Pay It Now is a small, narrow virtual card that does one thing well

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Pay It Now card is a virtual, reloadable prepaid Mastercard that you fund from crypto inside the PIN Network app, and it scores 5.6 out of 10 in my assessment. That middle-of-the-road number is not a polite nothing. It is what you get when a product does one thing unusually well — accepting coins most rivals ignore — while being available in only two countries, existing only on your phone, and carrying the operational rough edges you would expect from a provider of this size. If you are a New Zealand or Australia resident holding BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, TRX or BNB and you cannot get an ordinary bank card to work, this is worth a serious look. If you are anywhere else, or you want a plastic card, cash withdrawals, or Apple Pay, keep reading: those are the places where this product stops being for you.

Pay It Now works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.6 out of 10

Let me put the components on the table first, because a single number tells you nothing about where the strengths and the walls are.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Only New Zealand and Australia; the US and Europe are described as being worked on
Cost 7 / 10 5.00 USDC to issue, promoted as “FREE for a limited time”; no annual fee; 1.5% on purchases that are not in USD; conversion runs on spread
Top-up options 9 / 10 50+ digital assets, including BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, TRX, BNB, all converted to USDC
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Regulated entities in NZ and Australia, issuer Immersve; Trustpilot 4.0 out of 5 from 13 reviews, with complaints about support and lost funds
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Mastercard only; Google Pay works; adding new cards to Apple Pay paused since 11 May 2026; no ATM
Total 5.6 / 10 A specialist tool, not a general payment card

Read that table as a shape rather than an average. The top-up score of 9 is the highest mark in the whole assessment, and it is the reason to look at this card at all. Everyone else in this category will take your USDT and maybe your BTC. This one will take fifty-odd assets, including the ones that live on chains where transfers are cheap and fast, and turn them into a balance your card can spend. That is a genuine convenience for anyone whose crypto does not sit neatly in USDC.

The 2 out of 10 for eligibility is the other end of the shape. New Zealand and Australia residents, and only those. The company says expansion “into other regions, including the U.S. and Europe” is being worked on, which is a plan, not a product. If you read this in Ohio, Berlin or Lagos, you are not the customer. The audience this card is genuinely designed for is a New Zealand or Australia resident funding a virtual card from 50+ coins — and if that is you, most of the rest of this review will read as reassurance rather than warning.

What sits in the middle is the honest part. Costs are fair but not free. Reliability is licensed and documented, yet the public complaint record is thin in both quantity and comfort. Everyday use is workable for someone who pays online and in stores from a phone, and thin for everyone else. Add those up in the order the product actually forces on you — eligibility first, then what you can pay with, then what it costs you per payment — and 5.6 is where you land.

Who you have to be to get the card

New Zealand and Australia, that is the short answer, and it is worth being blunt about it because plenty of pages about this card describe it as global. The card is available to PIN users in New Zealand and Australia. That is the stated availability. Everything else on the internet about where this card “works” is usually about where it can be *spent*, which is a different question, and one I will come to.

The expansion language is real but forward-looking: other regions, including the U.S. and Europe, are being worked on. “Worked on” is what a company says when it has not yet applied for the licences, opened the accounts or shipped the product. So if you are outside the two countries today, the honest reading is that there is nothing for you to do yet, and no point in creating an account in the hope that a KYC screen will let you through. It will not, because eligibility is the gate before verification, not a consequence of it.

One more thing belongs here even though it is not about eligibility, because people conflate the two constantly. A card being accepted in a shop is not the same as you being allowed to hold it. Card networks and merchants care about where the card was issued and what its number says about that; they do not care which company you personally work for or which country you live in. So a card issued in New Zealand can be declined by a merchant in a country where the cardholder has never set foot. That is not a quirk of this provider — it is how card numbers work everywhere, and I explain it in the background section further down, because it changes how you should read every claim about this card being usable “worldwide”.

How to get it

The application is short, and it happens entirely inside the app. You open the PIN Network app on iOS or Android, go to the Cards section, apply, complete the card provider’s own identity verification, and then top up. The card states it takes “just a few minutes”, which is the shape of the promise rather than a fixed timeframe — verification queues are outside the provider’s control, and the people who report the worst support experiences are usually the ones who got stuck somewhere in this step.

