The EMCD card in practice: a virtual card you can only fill with USDT, sold on a fee schedule nobody fully publishes

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The EMCD card is a virtual card that spends a US dollar balance you load with USDT from the Coinhold Wallet. That is the whole product in one sentence, and almost everything else in this review is a consequence of it. There is no physical card, no ATM, no way to withdraw the balance back to the main account, and a fee schedule that gets expensive fast once you start spending outside dollars.

EMCD works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I gave it 4.9 out of 10. That is not a bad product, exactly. It is a narrow one, with several rough edges that its own public pages contradict each other about.

Who it suits: someone who already holds USDT in a Coinhold Wallet Main account, already passes identity verification there, and wants a dollar-denominated virtual card number to pay with online. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card, cash withdrawals, Apple Pay, more than one currency, or clarity about which company is actually issuing the card.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Works anywhere cards are accepted, except 13 countries where payments are not available
Cost 2 / 10 Issue fees of $19 and $25, $5 a month, 1.5% top-up, 1.5% + $0.50 per purchase, 3% conversion outside USD
Top-up options 4 / 10 USDT from the Main account only, network not disclosed, minimum $20
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Issuer and legal entity not named; official pages disagree on Visa versus Mastercard; Trustpilot themes of post-KYC account blocks and slow support
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual only, no ATM, no 3D Secure, mobile wallets marked as coming soon
Total 4.9 / 10 A workable prepaid dollar card inside one wallet ecosystem, with costs and open questions that keep it from a higher mark

The highest mark is eligibility, and it deserves the credit: very few cards work this broadly. The lowest is cost, and that is where the real decision gets made. A card that is free to issue can still be expensive to use.

Will they give you the card?

Broadly, yes — and that is the strongest thing about it. The card page says it works “worldwide” wherever cards are accepted. The help centre sharpens that: the card works wherever Mastercard is accepted, except that payments are not available in Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China.

That list of thirteen is the whole restriction. There is no separate residency test on the pages I read, no tier of countries where onboarding is harder, and no income requirement. Note the asymmetry though: a notice on the page says some EMCD services are unavailable in certain jurisdictions, without naming them, so the countries where you can *hold* a balance may not be exactly the thirteen above. The help-centre article has also previously been reported as listing Russia as restricted.

Two caveats worth holding onto. The network question is unsettled: the card page describes a virtual Visa Platinum, while the help centre says the card runs on Mastercard (virtual, USD). I could not resolve that from public pages. And the legal entity, the registration country, the card issuer and any licences are not stated on the card page at all. For a regulated-looking financial product, that is the first thing you would want to see.

How to get it

The onboarding is short on paper. EMCD asks for standard identity verification: an ID and 5 minutes. To order the card you need $15 of funding, which stays in your balance rather than being charged as a fee.

What you receive is a virtual Visa Platinum card. A physical card is not yet available, and the help centre states it plainly: “Currently, we only offer virtual cards.” So there is no delivery step, nothing to wait for in the post, and no plastic to lose. Cards are valid for two years, after which a new card with a new number is issued — worth knowing if you store a card number in a merchant’s system.

A second identity check is mandatory, and it comes later. After your first top-up you must complete verification with a valid government ID, which takes “usually a few minutes”. The card activates by itself once that passes; if it fails, you retry with a different document. Proof of address requirements and the tier structure of the checks are not stated. The five-minute promise applies to the first check, not necessarily to the second.

Two things the public pages do not say: the card currency, and the minimum age. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults at 18 and over, some issuers set higher limits — but I found no EMCD-specific age statement, so check at signup rather than assuming.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the section to read twice. The card has three tiers and a fee schedule, and the two do not fully agree.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a EMCD payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Active is free to issue and its page advertises “0% fees” on standard purchases. Plus costs $19 to issue, Premium $25 — the pages do not say whether that is one-off or periodic. A separate help-centre fee schedule adds monthly maintenance of $5 and a closure fee of $15, and lists 1.5% on top-up, 1.5% + $0.50 per purchase, $1.50 for a declined transaction, $0.50 for a refund, $2.00 for a reversal and $35 for a chargeback. Non-USD purchases may attract a 3% conversion fee from the issuing bank. The help article does not say which tier those fees belong to, which is exactly the ambiguity: “0% fees” and 1.5% + $0.50 per purchase are both officially stated, for overlapping purchases.

