A no-KYC crypto card with a $50 issuance fee, 5% top-ups and a 4.3 out of 10
Nocturne is a virtual card that you load with crypto and then spend like an ordinary payment card. On paper that is a genuinely useful thing for anyone who cannot get a normal bank card — the pitch is exactly that, and the audience it is built for is people funding a card with Bitcoin, Monero or USDT who want to pay without handing over identity documents. The problem is that almost everything I could confirm about this card comes from third-party directories rather than from the operator itself. The official site was not reachable when I checked, no issuer or jurisdiction is named, and the fee figures disagree between sources. That combination — a product with no visible company behind it and prices that shift depending on where you read them — is why my score sits where it does.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.3 out of 10, and the number is mostly about missing information
My score for Nocturne is 4.3 / 10. That is not a rounding of a better number. The card scores respectably on the things a directory can check at a glance — what crypto it accepts, that it works in mobile wallets — and poorly on everything you would want a card issuer to be able to prove: who issues it, where it is licensed, who holds your balance, what happens when a payment is declined. The score for cost is the lowest single mark, 2 / 10, and the reason is arithmetic rather than opinion: a $50 issuance fee plus a 5% fee on every top-up means you are paying to spend your own money.
Let me be precise about what that 4.3 is made of, because the components tell you more than the total does.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Official site unreachable; unofficial directories list no supported countries |
| Cost | 2 / 10 | Unofficial: $50 issuance, 5% top-up fee, 1% FX, $0.30 per transaction |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Unofficial: BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XMR; networks not listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Noctavel LLC named, no jurisdiction or issuer found; user reports of declined payments, domain trust 49/100, custodial storage |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Unofficial: virtual Aurora card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, no ATM commission |
| Total | 4.3 / 10 | Information is missing as much as the product is weak |
So who does it suit? It suits someone who already holds Bitcoin, Monero or a stablecoin, who cannot open a normal bank card, and who treats the balance as spending money rather than savings. If a declined payment costs you one coffee rather than a rent payment, the card is a plausible convenience. If you are planning to run anything larger through it, you are making a bet on an unnamed issuer, and the same bet is available with a card that will at least tell you which bank stands behind it.
Who it does not suit: anyone whose balance is meaningful, anyone who expects a chargeback when a merchant refuses to return money, and anyone who needs to know, today, that the company holding their funds exists in a known jurisdiction. I would also not recommend it as a primary card, because it is virtual only.
Will they give you the card
The honest answer is that the card’s own public pages do not say, and neither does anyone else I could find.
The official site was unavailable when I checked, and consequently there is no official statement about which countries are supported. A third-party directory lists no supported countries at all — not an exclusion list, simply nothing. There is no official page describing eligibility, and no country list that I can point you to and say “this is where you live, fine” or “this is where you live, no.” No citizenship rule is stated, no residence rule is stated.
This matters more than it sounds. Card issuers in the mainstream market operate under licences that obligate them to establish exactly who their customers are and where they are, and the rules that push hardest on that are anti-money-laundering and sanctions law: name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check, and a politically-exposed-person assessment. In the EU, if that due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to refrain from the transaction or the relationship, and to end the relationship where necessary. That is why accounts get closed or frozen “pending documents” — it is a legal obligation, not a mood. In the US, the customer identification programme asks for name, date of birth, address and an identification number.
So a card that tells you nothing about which countries it serves is not a convenience. It is a missing page. Ask yourself the question directly: if you live in a jurisdiction where the issuer was not set up to take customers, what happens to the balance you already loaded? Nobody has published an answer, and I am not going to guess at one for you.
One more thing worth knowing about how people are screened: nationality and country of birth are usually recorded and screened separately from where you live, because sanctions screening is usually applied to citizenship, not to the address on your utility bill. A card that says nothing about either cannot tell you which way that falls.
How to get it
Also not stated by the official source. No application steps, no eligibility test, no documents, no delivery time — the card’s public material does not describe any of it.