What you should know before you start: onboarding includes identity verification at PIN Network level, and then there is *additional* KYC through the card provider even if your PIN Network verification is already done. That is two checks, not one, and it is a deliberate compliance design rather than a bug — the card issuer has to satisfy its own obligations regardless of what a partner platform has already seen. What documents you need, what proof of address looks like and what minimum age applies are not stated on the card’s public pages, so I will not guess at them. Plan on having identity documentation to hand and expect the second check to ask for something the first one did not.

On the card itself, the shape is narrow and worth understanding before you apply. It is virtual, reloadable and prepaid, on the Mastercard network, with no physical card available at this time. You can create multiple virtual cards, which is genuinely useful if you want one for subscriptions and one for everything else, or one you can throw away after a single purchase. Your balance is denominated in USD and held as USDC. Delivery is stated as “10 minutes”, which for a virtual card means it appears in the app, not that anything arrives at your door.

The people behind it, since this is money and the structure matters: the card is issued by Immersve, distributed by Takeoff Media Limited, and the platform operates through Pay It Now NZ LTD (NZ FSP 1002374) and Pay It Now AUS PTY LTD (AFSL 700050, AUSTRAC DCE100820697-002). Takeoff Media Limited is listed as Authorised Representative 1313795. Each of those numbers is a licence or registration you can look up in the relevant public register yourself. I would suggest you do, before you fund anything — it takes five minutes and it tells you more about who is actually responsible for your balance than any marketing sentence will.

Fees and what a payment really costs

The headline cost is friendly: 5.00 USDC to issue the card, described as “FREE for a limited time”, with no annual fee and free cancellation. “For a limited time” is the phrase to notice. Nothing in the public terms I read sets a date, so treat 5.00 USDC as the real price until the company says otherwise, and do not build a habit around the free version.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Pay It Now payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The rest of the cost structure is where your money actually goes. There is no separate foreign exchange fee; instead, conversion to USDC is done on the spread, with the rate shown in the app, and every purchase made in a currency other than USD carries a transaction fee of 1.5%. That is an unusually transparent arrangement — you can see the rate before you commit — but 1.5% on anything that is not a dollar is not nothing, and for someone spending abroad regularly it adds up faster than most people expect.

Fee or limit Value
Card issuance 5.00 USDC, deducted from the app wallet balance; “FREE for a limited time”
Annual fee None
Cancellation Free
Crypto-to-USDC conversion Spread only, rate shown in the app
Non-USD purchase fee 1.5%
Separate FX fee None
ATM Not stated; the card is virtual only
Daily transaction limit USD 20,000
Yearly transaction limit USD 100,000
Daily value load limit USD 5,000
Yearly value load limit USD 100,000
Tiers A single tier; per-KYC-level limits not stated

Let me run three everyday payments through that table so the percentages stop being abstract.

A USD 40 subscription in US dollars. No conversion spread applies in the way it would if you were converting at the moment of purchase from a coin, because your balance is already USDC and the purchase is in USD. No 1.5% fee, because the fee is on purchases in currencies other than USD. This is the cheapest way to use the card and, not coincidentally, the way most crypto balances are actually spent.

A EUR 25 subscription billed in euros. Here the 1.5% applies: 0.375 EUR on a 25 EUR payment. Your USDC is converted to euro through the app’s rate, and the spread sits inside that rate. This is the case that decides whether the card is convenient or expensive for you. If your subscriptions are all priced in dollars, the fee almost never touches you. If you are paying for European services, count on roughly one and a half percent as your ongoing cost of convenience, on top of whatever the spread does to you that day.

A USD 60 meal in New Zealand dollars. Same structure: 1.5% on the NZD amount, spread embedded in the conversion, and a decline risk that has nothing to do with fees. A merchant or their payment processor can refuse a prepaid card from an unfamiliar issuer country, which is a category-wide behaviour rather than a complaint about this card. If the payment is declined, a hold can also sit on the funds for several days — typically up to seven — before it releases, which is worth knowing before you try the same purchase twice in a panic.