Fee or limit Value
Issuance, Active Free
Issuance, Plus $19
Issuance, Premium $25
Monthly maintenance $5
Card closure $15
Top-up 1.5%
Purchase 1.5% + $0.50 per transaction
Declined transaction $1.50
Refund $0.50
Reversal $2.00
Chargeback $35
Non-USD purchase, possible bank conversion fee 3%
ATM withdrawal Not available
Limits Set by the user in the app; no numeric default published

Third-party sites report a different schedule — 2.5% top-up and conversion, no monthly or annual fee, no FX fees. That is unofficial, not confirmed by EMCD, and it contradicts the official help-centre figures above. Treat the official schedule as the one that applies.

The safest way to model this: assume the Active tier’s headline 0% applies to standard purchases and assume the help-centre percentages apply on top until the company says otherwise. On a $50 purchase, 1.5% is $0.75 and the $0.50 is fixed, so a single $10 purchase costs $0.65 in card fees — a high effective rate before anything else. Small purchases are where this card is at its worst.

Three everyday payments, priced with the help-centre schedule:

Limits are tiered and generous at the top, modest at the bottom. Plus allows $1,000 per transaction, $3,000 daily and $10,000 monthly; Premium allows $10,000, $50,000 and $400,000 on the same three lines. You can have up to two active cards at once. The Active tier’s numeric limits are not published, and “Set limits” in the app is the only guidance offered. A Light article and an Active article exist in the help centre, though I did not read their amounts.

The balance is held in US dollars. Multi-currency balances are not offered, or at least not stated.

How to top up

Top-up is USDT-only, from the Coinhold Wallet Main account, manually. There is no top-up by card number. The network is not stated anywhere I could find — and that is not a cosmetic gap.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up EMCD starts with a transfer to the right network

A first top-up of at least $20 is required, and the fee is 1.5%. Of the first top-up, $15 is held as a reserve until your total card spending passes $2,500. Transfers from USDT in the Main account typically arrive in 3–5 minutes. Terms depend on your card plan and may change. Who pays the blockchain network fee is not stated; network fees are charged by the blockchain rather than by the card provider in any case.

Because the network is undisclosed, sending USDT on a chain the provider does not expect is a real risk. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit to the wrong network, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or require manual support recovery with no guarantee.

Getting money back out is where this card is most constrained. A free transfer from the card balance to the Main account is not supported. On closure, the remaining USD balance is converted to USDT and credited to the main EMCD account. The issuing bank may close the card if the balance is $20 or less, or if there is no activity for 30 days — so a card you stop using quietly disappears, and the path to your money runs through the company converting it for you, on their terms.

Paying with it every day

The card is managed in the EMCD app, and the app is where freezing, unfreezing and setting limits happen. Platform support and store ratings were not read.

Mobile wallets are the sharpest contradiction in the whole product. The FAQ says it works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. The feature list on the same site marks both as “Coming soon”. Treat wallet support as unavailable until you have seen it work in your own app; one of those two statements is out of date and nothing tells you which.

Blocked merchant categories are listed by the help centre: fuel, ride-hailing, AI subscriptions, money transfers, crypto exchanges, gambling, brokerage, and most entertainment except cinemas and theatres. That last carve-out tells you the block list is a rule rather than a technical failure. Fuel being blocked is the one that will bite ordinary people hardest, because fuel is exactly the kind of purchase a prepaid travel card is bought for.

Cash withdrawals are not available. The card “does not currently support cash withdrawals”, and the FAQ says withdrawals “will be” available once a physical card launches — so treat that as undated, not promised.

There is no 3D Secure. Merchants that require an identity check step at checkout will decline the card. Cashback is not mentioned anywhere. The card currency is US dollars, and a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that persists for several days, sometimes up to seven.

For everyday spending, then: online and in-app payments in dollars, in most countries, minus fuel, rides, gambling, exchanges and most entertainment, minus anything that demands 3D Secure, minus anything that needs physical card presence or cash. That is a real but narrow job.

What can go wrong

Start with the money, because it is the least obvious risk here. This is a custodial arrangement: EMCD Coinhold Wallet holds the credentials, so you are trusting the provider with the balance rather than holding keys yourself. Custodial platforms have a track record — Mt. Gox with roughly US$350 million reported stolen across 2011–2014, Coincheck around US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. Insurance or safeguarding arrangements for your card balance are not stated.

