Tap card review: what a 5.6 out of 10 score really tells you
Tap is a Gibraltar-licensed crypto card programme that has been quietly building a base of around 400,000 customers, and a lot of readers ask me whether it is the right card for them. In this review I walk through who can actually get one, what it costs in real life, how the top-up flow works, and where Tap has slipped up according to its own users. The card has a real multi-currency Mastercard coming, but until the new programme rolls out you are still dealing with a euro-denominated card whose fee schedule is not officially published. That tension between ambition and transparency is the reason this card lands at 5.6 out of 10 in my scoring, and I will explain every part of that score as we go.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Tap sits at 5.6 out of 10. The product is legitimate, the company is regulated, and the new multi-currency Mastercard is a genuine step forward. But the official site does not publish a country list, a fee table, or even the KYC steps you will be asked to complete, so a reader has to guess at the basics before signing up. That is a problem for a payment card, where surprises on cost or country rules are the most common reason people walk away from a programme.

Who this card suits
If you live somewhere ordinary banks are slow to onboard you, want to spend from a stablecoin or Bitcoin balance without an extra hop, and you are comfortable checking the live exchange rate yourself before each payment, Tap is a reasonable option. The euro card is fine for people who spend mostly inside the eurozone, and the upcoming Mastercard is meant to fix the multi-currency gap that the old card leaves open.
Who this card does not suit
If you want a published fee table you can rely on before you commit, or if you need to know in advance whether your country is supported, Tap is not transparent enough. If you are a US resident, the same goes: Tap does not state US availability on its site, and US readers should not assume they can sign up. The card also underperforms for anyone who needs Apple Pay or Google Pay confirmed in writing rather than rumoured on third-party sites.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Score | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Country list is not published; the site only says services “may not be available in all jurisdictions” and asks you to verify eligibility in your region |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | No official fee table; unofficial sources say monthly fee, issuance, top-up and ATM are free with a 1.5% FX fee, while user reviews mention a $35 crypto withdrawal fee and inactivity charges |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Coins and networks are not listed; stablecoins, USDT, BTC and SOL are mentioned, and unofficial sources say crypto must be converted before loading |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Licensed by the Gibraltar FSC under DLT framework 25532; the new card’s issuer is Moorwand Ltd; Trustpilot sits at 3.4 out of 5, with reports of accounts frozen for days or weeks and delayed withdrawals |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Physical and virtual Mastercard; Apple Pay and Google Pay appear in third-party listings but the same listings also mark Apple Pay as a con |
| Total | 5.6 / 10 | A legitimate, regulated programme held back by an absent fee page, an unlisted country list, and a mixed complaint record |
Will they give you the card
The short answer is: I cannot tell you with certainty, and neither can Tap’s website. The official pages I read say only that “services may not be available in all jurisdictions” and that you should “verify eligibility in your region.” There is no dropdown, no published list, and no number of supported countries.
That absence is unusual. Most crypto card programmes show a country list, even if it is short, so you can rule yourself in or out before downloading the app. Tap’s silence here means you only find out whether your country is supported after you install the app, register an email and phone, and reach the KYC step. If you are then turned down, you have spent time on a process that goes nowhere.
What the site does state clearly is the corporate side of the business. Tap Global Limited is registered in Gibraltar (company number 118724) at Madison Building, Midtown, Line Wall Road, Gibraltar GX11 1AA. The company is licensed by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission under the DLT Regulatory Framework, licence number 25532. Banking and e-money services are provided by “our authorised issuing partners” whose names are shown in the app and vary by region, currency and account type, but the issuer is not listed on the public site. As of 5 October 2026 Tap announced that Moorwand Ltd will be the issuer and BIN sponsor for a new multi-currency Tap Mastercard that is set to replace the current euro card.
If you are a US resident, treat the lack of an explicit country list as a warning sign. Most US-facing crypto cards state US availability up front, often alongside a state-by-state breakdown. Tap does neither, so I would not sign up without first contacting support to confirm.
How to get it
Tap’s official site does not describe the sign-up flow in detail, so I am piecing this together from what the site does say and from third-party sources. Expect to provide an email address, a phone number, and an identity document. A proof of address and a selfie do not appear to be required, according to a 2026 third-party walkthrough, though this is unofficial and I would not be surprised to see it change at the KYC stage.
The cards themselves come in two forms: a physical Mastercard and a virtual Mastercard. The site shows a dark-finish physical Tap Mastercard and a virtual card option. The card currency is not stated for the current product, though Tap has separately confirmed that the existing card is euro-denominated and that any other currency at the point of sale is converted. The new multi-currency Mastercard, announced in October 2026, is meant to change that. The launch date has not been given.
