A crypto-funded virtual card with almost no published detail: the score is 5.7/10
Kolan is a virtual USD card that you load from a crypto balance, aimed at people paying for online services. That is the short version, and it is close to everything the card’s own public pages say. The longer version is that almost every practical question I wanted to answer — who qualifies, what a payment costs, which networks to send funds on, what the daily limit is — came back empty from official sources. Third-party directories and app listings filled some of the gaps, and I have marked those as unofficial throughout, because they are not the card speaking and they may be out of date.
My score for Kolan is 5.7 out of 10. That is not a bad score so much as a thin one: strong on reach, unproven on cost, and weak where it matters most for daily use. If you are choosing between this and an established prepaid or virtual card, the comparison below should make the choice easier, because the deciding factor will not be features — it will be how much the card tells you before you commit money to it.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.7 / 10, and why
Kolan suits one specific person: someone who already holds crypto, needs a USD virtual card number to pay for something online, and cannot get an ordinary bank card — because of their country, their residence, or a banking history that closed accounts elsewhere. For that person the card solves a real problem, and the fact that the starting data says Kolan’s parent opens accounts in more than 100 countries is the main argument in its favour.
It does not suit anyone shopping on features. There is no published fee schedule, no published limit, no published description of the verification process, and no named card issuer. A virtual-only card cannot be used where a shop wants to take a chip, cannot be handed to a waiter, and cannot be photographed as a backup if your phone dies. If you already have a working bank card with a virtual option from a regulated provider in your country, this is almost certainly not an upgrade.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Starting data says 100+ countries; unofficial sources describe accounts in “more than 100 countries” and a Kolan profile for non-US individuals in 50+ countries |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Nothing official on price or fees; a directory description says “no hidden FX fees”, which is not a fee schedule |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Crypto is deposited to a Kolan account, held as USDC in a linked wallet as collateral and converted to USD for the card — but no networks are named |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Operated by Hurupay Inc. (DBA Kolan); issuer not named; Cursor staff say such cards “often have issues”; no Trustpilot or Reddit history found |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual USD card only; unofficial note of a card-freeze control; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed |
Total: 5.7 / 10.
Read that Everyday Use row as the floor of the whole review. The card’s audience is people paying for online services, and a virtual card is genuinely the right shape for that. But it is the only shape, and that caps what the card can do for you no matter how the other rows turn out.
Will they give you the card?
The card’s own pages do not state an eligibility list, and they do not publish a country table or a set of exclusions. The starting data for the product is 100+ countries. So the honest answer is: I cannot tell you from official sources whether you qualify, and neither, probably, can you without asking.
The unofficial picture is more specific but softer. Third-party listings describe Hurupay as opening accounts to users in “more than 100 countries” — that is account availability, not card eligibility, and the distinction matters, because a company can open an account in a country and still decline to issue a card there. A separate Kolan profile, seen in 2026 on Alchemy and au-startups listings, describes non-US individuals in over 50 countries. Non-US appears to be the operative constraint in that description, which would put the United States outside the intended audience.
One more unofficial detail worth knowing, because it saves you from planning around the wrong thing: the card is a virtual USD card for online spending, per an Alchemy listing from 2026. Nobody I could reach states the network. Cursor staff suggested it “could work if it’s a Visa or Mastercard”, which is a guess on their part, not a fact about the card. Until Kolan names the network, treat “will my subscription accept it” as an open question and check with the merchant before you rely on it.
So, in plain terms: if you are a non-US adult with crypto and a real need, you are plausibly in scope. If you are in the US, or you need a physical card, or you need to know on day one which countries are refused, you are being asked to find out by trying.
How to get it
Almost nothing here is documented either. The card does not state its identity-verification requirements — not whether there are KYC checks, not what documents are needed, not whether verification is tiered, and not what happens if it fails. It also does not state the application steps, activation steps, or delivery time in official material.
The card is virtual only; no physical version is described, and delivery details are not stated. If a physical card is a requirement, treat this as a non-starter.
That leaves the sequencing, which I would flag for you before you invest time in it. Since the card requires a virtual USD card balance to be useful, and that balance comes from crypto, the funding has to come before the payment — but whether an account can be opened and funded before verification completes is exactly the kind of detail that changes the order. Check the current state of the verification requirement with Kolan support, in writing, before you send any funds. I found no published support channel or response times either, which is worth asking about at the same time.
One practical caution about the accounts themselves. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials and you must trust it completely. A seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery: the network cannot freeze or return them. That is why I would not fund a card you have not finished setting up, and why the next section matters more than it looks.