Then the issuer question. If the legal entity and the issuing bank are not named publicly, you do not know which institution stands behind the balance when something goes wrong, or which regulator’s complaints process applies. In the EU, an electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds in dedicated accounts or by insurance, and those funds are not bank deposits covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. A crypto card typically depends on two licences — one for the crypto side and one for the payment side. I found no named issuer, and an unofficial listing still does not name one.

Then the complaints pattern. On Trustpilot, EMCD the company — not the card specifically — has 190 reviews with the score hidden “due to a breach of guidelines” as I read it, and EMCD says it removed fake reviews. The distribution behind it is 83% five-star and 11% one-star. The recurring themes are not about card payments: accounts blocked after KYC or AML review between November 2025 and April 2026, slow document checks, referral and welcome bonuses unpaid when KYC was incomplete, support replies that were slow or absent between November 2025 and March 2026, and US users blocked since 1 May 2025. Positive reviews cite 12% annual interest on balances and fast payouts; a 2025 review says it was always paid.

None of that is a finding about this card. I found no complaint specific to the Coinhold/EMCD card and no Reddit threads about it. But if the pattern is that verification can end in a block, that is a risk that applies to anyone who has already topped up, and it is why the reserve and the minimum top-up matter more than they look.

Support exists: a FAQ, a help centre at help.coinhold.io in English, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish, and “Support 24/7” in the help menu. The email in the footer was obscured. The card’s own support language is not stated. No official incidents surfaced in search, and no news either.

Finally, a category risk you should hold even though it is not this company’s fault. Card programmes do close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. This card has no withdrawal-out path of its own, so a programme closure would leave conversion to USDT as your only route.

What to take instead

If the EMCD card’s core problem is that it lives inside one wallet and takes only USDT, then the comparison set is really “other cards that draw on a balance you already hold”. Here is how the four I looked at line up. None of them publishes everything, which is itself informative — where a field says not stated, that is the state of the public pages, not a judgement.

EMCD Young Card MSX Bybit Card
Score 4.9 / 10 5.7 / 10 6.4 / 10 6.0 / 10
Card type Virtual Not stated officially Not stated officially Virtual and physical
Issuance Free / $19 / $25 Not stated officially Not stated officially Free virtual; physical varies by region
Regions Worldwide except 13 named countries Not stated Not stated Named list of regions, EEA excluded
Funding USDT from Main account Not stated for the card Not stated Funding Account, fiat first then crypto
Rewards Not mentioned Cashback in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% Not stated Cashback tiers from 2% to 10%, crypto-funded only from 5 October 2026

Bybit Card is the one with the most published detail, and the detail is more useful than EMCD’s. It draws on a Funding Account, spending fiat first and selling crypto only when fiat runs short. It has both virtual and physical cards in some regions, card currencies set per region (USD, ARS, MXN, BRL, PEN), and card validity from three to six years. Its costs are stated: crypto conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions and 0.5% in Argentina, FX fees from 1% to 7% depending on region, and Argentina adds VAT of 21% and a 30% tax on foreign transactions with provincial income tax of 1%–13.2%. Its eligibility is the opposite of EMCD’s — a named regional list rather than “worldwide except”, and European Economic Area participation is strictly prohibited. Its rewards are the richest here: from 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback, with tiers from Base at 2.00% up to Infinite at 10%, cashback paid in USDT.

Young Card publishes its reward rate and almost nothing else on the public pages I could read. Cashback is paid in YNG tokens and scales with Club tier — 0.1% at Essential, 1.8% at Gold, 3.6% at Platinum, with Bronze and Silver not stated. A cashback rate paid in the platform’s own token is not the same as cashback in dollars, so treat that headline differently.

MSX scores highest of the three alternatives at 6.4 / 10 and publishes essentially nothing on the pages I could read: no eligibility statement, no card type, no costs, no funding route, no rewards. A higher score with less published detail is a weaker basis for a decision than a lower score with a full fee table.

If your situation is a US dollar balance and a virtual card, EMCD is not obviously beaten. If you want a physical card, mobile wallets that work, or published rewards, the comparison above has better-documented options.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to someone who has already decided to hold USDT, keeps it in a Coinhold Wallet Main account, has passed identity verification there, and spends online in dollars — subscriptions, software, online shops. For that person the card does a plain job, the $0 issuance tier is genuinely free, and eligibility in more than two hundred countries is not something most competitors offer.

