A crypto-backed Visa card with a 7.2 out of 10: who the Anodos card is for and where the terms get tight
If you have trouble getting an ordinary bank card and you happen to hold crypto, the Anodos card is an unusual offer worth understanding. You lock collateral in your own wallet, and a Visa card spends against it — like a credit line drawn on your own coins, without handing them over to a company. That structure is genuinely different from most crypto cards, and it is the reason to look at Anodos at all. It is also the reason to read the fine print carefully, because a collateral model is unforgiving in ways a stored-balance model is not.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
I went through the card’s public terms and what I could find about the company. My score is 7.2 out of 10. The conditions described here are current as of 26 September 2026.
Verdict: who this card is for, and who should walk away
My mark for Anodos is 7.2 / 10. It is not a great card for ordinary daily spending — very few cards are, when they convert crypto behind the scenes. It is a good fit for a specific person: someone who already keeps crypto in a self-custody wallet, who cannot or will not open a normal bank account, and who wants card spending without giving up control of the coins. If that is you, the mechanics are sound and the fees are, in places, better than the big crypto-card brands. If you want a card that behaves exactly like an ordinary debit card, or you are squeamish about a one-day liquidation window, this is not the card for you.

Let me lay out the score the way I arrived at it, one line per criterion.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Available in 150+ countries with a few exceptions; residents of 17 countries, including Russia, Belarus, China, India, Turkey and Ukraine, are excluded. A genuinely wide net, hard-excluded where rules require. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Free tier at $0 with the first virtual card included; FX 1.50% and ATM $1.00 + 1.75%. Pro is $9.99/mo, Elite $29.99/mo. Reasonable, but the FX fee is not nothing. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | No top-up at all — the model is collateral locked on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism or Arbitrum. Simple in principle, restrictive in practice. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Anodos Labs Inc. is not a bank; the issuer is Third National under a Visa licence. A placeholder is left in the terms, and I found no complaint record either way. |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Physical or virtual card; ATM monthly limit $5,000 on the Free tier. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not addressed in the terms. |
| Total | 7.2 / 10 | A well-structured, narrowly-drawn card that rewards the self-custody holder and frustrates everyone else. |
Two things decide this score more than anything else. First, the eligibility rules are stricter than the headline suggests — being “available in 150+ countries” comes with a specific list of places you cannot even be a resident, and a separate US-only programme for 30 states. Second, this is not a stored-balance card. Your spending limit equals your collateral, and if a payment is not made within one calendar day or your collateral value falls below what you owe, the collateral is liquidated. That is a real, structural difference from a card that simply holds a prepaid balance, and it is the thing I would want a reader to weigh before anything else.
Who can get the card
Anodos says the card is currently available in 150+ countries, with a few exceptions. In practice that means a lot of the world is welcome and a specific list is not. Cards cannot be issued to residents of Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam. Chinese and Hong Kong passports are not eligible at all. Nigeria, Sri Lanka and South Africa are possible only under “enhanced review + explicit approval.”
Spending is also blocked in a shorter list of countries even if you hold the card: Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. For Russia specifically, cards cannot be issued to residents and cannot be used for spending there at all. Belarus residents are likewise refused a card.
There is one more eligibility point that surprises people: the terms require users to attest that they are not US citizens. The main programme is for people outside the United States. There is a separate US programme, available in 30 US states, but it is not the same thing as the international card.
Read that list against where you actually live and hold citizenship, not just where you are travelling. If your country is on the refused or the blocked-spending list, the answer is no, and no fee or tier will change it.
How to get it
The signup story is short, partly because the card terms simply do not describe much of it. The terms describe no KYC process — they say you must provide “true, correct, and complete” information, and that is as far as the identity question goes on the page. The age requirement is not stated. The terms do say the card is for personal, family or household use only, so this is not a business card.
In practice the getting-started sequence is small:
- Get an Anodos account and link your own self-custody wallet.