One structural point about these limits that saves confusion later. As noted in the table above, transaction limits are USD 20,000 a day and USD 100,000 a year, while value load limits are USD 5,000 a day and USD 100,000 a year. For almost every person reading this, the load limit is the one that binds, because topping up is capped at USD 5,000 a day while spending can reach USD 20,000. If you are moving larger amounts, you are not blocked from spending them — you are simply unable to put more than USD 5,000 of new value on the card in a single day.

And what the card does not tell you: whether different KYC levels get different limits. The public pages state one set of limits and do not break them down by verification level, so I cannot tell you whether completing more verification raises your ceiling.

Top up options

This is the strongest part of the product and the reason to keep reading past the eligibility wall. You fund the card from the PIN Wallet using 50+ digital assets, including BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, TRX and BNB, and everything is converted to USDC. The card’s own FAQ says 40+ rather than 50+; either way the practical point is the same — the list covers the major coins and several networks that most competitors ignore.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Pay It Now starts with a transfer to the right network

Why the list matters more than it looks. Every coin arrives in its own network, with its own transfer rules, and the two names on that list that catch people out are TRX and BNB: Tether issues USDT on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche, so the token you hold and the network you send it on are separate decisions. If you have USDT on Tron and you send it expecting it to arrive as native USDC, note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option here. This is not specific to this card; it is the single most common way people lose funds in this whole category, because blockchain transfers are irreversible and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Whatever coin you send, send it on a network the card names.

Timing and limits on the top-up side:

Withdrawals work in the other direction too, which matters more than people expect when a card is the only payment tool they have. You can withdraw to the app wallet or to a bank account. Withdrawal to PIN Wallet carries a fixed fee of 0.2 USDC, and the balance is held by Takeoff Media. That last clause is the one to sit with: your money sits with a company, not with you, which is the custodial trade-off that comes with this entire category and which I return to below.

Paying with it day to day

Everything here happens on a phone. The card is virtual, so there is no plastic in your wallet, and that single fact shapes the entire daily experience — for the better in some ways, for the worse in others.

The better: Google Pay compatibility means you can tap your phone in a shop. Multiple virtual cards means you can isolate subscriptions, cap a risky merchant, or hold a card you delete afterwards. Because the balance is pre-loaded rather than drawn on credit, the card cannot overdraw; you spend what you have and then stop.

The worse: Apple Pay. Since 11 May 2026, adding new cards to Apple Pay has been unavailable “until further notice”, with existing cards unaffected. So if you are setting up fresh, that route is closed today, and if you already had the card in Apple Wallet before that date, it keeps working while you hold it there. Anyone reading a guide from 2025 that says “add it to Apple Wallet” is describing a door that is currently shut.

Also missing from the public pages: which merchant categories are blocked. Card issuers routinely restrict gambling (MCC 7995) and other categories by policy, and the list varies by issuer, but Pay It Now does not publish one, so you cannot check before you try.

The app itself is the PIN Network app on iOS and Android, listed as io.payitnow.pinnetwork. I could not retrieve store ratings when I checked on 2026-10-21 because the store pages did not load, so I have no app rating to quote and will not estimate one. Whether the app feels quick or clunky is something you will have to judge for yourself in the first ten minutes.

If a payment goes wrong, the route is the “Report” button under the transaction in the app, which opens a support ticket. What happens next — the chargeback process, the time frames, the evidence needed — is not stated. Given that this is a prepaid card rather than a credit or debit card, do not assume the reversal rights you might be used to from a bank card apply. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid coverage varies; the general lesson is that a card funded by you, sitting with a provider, and regulated in another country may give you less recourse than a card from your own bank.

What can go wrong

I want to separate three different risks here, because they have different answers.

The provider risk. Your balance is held by Takeoff Media, and the card is issued by Immersve. That is normal for this category and it is not a red flag in itself — but it does mean your funds depend on a company’s solvency and operational security rather than on your own bank. The general lesson about custodians is worth stating plainly: exchanges and custodians have failed before, at scale, with losses reported in the hundreds of millions of dollars. That history is about the category, not about this company, and I mention it because you are making a decision about where money sits, not just about which card to carry.