Fees: what a Kolan payment really costs
Officially, the card publishes nothing on cost. Issuance is not stated, the monthly fee is not stated, conversion fees are not stated, foreign-exchange fees are not stated, ATM fees are not stated, and daily or monthly limits are not stated. There is no tier structure described.

The one unofficial line I found is a directory description promising “no hidden FX fees”. I would read that as marketing copy rather than a commitment: it names no figure, no spread, no conversion rate, and no conditions. A card that converts crypto into dollars necessarily has a conversion somewhere in the chain, and if the card’s own pages will not say what it is, the number is going to be revealed to you at the point of payment rather than before it.
Here is the table the card should have published and did not. Every “not stated” below is a gap in the official pages, not a zero and not a guess:
| Item | What Kolan publishes |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Crypto-to-cash conversion | not stated |
| FX / currency fee | not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated |
| Daily limit | not stated |
| Monthly limit | not stated |
Unofficially, and usefully: Hurupay’s accounts are described as available in virtual USD, EUR and GBP (Alchemy listing). So the multi-currency product exists at the account level even though Kolan does not state which currencies its card can hold. Do not assume a EUR or GBP balance means a EUR or GBP card.
Now the part that actually costs you money, with three ordinary payments:
- A monthly subscription in USD. You pay from the loaded USD balance. What leaves your side is the crypto conversion into dollars plus whatever conversion or FX fee exists — both unstated. If the balance is too small to cover it, the payment simply fails.
- A purchase in a non-USD currency. The card is described as a USD card. Converting USD to the merchant’s currency happens somewhere, and the spread on that conversion is the single most likely place a hidden cost sits.
- A failed or declined payment. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7. That is money you have converted and cannot spend while it sits.
Network fees are separate and worth separating in your head: on-chain gas or bandwidth for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by Kolan. That cost is real, but it is not a card fee, and it should not be counted against the card’s price when you compare it with an alternative.
Top up: how the money gets in
Here the card’s published model is the most substantive thing I found. Crypto is deposited into a Kolan account, held as USDC in a linked wallet as collateral, and converted into USD to load the virtual card. That is the mechanism in three steps, and it is the part you can actually plan around.

What is not stated is just as important: the networks are not named. No supported chain is listed, no minimum deposit, no deposit or top-up fee, no confirmation time, and no separate description of a top-up flow beyond that collateral structure. In practice this means the single most common way people lose money on crypto cards is not excluded here. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of outcome.
Why the missing network matters so concretely. A stablecoin is a token on a chain, and the chain decides what you must hold to move it. ERC-20 is the Ethereum token standard; gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send. Tron prices transactions through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — if a deposit tutorial or a community post tells you otherwise, that advice is out of date.
Ask Kolan, in writing, which networks the deposit address supports, before you transfer anything, and check the address character by character against what they send you. On the withdrawal side, there is nothing published for the card. Unofficially, Hurupay accounts are described as allowing withdrawal to crypto exchanges or local banks (Alchemy listing) — an account-level feature I would not assume applies to card funds until confirmed.
Paying with it every day
The honest summary: virtual, USD, online. That is the product, and for paying for online services it works, because a virtual number is all those merchants ask for.
Beyond that, the card publishes nothing about the parts of daily use that decide whether a card becomes your main one. Wallets are not addressed. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not disclosed — and since tokenised mobile wallets work by replacing your card number with a device-specific number, an issuer can restrict whether a card may be used on a phone at all, so silence here is not automatically reassuring. The app is not described. Rewards are not stated. And dispute handling is not stated, which is the one that should worry you most: a chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. If you do not know how Kolan handles one, you do not know how long you would wait or what evidence they would ask for.
Two of these are things you can compensate for yourself, so let me take you through them, because they are where virtual cards get declined in ways that look arbitrary.
- Merchant category codes. Every business is classified by a four-digit MCC under ISO 18245. MCC 7995 covers gambling — casinos, betting, lotteries — and many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law. The blocked list differs by issuer, so whether your Kolan works for betting is unknown and unaskable from public material.
- Billing-address mismatches and 3-D Secure. Address Verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records; it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright, because the six- or eight-digit issuer number at the start of a card number reveals the issuer and its country. And online payments often go through 3-D Secure, where the issuer either approves silently or challenges you with a one-time code or a biometric check. If Kolan’s card uses Visa it would be Visa Secure; if Mastercard, Identity Check.
So if a payment is refused, it is not necessarily you. But because Kolan does not name the network, you cannot even tell which of these protections applies to you.