- Lock collateral in that wallet. This is not a deposit to the company — the funds stay with you, and locking them sets your spending limit.
- Choose a tier and request a physical or a virtual card.
A virtual card can be created directly and the first one is included free on the Free tier. Physical cards are also available. The card is issued “under license from Visa” — Visa is the network, and Anodos runs the programme on top of it.
The Anodos app handles sending, saving and investing. The platforms it runs on are not stated, and I could not find store ratings. If getting a card working is your priority, check before you commit that the app is on the phone you actually carry.
One caution on the paperwork. The card terms are governed by Puerto Rico law and provide for binding AAA arbitration in New York. And there is a visible rough edge in the documents: the terms still contain a placeholder. That is the kind of unfinished clause that makes me want a reader to read the terms themselves rather than take any summary — including mine — as complete.
Fees and what the card really costs you
Anodos does not charge to hold the Free tier, and the first virtual card is included. But the money you spend moves through the crypto world, and there are two separate fees: what the card network charges and what Anodos charges on the conversion side. Here is the schedule as the terms state it, across the three tiers.

| Fee or limit | Free (“Financial Freedom”) | Pro (“Empower Pro”) | Elite (“Sovereign Elite”) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tier cost | $0 | $9.99/mo or $99.90/yr | $29.99/mo or $299.90/yr |
| First virtual card | Free | Free | Free |
| Extra virtual card | $20 | $10 | $10 |
| Card FX / international fee | 1.50% | 1.25% | 1.00% |
| Currency exchange (non-card) | 1.00% | 0.75% | 0.50% |
| ATM withdrawal fee | $1.00 + 1.75% | $1.00 + 1.00% | $1.00 + 0.75% |
| ATM monthly limit | $5,000 | $10,000 | $15,000 |
| Interest on purchases | 0% APR currently | 0% APR currently | 0% APR currently |
| Late payment | Up to $40 | Up to $40 | Up to $40 |
| Returned payment | $29.00 | $29.00 | $29.00 |
| Spending limit | Equals collateral value | Equals collateral value | Equals collateral value |
| Daily limits | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Now let me walk a few ordinary payments through that table, because that is where these percentages stop being abstract.
Buying coffee in your home currency on the Free tier. If the currency is not USD, the card network converts the transaction to USD, and the international fee of 1.50% applies on top. So a modest purchase picks up a percentage fee that a plain debit card would not charge, purely because of the currency and the network. On a $20 coffee that is real, if small. On a larger purchase, the fee is proportionally higher.
Withdrawing cash from an ATM. The fee is $1.00 plus a percentage — 1.75% on Free, 1.00% on Pro, 0.75% on Elite — and only where ATM withdrawals are enabled. There is also a monthly ceiling: $5,000 on Free, $10,000 on Pro, $15,000 on Elite. Worth pausing on: the same terms also state “Cash advances and balance transfers are not available,” which appears to conflict with an ATM fee schedule. Treat ATM access as something to confirm with support before you rely on it, rather than assuming the higher-numbered limit is a promise.
Spending your whole limit. The spending limit is not a number the bank sets generously above your collateral — it equals the collateral. $100 of collateral supports a $100 limit, across all cards. And the limit is “dynamic and may be modified at any time,” including reduced to $0. So your available spending can shrink under you if the market moves against you, with no further negotiation. Daily limits are not stated.
That is the honest picture of the cost. The headline — “free card” — is true for holding it, and misleading as a description of using it.
How to top it up
This card does not top up, and that trips up a lot of people who arrive expecting the usual crypto-card pattern. There is no prepaid balance to load. Instead, you hold collateral in your own wallet and lock it; your spending limit follows the value of that collateral.
The supported blockchains are Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism and Arbitrum (the terms spell it “Arbitrium”), or others the issuer adds later. The coins accepted are not listed on the card pages. That is a genuine gap — if you hold something other than the obvious majors, you cannot confirm from the terms alone that it will work as collateral, so that is a question to ask before you plan around this card.