What I can tell you comes from a directory, and I want to label it clearly: unofficial, not confirmed by the card. According to that directory (cryptocards.so, October 2026), Nocturne operates at “Level 0, no KYC” — an email address, a phone number, an identity document, proof of address and a selfie are all listed as not required. No official page states a KYC level at all. Read that as “no third party has verified the claim,” not as a promise.
On the physical side, the same directory describes a virtual card named Aurora. It does not list the card network; a separate page on the same site describes “virtual Visa/Mastercard.” So we have a card name and a hedged network claim, both unofficial. There is no official statement about whether a plastic card exists — the directory lists virtual only, and nothing about delivery appears anywhere.
The directory does mention a second card, Shadow, but Shadow’s link points to Aurora’s own page. Treat the product line as one card with two names rather than two real options until the operator tells you otherwise.
The practical takeaway: getting one, if the signup flow works, is likely to be the easy part. What you cannot get, at this stage, is a written answer about who you would be contracting with.
Fees: what it really costs
The official source states no costs. Everything below is unofficial, drawn from a third-party directory in October 2026, plus one internal note that carries a load fee of 5% which was not verifiable on the site. Because this is the part where the arithmetic punishes you hardest, I want to show the shape of it rather than just list the numbers.

| Fee or limit | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance fee | $50 | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, Oct 2026) |
| Monthly fee | Free | Unofficial |
| Top-up (load) fee | 5% | Unofficial; also in internal notes, not verified on the site |
| FX fee | 1% | Unofficial |
| Per-transaction fee | $0.30 flat | Unofficial |
| ATM fee | Free | Unofficial |
| ATM withdrawal limit | Unlimited | Unofficial |
| Daily spend limit | $30,000 | Unofficial; a sponsored banner on the same site says “$50K daily limit” |
| Monthly spend limit | $600,000 | Unofficial |
| Deposit currency | Converted to a USD balance on arrival | Card notes; other currencies not stated |
| Cashback | None listed (0%; unofficial and unconfirmed) | Unofficial |
| Referral bonus | $15 (unofficial and unconfirmed) | Unofficial |
Look again at that daily limit row. The directory says $30,000; a sponsored banner on the same site says $50K. I am not going to pick the flattering one. When a card’s own marketing and its directory entry disagree about the limit, the sensible assumption is that the lower figure is the one you should plan around. All these figures are unofficial and not confirmed by the card.
Now let me walk three ordinary payments through those fees, because the headline numbers hide the shape of the cost.
You load $200 of USDT. At a 5% load fee, $10 goes to the provider and $190 lands on the card. That fee is charged before you spend anything, so it is the one cost you cannot avoid and cannot optimise. It is also worth pausing on: you are paying five percent to move your own money from a wallet you control onto a card balance — and, if you paid a spread or an exchange fee to acquire that USDT, that cost is already gone too.
You spend $60 in a shop in a currency other than dollars. On the unofficial figures that is the 1% FX fee, $0.60, plus the $0.30 flat per-transaction charge — $0.90 on $60, a fee that is added to whatever your load fee already took. The flat $0.30 is the part that punishes small purchases hardest: on a $4 coffee, the flat fee is a significant percentage of the cost before the FX fee even applies. Coffee is where the $0.30 stops being a rounding error.
You take $200 out of an ATM. The unofficial ATM fee is zero, which is genuinely generous and unusual in this category. But the money arrives as dollars, so converting it back into your own currency at a bank or exchange desk puts an FX spread in front of you that is not on this table and not this provider’s responsibility.
Two things are not stated anywhere: what currency the card is denominated in beyond the USD balance created on deposit, and whether these fees can change. On the second point, note that a card whose operator names no jurisdiction is also a card with no published basis for how fee changes would be notified.
Top up: loading the card
Not stated by the official source beyond the load fee noted above. No supported networks, no minimum, no time to appear on the card.

The unofficial list of accepted assets is the strongest part of this card’s file, and it is also the reason the audience for Nocturne is people who hold Bitcoin or Monero. Per the directory (October 2026): BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XMR — with networks not listed. That asset list is worth a 7 / 10 in the scoring, and here is why I stop short of calling it excellent: for six of those assets, the network is the part that decides whether the money arrives at all.