Delivery times and the exact KYC steps are not published either. Activation, once you have the card, is handled in the app, where you can view the card number, freeze the card, and reveal the PIN. The mobile app is published as “Tap” on the App Store, currently at version 3.8.8 and rated 4.5 out of 5 from 25 ratings on iOS 15.6 or later (read 20 October 2026). The Google Play listing is published under the package name com.tapngo.tap, though the rating was not captured at the same time.
What it really costs
This is the section where Tap’s lack of an official fee page hurts the most. I am going to give you both the official position and the unofficial third-party picture, and I want you to treat them differently.
Officially, there is no fee table on the public site. The only cost-related claim you will find relates to cashback, where Tap advertises “up to 8%” on qualified purchases. The payout asset, the tier structure, and any caps are not stated. There is also no official conversion fee, no FX fee, no monthly fee, no ATM fee, and no decline fee published.
Unofficially, a third-party site that walked through Tap in 2026 says monthly fees, card issuance, top-up, ATM withdrawals and decline fees are all free, while the FX fee is 1.5%. The same source says ATM withdrawals are free and unlimited, and that the daily spend limit is listed as “unlimited” on the pros side of the page while the cons list a 15,000 EUR daily cap. Those two numbers cannot both be true at the same time, and that contradiction is itself a useful signal. User reports also mention a $35 crypto withdrawal fee and inactivity charges draining balances, both of which are in tension with “free” claims.
Costs at a glance
| Fee or limit | Official position | Unofficial position |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | not stated | free |
| Monthly fee | not stated | free |
| Top-up fee | not stated | free |
| FX fee | not stated | 1.5% |
| ATM fee | not stated | free and unlimited |
| Crypto withdrawal | not stated | $35 reported by users |
| Inactivity fee | not stated | reported by users |
| Daily spend limit | not stated | “unlimited” listed in pros, 15,000 EUR listed in cons |
What this means for everyday payments
Let me walk you through three situations you are likely to face, so you can see which fees actually apply.
- Paying for a coffee with euros in a eurozone country. The card settles in euros and the merchant receives euros, so you avoid the FX fee entirely. This is the cheapest way to use Tap.
- Paying for the same coffee in pounds in the UK. Tap converts the euro balance to pounds at the point of sale. The 1.5% unofficial FX fee applies, and the card network’s own exchange rate (Mastercard or Visa) is layered on top. The 1.5% unofficial FX fee adds a small markup to the card network’s exchange rate.
- Paying for a flight online with crypto you hold. You would first convert the crypto to euros, paying the spread and any withdrawal or conversion fee, then load the euro balance, then pay with the card. Each step has a cost, and the official site does not help you size any of them.
The honest summary is that Tap is probably competitive inside the eurozone, but until the new multi-currency Mastercard launches with a published fee page, you are accepting a level of opacity that most readers will not be comfortable with.
Top up
Tap’s public materials mention stablecoins, USDT, BTC and SOL in the context of yields and balances, and the site refers to “dedicated IBANs to hold 7 national currencies” and a bank-or-wallet-to-crypto on/off ramp. None of this tells you which tokens you can deposit, on which networks, at what minimum, or for what fee.

The on/off ramp is described as available “anytime” for moving value between a bank account or wallet and crypto. Whether the source IBAN or wallet charges anything, and what happens to any leftover balance if you close the account, is not stated. From the unofficial side, crypto must be converted before you can load the card, which means you are not spending your BTC directly at the coffee shop, you are converting it to euros first and then spending euros. The same source lists “48 supported coins” in its pros and “0” in its own supported-coins section, which I flag because that kind of mismatch is what happens when a third party is guessing rather than reading from an official feed.
The risks here are the standard crypto transfer risks. Blockchain transactions are irreversible, so a deposit on the wrong network, or to an address belonging to a different chain, can be lost. Some networks, such as Ethereum, charge gas in their native token, so a wallet holding only USDT and no ETH cannot actually send. If you are new to this, the safest approach is to send a small test transaction first and only send the full amount after it arrives. Beyond that, keep in mind that the fee page is silent, so any top-up fee, network fee, or minimum amount is a question you have to put to support, not to the website.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, the card works like a standard Mastercard. You tap or insert it at a shop, you enter a PIN if asked, and the balance drops. Online, you type the card number, expiry and CVV. The app exposes standard controls: you can freeze the card instantly, view the card number, and reveal the PIN.
What Tap does not state is whether Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and what MCCs (merchant category codes) are blocked. MCC blocking is the practice of refusing certain merchant categories, such as gambling (MCC 7995), and it varies by issuer. Without a published list, you do not know whether you can use Tap at a betting site or a crypto exchange until you try.