The operational risk, which is the one with actual evidence here. On Trustpilot the card sits at 4.0 out of 5 from 13 reviews, read on 2026-10-21, with 77% five-star ratings — and the company has not replied to negative reviews. Thirteen reviews is a small sample, and I will not over-read it; but the themes in it are consistent and they are all about responsiveness. Reports from February 2026 mention delays and held transactions. April 2026 mentions an unclear spread and an enquiry that went unanswered. July 2026 mentions unresponsive support and unexplained loss of crypto. If the thing you most need from a card is someone who answers, that record is the part to weigh most heavily, and the unanswered-review status makes it worse rather than better.

The category risk. Three things can happen to you that have nothing to do with this provider’s conduct: a merchant declines the card because the issuer country looks foreign to their processor; a declined authorisation leaves a hold on your funds for days; and the card programme itself can be suspended, as happened when Visa terminated its agreements with FTX in November 2022 or when WaveCrest’s European programmes were suspended in 2018. Programme closures follow a pattern — a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left — but a card company is not a bank, and the balance behind it is not a deposit with deposit-guarantee cover.

Support itself is ticket-only: support.payitnow.io, with a status page at support.payitnow.io/status. There is no phone line, and languages and hours are not stated. If you do not read English, or you only find out about an outage when you are standing at a till, this is a card with no safety net.

What to take instead

None of the three alternatives below matches Pay It Now’s top-up range, and I would rather say that plainly than lay them out as equals. They come up because people search for them, and because in two of the three cases the comparison is instructive.

Pay It Now Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Score 5.6 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Who it is for New Zealand and Australia residents “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no country list or exclusions Aimed at Nigeria: “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and “Nigerians and global users” Official pages state no country list; App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries”
Card form Virtual only, Mastercard Debit card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical per the App Store Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid; network not stated on the App Store page
Fees 5.00 USDC issue (“FREE for a limited time”), 1.5% on non-USD purchases, conversion on spread Not stated; conversion at payment via an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that picks a rate; no percentage published Not stated; creating a virtual card is “completely free”, monthly fee not stated Not stated; the App Store page lists no fees
Funding 50+ assets including BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, TRX, BNB USDT, USDC and BTC wallets Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH; balance in USD or EUR

What this comparison tells me: if you need a physical card, Cardex is the only one of the four that offers one. If you are in Nigeria or transact in naira, CardFlow and Cardex are the relevant names, though Cardex’s App Store listing is Naira-focused while CardFlow’s positioning is explicitly Nigerian. If you need the widest possible coin coverage, Pay It Now wins that comparison outright and it is not close.

But the alternatives are thinner on the things you cannot verify from a comparison table. Cardex publishes no fee percentage and CardFlow publishes no monthly fee. Networks are unstated for every one of them. “200+ countries” and “more than 176 countries” are claims about acceptance or reach, not about who is eligible to hold the card — the same distinction I drew earlier about Pay It Now. I would not switch to an alternative purely on the strength of a bigger number of countries.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to a New Zealand or Australia resident who cannot get a normal bank card to work — because of a name mismatch, a credit history, a document problem, a bank that closed the account, anything in that family — and who holds crypto on chains that other cards will not touch. The 50+ asset list is the reason. If your balance is sitting in TRX or BNB or SOL and your only route to spend is a USDC-only card, this solves a real problem that no better-reviewed competitor on my list solves as well.

I would not recommend it if any of the following is true. You are outside New Zealand and Australia. You need a physical card, ATM access, or a working Apple Pay setup from scratch. You need to move more than USD 5,000 of new value in a day. You are paying mostly in non-dollar currencies and 1.5% per transaction bothers you. Or — and I put this last because it is the one I would weigh most heavily — you need a support team that picks up the phone. There isn’t one, and the public complaints are all about silence.

If you are in the first group, read the top-up section twice, check your network before you transfer anything, and only then apply. If you are in the second, the comparison table above is your starting point, and the fee columns deserve more scepticism than mine.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Pay It Now card?

