A crypto card worth watching, not yet worth trusting with money you cannot lose
The Digitap card is a crypto-linked Visa card. You load it, spend it, and cash it out — but the pages describing how that actually works are thin in exactly the places where you would want detail. So here is the honest version: what is published, what is not, and what that means for whether you should put money on it.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.2 out of 10 — useful if you want a free virtual card and 100+ crypto assets, cautious if you need a bank you can name
Digitap scores 6.2 / 10. That is not a bad score for a young card; it is a middling one, and the gap between the good parts and the weak parts is unusually wide. The good: a genuinely free virtual tier, a stated reach of 180+ countries, and support for 100+ crypto assets. The weak: no named issuer, no named licences, an app still in beta, and a low public trust rating.
Who it suits: you want a virtual card for online spending, you hold crypto across many assets rather than one or two, you live somewhere an ordinary bank has declined you or been unhelpful, and you are comfortable reading terms yourself. Who it does not suit: you need deposit-insurance-like certainty, you rely on Apple Pay, you want a card that has obviously been around for years, or you intend to put your rent through it.
Here is how the score breaks down:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Stated as working in 180+ countries; issuing countries are not named |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Virtual tier free with 2 free virtual cards; top-up fee 2.5% (Wallet, Virtual), 2.2% (Pro); Pro $299 to open plus $95/year; no foreign transaction fee |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Crypto (100+ assets) or fiat USD, EUR, GBP; networks not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issuer and legal entity not named; Trustpilot 2.7/5 with complaints about silent support and doubts tied to the $TAP presale; app in beta |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual card instantly, plastic to order, ATMs worldwide; unofficially: Google Pay works, Apple Pay does not |
Total: 6.2 / 10.
That 9 for access and that 3 for reliability are not a contradiction — they are the two faces of this card. It opens doors for many people, but it does not yet tell you who is behind the door.
Will they give you the card
The headline is reach: Digitap states it “Works in 180+ countries worldwide.” Its footer adds that the site is not directed at places where use would be contrary to local law. So the intended audience is broad, and the card itself does not publish a list of issuing countries.
For you, practically, that means you cannot pre-check your country from the page. The best you can do is register and see whether the card is issued to you. If your country matters to you — because you travel, or because you fear a cross-border card will be declined — that uncertainty is real, and it is the first thing to resolve with support before you commit money.
Note the difference between where the card says it works and where it is licensed. Those are different claims, and only the first is published.
How to get it
The signup path is short on paper: open a Digitap account online “in a few minutes,” pick a plan, and you get a virtual card instantly or order a physical one. The card is Visa, with an EMV chip and PIN, and physical cards can carry a custom design. Fiat accounts are available in USD, EUR, and GBP.
The identity side is where the detail thins out, and it thins differently depending on the plan:
- Wallet — no KYC.
- Virtual — “light KYC.”
- Pro, Premium, Business — full KYC.
What documents count, how long processing takes, and why an application might be refused are not stated on the public pages. Delivery is also not stated — which countries it ships to, how long it takes, whether it costs anything — with one exception: a physical-card replacement is $40 on the Pro plan.
There is an unofficial thread worth knowing, because it is not from Digitap: a MEXC promotional article from January 2026 (it promotes the $TAP presale) says the virtual card arrives after a simple identity check processed in under 24 hours, while the physical card needs more verification including a passport scan and a selfie. Treat that as a secondhand description, not something Digitap has confirmed.
So the honest answer to “will they give me the card” is: probably quickly for the virtual version, with the exact paperwork decided case by case behind the scenes.