Some practical consequences of the collateral model:
- There is no deposit fee listed in the fee schedule, because there is no deposit. Gas fees on liquidation are paid out of your collateral.
- Your collateral stays in your wallet. Anodos and the issuer state they will not, in any circumstance, hold custody of it — that is the core of the offer.
- There is no “withdraw the balance” question in the usual sense, because the collateral was never given up. On termination you surrender or destroy the card, and your repayment obligations survive.
So if you are used to cards that you preload like a gift balance, this inverts the mental model: you are not loading funds, you are borrowing against something you already own.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, the card behaves like a Visa card, with a crypto-shaped edge. Physical or virtual, it works wherever Visa is accepted. Foreign-currency transactions are converted to USD by the card network.
Some of the edges are worth planning around before they surprise you:
- Cash-like transactions can be restricted. Crypto purchases, gambling and money transfers may be declined by policy. Many issuers block these categories, and the blocked list varies by issuer, so the categories themselves are not illegal — they are just often switched off.
- Merchant-category friction is real. A merchant can look at the card’s issuing country and BIN and apply extra scrutiny, especially when that differs from the billing address. This is why a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, and why some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright.
- Mobile wallets are unaddressed. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned in the terms. If tap-to-pay on your phone is essential to you, treat it as unknown rather than assumed.
- Rewards are not stated. The card terms say nothing about cashback or points, so I would not build any expectation around them.
- Declines can leave a hold. A declined authorisation may place a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven.
If a payment goes wrong, the path is ordinary: try the merchant first, then report the dispute no more than 60 days after the charge is posted. Note that pending disputed charges may still be payable while they are contested, and the card network’s own rules apply throughout.
What can go wrong
This section is where the collateral design earns its keep as something to think hard about.
Liquidation is the defining risk. If a payment is not made within one calendar day, or your collateral value falls below your outstanding charges, a liquidation event can be triggered — and the gas fees for that liquidation come out of your collateral. On a collateral-backed card, you are not paying a late fee into a void; you are watching your own coins get sold. And because your limit equals your collateral and can be reduced to $0 at any time, a sharp move against your position can shrink your spending room exactly when you might need it.
Suspension is at the company’s discretion. The terms say the account may be suspended or cancelled “in our sole discretion.” That is broad language, and it sits alongside the security-interest arrangement: you grant a security interest over the collateral. The non-custodial part is real — your coins are not held by Anodos — but non-custodial does not mean consequence-free.
Two-factor security is not stated. The terms do not describe 2FA or an in-app freeze. Standard safeguards for a card of this kind typically include app-based 2FA, instant freeze, spending limits and tokenised mobile wallets; whether Anodos offers them is something to confirm yourself.
Country rules bite on both sides. Eligibility is by residence and spending is blocked in some countries; both lists can change, and the country-availability page was last updated on 26 September 2026. If your country is not on the eligible list, none of this applies.
Complaints and reliability. I want to be straight with you about the limits of what I found. I did not find official incidents, but I also did not find a Trustpilot page or Reddit discussion in my search — so “no complaints found” is mostly a statement about the absence of information, not a clean track record. One concrete mark against confidence: Anodos Labs Inc. is explicitly “not a bank, credit union, or money services business,” it is a technology provider, and the issuer is Third National under a Visa licence. The programme sits on licensed rails, but the brand you are dealing with is not itself a regulated bank.
Support is email and phone. Support is at [email protected] and +1 (307) 683-5768, with official social channels on X, Discord, LinkedIn, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram and TikTok. Languages and hours are not stated, which matters if English is not your first language.
Set against the wider category, this is normal risk rather than special risk — crypto cards have a history of abrupt endings. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you withdraw what is left. Nothing like that has happened to Anodos as far as I can tell, but the category’s history is why I would not treat any crypto card as permanent infrastructure.