It is a virtual, reloadable prepaid Mastercard issued by Immersve and distributed by Takeoff Media Limited, used through the PIN Network app. You convert crypto in the app to USDC, that balance sits behind the card, and the card spends it like any Mastercard — in stores and online, or through Google Pay. There is no physical card. Multiple virtual cards can be created, and it is available to PIN users in New Zealand and Australia.

How does the Pay It Now card actually work?

Your crypto is converted to USDC and loaded as a USD balance; the card then draws on that stored balance, the way a prepaid card does, rather than asking a bank to take money from a linked account at the moment of purchase. Because it is pre-loaded, it cannot overdraw. Conversion from your coins happens on the spread shown in the app, and purchases in currencies other than USD carry a 1.5% transaction fee. Transactions are also visible in the app, where an unauthorised one can be reported with the “Report” button.

Is Pay It Now a bank?

No. It is a card programme with regulated companies behind it: Pay It Now NZ LTD (NZ FSP 1002374) and Pay It Now AUS PTY LTD (AFSL 700050), with Takeoff Media Limited as Authorised Representative 1313795 holding the balance and Immersve (AFSL 545925) as issuer. That is a payments and e-money structure, not a deposit relationship, so your balance is not the same as money in a bank account and should not be treated as if it had the same protections.

Who owns Pay It Now?

Ownership is not stated on the public pages I read. What is documented is the operating structure: the New Zealand and Australian entities above, Takeoff Media Limited holding the balance, and Immersve issuing the card. If ownership matters to your decision — and for a custodial balance it reasonably might — the licence numbers in the previous answer are where to start, checking them in the NZ FMA and ASIC registers yourself.

Can I use the card in my country?

That depends on where you are. To *hold* it, you need to be a PIN user in New Zealand or Australia; expansion into other regions including the U.S. and Europe is described as being worked on, which is not the same as available. To *spend* it is a separate question, because acceptance follows the card network rather than your residence — though merchants can decline a prepaid card or one from an unfamiliar issuer country.

How do I apply, and does it need KYC?

Yes, identity verification is required, and there are two stages: onboarding and ID verification at PIN Network level, plus additional KYC through the card provider even if the first is done. The stated sequence is to open the PIN Network app, go to the Cards section, apply, complete the provider’s KYC, and top up, which the card says takes “just a few minutes”. Required documents, proof of address and minimum age are not stated, and limits per KYC level are not stated either.

What does it cost to use?

Issuing is 5.00 USDC deducted from your app wallet balance, currently promoted as “FREE for a limited time”, with no annual fee and free cancellation. Crypto-to-USDC conversion uses the spread with the rate shown in the app, purchases in currencies other than USD cost 1.5%, and there is no separate foreign exchange fee. Transaction and value load limits are detailed in the table below. ATM fees are not stated because the card is virtual only.

How do I top it up, and can I take money back out?

You top up from the PIN Wallet using 50+ digital assets — BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT, TRX and BNB among them — which are converted to USDC, with deposits via a Web3 smart contract taking up to 10 minutes and a maximum of USD 5,000 per day. There is no separate deposit fee; the spread applies. Minimum top-up and fiat top-up are not stated. Withdrawals go to the app wallet or a bank account, and a withdrawal to PIN Wallet costs a fixed 0.2 USDC.

Is it safe to use, and can I add it to Apple Wallet?

On safety: the card offers in-app cancellation, a PIN, transaction monitoring and a security guide, and its balance is held by Takeoff Media — but safeguarding arrangements are not stated, and custody means you depend on the provider. On Trustpilot it shows 4.0 out of 5 from 13 reviews as read on 2026-10-21, with unresolved complaints about support and lost funds. On Apple Wallet, since 11 May 2026 adding new cards is paused “until further notice”; existing cards are unaffected. Google Pay works.

Is the card free and worth it?

Free, for now, in the sense that issuance is promoted as “FREE for a limited time” — though 5.00 USDC is the stated price and no end date is given. Worth it depends almost entirely on your situation. If you are a New Zealand or Australia resident who needs a card other issuers will not give you and you hold coins on networks most cards ignore, it is a strong option. If you are elsewhere, if you need a physical card, or if you need fee-free spending in non-dollar currencies, the 1.5% charge and the virtual-only form make it a weaker fit.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team