Fees: what it really costs
The pricing is where a free tier genuinely exists and where it quietly stops. Digitap’s plan structure runs from free to “on request,” and the middle rung is expensive.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Wallet plan | $0, no physical cards |
| Virtual plan | Free; 2 free virtual cards; replacement free |
| Pro plan | $299 account opening fee, $95 yearly admin fee; 3 free physical + 5 free virtual cards; replacement physical $40 / virtual $2.50 |
| Premium / Business | On request |
| Deposit (top-up) fee | 2.5% (Wallet, Virtual); 2.2% (Pro, Premium) |
| Foreign transaction fee | “No foreign transaction fees” |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal fee | Not stated; free allowance not stated |
| Withdraw to external wallet | 1% (Wallet, Virtual, Pro); 0% (Premium, Business) |
| Withdraw to external bank | 1% (Virtual, Pro); 0% (Premium, Business); N/A for Wallet |
| Limits | Labels only: Medium (Wallet/Virtual), High (Pro), No Limits (Premium/Business); amounts not stated |
Two things jump out. First, the free Virtual tier is genuinely free and gives you two virtual cards — that is unusual and worth having on its own terms. Second, the Pro plan’s $299 opening fee plus $95 a year is a serious commitment for a card many people use for small online spending; that tier is priced like a business product, not a personal one.
On the fee side, “no foreign transaction fees” is a real and welcome line. But the number that actually moves your total — the crypto conversion fee — is not published. If you spend crypto, the conversion rate is where your money quietly goes, and Digitap does not tell you what it takes.
Now, two or three everyday payments, and which fees bite:
- A £40 subscription paid in GBP. With no foreign transaction fee, the currency itself is clean. But if the balance is loaded from a crypto asset, the unpublished conversion fee is the cost you are paying, and you cannot see it in advance.
- A €25 meal in euros. Same story. Multi-currency rules are not stated beyond the USD/EUR/GBP accounts, so whether you hold euros directly or convert at the point of sale is not something the page resolves.
- A $60 ATM withdrawal. The page confirms ATMs worldwide with crypto-to-fiat conversion, but the fee and any free allowance are not stated. If ATM use matters to you, this is the number to ask for before you rely on it.
There is a monthly/yearly toggle on the pricing page ($15.99/month or $155/year) that is not clearly mapped to any named tier — a small sign that the pricing page is still being worked on.
Top up: loading the card
You fund the card in two ways: with crypto (100+ assets) or with fiat (USD, EUR, GBP). You pick the asset at checkout. What the page does not state is the networks — and networks are the detail that matters most in crypto.

The deposit fee is 2.5% on Wallet and Virtual, 2.2% on Pro and Premium. The minimum top-up is not stated, who pays the network fee is not stated, and any extra fee on fiat top-ups beyond that table is not stated.
Let me take you through why the missing networks line is the one to care about. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send funds over a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and the deposit can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Ethereum-based tokens need ETH in the wallet to pay the gas; a wallet full of USDT with no ETH simply cannot send. Tether’s USDT lives on several chains — Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche — and picking the wrong one is a classic way to lose money. It is also worth knowing that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not even a native option anymore.
So the practical advice is narrow but real: before your first transfer, ask support which networks they accept for your chosen asset, and send a small test amount first.
On the way back out: withdrawing to an external wallet costs 1% on Wallet, Virtual, and Pro (0% on Premium and Business); withdrawing to an external bank costs 1% on Virtual and Pro (0% on Premium and Business) and is not applicable on Wallet. What happens to any leftover balance if you close the account is not stated.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day, Digitap behaves like a prepaid card: you load a balance and spend only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Rewards are paid in $TAP tokens at a rate that depends on your plan — “basic cashback” on Wallet and Virtual, “high cashback” on Pro, “up to double digit %” on Premium. No percentages are given, and the page says there are no monthly caps and no staking required.
The app is iOS (iPhone iOS 12.0+, iPad, Mac M1) and Android, and the official page calls it “the official beta version.” In the UK App Store storefront, read on 2026-10-20, it shows no rating — “not enough ratings or reviews” — and the Google Play rating was not readable. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not stated in the official feature list.
Two unofficial data points fill part of that gap, from Trustpilot reviews: reviewers in November 2025 and May 2026 say Apple Pay is missing, while reviewers in December 2025 and February 2026 say Google Pay works. Treat both as user reports rather than confirmed features.