USDT exists on many chains. The same token, sent on the wrong one, is not a delayed payment — it is a loss. Ethereum-based ERC-20 transfers cost gas paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH in it cannot send at all. Tron prices its transactions through bandwidth and energy resources rather than a simple fee. USDC is natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, but Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option you can assume. And if your deposit goes to an address on a network the provider does not support, the chain cannot reverse it — blockchain transfers are irreversible, so recovery becomes a support request with no guarantee attached.
Here is what that means for you in practice. Before your first transfer, you need three answers that the public pages do not give you: which network to use for each asset, the deposit address or ID, and the minimum deposit. A directory’s asset list tells you *what* you may send; it does not tell you *where*. If you send $400 of USDT on a network the card does not watch, you will be writing to support about money that blockchain infrastructure has already finished processing irreversibly.
One more property of the assets themselves, since they are the headline feature. Stablecoins aim to hold a stable value against a currency, but as the BIS put it in July 2025, “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable” — about 90% of market capitalisation sits in USDT and USDC. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the banking crisis. So a balance you hold in USDT is not dollars; it is a claim on Tether’s reserves. And Tether describes disabling tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and freezing funds tied to illicit activity, so those balances are not censorship-proof either — a fact worth sitting with when the question is whether a card with no KYC is a safe place to hold value.
Withdrawals are not stated at all: no fee, no minimum, no destination, no timing.
Paying with it every day
Not stated by the official source, and there is no app described — the directory even notes that no Play Store sentiment exists, which means no body of user reviews has formed around an app. That is a real gap for a product whose entire interface is presumably a dashboard.
Unofficial, per the directory (October 2026): Apple Pay and Google Pay supported, contactless listed. Blocked merchant categories are not stated. That last point deserves a sentence of its own, because a card that will pay for anything and a card that will pay for ordinary things behave very differently the moment you try something unusual. The merchant category code is a four-digit number assigned to a business under ISO 18245; 7995 covers gambling, and issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, with the list varying by issuer. Nobody has published Nocturne’s list. You may find out at the till.
How tokenised mobile wallets actually behave is worth understanding, because it explains some failures people report. Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. The issuer can still restrict that tokenised number — blocking it for magnetic-stripe purchases, for phone payments, or for website payments specifically. So “it works in Apple Pay” does not mean “it works everywhere Apple Pay works.”
Three background facts explain the declined payments that users report in the wild, and none of them are Nocturne-specific:
- Merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the card’s first six or eight digits, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the customer’s billing address. A card issued in one country genuinely can look foreign to a shop in another.
- Address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type — street number, postcode — against the issuer’s records. It is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. That alone causes declines on card-present transactions.
- Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards by policy precisely because the lookup reveals the card type and the issuer country.
And when an authorisation is declined after the merchant has already authorised it, a hold on the funds can remain for several days, typically up to seven. That is a small thing to know in advance and a nasty one to discover later.
Rewards, for what it’s worth: no cashback is listed (0%), and a $15 referral bonus is listed. Neither is confirmed by the card; both are unofficial figures.
Disputes are not stated — and this is where prepaid versus debit matters enormously. A chargeback is a refund ordered by your issuer, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, but prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Much of this category behaves like a prepaid card: crypto is converted and loaded as a fiat balance, and the card spends only that balance. Assume, until told otherwise, that you have less recourse here than with a normal bank card.
What can go wrong
This is the section where Nocturne is weakest, and the lowest sub-score — 3 / 10 — reflects what I could not establish rather than a list of catastrophes that have already happened. No official incidents were found. But the absence of a documented scandal is not the same as the presence of a safe business.