What to take instead
If Anodos is not the fit — because you want simpler everyday spending, a proper rewards structure, or a regulated bank behind the brand — the alternatives I looked at are worth weighing on their own terms. All three below are also collateral- or self-custody-linked, which is why they are the relevant comparison.
| Anodos | Sponge | Nexo | Xplace | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 7.2 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 6.3 / 10 | 7.7 / 10 |
| Card | Physical or virtual, Visa | Virtual, described as a Rain Visa credit card | Virtual and physical, issuer DiPocket UAB | Visa; virtual instant, physical Silver live |
| Who can get it | 150+ countries, with a specific excluded list | Not stated; platform terms set a minimum age of 13 | Selected European countries incl. EEA and UK; citizenship and residence | Country list not stated; not available in all jurisdictions |
| Cost | Free / $9.99 / $29.99 per month | Not stated | No monthly, annual or inactivity fee | Free Basic, then $99 / $249 / $999 per year |
| Key fees | FX 1.50% / 1.25% / 1.00% | Not stated | FX 0.2% weekdays EEA/UK/CH, 0.7% weekends (2% / 2.5% rest of world) | 0% FX on Platinum; other tiers not stated |
| Funding | Collateral locked in your wallet on Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism, Arbitrum | USDC collateral moved from the Sponge wallet | Spends from the Nexo account, 100+ digital assets | Deposit BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC, USDT and more on Solana |
| Rewards | Not stated | Not stated | Cashback in NEXO or BTC, tiered | Credit-mode cashback up to 2% in USDC |
A few things stand out when I line them up.
Sponge is the thinnest of the four. Almost nothing is stated on the card pages — no country list, no fees, no rewards — and what is described is a virtual card funded from USDC you move yourself. At 4.9 it is the weakest documentation of the group, and I would not build a daily routine on it.
Nexo is the most conventional. It has the lowest FX fee by a distance — 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA, UK and Switzerland, 0.7% at weekends — and it pays cashback in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin. But it is custodial: your crypto sits with Nexo, you are limited to selected European countries, and the virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate, with the physical card gated behind a $5,000 balance and Gold tier. There is also a widely reported, unofficial story about a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and AML violations; I did not find an official Nexo statement on it, so I am passing it along as unconfirmed context, not as a fact about the card.
Xplace scores highest of the three alternatives at 7.7, and the reasons are concrete: Solana deposits, 0% FX on the top Platinum tier, and credit-mode cashback paid in USDC straight to your wallet. Its catch is the annual fee ladder — Basic is free, but Silver is $99, Gold $249 and Platinum $999 a year — and only the Silver physical card is live, with Gold and Platinum described as coming soon.
Against Anodos specifically, the honest comparison is: Xplace and Nexo offer clearer rewards and, in Nexo’s case, much cheaper foreign exchange, but both are custodial and narrower on who can join. Anodos keeps your coins in your own wallet and opens up far more countries, at the cost of a stricter collateral structure, a day-one liquidation rule, and a 1.50% FX fee on the entry tier. That is the trade, and which side of it you fall on depends almost entirely on whether custody matters to you.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Anodos card to someone in this specific situation: you hold crypto in a self-custody wallet, you are in a country it covers and not on its exclusion list, an ordinary bank card is difficult or unavailable to you, and what you want is card spending that leaves the coins under your own keys. If you value not handing over your assets more than you value cheap foreign exchange or cashback, this is a well-built fit and the 7.2 reflects a card that does its job cleanly within its own design.
I would point someone else elsewhere. If you want to be paid cashback or points, the terms promise nothing. If you spend heavily abroad, 1.50% FX on the free tier will cost you real money and Nexo’s 0.2% weekday rate is hard to argue with. If you are nervous about the one-calendar-day liquidation window and the “sole discretion” suspension language, this structure is too sharp an instrument for a casual user. If you are a business, the terms restrict use to personal, family or household. And if you simply want an ordinary debit card that occasionally touches crypto, a mainstream bank card is simpler and better understood than anything in this category.