Which merchant categories are blocked is not stated, and neither is how disputes work. For context, gambling (MCC 7995) is a category many issuers block by policy rather than law, and prepaid or foreign-issued cards can be declined at some merchants simply because the card’s issuing country shows up different from your billing address. If a payment of yours ever fails for no clear reason, that is often why.
The $TAP rewards deserve one honest sentence: they are paid in a token, not in fiat, and a token reward is worth what the market says that day, not what the plan promised.
What can go wrong
This is the section where the card is thinnest, so I will not dress it up.
- The issuer and legal entity are not named. Digitap describes itself as “a fintech application powered by licensed financial partners” — but the page does not name the issuer, the registered entity, or the licences. In this category that matters: a card network licenses the issuer, and the crypto brand is often just the front-end. You are being asked to trust a company you cannot name.
- No security features are described. There is no mention of two-factor authentication, a card freeze, spending controls, or how custody works — on a page where someone is about to hold crypto.
- Support hours contradict themselves. The page says “here to help 24/7 on email or submit a contact form,” but the plan table lists “Business Hours” support for Wallet, Virtual, and Pro, with true 24/7 reserved for Premium and Business. That gap is exactly the kind of thing that matters when a deposit is stuck.
- No dated licence or programme news is published. No dated events on the official pages to anchor the company in time.
- The Trustpilot picture is poor. As read on 2026-10-20, Digitap scores 2.7/5 from 13 reviews in the last 12 months, 54% of them one-star. Themes: support going unanswered (January, April, June 2026, one of them after a $299 Pro upgrade); an unanswered refund request on Pro (April 2026); doubts about who runs the company and its regulation, plus “scam” claims tied to the $TAP presale (November 2025 to June 2026, one saying the website was unavailable in April 2026); no Apple Pay (November 2025, May 2026); slow KYC (June 2026). A few reviews do praise Google Pay (December 2025, February 2026). No Digitap-specific complaints surfaced on Reddit or in news, and no official incidents were found — but note that the low rating is small-sample and the themes, not the star number, are the signal.
- The $TAP presale colours everything. The marketing site heavily promotes it. The presale is separate from the card, but it dominates the page and it is what several reviewers distrust. Judge the card on the card.
Support, for what it’s worth, is reachable at [email protected] and through a contact form.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in this review, each with its own shape. Here they are beside Digitap, scores included.
| Digitap | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.2 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Network / type | Visa; virtual + physical | US-issued Platinum Visa; virtual | Mastercard, multicurrency | Visa |
| Access | 180+ countries (issuing countries not named) | Not for residents/registrants of ~17 named countries; purchases blocked in 7 | Not stated | 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses |
| Cost | Virtual free; Pro $299 + $95/yr | $5 issuance; no maintenance; plans free/$9/$19 per month | No annual fee | “No extra fees” (no amounts listed) |
| FX / conversion | No foreign transaction fee; conversion fee not stated | “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” | No foreign transaction fee; live OTC rates; no hidden exchange fees | Not stated |
| Rewards | $TAP cashback by tier | No cashback stated | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% | 5% cashback at select merchants (Uber currently) |
Reading across the rows: the International Visa Card is more transparent about who it will not serve and exactly what the FX fee is, and it scores slightly higher — at the cost of a hard country list and a card that is USD-only for now. UNi Card is the cleanest on fees (no annual fee, no FX fee, live rates) but publishes almost nothing about who qualifies. Whop Cards is the narrowest — US-state based, business-leaning — but its 5% merchant cashback is the most concrete reward here.
If what you want is a card with fewer unknowns rather than more assets, the International Visa Card or UNi Card may serve you better than Digitap.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Digitap to you if: you mainly need a virtual card for online spending; you want it free, with two virtual cards included; you hold several crypto assets and value being able to load any of them; ordinary banking has been difficult for you; and you are the kind of person who reads terms rather than trusting a brand name.