Nobody can tell me who issues this card. The company named is Noctavel LLC, and its jurisdiction and issuer were not found. That means the answer to “who is liable if this fails?” is currently nobody you can name. The structural reason this matters is set out in general terms: a card payment involves a network that routes messages and sets rules, and an issuer — a bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under that network’s licence — that holds the actual card programme. The crypto brand is frequently only a programme manager or front end. If the issuer behind Nocturne is not disclosed, then in a dispute you do not know which institution owes you the money or under which regulator you would complain. Note also that Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa said in November 2022 that it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX,” and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. A brand can survive its issuer, and you want to know which one you are holding.
Your money is custodial. The directory lists custodial funds management as a con, and nothing official contradicts it. If the provider holds the keys, you have to trust the provider completely — and custody has a body count. Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen over 2011–2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in an unencrypted form of the private key: anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery because the network cannot freeze or return them. Even with self-custody there is risk — phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that silently swaps a copied address — but with custody the risk sits entirely on the other side of the connection.
Complaints exist, thin as they are. The directory reports user posts describing declined payments, support complaints, and doubts about the card’s origin and longevity. It also reports no verified reviews, and a domain trust scanner score of 49/100 — below the midpoint, on the domain that is your front door to the card. Searching for Trustpilot or Reddit reviews of nocturne.cards on 21 October 2026 turned up nothing. That cuts both ways and I want to be honest about it: no reviews means no crowd of people whose deposits were frozen, and it also means nobody outside has tested this thing. The directory’s own scoring is 7.1/10 overall and 7.8/10 for community from 9 sources, which sits oddly next to a 49/100 domain trust score and a reliability mark of 3/10. I weight the domain trust score and the missing issuer far more heavily than a directory’s aggregate.
Regulation gives you little here. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. Under it, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and there is a transitional period letting providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers that you can check — and Nocturne is not something I found on it, which is another way of saying the EU path is unverified. A card is regulated separately from the crypto side: MiCA covers custody, exchange and transfer, while the card is a payment service under e-money and payment-services law, so a legitimate product usually depends on two licences. Where an e-money institution is involved, customer funds must be safeguarded in dedicated accounts or insured — but such funds are not bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. Any of that protection starts with knowing which institution you are dealing with.
Support is a Telegram channel. t.me/nocturne_cards is what the directory lists. Languages and hours are not stated. That is a thin support channel for something holding custodial funds, and I would test it with a small question before I loaded anything significant.
A closure is a real possibility. Programme closures follow a pattern: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — a single, unconfirmed source, but the shape of it is what you are exposed to.
Taxes are yours. In the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. That means each card payment funded from crypto may be its own disposal. I am not going to tell you what you owe anywhere — treat this as a flag to check with a professional in your own jurisdiction, not as advice.
What to take instead
I want to be careful here, because the three cards below are not obviously better on the axis that probably brought you to Nocturne. Each of them also has gaps in its public information. What they have, and Nocturne does not have, is a named organisation with a country, a store listing, and a stated fee page. If your reason for looking at a no-KYC card is that a bank card is out of reach, these are worth checking first — and if your reason is discretion, none of them will give you that.
| Nocturne | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.3 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Stated reach | Nothing official; no country list | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no list or exclusions | Aimed at Nigeria; “Nigerians and global users” | No country list; App Store claims acceptance in “more than 176 countries” |
| Card | Virtual Aurora; network hedged | Debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Prepaid “HyperCard”; balance in USD or EUR |
| Card cost | $50 issuance, monthly free | Not stated | Virtual card free to create; monthly fee not stated | Not stated; App Store lists no fees |
| Conversion | Load fee 5%, FX 1%, $0.30 per transaction | Real-time crypto-to-fiat at payment; “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” picks the best rate; no percentage stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Top-up assets | BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, XMR; networks not listed | USDT, USDC, BTC; networks not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; networks not stated |
| Rewards | No cashback listed; $15 referral (unofficial and unconfirmed) | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Some observations from the comparison. Cardex is the strongest of the options on the raw score and the only one with a stated conversion mechanism, though its App Store listing is Naira-focused and its fee percentage is not published. CardFlow is the one with the clearest cost story — a free virtual card, created in minutes — and the clearest audience, aimed at Nigeria, which cuts both ways if you are elsewhere. Every single one of them, like Nocturne, leaves the deposit networks unstated. That is a category-wide problem, and it is the single question worth asking any of them before your first transfer.
