecoins through a normal-looking Visa or Mastercard is what you were after — because that idea is alive and better served by the three options above.

And one piece of background that matters more than any of these cards. A payment card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number that tells a merchant which institution and country issued it, and the rest is an account identifier and a check digit. Merchants can look that up and apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address, and some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. This is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and why the country rules on any of these cards are worth reading before you assume your card will work everywhere. Address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Under EU rules, if customer due diligence cannot be completed, the institution must refrain from the transaction or end the relationship — which is why accounts close or freeze pending documents.

Finally, the tax point, stated plainly and without advice: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at the value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal. If you are in the US, that is the rule; elsewhere, ask someone who knows your jurisdiction rather than extrapolating from it.

Frequently asked questions

What was the Moonwell card?

The Moonwell card was a crypto payment card launched in December 2024, described by third-party sources as a Visa debit card spending on-chain USDC at more than 44 million merchants. It was a Moonwell-branded programme running on infrastructure built by Cypher, a separate company, rather than a card Moonwell issued on its own. Card loading and new issuance ended on 8 July 2026 and the cards were cancelled on 8 August 2026, so it is no longer available in any form.

How did the Moonwell card work?

While it ran, you would load USDC onto the card and spend it as ordinary currency. Unofficial sources describe a 0.5% loading fee on USDC, a 1.5% foreign exchange fee, support for Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a “borrow-and-load” feature letting you borrow against Moonwell lending positions and load the borrowed funds. The card ran on Cypher’s infrastructure, and Cypher’s wallet was non-custodial, meaning you held the keys yourself rather than the provider.

Is Moonwell a bank?

There is nothing on the card’s public pages that says Moonwell is a bank, and the card pages no longer carry that information. What is documented is that the card infrastructure was provided by Cypher, whose legal entity is CypherD Wallet Inc., and that Cypher was acquired by Nium. Moonwell’s own company and registration details are not stated. I would not treat Moonwell as a bank on the strength of a card that no longer issues.

Who owns Moonwell?

Moonwell’s own company and registration details are not stated. What is documented concerns the infrastructure side: Cypher, the provider that ran the card, was acquired by Nium, and Moonwell has said the team is building a successor platform on Nium’s infrastructure. For definitive ownership information, check official announcements directly from Moonwell.

Was the Moonwell card available in my country?

Unofficial sources said it was available in more than 180 countries, excluding New York and Vermont. But the card no longer issues, so the list is historical. If you are looking for a card you can actually get, check the country terms of the alternative you are considering directly, because those pages set the rules and they change.

Can I still use my Moonwell card anywhere?

No. The last day to use any card was 8 August 2026, at 00:00 UTC, and all cards were cancelled after that. The app, the dApp and withdrawals all closed on 6 September 2026. There is nothing left to use, and if a statement or email suggests otherwise, treat it with suspicion.

What happened to money left on the Moonwell card?

It was withdrawable through the Cypher app or dApp at no fee, and that route closed on 6 September 2026. Support was available at [email protected] until the same date, followed by a 60-day transitional period. Cypher also noted it must keep identification and transaction records for at least five years after account closure, so your history persists even though the app does not.

Do I need KYC to use a crypto card?

Generally yes, and this is not optional. Anti-money-laundering rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk, including ongoing transaction monitoring. In the EU, due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number.

Is the Moonwell card safe or worth it?

Neither question has a useful answer any more, because there is no card to use. If the question behind it is whether spending crypto through a card is safe, the honest answer is that safety depends on custody and on the operator. With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you bear sole responsibility for key loss and phishing. With a custodial provider, you are trusting that company — and platforms like Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network have lost funds to failures and hacks.

Can I withdraw money from Moonwell now?

Not through the card or its app, both of which closed on 6 September 2026. The route the closure notice pointed to was the Cypher app or dApp, and its own deadline was the same date. If you have an unreachable balance, [email protected] was the contact given for the closure, with a 60-day transitional window afterwards. Check what you can still reach before assuming anything about your position.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team