I would point you elsewhere if: Apple Pay is non-negotiable; you want a card from an institution you can name and look up; you are considering the $299 Pro plan for everyday spending rather than a business; or your money needs to be somewhere that is not experimental.
If you do proceed: start on the free Virtual tier, top up a small amount, test a withdrawal, and only then scale up. And do not confuse the $TAP token promotion with the card — they are separate, and the token’s reputation is already showing up in the card’s reviews.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Digitap card?
Digitap is a Visa payment card you load with money — from a crypto balance of 100+ assets or from fiat in USD, EUR or GBP — and then spend like an ordinary card. The virtual version appears immediately after signup; a physical card with EMV chip and PIN can be ordered. It works like a prepaid card: it spends only what you have loaded, so it cannot overdraw. Digitap markets it as a fintech application powered by licensed financial partners.
How does Digitap card work in practice?
You open an account, pick a plan, and choose an asset at checkout when topping up. The crypto is converted into a spendable balance and the card draws down that balance, much like a prepaid card rather than a bank debit card. You can also withdraw at ATMs worldwide with crypto-to-fiat conversion. Rewards come back as $TAP tokens at a rate set by your plan.
Is Digitap a bank?
The public pages do not say it is one, and they do not name a bank. Digitap describes itself as “a fintech application powered by licensed financial partners,” but the issuer, the registered legal entity and the licences are not named on those pages. So I cannot confirm it is a bank, and you should treat that as an open question to ask support directly.
How do I get the Digitap card, and does it need KYC?
You sign up online in what Digitap calls “in a few minutes,” choose a plan, and get a virtual card instantly or order a physical one. KYC level depends on the plan: Wallet needs none, Virtual needs “light KYC,” and Pro, Premium and Business need full KYC. Exactly which documents are required and how long checks take are not stated on the public pages.
What does the Digitap card cost?
The Wallet plan is $0 with no physical cards. The Virtual plan is free and includes two free virtual cards with free replacement. Pro costs $299 to open plus $95 a year, with three free physical and five free virtual cards. Deposits are 2.5% on Wallet and Virtual, 2.2% on Pro and Premium. Digitap states there are no foreign transaction fees, but the crypto conversion fee is not published.
Can I add the Digitap card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The official pages do not state either. What users report is mixed: reviews on Trustpilot in November 2025 and May 2026 say Apple Pay is missing, while reviews in December 2025 and February 2026 say Google Pay works. Those are user reports, not confirmed features, so plan on paying by card number rather than by phone unless you have tested it yourself.
How do I top up the Digitap card?
You can top up with crypto — 100+ assets — or with fiat in USD, EUR, GBP, choosing the asset at checkout. The networks are not disclosed, which is the part to be careful about: sending on an unsupported network can lose the funds, since transfers are irreversible. Ask support which networks they accept and send a small test before a larger transfer.
Is the Digitap card safe to use?
It depends what you mean by safe, and on how much you would mind losing. The company does not name its issuer or licences, does not describe security features like two-factor authentication or card freeze, and its app is officially in beta. Its Trustpilot score is 2.7/5 with recurring complaints about unanswered support. For small everyday spending that is manageable; for money you cannot lose, it is not the place to keep it.
Is Digitap available in my country?
Digitap says it works in 180+ countries worldwide, but it does not publish which countries issue the card, so you cannot confirm yours from the page. The site’s footer says it is not directed at places where use would contravene local law. The practical answer is to register and see whether a card is issued to you, or ask support for your country before you commit any money.
Is the Digitap card worth it?
Worth it if you want a free virtual card with two included, need one in a country ordinary banks have been unhelpful about, and value being able to load from 100+ crypto assets. Probably not worth it if you rely on Apple Pay, want a named and licensed institution behind your card, or were considering the $299 Pro plan for personal spending — at that price it is a business product, and its Trustpilot reviews already include complaints about unanswered refunds on Pro.
App and neobank card fees – cryptocardfacts
Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team