If you are outside these options entirely, the honest baseline is still an exchange account or a wallet you control: fewer unknowns about who holds your money, at the cost of no card at all.
Who I would recommend it to
To the person who already holds crypto, cannot open a bank card, and is spending small amounts — the person who would lose one afternoon if a payment failed, and who has checked that the deposit network is supported before sending a cent. Not to the person moving rent, savings, or anything they would be upset to see frozen. And not to anyone who treats a card as a place to keep value, because that is what custodial storage makes it.
My own order of operations, if it were me: confirm the supported networks and deposit address in writing, send a small test amount and see it arrive, load no more than I could afford to lose entirely, and keep my own wallet as the source of truth rather than the card balance. If the operator will not answer the first question, that answer is the review.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Nocturne card?
Nocturne is a virtual payment card that you load with cryptocurrency and then spend at ordinary merchants. Unofficial listings describe a virtual card called Aurora, with Apple Pay and Google Pay support and no ATM commission. A directory also lists a second card, Shadow, but its link points to Aurora’s page. The company’s own site was unavailable when I checked, so none of this is confirmed by the operator.
How does the Nocturne card work?
You send crypto to a deposit address, it is converted to a USD balance on arrival, and the card spends that stored balance — the card cannot overdraw because there is nothing to overdraw. Unofficial figures put the load fee at 5%. The card company is named as Noctavel LLC, but no issuer or jurisdiction was found, so the licence question is open.
Does the Nocturne card require KYC?
No official page states a KYC level. A third-party directory describes Nocturne as “Level 0, no KYC,” listing email, phone, identity document, proof of address and selfie as not required. Treat that as unofficial and unconfirmed. Note that even a no-KYC card still has to work inside the sanctions and anti-money-laundering regime its issuer operates under.
How much does the Nocturne card cost?
Unofficial figures, October 2026: $50 issuance, no monthly fee, 5% on each top-up, 1% FX, and a flat $0.30 per transaction. ATM withdrawals are listed as free with no limit. The sources are third-party directories and one internal note, and the official site stated nothing — so treat the numbers as indicative, not contractual.
What are the daily and monthly limits?
Unofficial: $30,000 per day and $600,000 per month. Those two figures come from the same directory whose sponsored banner on the site says $50K daily, so they contradict each other. Plan on the lower number. The official source states no limits at all.
Can I use the Nocturne card in my country?
I cannot tell you, and neither can the card’s public pages — the official site was unreachable and directories list no supported countries. If you need this, the question to ask Nocturne directly is whether they accept customers resident and citizens in your country, and what happens to a balance already loaded if the answer changes. Acceptance at a shop is not the same as eligibility.
What crypto can I use to top up Nocturne?
Unofficial listings say BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC and XMR, which is a genuinely wide list and the strongest part of the card’s file. The networks are not listed, and that is the dangerous part: sending USDT on an unsupported chain is an irreversible loss. Confirm the exact network for each asset before your first transfer.
Is the Nocturne card safe?
Safety here comes down to two things nobody has disclosed: who issues the card, and who holds the balance. The material names Noctavel LLC with no jurisdiction, and the balance appears to be custodial — which means you are trusting an unnamed provider with your money, in a category with a documented history of custodian failure. There are no verified reviews of the card, and a domain trust scanner scored it 49/100.
What happens if a Nocturne payment is declined?
Declines are reported by users, and several background factors explain them: a foreign or prepaid BIN can trigger extra scrutiny, address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, and merchants may block unfamiliar issuer countries by policy. Note that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. Always check whether the merchant has pre-authorised the amount.
Is the Nocturne card worth it?
At $50 to open plus 5% on every top-up, the card has to be used for meaningful amounts before the cost stops dominating. It is worth it for small everyday spending if you have no alternative and you treat the balance as cash rather than savings. It is not worth it as a primary card — it is virtual only — and not if you need chargeback rights or a named institution behind it.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