What can go wrong
No official incident involving Kolan came up in what I searched. That is worth stating plainly, and it is worth stating plainly that it is not the same as a clean record: there is no Trustpilot page and no reviews found for Kolan or Hurupay, and no Reddit discussion either. An absence of complaints from an absent review history tells you almost nothing.
The more useful signal is indirect. In August 2026, staff at Cursor wrote on their forum that prepaid and crypto-funded virtual cards “often have issues” — the examples they gave were checkout declines and failed renewals. That is a statement about this category, not a verdict on Kolan, but it is the same category Kolan sits in, and the shape of the failure matters: a subscription that fails to renew can quietly keep charging a service you thought you had stopped using. Separately, a Cursor forum thread from the same week (Aug 13–15, 2026) discussed using a Kolan virtual card for a Pro+ plan, with Cursor neither supporting nor blocking it. If your use case is paying for software, read that as: possible, unofficial, and outside the merchant’s endorsement.
The company behind the card is where the sharper questions are. Kolan is operated by Hurupay Inc. Third-party sources describe Hurupay as US-based and “MSB-registered” as a fintech — a registration body and number were not given, so I cannot tell you which register or verify the entry. The same sources note Kolan was in the inaugural Circle Developer Grant Program cohort, which is a real credential and not a financial guarantee. The card issuer is not named at all, and in this category that matters more than the brand on your app: the card network routes messages and sets rules, the issuer holds the card programme under the network’s licence, and the crypto brand is often only the programme manager or front-end that markets it. If the issuer is not public, the entity that stands behind your payment when it fails is not public either.
Programmes do close, and the industry has the receipts. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. The pattern when this happens is consistent: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then a request that you withdraw remaining balances. A 2026 closure reported by a single unconfirmed secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — I cite it as a shape of risk, not as a prediction.
On safeguards, unofficial material describes spend controls including a card freeze, which is the one positive control I found. Custody arrangements and two-factor authentication are not stated. For contrast, the category’s typical safeguards are app-based 2FA, instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation and tokenised mobile wallets — you should assume only what Kolan confirms.
What to take instead
None of these is a recommendation to switch; they are the alternatives I could actually document, scored the same way, with the same gaps. Read them with the same caution I applied to Kolan — each one’s weakness is different.
Cardex — 5.6 / 10. Closest on score. It markets itself as one crypto card for 200+ countries with no country list and no stated exclusions, though its App Store listing is Naira-focused, meaning pay in Naira. It is the most flexible of the three on paper: a debit crypto card on the VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay networks, with both virtual and physical cards. That network list is the most concrete thing in this whole comparison — it removes the “which network is it” problem that Kolan leaves open. It converts in real time at the moment of payment, and its site describes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend; no fee percentage is stated. Top-up from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not stated. If your question is “will merchants accept this”, Cardex is the easier one to answer.
CardFlow — 4.9 / 10. Aimed at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and at “Nigerians and global users”, again with no country list or exclusions stated. A virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes — the only card here that names its network in its own description. Creating a virtual card is free per its site FAQ; the monthly fee is not stated. Fees are not stated. Funding by Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer. The narrow audience and the Naira framing make this a poor general comparison, but it is the most explicit on the two things people ask most: what it costs to start and what network the card runs on.
HyperCard — 4.7 / 10. A prepaid card with the balance in USD or EUR, funded by depositing crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and converting to dollars or euros on the card; networks not stated. Official pages state no country list, and the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility, the same distinction as Kolan’s “100+ countries”. Its App Store page lists no fees. Lowest score of the three, mainly because the public detail is thinnest.
| Option | Score | Card type | Network named? | Fees published? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kolan | 5.7 / 10 | Virtual USD | no | no |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Virtual and physical, Naira per listing | yes — VERVE, VISA, Mastercard, UnionPay | no percentage stated |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual USD Mastercard | yes — Mastercard | free to create; monthly not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid, USD or EUR balance | no | none listed |
What I would not do is pick on score. Half a point between 5.7 and 5.6 is noise. Pick on the row that matters to you: named network if you hit declines, published fees if you are converting crypto at scale, physical card if you need one.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Kolan to a person in a specific situation, and I would be honest that it is narrow. You have crypto already, you have a USD-denominated online service to pay for, an ordinary bank card is not available or not usable for you, and you are willing to treat the card as one line in a larger setup rather than your primary money. If that is you, the collateral-and-convert model is coherent, the reach is the widest I found, and the card is free of the anxiety of a failed application for a mainstream account.