I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true. You need cash. You need fuel or ride-hailing. You need Apple Pay or Google Pay to work today. You buy in euros, pounds or anything non-dollar and cannot absorb 3%. You want to know which bank issued your card. You are trying to move money out regularly. You are the kind of person for whom a KYC block would be a serious event, because the Trustpilot pattern suggests it happens.

And the honest summary is this: the card is not broken, it is unfinished in ways its own pages disagree about. Virtual only, wallets “coming soon” on one page and working on another, Visa on one page and Mastercard on another, issuer unnamed. I score it 4.9 out of 10 not because it fails at its job but because I could not verify half of what I would want verified before loading money into it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the EMCD card?

The EMCD card is a virtual payment card that spends a US dollar balance you load with USDT held in the Coinhold Wallet. It behaves like a prepaid card: you top up first, then spend only what is loaded. It is virtual only, so there is no plastic card, no delivery and no ATM withdrawals. The card page describes it as Visa Platinum while the help centre says Mastercard — public pages disagree on the network.

How does the EMCD card work?

You open the Coinhold Wallet, hold USDT in the Main account, and transfer some of it to fund the card balance; the first top-up must be at least $20 and costs 1.5%. You then spend that dollar balance online wherever cards are accepted. Spending above $2,500 releases the $15 reserve held from your first top-up. The card activates automatically after your post-top-up identity check succeeds.

Is EMCD a bank?

The public pages do not say, and that is the honest answer. Neither the legal entity, its registration country, nor the card issuer is named on the card page, and no licences are listed. An unofficial third-party listing names the platform and the network but still does not name an issuer. If knowing which institution backs your balance matters to you, ask support in writing before you top up.

Who owns EMCD?

EMCD is presented as the brand and the Coinhold Wallet as the wallet behind it; their legal status is not stated on the public pages. Ownership in the sense of a parent entity or a licensed issuer is not stated on the public pages. Trustpilot reviews cover the company EMCD rather than the card specifically, and EMCD says it removed reviews it judged fake.

Can I use the EMCD card in my country?

The card works wherever Mastercard is accepted, except that payments are not available in Afghanistan, Belarus, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Russia, Myanmar, Somalia, Ukraine, Yemen and China. A separate notice says some EMCD services are unavailable in certain jurisdictions without naming them, so eligibility for holding and funding a balance is narrower than the payment list suggests.

Does the EMCD card require KYC?

Yes, twice over. The first check is standard identity verification with an ID, described as 5 minutes, and ordering the card requires $15 of funding that stays in your balance. A second, mandatory identity verification follows your first top-up using a valid government ID, usually taking a few minutes. Proof of address requirements and check levels are not stated on the public pages.

How much does the EMCD card cost?

Active is free to issue and advertises 0% fees on standard purchases. Plus costs $19 to issue and Premium $25, with $5 monthly maintenance and a $15 closure fee per a separate help-centre schedule. That schedule lists 1.5% on top-up, 1.5% + $0.50 per purchase, $1.50 declined, $0.50 refund, $2.00 reversal, $35 chargeback, and a possible 3% bank conversion fee on non-USD purchases.

How do I top up the EMCD card, and which network?

You transfer USDT manually from the Main account of the Coinhold Wallet; there is no top-up by card number, and the first top-up must be at least $20. Transfers typically arrive in 3–5 minutes. The network is not stated on the public pages, which matters because blockchain transfers are irreversible and sending on an unsupported chain can mean lost funds or a manual recovery with no guarantee.

Can I withdraw money from the EMCD card?

No. A free transfer from the card balance back to the Main account is not supported, and ATM withdrawals are unavailable until a physical card launches, which has no date. The only route is closing the card, after which the remaining USD balance is converted to USDT and credited to your main EMCD account. The issuer may also close the card if the balance is $20 or less or if nothing happens for 30 days.

Is the EMCD card safe?

The balance is custodial — EMCD’s Coinhold Wallet holds the credentials — so it carries counterparty and hack risk, and no insurance or safeguarding arrangement is stated. The card supports freeze, unfreeze and spending limits in the app, but it does not support 3D Secure, so merchants requiring that check will decline it. Trustpilot themes for the company include accounts blocked after KYC review and slow support replies, though I found no complaint specific to this card.

Content created by the «cryptocardfacts» team