The unofficial picture on mobile wallets is contradictory: one third-party listing marks Apple Pay and Google Pay as supported, while the same listing’s cons mention “No Apple Pay support.” My reading is that the situation is either unconfirmed or in flux, and I would not plan around either possibility until Tap publishes something concrete.
On rewards, Tap advertises “up to 8%” cashback on qualified purchases. The payout asset, the tier thresholds, the merchant eligibility, and the caps are not stated. The unofficial picture suggests a tiered structure with a VIP path, with entry-level cashback around 0.5% and higher rates for top tiers. None of this is confirmed on Tap’s own pages, so treat any number you see as a guess.
For online security, the standard 3-D Secure flow applies under the Mastercard Identity Check brand, and merchants in the US, Canada and the UK may run Address Verification Service (AVS) checks that do not work for foreign-issued cards. If a payment is declined, the authorisation hold can stay on your balance for several days, typically up to a week, even if the charge never actually went through. That is not unique to Tap, but it is the kind of detail that matters when you are running a tight balance.
What can go wrong
I read through Tap’s Trustpilot page, which sits at 3.4 out of 5 from 321 reviews (36 in the last twelve months as of 20 October 2026), and a separate UK Trustpilot at 3.5 out of 5 from around 309 reviews. The pattern in the user reports is consistent, so I will list the recurring complaints rather than pick on individual reviewers.
- Accounts frozen without explanation for periods ranging from days to weeks. One user reported a 13-day freeze during onboarding, and several more reported similar locks in late 2025 and early 2026.
- Repeated KYC checks, with the platform asking for additional documents after the account has already been used.
- Deposits and withdrawals that did not arrive, in some cases for several days, with reports stretching from January to September 2026.
- A revoked referral bonus that the user had been told they had earned.
- A high crypto withdrawal fee, around $35 in one report, contradicting the unofficial “free” claim.
- Inactivity or monthly fees that drained balances between April and June 2026, which Tap says are in the terms but which users say were not visible at sign-up.
- Slow support at weekends, despite the site advertising 24/7 availability.
Tap’s defence in several of these cases is that the relevant fees and limits are in the terms of service. That may be true, but it is a weak defence when the public site does not link to a fee table or a country list, because a reasonable user has no way to find the terms before signing up. The frozen-account pattern in particular is the kind of thing that should give any reader pause, especially if you depend on the card for everyday spending.
On the corporate side, the picture is steadier. Tap Global Limited is regulated in Gibraltar, the new card’s issuer is a known programme manager (Moorwand Ltd), and the company claims around 400,000 customers as of October 2026. The app is published on both major stores, and the iOS rating is healthy. None of that removes the operational risk that the user reports describe, but it does mean you are dealing with a real business, not a fly-by-night operation.
A note on safety features: the app lets you freeze the card or lock the account instantly, and you can reveal the card number and PIN in the app. Tap Global itself is “not a bank,” and accounts are held by authorised issuing partners whose funds are typically safeguarded rather than deposit-guaranteed. Two-factor authentication, insurance cover and the specifics of the safeguarding arrangement are not stated on the public site.
What to take instead
If Tap’s lack of published fees or country rules is a deal-breaker for you, three alternatives are worth a look. None of them is perfect, and I will note the trade-offs.
International Visa Card
This is a US-issued Platinum Visa that pays in USD and is currently virtual only, with a physical card “coming soon.” It is the most transparent of the three on country rules: the published list of unsupported countries is long (Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam), and FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. The fee page is also clearer: card issuance is $5 one-time for the virtual card, there is no maintenance fee, and there are three plans (Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month). Card use in USD is free on all plans, foreign-currency transactions carry a 2% FX fee on top of the Visa rate, and deposits of any kind are free. Funding is through USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits. There is no cashback. The card scores 6.7 out of 10 in my book, and it is a better fit than Tap if you live in a clearly supported country and want to see the fee table before you sign up.
UNi Card
The UNi Card is a multicurrency Mastercard on the UNi.Global account. The site says there is “no annual fee” and “no foreign transaction fee,” and assets are converted at live OTC rates with “no hidden exchange fees.” The card’s spend-to-earn rewards are advertised at up to 3%. Country availability and funding methods are not stated, so you have the same opacity problem as Tap, but the fee picture is simpler once you are in. The card scores 6.1 out of 10.
Whop Cards
Whop Cards are Visa cards that spend from a Whop balance, with 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber, with more planned). On availability, consumer cards are available in 31 US states and business cards in 41, with a long list of unsupported countries (Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam). The page says “no extra fees” but does not publish issuance or monthly amounts, and conversion or FX fee amounts are not stated. Funding is from a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral, but the coins and networks are not listed. Whop Cards score 5.2 out of 10, mainly because the fee page is thin and the supported-state list is US-only.