I would not recommend it to you if any of the following is true. You need a physical card. You want to know your fees before you commit. You are in the United States. You plan to hold a balance on it and treat it as savings. Or you are choosing this as a first crypto product, because you would be combining an unfamiliar asset class with an undocumented provider, and the two risks multiply rather than cancel.
Two final thoughts, offered as questions rather than advice. First: is Kolan a bank? The material describes an MSB-registered fintech, not a bank, and the card issuer is not named — so the entity that owes you money when something goes wrong is not something I could identify, and you should establish that before you load it. Second: what about taxes? I am not qualified to advise on this and deliberately will not guess about yours. The general principle is that digital assets are commonly treated as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured at fair market value on the transaction date, meaning each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. Take that to a professional in your jurisdiction. Regulators do offer a place to check a provider: ESMA maintains an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers and non-compliant entities, and MiCA’s transitional period ran until 1 July 2026 or until a provider received or was refused authorisation, whichever came first.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kolan card?
Kolan is a virtual USD payment card that you load from crypto. The published model: crypto goes into a Kolan account, is held as USDC in a linked wallet as collateral, and is converted into USD to fund the card. It is operated by Hurupay Inc. under the name Kolan. The audience is people paying for online services who lack an ordinary bank card, and the card is virtual only — no physical version is described.
How does the Kolan card actually work?
You convert crypto into dollars and spend the resulting balance. Because it is a stored balance rather than a bank account drawdown, it behaves much like a prepaid card: it spends what is loaded and cannot overdraw. The card number is not said to belong to any particular network, so merchants treat it as an ordinary virtual card. Kolan publishes no application, activation, wallet or dispute steps, so much of the mechanics remain something you would learn from support.
Is Kolan a bank, and who owns it?
No — not as far as the public material shows. Kolan is operated by Hurupay Inc., described by third parties as a US-based, “MSB-registered” fintech, though no registration body or number was available to me. The card issuer is not named. Kolan was part of the inaugural Circle Developer Grant Program cohort. Because neither the issuer nor the licence is public, I would establish what stands behind the balance before funding it.
Who can get a Kolan card?
Official pages state no eligibility list and publish no country table or exclusions; the starting data is 100+ countries. Unofficially, Hurupay accounts are described as open in “more than 100 countries” — account availability, not card eligibility — and a Kolan profile describes non-US individuals in over 50 countries. That makes the United States look excluded. Since nothing official exists, you may have to ask support directly.
Does Kolan require KYC, and how do I apply?
The card does not state its verification requirements at all — not whether KYC applies, which documents are needed, whether checks are tiered, or how long they take. As general background, regulated businesses must verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, and if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or end the relationship. So expect some verification. Ask Kolan what it needs before you send any funds.
How much does a Kolan card cost?
The card publishes no issuance fee, monthly fee, conversion fee, FX fee, ATM fee, daily limit or monthly limit. A third-party directory description claims “no hidden FX fees”, but names no figure, spread or condition, so treat it as copy rather than a commitment. Note that crypto-to-cash conversion has to be paid for somewhere. If a decline leaves a hold, that can tie up funds for up to seven days while the loaded balance cannot be spent.
Which networks can I use to top up the Kolan card?
Not stated, and that is the single most dangerous gap. The deposit mechanism involves USDC in a linked wallet, but no supported chain is published. Transfers are irreversible, so sending on the wrong chain or to an address of another network can mean lost funds or a manual recovery request with no guarantee. Ethereum-based ERC-20 transfers also need ETH for gas, and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. Get the supported networks in writing first.
Can I add Kolan to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Neither is disclosed. Apple Pay works by replacing the card number with a device-specific number stored on the device, and issuers can restrict tokenised numbers — blocking them for phone, website or magnetic-stripe use. So “not mentioned” is not the same as “supported”. Since the card’s network is not named either, you have no way to work it out from the public pages; ask support before relying on it for anything.
Is the Kolan card safe to use?
There is no clean record either way, because there is no record: no Trustpilot page, no Reddit discussion, no reviews found for Kolan or Hurupay. An unofficial directory describes spend controls including card freeze, but custody arrangements and two-factor authentication are not stated. The realistic risk is not a headline scandal but a declined payment or failed renewal — Cursor staff said in August 2026 that prepaid and crypto-funded cards “often have issues”.
Is Kolan worth it?
Only in a narrow case: you already hold crypto, you need to pay a USD online service, a normal bank card is not an option, and you accept the unknowns. Against it — no published fees, no published limits, no named issuer, no disclosed network, and virtual only. If you have any working bank or regulated virtual card, Kolan is not an upgrade. If you cannot get one, it may be the only game in town, and that changes what the gaps are worth.
Virtual card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