Before you sign up for anything, do three things I could not do for you: read the card terms yourself in full, especially the collateral and security-interest clauses; confirm with support the things the pages leave open — accepted collateral coins, mobile wallet support, 2FA, ATM availability, and delivery; and check your country against both the eligibility and the blocked-spending lists. If those answers come back clean and custody matters to you, this is a reasonable card. I would just hold it with open eyes.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Anodos card?
The Anodos card is a Visa payment card that spends against crypto you have locked as collateral in your own self-custody wallet. It is not a prepaid balance you load and not a bank account. Anodos Labs Inc. runs the programme as a technology provider, and the card is issued under a Visa licence by Third National. The core idea is that your coins stay with you while the card gives you a spending line.
How does the Anodos card work?
You lock collateral in a wallet you link to your account, and that collateral sets your spending limit — $100 of collateral supports a $100 limit across all cards. Payments draw against that limit. If a payment is not made within one calendar day, or the collateral value falls below your outstanding charges, a liquidation event can be triggered. The limits are dynamic and can be changed at any time, including down to $0.
Is Anodos a bank?
No. Anodos Labs Inc. describes itself as a technology provider and states it is “not a bank, credit union, or money services business.” The card itself is issued by Third National under a Visa licence, which is what puts it on normal payment rails. The brand you deal with is not a regulated bank, even though the card programme runs through a licensed issuer.
Who can get the Anodos card?
The card is available in 150+ countries with a few exceptions. Residents of Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam cannot be issued it, and Chinese and Hong Kong passports are ineligible. Nigeria, Sri Lanka and South Africa need enhanced review and explicit approval. Users must also attest they are not US citizens.
Can I use the Anodos card in my country?
That depends on two separate lists. Eligibility is decided by where you are resident, and spending is blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela even if you somehow hold the card. Russia is refused on both counts — no card for residents, and no spending there. The country-availability page was last updated on 26 September 2026, so check it fresh for your own country.
Does the Anodos card require KYC?
The card terms describe no KYC process. What they do say is that you must provide “true, correct, and complete” information, and they require you to attest you are not a US citizen. Age is not stated on the terms. That is thinner documentation than most cards in this category publish, so if verified identity is important to you, ask support directly before relying on this.
How do I top up the Anodos card?
You do not, because there is no balance to load. It is a collateral model: you lock crypto already in your wallet and the card spends against it. Collateral is held on a supported blockchain — Ethereum, Polygon, Optimism or Arbitrum — and the coins accepted are not listed on the card pages. Your coins never leave your wallet, so there is no withdrawal step either.
Is the Anodos card free?
Holding the Free “Financial Freedom” tier costs $0 and the first virtual card is included. But using it is not free: foreign-currency card transactions carry a 1.50% international fee, ATM withdrawals cost $1.00 plus 1.75%, and an extra virtual card is $20. Paid tiers are Pro at $9.99/month and Elite at $29.99/month, which cut the FX and ATM percentages and raise the ATM limit.
Is the Anodos card safe?
It depends on what safe means to you. The non-custodial part is real — Anodos states it never holds custody of your collateral, and the coins stay in your wallet. Against that, you grant a security interest, liquidation can happen within one calendar day of a missed payment, the account can be suspended at the company’s sole discretion, and 2FA and in-app freeze are not described in the terms. There is also little public track record either way.
Is the Anodos card worth it?
Worth it if you already keep crypto in your own wallet, cannot easily get a normal bank card, and put non-custody above cheap foreign exchange or cashback. Not worth it if you want rewards, spend heavily abroad where the 1.50% FX fee adds up, or prefer a straightforward debit card. Nexo’s weekday FX of 0.2% and Xplace’s 0% FX on Platinum are cheaper; Anodos’s compensation is custody and country reach.
Credit and cashback card costs – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