How they compare
| Feature | Tap | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Network | Mastercard | Visa | Mastercard | Visa |
| Physical card | Yes | Coming soon | not stated | not stated |
| Card currency | Euro (old); multi-currency (new, TBA) | USD | Multicurrency | not stated |
| Cashback | Up to 8% (official) | None stated | Up to 3% | 5% at select merchants |
| Country list | Not published | Published | Not stated | 31 US states (consumer) |
| Fee page | Not published | Published | Partial | Partial |
| Score | 5.6 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Tap to a reader who already lives in the eurozone, already has a crypto balance they want to spend, and is willing to use the in-app conversion tool to size the costs at the moment of each payment. For that reader, the absence of a published fee page is annoying but workable, and the euro card does the job.
I would not recommend Tap to a reader who needs a published country list before signing up, who relies on Apple Pay or Google Pay, or who plans to fund the card with anything other than euros for the next few months. Until the multi-currency Mastercard launches with a proper fee page, those readers will be better served by International Visa Card (if they fit the country list and want USD spending), UNi Card (if they want a multicurrency Mastercard with simpler fees) or Whop Cards (if they live in a supported US state and want the 5% merchant cashback).
The honest summary is that Tap is a regulated, legitimate card programme that is in the middle of a transition. If you arrive during that transition expecting the polish of a mature product, you will be disappointed. If you arrive with the patience to wait for the new Mastercard and the willingness to read the terms yourself, the product is workable.
Frequently asked questions
What is Tap card?
Tap is a prepaid Mastercard that lets you spend from a crypto or fiat balance held in the Tap app, issued by authorised partners under the Gibraltar-licensed Tap Global Limited. A new multi-currency Mastercard was announced in October 2026 with Moorwand Ltd as the issuer, replacing the existing euro-denominated card.
How does Tap card work?
You hold a balance in the Tap app, top it up from a bank, a wallet or a crypto conversion, and the card draws on that balance at the point of sale. In practice, crypto is converted to euros before loading, and the card then spends euros like any other Mastercard.
Is Tap a bank?
No. Tap Global Limited is licensed by the Gibraltar Financial Services Commission under the DLT Regulatory Framework (licence 25532), and the company states that it is “not a bank.” Banking and e-money services are provided by authorised issuing partners whose names appear in the app and vary by region.
Who owns Tap?
Tap is operated by Tap Global Limited, registered in Gibraltar (company number 118724). On 5 October 2026 Tap Global Group PLC announced that Moorwand Ltd would be the issuer and BIN sponsor for the new multi-currency Tap Mastercard.
Is Tap card available in my country?
The official site does not publish a country list and only says services “may not be available in all jurisdictions.” You need to verify eligibility in your region, which usually means installing the app and reaching the KYC step. If you are in the US, do not assume availability without first contacting support.
How do I get Tap card?
You install the Tap app, register an email and phone number, and complete the identity verification. The site does not list the exact KYC steps; a third-party walkthrough says an identity document is required, while a proof of address and a selfie are not. Once verified, you can order a physical Mastercard or generate a virtual card.
Does Tap card require KYC?
Yes. The company is regulated in Gibraltar, and KYC applies, but the exact checks (document type, address proof, selfie) are not described on the public site. From an unofficial 2026 walkthrough, an identity document is required, address proof and a selfie are not, though this is not confirmed by Tap.
How do I top up Tap card?
You top up by moving value into your Tap balance from a bank account, a wallet, or by converting crypto held in the app. The site mentions dedicated IBANs for seven national currencies and a bank-or-wallet-to-crypto on/off ramp available anytime, but the supported tokens, networks, fees and minimums are not published.
Is Tap card free?
Officially, the fee page is not published, so this question does not have an official answer. Unofficially, third-party sources say monthly fees, issuance, top-up, ATM and decline fees are free, with a 1.5% FX fee, but user reviews mention a $35 crypto withdrawal fee and inactivity charges. Treat the official silence as the most reliable data point and the unofficial numbers as a best guess.
Is Tap card safe?
Tap Global Limited is licensed by the Gibraltar FSC, the new card is being issued by Moorwand Ltd, and the app supports instant card freeze and PIN reveal. Funds are held by authorised issuing partners, and the customer service is advertised as 24/7. The Trustpilot score is 3.4 out of 5, with recurring complaints about frozen accounts and delayed withdrawals, so the operational reliability is mixed even if the corporate structure is sound.
App and neobank card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
